Customer Reviews for G5 OUTDOORS G5 T3 Broadhead

G5 OUTDOORS G5 T3 Broadhead

For reliable pass-through and a wide cutting diameter, you can’t go wrong with the new three-blade T3. Spider Clip™ blade-retention system lets the user find-tune blade tension for matching deployment pressure to high-speed bows and crossbows. This system eliminates blade pre-deployment, making the most out of the T3’s deadly combination of file-tip accuracy and 1-1/2"-wide cutting diameter. Plus, the 100% stainless steel construction is 320% stronger than competitor’s aluminum. Per 3. Weight: 100 grain. Cutting diameter: 1-1/2".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
61
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
11
71 out of 90(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for G5 T3 Broadhead
Review 1 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Aiea, Hawaii
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

What a disappointment

Date:May 21, 2010
I so looked forward to these broadheads coming out. What a disappointment. They are poorly constructed. Once the blades were deployed the first time, I could not get them to stay in the non-deployed position again. The spider clips are not well designed. I tried changing out spider clips but cannot get the blades to lock in the non-deployed position anymore. The instructions state to use the enclosed tool to prevent cutting your hands - there was no tool. If you decide to buy, I would recommend not taking any practice shots, because you may not get the blades to lock back in the non-deployed position again. One and done - not worth the price or frustration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Carrington, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 T3

Date:May 23, 2010
Extremly sharp, accurate and by far the easiest blade change of any mechanical broadhead I've owned.
Upon opening the package I was skeptical, but once I learned how the head worked and played with them a bit, I was pleasantly suprised how nice of a head these are.
The instructions that come with the head aren't the best. The true test of these heads will be this fall on an animal, but they passed the target test with flying colors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Poor instructions

Date:May 24, 2010
The broadhead seems to fly true and the spider clips work great. The instructions leave alot to be desired. No tool, wrong practice blades (tekan), and no idea how to pretune blades for deployment. Hopefully this will be corrected for future buyers so they can explain to me how these work instead of guessing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Broadhead

Date:May 26, 2010
I had to wait sometime for the new G5 T3 but man was it worth the wait. The heads are pretty trick looking. I have shoot the Tekans in the past and they have always done a great job, so I wanted to try the new T3. G5 has done it again. The head came with a set of practice blades so I didnt have to waste a set of sharpened blades or spider clips. After I took a couple shots and found they flew just like my feild points, I re-installed the blades and spider clips and was able to kill a turkey with them. It opened up on inpact, and left a great entrence and exit hole. I was able to replace the spider clip and its back in my quiver. I already have my buddies wanting some.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product, but rushed into availability.

Date:May 26, 2010
The new G5 T-3's are awesome. The only problem is that they rushed them into production before they were completely ready. Right now they come without the broadhead wrench. I contacted G5 about it and they are sending me one and said that the wrench wasn't ready when they started shipping. I also asked about the practice blades, since they are for the Tekan. The practice blades work on all of their expandable broadheads. On the T3 you must remove the spider clip in order to use them. Also I asked about tuning the blade deployment using the spider clips since the directions don't say anything about it. G5 says that the tighter tolerance spider clips are not available yet. G5 sends the regular ones with the broadheads because they want everyone to try them first. If someone has problems with pre-deployment then they can try the other ones with the tighter tolerance. The directions that are included are pretty bad, and I think they realize it now from all of the comments. The blades are actually pretty easy to deploy and reset once you understand how they work. I've taken them apart, put on the practice blades, and deployed the real blades and then reset them a few times now without the wrench and have not cut myself yet. The practice blades are not meant to deploy, they are designed to stay in the retracted position.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply Sweet

Date:May 27, 2010
Just got done shooting the broadheads last weekend and they shoot sweet! The clip held everything together great and I got good holes on both sides of the target. I noticed the wrench wasn't in the package so I called G5 and they will get one out asap to me. I think this is going to be a great head this fall!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome design

Date:July 5, 2010
This broadhead is the answer to broadheads opening in flight. No o-rings to worry about. Very durable. Flies like a field point. Whisper quiet. Best customer service! Good job G5!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hill AFB, UTAH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AFRICA SAFARI

Date:July 26, 2010
I JUST RETURNED FROM AN AFRICAN SAFARI AND TOOK THE G5 T3 AS MY PRIMARY BROADHEAD. I SHOWED UP IN CAMP WITH MY MECHANICAL BROADHEADS AND GOT PICKED ON FROM EVERY PERSON IN CAMP. I SHOT A WARTHOG, GEMESBOK, IMPALA AND THEY ALL DROPPED WITHIN 40 YARDS OF BEING SHOT THROUGH THE SHOULDER. AFTER THAT I HAD PEOPLE ASKING IF I BROUGHT ANY EXTRA T3'S WITH ME. THESE BROADHEADS ENTER THE ANIMAL FULLY DEPLOYED AND EXIT WITH UNBELIEVABLE DAMAGE. MY BOW IS SET ON 60 LBS., ALL SHOTS WERE FULL PASS THRU'S WITH NOT EVEN ONE BENT BLADE. I WILL USE THESE BROADHEADS UNTIL THEY STOP MAKING THEM. I NEVER EVEN TEST FIRED ONE. THEY FLY PERFECT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet broadhead

