Customer Reviews for G5 OUTDOORS G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads

G5 OUTDOORS G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads

It's 25% sharper than the original stainless steel Montec&#8482 delivering incredibly lethal wound channels to big game. The 100-grain Montec CS features a patented one-piece, metal-injected molded design. It's made of 100% carbon steel for diamond-cut sharpness. Spin-tested to guarantee deadly accuracy. Per 3. Size: 100 grain - 1-1/16" cutting diameter.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.034 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
48 out of 59(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Review 1 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ND
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Money well spent

Date:September 3, 2011
I shot an elk with these broadheads at 20 yards, double lung complete pass through, it made it ten yards before piling up, very impressed with these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Product

Date:June 3, 2014
I used these broadheads for black bear hunting 2 weeks ago... they did a great job. Double lung pass through. 396 lbs bear went 40 years.
This is the second bear I've killed with these broadheads. Nothing fancy, but always work. I recommend them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate, Deadly

Date:January 5, 2014
Switched over to these from the stainless version this year. Taken three deer with them since the switch. Definitely sharper (and easier to re-sharpen) than the stainless ones. Tough and reliable, shoot like field points. Require some minimal care to keep from rusting. I've tried them all (fixed blades, that is) and IMO these are the best out there. Only lost one, but it was buried so deep in a does spine that I had to leave it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always a success

Date:December 24, 2013
I can't say enough about this broadhead. If you are a fixed broad head type of bowhunter this is phenomenal. I have never had an issue with these and they are so easy to sharpen and reuse with the stone G5 sells. Flies VERY similar to a field tip. I switched ONCE, for one day, and it cost me dearly and I will never do that again. All five of my deer this year have gone down b/w 20-50 yards and have had major damage inside due to the sharp edges cutting everything. Fixed blades aren't for everyone but if you try these you will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great broadheads

Date:December 17, 2013
Need I say more? They're g5 Un matched but often duplicated don't be fooled these are definitely worth the Lil extra $
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 broadheads

Date:November 21, 2013
Shot a doe kast week and dropped her dead in her tracks these broad heads are very shard and do a lot of damage on those whitetails great broad heads overall
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate, Deadly But No Blood Trail

Date:October 26, 2013
Shot a buck yesterday heart/lung shot it ran 50 yards and piled up. Its a good thing because there was no blood trail except where the arrow made a pass through. Accurate and Minor tuning to make them fly like field points. I would recommend them if your a good shot but ill debate on them after I get a few more shots off on deer with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Graet Broadhead

Date:September 23, 2013
shot 30 pounds into the spine of a deer. for going straight into bone and only shooting 30 pounds they buried right in. Great penetration and very sharp. can't say much about blood because of the shot placement but i could see it running out at 16 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dependable Blades

Date:August 20, 2013
G5 Montec CS Broadheads are dependable fixed blades, that hit where I shoot, with my set up; Carbon Express Maxim, 250, Whisker Biscuit, Darton Pro 3000 at 60lbs. No worry or fear if they will open or close, release them and let they do the rest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW! Incredibly accurate broadhead!

Date:July 28, 2013
I've always preferred fixed blade over retractables due to the fact that there is less things to go wrong. I've read that it's more difficult to get them to fly with field points than expandables. However, if you take the time to properly tune your bow, and tune your broadheads to your arrows, you can get amazing results. I first had the staff at Cabelas help tune my bow. Then I went to the range and broadhead tuned at 20 yds. When my broadheads and field points were grouping, I moved out to 40 yds. My first shot was a Montec 100 gr CS. My second shot was a field point. As the photos show, you can't get closer than this! Got a Robin Hood on my first 2 shots! This taught me 2 things: The Montec's are accurate-spin tested broadheads. The second is that I will not be aiming at the same spot on the target anymore! :) I will definitely be having Montec CS 100 gr broadheads in my quiver this fall.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and Sharp

