Customer Reviews for G5 OUTDOORS G5 T3 Broadhead

G5 OUTDOORS G5 T3 Broadhead

For reliable pass-through and a wide cutting diameter, you can’t go wrong with the new three-blade T3. Spider Clip™ blade-retention system lets the user find-tune blade tension for matching deployment pressure to high-speed bows and crossbows. This system eliminates blade pre-deployment, making the most out of the T3’s deadly combination of file-tip accuracy and 1-1/2"-wide cutting diameter. Plus, the 100% stainless steel construction is 320% stronger than competitor’s aluminum. Per 3. Weight: 100 grain. Cutting diameter: 1-1/2".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
12
74 out of 94(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for G5 T3 Broadhead
Review 1 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Blades break off

Date:November 15, 2014
First, I read a lot of reviews before I purchase a product, just as I did this one.
Second, I am a serious hunter from northern Wisconsin. I have 7 Pope and Young bucks on the wall with 2 others that missed Pope by 1 inch. I say that so you know, I take this seriously.
This past year I switched to the G5 T3 because of the reviews I read. I can say now I'm very disappointed in the reviews that I read. In Sept. 2014, my brother used a G5 T3 on the bear he took. When we recovered the arrow, there was a blade missing. Giving it the benefit of the doubt we thought maybe the broad head hit a rock when it stuck in the ground. But the pass thru showed only 2 blades came out. We never located the 3rd blade.
On Nov. 4th this year I arrowed a nice 8 pointer. As I always do, I try to tuck the arrow close to the shoulder. When I retrieved my arrow, again a blade was missing. When skinning the deer out, only 2 blades passed through, but this time I located the other blade. My shot had clipped the back part of the shoulder blade and my broad head blade was lodged in the shoulder blade, didn't even make it through the inside of the shoulder blade. I refuse to shoot a broad head that fails on entry. Up to this point Muzzy's were the only broad head that disappointed me (bent blade on pass through), but G5 T3's are much worse.
When I shoot an animal with a broad head, I want all the blades in tact when it passes through the other side.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste your money

Date:October 24, 2013
Got these broadheads expecting them to be as good as other G5 products. They shot accurate and I was excited to see the damage they did on an animal. Opening day I shot a 6 point at 20 yards broadside hitting the liver. Only one blade opened and made the arrow deflect and the arrow came out the back leg! The only reason we found the deer was because the one blade hit the femoral artery causing it to bleed out. Never using them again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

horrible

Date:March 4, 2013
Decided to try these broadheads for 2012 archery season, shot two deer. all spotty or no blood.
when the blades deployed on impact they were flattened against the arrow shaft, this basically turned a broadhead into a field point. I threw them away and am trying something new
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not all blades will open

Date:November 30, 2012
I have a buddy that wounded two deer with these this year and never found them. He said he wasn't sure if they were opening or not. The blood trails were very spotty. I bought them to try out on different targets to test the blade deployment. I shoot the G5 montec because there is less problems with fixed blades. I switched from rage because of penetration problems when quartering away or towards. So after shooting the T3 I found that only one blade would open or none would open. This is after opening them from the package. One broadhead in the package was loose right away. The spider clip wouldn't work. So I replaced all the spider clips and could not get them to open once again. I was shooting a glendel full rut buck. You would think that they would open at 20 yards. After testing them I would not recommend them to anyone. There is too much to go wrong and why would you want the hassel. I would rather shoot a rage and have the blades deploy and lose penetration then shoot these and not have them deploy at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

extremely disappointed

Date:October 9, 2011
I shot a 160 plus 10 point second week of MN season at 15 yards. Thought the shot was perfect as the deer bolted and ran off. The broadhead broke off at the ferule. I had no blood trail to track the deer so needless to say we never found it; very disapointed. Contacted G5 said they want my braodheads back for inspection and they will replace them, but that doesn't bring back the deer. First and only time used. So much for solid stainless steel construction!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Piece of Junk

Date:October 2, 2011
I shot my first deer of 2011 NC archery season. It was a doe at 25 yards and only got 3 inches penetration. Also the ferule broke completely off right above the threads. We never found the deer and I will be switching back to Rage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Will not use again

