Customer Reviews for MOULTRIE Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera

MOULTRIE Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera

Sharp, clear 5.0-megapixel color day images and black-and-white night images. Take advantage of the stealth of an infrared sensor for instantaneous game capture. Wide, 50-ft. flash range with rapid response time means you won't miss an opportunity for an image. Easy-to-read photo strip so you can review images quickly and easily. Temperature, moon phase, time, date and camera ID are shown on every photo to help keep track of trends and movements. Choose from three picture resolutions, two video resolutions and one- to 60-minute picture delay for custom imaging. Programmable 5/15/30-second video clips during the day and infrared night video clips for 24/7 observation. Easy-to-operate LCD menu-driven display and IR aim for quick and precise camera setup. Display shows battery life, pictures taken/remaining and delay timer. Multishot images with five seconds between shots. Upgradable software. Supports SD cards up to a 16GB card (SD cards sold separately). Includes weather-resistant casing and USB cable. Adjustable mounting strap included. External power port for optional Power Panel (sold separately). Operates on six C batteries (not included).
Overall Customer Rating:
3.165 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
14
1 Star
26
50 out of 91(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Review 1 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010

Moultrie D55IR

By
Location: VA.
Camera works great I got 28 picture and videos the first night. In video mode it takes a still picture and video at the same time. You can't beat it for the money. I had a cuddeback and I like this better. How ever it does not come with the tv out cable as advertised.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2010

Not Impressed

By
Location: Southeast, VA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Just got the first pics back from this cam and I was not impressed. Daytime pics were ok but dark, had to brighten them once on my computer to see the deer better. Night time pics are a joke. You can tell the animals in the pics are deer but thats about it, very blurry. I expected a little less performance for the price but not this much less. For a little extra money the bushnell trophy cam blows this cam outta the water. Dissapointed in Moultrie.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2010

d-55 ir

By
Location: parma ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
buy it!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2010

D-55 IR

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have had the extreme pleasure to use many different trail cams being a Cabela's Pro Hunter and the Moultrie D-55 IR Trail Cam is one of my top picks for scouting. Very clear pictures and excellent videos. Always a reliable trail cam and for the price you cant go wrong!! You dont need to spend the high price of others to get great scouting pictures and videos.
"Rhino"
Wisconsin
Cabela's Pro Staff
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2010

Not So Hot

By
Location: NH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I'd avoid this camera. Night pics are really bad. Day pics are good but this camera has issues. While testing this we found that if you have the time stamp on and set multiple pics you will sometimes get three pics in one. Then the next pic you won't be able open.
I called customer service and was on hold for 45min. Tried to email them (which was their preferred method) and it said I would get an email back in 3 to 5 days. Well it's been a little longer than that and no help. The good thing is that it is cheap.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2010

Good Cam

By
Location: west virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Good cam for the money lots of feutures and easy to use. Great range for daytime pics out to 50 feet and ir night pics out to 45 feet i like this cam alot
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010

good camera for the price

By
Takes just as good pictures as the lot more expensive ones. Happy with the camera so far and the battery life is good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2010

d55ir

By
Got this camera a week ago and the day time pictures don't look like they came from a 5 megapixel camera. Fairly grainy to say the least.
Yes, resolution is set to high. Video is also set to high reso and same deal, blurry and grainy. Flash doesn't seem to work for i
haven't seen it go off yet! IR Sensor may be dodgy am trying again tonight.
So far, not impressed!
If any ones knows something i don't bout this camera pls let me know.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2010

