Customer Reviews for RIVER2SEA Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

RIVER2SEA Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind

If there’s one person in the world who knows what it takes to drop the hammer on trophy big game, it’s Michael Waddell. And that’s exactly why Ameristep® teamed up with him to bring you the Bone Collector™ Ground Blind. This blind has all the features a hunter could ask for in a ground blind, plus innovative technology that will change ground blind hunting forever. It has a carbon-enhanced, scent-blocking, laminated interior to keep your blind as scent-free as possible. The heavy-duty five-hub design adds rigidity to the walls and ensures fast and easy set-up and take down. Cutting-edge, high-quality NS3 MicroTech fabric creates a comfortable and quiet blind to hunt out of. This fabric eliminates shine and all excess noise with its dull fleece finish and prevents fading with the exterior UV-protected microfiber shell. Also, this blind caters to the needs of both archery and firearm hunters with ten windows with shoot-through mesh. For the archer, Ameristep’s exclusive Vertical Window Technology offers unparalleled shooting opportunities. There are also four big windows with gun ports that allow you to stick the gun barrel out of the blind. And for hot days in the blind, the venting system in the roof acts like an air conditioner, allowing air to circulate through the blind. Includes stakes, tie-downs and backpack carry case. Imported. Dimensions: 75" shooting width x 69" tall. Weight: 20 lbs. Packed: 12" Diameter x 46" Length. Camo Pattern: Realtree AP™ .
Overall Customer Rating:
3.68 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
20 out of 25(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Review 1 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

What a hunk of junk

Date:August 7, 2012
Bought one of these for our south texas ranch to replace a 5 year old double bull. Our pop ups say out from October to February. Double bulls last 4-5 seasons, this blind made it about 3 weeks. Top ripped, sides ripped, the windows are a plasticky material and pop pop pop pop pop pop pop when the wind blows. Zipper broke, tent peg grommets ripped,and the window fasteners with their little plastic plug and elastic loop deal stretches out and dosent stay up covering window. Had to tie knots in the elastic to keep window up. This all happened in about 3 weeks. Threw this junk in the trash pit and got another double bull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor choice

Date:May 21, 2012
this is my second blind i,m taking back, first one broke first time i put it up, this one i had salesman set up first i had no problem. they said you can,t go by the directions, i had no problems setting it up for deer hunting. upon using it for turkey hunting this spring, it broke again. i,ll give it one more shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible blind

Date:April 24, 2012
Extremely disgusted with this blind. Rod broke on very first attempt to open, second rod broke on closing attempt, ripping fabric as well! Used blinds for over a decade, so it wasn't me! Don't even want money back, that's how mad I am!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Blind

Date:January 17, 2012
My review is based on a couple hunts with the blind and initial opinion of quality. Time will tell. I think the blind is very well made and appears will holdup over time. The features from window layout, gun ports, brush loops, etc. are very-well thought out. As I said, I only have limited experience with it but so far, so good. The only negative I can see is the backpack style straps need to be attached to the bag better. Some of the threads popped when I first picked the blind up in the its bag. So, not sure how long before the straps give. I will say that the bag is made large enough hold the blind without trying to cram it back in. Other than that, EXCELLENT PRODUCT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Winthrop Lakes Region, Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Quality Product for Turkey and Deer Hunting

Date:January 14, 2012
My Son recently purchased the Ameristep® Bone Collector Blind for me as a gift from Cabela's. We are currently using the "Bone Collector" for Ice Fishing in the Winthrop Lakes Region of Maine. It incredibly easy to set up with "Ice Anchors", and the waterproof construction is much appreciated.
My Son and I, both, look forward to using the "Bone Collector" this spring for Turkey Hunting and Deer Hunting in the fall.
Thanks for an awesome product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: S.E. MICH.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good quality blind

