Customer Reviews for G5 OUTDOORS G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads

G5 OUTDOORS G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads

It's 25% sharper than the original stainless steel Montec&#8482 delivering incredibly lethal wound channels to big game. The 100-grain Montec CS features a patented one-piece, metal-injected molded design. It's made of 100% carbon steel for diamond-cut sharpness. Spin-tested to guarantee deadly accuracy. Per 3. Size: 100 grain - 1-1/16" cutting diameter.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.017 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
47 out of 58(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Review 21 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

rusty

Date:September 1, 2012
rusted in my quiver not a very good head
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must buy!

Date:June 22, 2012
When I first started using these, I was only pulling about 43 pounds, so I was worried about getting good penetration.The broadheads felt very sharp and shot pretty good, so I was feeling good about shooting deer with them. The first deer I shot with these amazimg broadheads was at 20 yards. I double lunged it and got a compleate pass thru. The deer only ran 60 yards before pilling up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hermiston, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sharp

Date:February 24, 2012
They don't stay sharp but they aren't hard to get back in to shape after dulling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Broadhead

Date:February 5, 2012
I have used these BH's successfully on several deer from PA, Illinois, Montana, and Ohio. Clean pass through shots every time. Even when I shot a little forward and struck shoulder bone; like a hot knife thru butter. The CS holds a much better edge than old montecs. The last doe I shot in late season archery season only went about 40 yards - like walking the red carpet. In summary: fly true, sharp, holds an edge, great penetration, gruesome blood trails and deadly. I love the Montec CS broadhead!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wexford, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Overall...Careful in Rain

Date:January 20, 2012
I bought the origional Montec to start with then bought the CS because they were the same size and weight but were 25% sharper. These broadheads got me 3 doe so far. The only bad part is that they will rust if they are not dried immediatly after getting wet. Going back to the origional Montec
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New York City
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sharp

Date:January 12, 2012
I havent hunted with them yet but I have practiced with them and they are accurate. Right out of the box I noticed they feel sharper than the G5 striker. I bought these for hog hunting because they are a little smaller in diameter at 1 1/16 and I think that will give better penetration. I dont plan to use them on deer because there many heads on the market with bigger blades.
I would give them 5 stars if they were a little bigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fly's Good

Date:December 4, 2011
I have had terrible luck with every other broad head except this one. I have shot under and over deer, then I got the Montec CS. I have not missed or lost any animal I have shot at yet. I passed threw a 160lb white tail on 59lb draw no problem. Only problem was the severely limited blood trail. However, he was found dead. My biggest buck yet to be exact. Practice accuracy is dead on also. As for how much they shoot like field points, I don't know. Why would I waste my time sighting in with anything other that what I will be shooting in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Poconos, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Good

Date:October 20, 2011
These broads are awful there is no grouping what so ever. They are sharp and have good penetration but your odds of getting three of them within a foot of each other is about the same as hitting the powerball. My friend let me try out his NAP hellrazors they are night and day plus you get 4 for the price of three.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Harford county, Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bone Smashing

Date:February 1, 2011
I shot this broad head out of my cross bow at a large doe about 20 yards away. I had a good double lung and this broad head smashed 2 ribs and when straight through. Flies just like field points also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best broadhead ever

Date:December 14, 2010
I switched to the montecs after trying muzzy's and the cabela's brand with exchangable blades. The montecs shoot way better groups. I shoot a Z7 at 70 pounds and went through both shoulder blades on a mulie buck at 52 yards. The buck only went 40 yards, but the blood trail was great. I would definitely recommend them. I will never shoot any other broadhead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Astoria, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Penetration

Date:November 16, 2010
This broadhead is excellent. Took a young buck the other day and got a complete pass through. Deer dropped within 40 yards. Very good blood trail left by this broadhead. Will definitely use it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New England
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst Broadhead Ever

Date:November 14, 2010
Bought these braodheads and put them on my hunting arrows. Went hunting on a Saturday in October and it was drizzling a little. A week later got into my stand and took an arrow out of the quiver and found that the G5 Montec CS had turned to rust. All of my broadheads had rusted. Contacted G5 and they asked if I would send some pictures of the rusted heads. They told me that customer satisfaction was their100% goal. Sent the pictues over a month ago and no word from G5. I will never by another G5 product. Went back to using Wasp broadheads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Petal, MS
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not so dependable