Date:July 30, 2010
im shooting a mission journey at 29 in and at 74 lb, i bought these heads just to see how well thay work before shooting them i sighted in my bow at 20, 30, 40, 50, and 60 yards than i put the practice blades on the t3 and shot at all of the distances will extreme accuracy. at 40 yards i shot my field point first than shot the t3 and broke my knock off the arrow now i just need to shoot a critter with them to see if thay expand well. overall great head like them better than the rage so far..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Land O Lakes, FL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Broadhead Test

Date:August 15, 2010
When I first received these broadheads I spent an hour or so "playing with them" (as my wife comments) to figure out exactly how these work. I envisioned the Spider Clips as encircling the blade to hold them in place where in reality what they really do is create tension from the underside of the blade. The clips are very effective as they do not pop open like the rage. In fact the blades are difficult to manually open which gave me some concern. I took a piece of thin vinyl and fastened it to my block target. I shot the target 6 times to examine the blade deployment. The average shot revealed two fully deployed blades and 1 half deployed blade on entry and all fully deployed on exit. The pentration was also excellent on all shots and I never changed or sharpened the blades. Shots were taken with my Mathews Drenaline, 70lb, 29in draw length at 20yds. This by no means replicates a deer but it definitely gives me confidence in this head and they seem to work as advertised. I recommend everyone really familiarizing themselves with this blade before using. I also re-used the spider clips several times but will use a new one each time on animals. It's to hot to get up in a tree now but I will try to shoot a hog in September and update my report on this broadhead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fargo, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Group

Date:August 21, 2010
I bought these because I wanted a broadhead that would pattern like a field tip. I put the practice blades on and tested them out and got just what I was hoping for. They matched my field tips perfectly, now I will be able to practice throughout the season using fieldtips. The wrench was included but the spider clips still take some getting used to. I found that if you bent the clips out again and pushed down (use the end if a pen) while sliding the blade forward they would stay inplace.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T3 broadhead by G5

Date:August 26, 2010
I just purchased the new T3 broadheads and am thouroughly impressed with the performance. Included in the pack were 3 broadheads, 1 broadhead wrench, a pack of spider clips and metal washers, and one set of three practice blades blades from the Tekan broadhead line. It was a little tricky to install the practice blades but I did so by placing a broadhead into the black wrench then sliding off the metal washer and spider clip. I then removed the wrench and the blades fell out. Next, I slid on the practice blades followed by the metal washer only. These blades, as I found out, do not open when shot into a target so there is no need for a spider clip. I used the practice blades to check for flight characteristics and sight zero. This broadhead shoots like a field tip as advertized and also is pulled from the target like a field tip too. I was shooting into a CRP buck target with Axis 340 arrows with quick spin vanes. I then screwed on another broadhead from the pack with the razor blades as for hunting. I shot it at 20 yards and it hit exactly where I aimed but one of the blades did not open. I inspected the head and could see that the spider clips bend back allowing for blade deployment. I unscrewed the head before pulling my arrow and some pieces fell onto the ground. The next time I shot I used the supplied wrench to prevent that from happening again. The third shot I just pulled the broadhead back through which is the best of the three methods tried. The blades just slid back up to the original position while being pulled through the target. After each shot I had to take a flat head screwdriver and bend the spider clip legs on each side of the blades back up a bit to secure the blades in the proper position. Overall this head seems very sturdy, functional and accurate. It is a new design which takes a minute to understand but is easy after that. I shot it at distances of up to 45 yards without any flyers or erratic arrows which happens with many broadheads Ive tried. I can't wait to shoot a deer to really see the cutting performance and blood trail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Medina, OH
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What an Expandable/Mechanical Broadhead!!!

Date:September 1, 2010
After years of searching I finally found the perfect expandable/mechanical broadhead! The 2 reviews found below explain the function of the broadhead very well. This broadhead is extremly strong which I feel can't be said about the RAGE broadhead. I hate to admit, but I mistakenly used my 40 yd pin at 30 yds and missed my BLOCK 4x4 target. It got fully lodged into a huge Red Oak tree. After 10 minutes with a phillips screw driver and a hammer, I was able to chisle free the broadhead from the tree. The broadhead and practice blades were as good as new! I look forward to using this in the upcoming 2010 archery season. I am a little concerned how they will open up, but didn't use this concern when I rated the product since I have no proof. Despite this, I am confident in the G5 product and will use this with out second guessing my decision.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cambridge,MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Broadhead