Date:September 21, 2011
I used these for the first time on an elk hunt this year. I have to say that they do fly like field points, however their penetration and durability leaves much to be desired. Granted, I did recover the elk that I shot, however with both shots I made on the bull, when I retrieved my arrows, I only had 6 inches of penetration with less than a 40 yard shot on each shot, and even further both of the broadheads were broken off right at the ferrel/arrow junction. Yes you read it right they broke off!! I have never had a broad head fail in that way, ever.
Perhaps these boradheads work well on smaller game, but I would not suggest the use of them on elk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Stillwater, Ok
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not dependable after first use

Date:January 17, 2011
I do not know exactly how the clips are setup at the factory but is is near impossible to reset these and get them to stay set. Blades will fall out when you brush anything or even putting them in a quiver. I simply cannot guarantee that a blade will not deploy early and ruin a shot or wound an animal. I literally spent hours trying to perfect the art of adjusting the clips but eyeballing adjustments is simply not foolproof for me. As a test try dropping your vertical arrow on the knock end against the ground from even a few inches and blades will deploy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Casper, WY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Penetration

Date:September 24, 2010
I had high hopes for this head but am very disappointed. To start with I had one head with a bum spider clip so one blade always fell open. There was no "included" wrench and no mention of different spider clips for different bow speeds as mentioned on G5's website.
Okay, getting to the point. Shot a 300 class Bull Elk slightly quartered to me at 27ish yards. Arrow struck where it was sent but my heart sank when I saw over half the arrow didn't penetrate. The Bull quickly vanished into the thick timber. We recovered the Bull 62ish yards from where he was hit. The Red Neck Autopsy revealed the ferrule went between the rips but one blade took a heavy hit on the rib which mangeled it but didn't brake it. The head went no further then only half way penetrating the near side lung. I think the Bull did a short death run not because of tissue damage but rather persistent post shot cow calling to stop him and keep him in the area until he died. Going back to Grim Reapers which didn't hit the brakes until the far rib cage last year on a comparable Bull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ct
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Design!!!!

Date:September 18, 2010
I just bought this head after much anticipation but what a mistake. This review is in no way a reflection on Cabela's that has always had top notch equipment for the price. As an engineer I wet through this head with an objective point of view and found quite a bit of faults. For starters the blades were extremely hard to release from the spider washers. I tested all of them and all were the same.(You could not deploy them by hand in a piece of foam.) To work on the head without having screwed it to the arrow is almost impossible. The blades would fall out every where. After looking it over with much concern I decided to try it anyway. I shoot a Martin Tracer set at 63 pounds and have a 32" draw length. The arrows I use are Vapor 4000 (Full length). I wont bore you with the math but they are darn heavy with more than enough kinetic energy. At 20 yards 2 blades opened on impact and the third opened in the middle. I put it back as the directions recommended and shot the same head again at 20 yards. This time it did not open at all. Changed the spider washer and tried it again three more times and it did not open once. I was shooting into 3 layers of polystyrene 4 inches thick backed by The Block foam target made of the same material. The arrows went through the 4 inches and half way into the Block, and still nothing.
I give them 1 star because the only thing that matches their claims are that they do fly like field points. At least they do that!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Four Oaks, NC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No More G5 !

Date:September 9, 2010
Purchased the T3 broadhead to try an expandable head and I heard G5 made good broadheads. They shot great and even without good instructions the spider clips were easy to figure out and tweak where needed. They for sure are field point accurate.
The problem came after shooting the original heads and going back for replacement blades. They are not out from G5 yet and no one seems to know when they will come out. How can you use the broadheads with no replacement blades ?
This is not acceptable and NOT a Cabelas problem at all. I had the same issue with a G5 site and some spare parts and I understand from dealers that this is status quo for G5.
I cannot buy or recommend a product that isn't supported by the manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Aiea, Hawaii
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

What a disappointment

Date:May 21, 2010
I so looked forward to these broadheads coming out. What a disappointment. They are poorly constructed. Once the blades were deployed the first time, I could not get them to stay in the non-deployed position again. The spider clips are not well designed. I tried changing out spider clips but cannot get the blades to lock in the non-deployed position anymore. The instructions state to use the enclosed tool to prevent cutting your hands - there was no tool. If you decide to buy, I would recommend not taking any practice shots, because you may not get the blades to lock back in the non-deployed position again. One and done - not worth the price or frustration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

