Customer Reviews for Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera

Moultrie is introducing the Game Spy I-45 infrared scouting camera. Combined with a virtuyally invisible 50-ft. infrared flash, you'll never miss that trophy shot again. The I-45 has 4.0-megapixel resolution and takes both color day photos and infrared night photos, as well as day and night 5-/15-/30-second video clips. The temperature, moon phase, time, date and camera ID are shown on every photo and video. Choose from three picture resolutions, two video resolutions and one- to 60-minute picture delay. It accepts up to a 4GB SD memory card (sold separately) and runs on four D batteries (not included). Manufacturer recommends Duracell or Energizer D batteries. It also has an external power port for use with the Moultrie Game Camera Power Panel (sold separately). Includes USB cable and mounting strap. Upgradable software available. Compatible with the Moultrie Game Management System.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.621 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
6
1 Star
11
12 out of 29(41%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Review 21 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so Good

Date:July 10, 2010
I bought this camera 7 or 8 months ago and have been dissapointed with it so far. It takes great pics day or nite. however the problem is i can get less than a thousand pics on a set of batteries. Whitch around here is about 2 weeks worth. im not sure why this is because i have used some of the older Moultre cams like the Outfitter 5.o and 4.0 and been very happy with them. So i guess ill call Moultre and see if they will trade it out. And yes ive tried all kinds of batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

faulty cameras

Date:June 24, 2010
I purchased 2 cameras, installed them and verified they were both working with GPS gamespy connect. First camera quit working within 2 days and 2nd camera quit working 1 day after the first. Moultire has great customer service once you get thru which takes about 25 minutes to do. They are replacing both cameras and I will re-install them this wknd and will post a follow up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor

Date:March 30, 2010
This camera does not take night pictures, I tried 3 times for
night pictures. It does take great day time pictures. The batteries didn't last, after using it with fresh batteries the reading was (low). Not to be recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buy another brand

Date:January 22, 2010
The camera works but if there is any movement by the deer or turkey the deer will be blurry. The best way I have found to use this camera is to set up on a scrape and set the camera for 3 pictures. You might get a picture clear enough to evaluate the horns. It is also slow and I get some tails in the first picture and two nothings in the other two. I have a cudeback/flash not IR and I will get a clear picture of a hawk in mid flight. I love that camera but I wish it could take 3 pictures like the i45.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Problems setting up

Date:January 12, 2010
I just bought the I-45 and have not been able to capture any pics/vids. I wish their was more info. with the set up instructions, because i feel it is my error not knowing. I have only had it out their for two-three weeks. With the snow i saw i had only one deer at my feed pile. The deer stood broad side and i got nothing. I think the reason for this is when i set up the camera i stood off to the side and did not drip the thirty second timer. I am wondering if the deer tripped it and then took of before the camera reset.
What is the typical shutter speed on these cameras?
I am just looking for a little help i think once the camera is set up it will be great, the quality seems outstanding and is easy to set up with the camera functions, so i am looking forward to getting some pics.
I really do not have enough use to rate this item yet so do not use my review to sway you, lets hope Moultrie puts a little more info in their set up guide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Camera and Modem

Date:October 12, 2009
Purchased 2 cameras and 2 modems. Problems with one camera and its replacement. One uploads sometimes. The other uploaded a while and then quit. Uploaded photos do not provide enough detail to be really useful. You will still need to retrieve cards to get good look. Worked with customer service to troubleshoot upload problems but they were unable to fix. Cellular coverage on ranch is good so that was not a problem.
Cancelled my account today. Do not do this unless you can stand to lose a few hundred dollars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

moultrie I-45

Date:September 27, 2009
The hype leading up to this product being released lasted several months with changes rangeing from totaly invisable flash to the present vertially invisable. My first thought as it came out of the box was great. That faided with every thing that I did with the camera. The case design is somewhat more solid that the previous I and M series caameras. The top control for programming and card access is super stupid. The first thing happened was water from the lid went down the SD card hole and into the progrmming switch when opened and the dew from the tree that had fell on the lid. This required that the cam be dried out (a day in the hot sun open) and then re installed. The SD card slot is sloppy and carefull alignment is required to properly insert the card. During my first attempt to insert the card resulted in me bumping the bark on the tree above the camera and trash (bark) fell down inside the hole and could not be removed without a small tool. After about 5 days I finally did get a few fictures. (camera sensing is extremely weak) The picture quality is very poor in the top setting and the night IR pictures are just plain fuzzy and blured. There was no whiteout pictures but the transition from day to night had many very dark and black pictures. This is going to be a return for sure and I would not buy another one. The biggest disappointment was probably the highly visable flash at 50 + feet and in the vidio mode the constant fluttering really bothered the deer. The shuttter clunk also ran the animals off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

Date:September 24, 2009
The picture qaulity is very poor even with the highest resolution setting. This camera took 9 pictures, 6 with the highest resolution and all I could see was blurry pictures of what appears to be deer in the distance. I tried to magnify the image with Moultrie's maginfying feature and it provide no help, other than to make a blurry picture a larger blurry picture. I like the concept of retriving your pictures via internet but these pictures are worthless. The images that are uploaded via their GPS devise are not readable and are not the same quality as the pictures stored on the SD cards. In addition, there is a one-time activation fee AND a cancellation fee should you decide you do not want to continue to pay for blurry pictures....so be careful before you subscribe. And if that wasn't bad enough there is no customer service number on their website to ask questions about improving picture quality. Bad product, No customer service, and fees, fees and more fees. Save you money....this product does not work. I am returning my camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Moultrie Game Spy® I-45 Infrared Digital Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NW MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't believe the hype

Date:September 8, 2009
I received the i45. I put it through my usual tests out of the box and I think im going to return it before it hits the field.
For daytime pics it makes 2 fairly loud clicking noises for each pic. I assume this is the shutter? The night pics are much better but you can still hear a slight high pitch squeal as the flash charges I assume.
Based on my best tests id say the trigger time is about one second or maybe slightly more. Better but not lightning by any means.
The invisible infared light is not so invisible. you can plainly see it flash although it is about 25 percent as bright as a normal infared.
I did love the new case and flip top lid. Plus the camera itself was a lot smaller.
The worst is the clicking noise on the day pics. The last thing I want is to turn a buck nocturnal by scaring him in day pics.
Looks like im back to square one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-29 of 29