Date:July 16, 2013
They are sharp enough to cut hair, whoever claims they received these heads and would not cut paper may have accidently bought the practice heads???
I've shot most of the similar type heads and G5 montecs where the most accurate with my mathews Drenaline 70lb.
I've killed 3 mule deer with these heads anywhere from 15-60 yds (double lung pass through), decent blood trail, not great. I feel accuracy, penetration, and reliability are the most important attributes. If you want the largest diameter then go for an expandable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alright I guess

Date:December 13, 2012
I bought theses broad heads and they are pretty accurate. I shot one deer with them and it curled up the tip but i did get a complete passthrough on both shoulders and the deer didn't go 30 yards. I had to sharpen them right out of the box but when I did, boy were they sharp. They did rust as you read other reviews.
-Good luck huntin'-
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mixed Review

Date:November 11, 2012
I have a true love hate relationship with these broadheads. Last year I shot a buck at 10 yards and had a solid blood trail. This last weekend I shot another buck using these broadheads. It was a clean heart shot, but I had absolutley no trail. I couldn't find the arrow or a trail. Infact I started wondering if I had even hit it, until I found it 50 yards away dead. The arrow went in but never came back out and all the bleeding was internal. I think I will be trying another brand next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent broadhead

Date:November 3, 2012
Last year was my first year bow hunting. Since every broadhead review had the same "no blood trail", "didn't open", etc I couldn't find one that had no issues. I purchased 5 different broadheads to find which grouped the best with my bow. I settled on the Rage and the G5 as my mechanical and fixed blade options. After loosing 3 deer with the Rage, I literally left them in the woods and started using the G5. I have since killed 5 straight deer with all running less than 100 yds. Depending on the angle of the shot or height of the entry/exit wounds, the blood trail has varied. Some are very little. Others, like my last deer, I can see from my tree stand. Either way, I know the deer is not going far. Bones are no problem either. I have purchased a sharpener and with a little work can keep them razor sharp. These will always be in my quiver ready to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply the best

Date:October 30, 2012
I used these on arrows for both my compound bow and crossbow and they are the best fixed blades ever. They fly the same as the best mechanicals and still perform like a fixed blade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

do not getttt!!!!

Date:October 7, 2012
These broadheads are really good for pigs...i shot a pig last weekend...blood all over the place...and pig ran probally about 25 yards and dropped...but do not get if you are going to use on deer...these broadheads fly really good...but doesnt leave good blood trails at all...i double lunged a 8 point yesterday...and out all day today looking for it...but there is a ton of blood at first then none...we couldnt find it...if you are a serious deer hunter you will not get any deer with these broad heads
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Montec CS Broad-head - Sturdy and True

Date:October 2, 2012
15 Yard shot 9-1-2012 @ a 200lbs MN Black Bear standing broadside...quartering towards me a bit. Arrow past through and stuck in the ground. Arrow and broad-head are reusable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A tough reusable broadhead

Date:September 17, 2012
I have been lucky enough to take a deer and a turkey with these broadheads. Very effective and extremely easy to sharpen after target practice and field use. I have yet to damage one beyound dulling the blades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nasty

Date:September 14, 2012
I have only fired the broad head (no kills yet) and it flies true out of my bow. My main reason for purchasing the broad head was for use in the winter when some mechanical heads have issues. Not too sure I'm going to wait until then to use them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for G5 Montec™ CS Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not a bad broadhead

Date:September 8, 2012
I purchased these broadheads in July of 2011 and was very excited about using them. I shot 3 deer with them in the 2011 season with my Bear Lights Out. 2 of the deer I shot were with the same broadhead. The second deer my shot was a little forward and hit the doe's shoulder. It blasted right through her shoulder and was a complete pass through shot. None of the deer made it farther than 50 yards. I gave this broadhead 4 stars because like most other complaints I hunted in the rain early season and the broadheads did rust. The second and third deer I shot the broadheads did have some rust on them but they still did their job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 59