Very good for the money

By
I have had the camera out for 3 weeks. It is very easy to setup and operate. It has taken 1400+ pictures and still had 83% battery life with some cheaper batteries. Daytime pictures are great. Trigger speed seems good as I have only gotten a few pics with only pieces of animals in them. As far as sensitivity, it has taken pictures of animals that were over 15 yards from the camera. Plus I have only gotten a handful of pictures that had nothing in them. I would have gave it a 5 stars, but the nightime pictures are a little blurry, especially if the animal is over 10 yards from the camera. My camera faces uphill, so most of the IR flash is hitting the ground close to the camera. Once I resolve this issue, I think it should improve the quality of night pictures a little. For the money, I think the camera is great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2010

junk

By
Location: WI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
bought one of these cameras and was vey disappointed...the first night i put it out out i had 21 pics, all of which i had no idea what they were. There were lines and distortion going through all of the pics making it impossible to see what they were. this was proly just my camera but im glad this happened because i exchanged it for the i35 which works amazing and has alot better features.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2010

Not bad for the price

By
Location: Western SoDak
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Yes, night time pics are a little grainy, but not bad. Battery life is outstanding, over 1000 pics and still @ 65% battery life (using .99 batteries) Day pics are outstanding, but just make sure not to point the camera into the sun and you won't have any glare. If it had a little faster trigger speed, it would be 5 stars. Great cam for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2010

Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera

By
Location: Ballantine, MT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I tried 2 of these units before going to Primos. Out of 105 pics the unit had taken, only 19 were viewable. Pics were scrambled and so were the 2 videos. Both units were equally poor. The Primos works great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010

Junk

By
Location: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought this one after having good luck with the D-40 camera. Bad choice. Pictures were messed up, couldn't view them like they were. Sent it back today.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010

moultrie d-55 ir camera

By
Location: cheshire,oh
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i most say with all the cameras out there this has to be the easiest to set up. takes very good day and night pics. also the video captures are great. the battery life is good, a 1000 or so pictures later and still have good batteries. im going to buy another myself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2010

Customer service is horrible

By
Location: pa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
i would not recommend this camera because you have to have a separate sd card.. card wont work in any other camera after used in this one!!! and the answer we got from moultrie was that they would send us a 1G SD card .Returning this camera ASAP.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2010

Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera

By
Location: NewBrunswick Canada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have 2 of these cameras and never had a problem with them, seems the people who are having the problems should check the quality of their SD cards. Night pictures are clear on my cameras.I set the cameras up and completed test runs day and night to find the best settings. No complaints so far and find the quality of pictures of these cameras compariable to the high priced cameras.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2010

Slow trigger

By
I'm disapointed in the trigger speed. According to Moultrie's website their cameras are equipped with Infrared heat sensors, not motion sensors. This would explain most of the "slow speed".
I setup a test with my puppy in the living room the night I got this. Only one picture had his tail in it, the rest showed my floor.
So, I'm telling you if you purchase this you'd better have something for the deer to be busy with if you want a good picture of them.
Other than that I think the picture quality is good, and its very easy to setup.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2010

Great Cam

By
Location: VT
Gender: Male
I bought this camera after reading the reviews and was a little worried, but i had no reason to be, just had it out for a week and it took GREAT pictures, both night and day are very clear, the camera took pictures of deer walking through in almost the middle of the picture. over all i would say its a great camera for the money and a very good buy!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2010

Not so great

By
Location: Oxford,Ms
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I own four diff. game cameras and decided to add this one to the group. The pictures are good quality and clear. The trigger speed is pretty avg. THE BIGGEST PROBEM WITH THIS CAMERA IS RANGE!!!! It does not pick up anything past 15 feet. I would spend the little extra and get the next one up from this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2010

Twice Bitten

By
Location: Salina, KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased one of the cameras three weeks ago. Started out good. Picture quality was ok but not sharp and there was quite a few pictures of nothing. I thought it was false pics from the wind. Turns out the reaction time was so slow the deer moved out of frame before the picture was taken. After two weeks the motion sensor quit working except for about 3 feet from cam. Returned to Cabelas and got another. Set it up in the back yard and have the exact same issues. Will return and get a Bushnell. The Bushnell I bought at the same time as the first Moultrie is flawless. Guess you get what you pay for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 91