Date:September 6, 2010
I've been a firm believer in fixed blade broadheads and aluminum arrows for years. I have been shooting Thunderheads for 12+ years without fail, but I recently changed over to carbon arrows to gain more speed and that I did, but my fixed blade broadheads flew erratically in them. I seeked advice and guys told me to switch to mechanicals, so I bouth some T3's. I played with them a little to see how they worked, then put the paractice blades in and shot at all ranges 10-45 yds. so see how it performed. They are dead on accurate at all ranges. I am impressed, now the true test will be to see if the blades open up on a deer. It seems the blades are sloppy when fully deployed, but I believe when opened they will do damage, and with being a solid steel head they should hold together well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Rock Springs,Wy
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Noise

Date:September 6, 2010
Out of the package i believe the spider clips are to tight. Fortunatley the spider clips make for easy tuning for deployment. The biggest problem i found with this head is it is LOUD ! This was my first mechanical broadhead that i thought was worth trying. Unfortunatley my Wac Em 1 1/4" and my Wasp SST Hammers which are 1 3/16" were noticeably quieter than this head and just as accurate out to 70 yds. Im not sure why they are loud given there profile other than maybe it has something to do with the spider clips and the channels that the blades slide down. I live out west and almost all the animals i shoot are at longer than average distances so a loud head is not a good head !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Four Oaks, NC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No More G5 !

Date:September 9, 2010
Purchased the T3 broadhead to try an expandable head and I heard G5 made good broadheads. They shot great and even without good instructions the spider clips were easy to figure out and tweak where needed. They for sure are field point accurate.
The problem came after shooting the original heads and going back for replacement blades. They are not out from G5 yet and no one seems to know when they will come out. How can you use the broadheads with no replacement blades ?
This is not acceptable and NOT a Cabelas problem at all. I had the same issue with a G5 site and some spare parts and I understand from dealers that this is status quo for G5.
I cannot buy or recommend a product that isn't supported by the manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ct
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Design!!!!

Date:September 18, 2010
I just bought this head after much anticipation but what a mistake. This review is in no way a reflection on Cabela's that has always had top notch equipment for the price. As an engineer I wet through this head with an objective point of view and found quite a bit of faults. For starters the blades were extremely hard to release from the spider washers. I tested all of them and all were the same.(You could not deploy them by hand in a piece of foam.) To work on the head without having screwed it to the arrow is almost impossible. The blades would fall out every where. After looking it over with much concern I decided to try it anyway. I shoot a Martin Tracer set at 63 pounds and have a 32" draw length. The arrows I use are Vapor 4000 (Full length). I wont bore you with the math but they are darn heavy with more than enough kinetic energy. At 20 yards 2 blades opened on impact and the third opened in the middle. I put it back as the directions recommended and shot the same head again at 20 yards. This time it did not open at all. Changed the spider washer and tried it again three more times and it did not open once. I was shooting into 3 layers of polystyrene 4 inches thick backed by The Block foam target made of the same material. The arrows went through the 4 inches and half way into the Block, and still nothing.
I give them 1 star because the only thing that matches their claims are that they do fly like field points. At least they do that!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: The West
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great improvement to O-rings.....

Date:September 22, 2010
I was a bit skeptical of these heads when they first came out, but having shot the two previous versions of Tekans I knew G5 makes good products and I wanted to give them a try. The spider clips do take some getting used to, but I think they are an improvement over o-rings and rubber bands. They can be adjusted as needed and I don't have the problems my friends seem to have with their Rage heads deploying when they put them in the quiver hood.
The heads fly well as promised and I did not notice any deployment issues. I shot an antelope with these heads already this season and the hole was massive resulting in a quick harvest. These heads, in my opinion, stand above the newer version of the Tekans ONLY in the size of the hole they create on entry and exit. These are great heads and I recommend giving them a shot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet broadhead

Date:September 24, 2010
I've used Thunderhead 100 grain broadheads for about 10 years now. I've never been able to get them to shoot where my field points shoot, and sometimes they fly erratically. I never wanted to switch to mechanicals because I was leery of how well they would hold up. These T3's shoot exactly the same as my field points, and they are built solid. It took me a bit to figure out the spider clips, but they are really easy once you understand how they work. The two prongs on the clip basically push up on the blade, and the blade locks into its rest position. I like how easy it is to reset the blades after they have opened up, how easy it is to change blades, and that they give you a set of practice blades too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Casper, WY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Penetration

Date:September 24, 2010
I had high hopes for this head but am very disappointed. To start with I had one head with a bum spider clip so one blade always fell open. There was no "included" wrench and no mention of different spider clips for different bow speeds as mentioned on G5's website.
Okay, getting to the point. Shot a 300 class Bull Elk slightly quartered to me at 27ish yards. Arrow struck where it was sent but my heart sank when I saw over half the arrow didn't penetrate. The Bull quickly vanished into the thick timber. We recovered the Bull 62ish yards from where he was hit. The Red Neck Autopsy revealed the ferrule went between the rips but one blade took a heavy hit on the rib which mangeled it but didn't brake it. The head went no further then only half way penetrating the near side lung. I think the Bull did a short death run not because of tissue damage but rather persistent post shot cow calling to stop him and keep him in the area until he died. Going back to Grim Reapers which didn't hit the brakes until the far rib cage last year on a comparable Bull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 90