Date:October 29, 2010
I purchased these a month before opening day of bow season. They flew true to my field points and opening day i took a 115 lbs doe at 20 yards double lung complete pass through. Deer made it 40 yards and piled up. A week later i shot another doe and the montec cs barely penetrated at all and it shattered. I can not risk losing a deer again. I can't bring myself to but them back in my quiver. Will be switching to muzzy mx3.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Product

Date:October 28, 2010
I switched from Rage 2 blade to these this year. they fly true every time and don't make that wizzing noise like the rage and Muzzy MX3 do when you shoot. I killed a 10 point this year, he moved when i shot (hunting on ground, limb hit barbed wire) and it hit him in the neck and went out through his shoulder. He dropped in his tracks. It bent one of the blades but i was still pleased considering any other broadhead would have probably snapped or broken the blades off. I also killed a doe at 35 yards makes excellent blood and i watched her drop after stumbling 20 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kernersville, NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Blood Trail

Date:October 25, 2010
Best Broadhead on the market that I have used. All I can say is try them..... WOW! I still have not seen a mechanical broadhead that can top a fixed broadhead. I got tired of tracking deer 100 + yards with those mechanical broadheads on the market today. Bottom Line: the G5 gets it done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:September 26, 2010
last night i shot a doe in the shoulder blade and this broadhead punched though it messed her up and still cames out the otherside. get the g5 montec cs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pennsylavania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easier to sharpen

Date:September 4, 2010
Well there still not all that sharp out of the box but they were a lot easier to put an edge on than the original Montec. I liked the originals for there strength and I had pass through on the three whitetails I shot with them but they were just to hard to sharpen but they seemed to have fixed that. If these prove to be as strong as the originals they will get five stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lewisburg WV
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly Recommended

Date:August 3, 2010
I booked an elk hunt last year with an Outfitter in Colorado. Six months before the hunt, I asked if using Rage broadheads would be allowed. He told me they would be fine so I spent the next 5 monts practicing using the Rage. About 3 weeks before the hunt, I checked in with the Outfitters office and the Head Guide happened to be there. I thought I would confirm that using Rage would be o.k. He said absolutely not. According to him, a client lost an elk the previous year because the Rage broadhead didn't open when it hit the elk. So in a panic, I switched over to the the Montec G5 CS broadheads. They flew almost as good as my practice tips, and the CS heads are sharp out of the box. (I still honed them just a little bit).
Fast forward to my hunt. The last day, and 30 minutes before dark, we spot and stalked a 5x5 bull. Closing within 35 yards using a 58 pound pull Matthews Solocam bow, I took aim and released the arrow. It was a steep downhill angling shot and my guide said I hit him pretty far back. He expected a long tracking ordeal. To make matters worse, the rain started to fall. We sneaked about 30 yards below where I shot at the elk and to our suprise, the elk was there, dead as a doornail. We discoved that while the shot wasn't perfect, (first elk nerves), it went in close to the spine, just in front of the left rear ham, and angled toward the lungs and heart making for a quick kill. The blood trail by the way was excellent. So I am sold on the Montec G5 CS broadheads and will be using them again this fall hunting with the same Outfitter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Joshua, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice, but no real big hole.

Date:January 14, 2010
I like this broadhead. Just like every other head on the market it has its pro's and cons. Pros- Durable, Sharp, Penetration, and Great Flight. Con- Small cutting diameter but that is it. I will use this broadhead again because of its penetration. An inch hole on both sides of your animal is much better than one large hole on entrance side only. Every animal I have shot has had a complete pass-thru.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Montec G5

Date:December 25, 2009
The Montec G5 is one of the few fixed blade broadheads I've tried which truly flys like a field point and I've tried quite a few.
The switch to carbon steel corrected the problem with sharpness and anyone with a decent sharpening stone can put an very nice, very sharp edge on these.
If you have trouble getting them sharp with a sharpening stone, try a belt sander with a fine belt. It will put a fine, sharp edge even on the stainless steel G5's.
These things fly dead nuts on the money and with the same impact point as my field tips. Cant ask for more than that. I've killed a number of whitetails with them and I'm going to use them as long as I can get my hands on them. The fact that you can resharpen them lowers the cost when they are compared to a broadhead that requires blade replacments periodically.
Great broadhead!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 58