One shot junk

Date:October 7, 2013
Shot a doe tonight. First time ever shooting these broadheads. Shot her at 25 yards through the neck and into the lungs cutting the heart. I did not hit anything but soft tissue. I found the broadhead in the gutting process, it was broken. I have had enough of the G5 lies. DON'T WAISTE YOUR MONEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wouldn't recommend

Date:January 10, 2013
This year was the first time I tried a mechanical broadhead against my better judgement. I shot a doe in Michigan early archery season (Oct 1- Nov 14th.) and had a spotty blood trail at best. The doe ran for roughly 35-40 yards before ANY blood was found, and then it was hit or miss. I tracked the doe for more then 2 and half hours and for more then 300 yards until the blood trail ran out and no more sign was found. I went back to see where my arrow was and found that not all the blades had deployed which explained the spotty blood trail. In previous years I have used Crimson Talons without a lost deer. I will be going back to the Crimson Talons for the 2013 hunting season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dont trust

Date:October 12, 2012
Use this this Sept on an elk hunt - shot a 5x5 bull with 2 arrows the first quartering away did make a big entry hole but not much blood, the 2nd at 15 yards broadside did not go through. when I recovered the heads the first only 2 blades, the 2nd only 1 blade opened, I was concerned that the clips were to tight as it took a screw driver to test the release the blade from the clip. Also they dont lock open.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Excited only to be let down

Date:December 1, 2011
Well I had a spike last weekend at 20 yards broadside and made what I consider to be a good shot. It may have hit the target an inch or 2 high and a couple inches forward and I only ended up with maybe 6" of penetration. The deer kicked and grunted as if it were a good shot but again the penetration just didn't happen that I've seen with other broadheads. This was the 1st time putting one in an animal and yes they flew like a field tip but if it hit any bone or shoulder it did not break it or penetrate it like it should have. I will try again because I admit the shot could have been a little better but it should have resulted in a kill, and ended up leaving very little blood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Golden Valley, MN.
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Broken off.

Date:November 11, 2011
Took a broadside shot at a nice big 8pt yesterday morning using this broadhead. Thought it was a perfect shot. Shooting at 65lbs. About 2 inches of penetration and broadhead snapped off at the ferrule. Found a very slight blood trail and then disappeared. Must have gotten a piece of the shoulder. Either way, disappointed. A few buddies swear by these broadheads, but I'm not impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Could use improvement

Date:December 14, 2010
I first started using G5's Montec fixed blade, and I loved them! Then these came out and I was excited to give them a try! They look mean and fly like field points. However, after packing them in my quiver, I had a few of the blades deploy and the spider clips are not consistant in all three blades.
I thought becuse of the devestation the Montec left, I might have the same luck with their mechanicals, however, that was not the case...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: The Legendary Buffalo County WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Almost a winner

Date:October 2, 2010
I bought these heads expecting great things but was disappointed. Not all spider clips hold with the same tension i had to bend the ears on them out my self just to get them to close. Once you bend them out they lose there spring a little bit and the blades either open or rattle. But the best part is when i went to put them in my G5 magloc quiver the shape of the rubber cones at the top of the quiver made to hold mechanical broadheads pushes the T3's open every time. The only way to avoid this is to not push them up into the quiver tight but then they dont stay in place and rattle. Very disappointed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for G5 T3 Broadhead
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Rock Springs,Wy
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Noise

Date:September 6, 2010
Out of the package i believe the spider clips are to tight. Fortunatley the spider clips make for easy tuning for deployment. The biggest problem i found with this head is it is LOUD ! This was my first mechanical broadhead that i thought was worth trying. Unfortunatley my Wac Em 1 1/4" and my Wasp SST Hammers which are 1 3/16" were noticeably quieter than this head and just as accurate out to 70 yds. Im not sure why they are loud given there profile other than maybe it has something to do with the spider clips and the channels that the blades slide down. I live out west and almost all the animals i shoot are at longer than average distances so a loud head is not a good head !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 94