Date:November 2, 2011
I was hesitant to buy the b/c blind, I had been using a penthouse blind the previous 8 years, until the zippers finally broke. I am also a parapalegic so the penthouse was easier getting in and out of the blind,
So now we have to take two stakes out and tip the blind so I can get my wheelchair inside, once i'm inside the blind it is nice, a lot quieter than the penthouse in windy conditions, the realtree camo design blends in very well with the surroundings where Ihunt s.e. mi.
It has plenty of room for me, my wife, and our heater, i've used it in extreme conditions, wind, rain. and the cold, and am very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: franklin ,wv
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pricey but worth it

Date:February 15, 2011
had acheap blind for a few years then got this one wow what adifference velcro is noisy magnets would have been better but this blind is great Icalled a 3yr old tom turkey into my son at 12yds he did not know we we're even there
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hagerstown, Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Blind 4 the $

Date:January 9, 2011
Got this blind for Xmas...my first ground blind. Enjoyed hunting out of it, good vision with the long and triangular windows...I took the shoot through mesh down due to the loudness of the velcro....elastic cord and tabs held up windows fine....easy to set up with practice...the bag stiching is a little weak...the stiching on the sternum strap broke on the third use...I fixed it with the webbing from an old backpack..also stiching is coming loose at the top of the backpack straps...those problems are why i only gave it 4 stars...I plan to use it with my sons for spring turkey this year...it hides in the woods GREAT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Durable Quality

Date:November 11, 2010
My dad gave me this blind as gift. I set it up 3 weeks before opener and we got a pretty good storm pass through the week before opener. +30mph winds, 4.5" of rain, and 8" of wet heavy snow. I thought the blind was going to be blown away or torn to shreds. The only thing that happened is the roof hub popped down from the weight of the snow. The brush-in loops did not even tear with all the pine limbs I used to brush it in with. I'm very impressed with the quality of this bind. Like other said, setup can be a little tricky but gets easy with practice. There are pin holes near the stitching but they don't seem to bother the strength. I would have given it 4 stars because of the Velcro windows but after surviving that storm which blew the roof off a permanent plywood blind, it gets 5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Durable

Date:October 31, 2010
I set this blind up last weekend. Over the week we had 2 solid days of 50+ mph winds. I thought for sure the blind was gone and shredded. I got out Saturday morning and checked to find that it was still there and just fine. The reason I rated it a 4 instead of a 5 was because I can see all the little pinholes along the stitching for the brush loops. I don't think that will be totally waterproof. Zippers are good, took the mesh out right away so my Rage expandables won't have a problem. I just close the window loops at nights. Good pattern in a durable blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Long Island NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Blind

Date:September 10, 2010
Very well made Blind. As a fidgety Hunter, a Blind is the way to go. Never had a Deer come close in a tree stand. It's great for bringing your kids out on the hunt as it has lots of room & you are very concealed with the camo shoot through mesh. Only complaint is the gun holes sewn into the shoot through mesh. Had to cut out the fabric edging so my arrows would not hit it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bonecollector

Date:May 11, 2010
I have hunted out of the blind a couple of times now, here is the good and bad in my opion.
Easy to set up and take down, more than enough room for two adults in chairs, like the fabric and camoflauge, shoot through windows are nice for turkey, can let the net up and still shoot through it, zipper is heavy duty.
The windows stink, should be zippered instead of the elastic bands with hooks, if one gets twisted it gets frustrating to get it in the dark, also they are a little high for my daughter to see out of, hunted in the rain last saturday, again the windows, water came pouing in because they are on inside of the blind, the water came pouring in at the fold, did not get no drippers other than that though. If they would change the windows to zippered or magnetic and put them on the outside I would give it 10 stars for the price and quality. I would still recommend it to anyone, just going to warn them about the windows that's all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Chicago
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bone Collector Blind

Date:May 11, 2010
Finally had a chance to use this blind during Turkey season. While the blind is kind of easy to set up, it is not easy to take down. I will never understand why anyone would ever install velcro strips on anything that has to do with hunting.... I'm 200 yards away from the roost and you can hear the strips from a mile away. The door zippers are way to loud. You unzip this thing and it sounds like a freight train going by... The cheaply made window thing's are as brittle as a blade of grass. Every place that there is a stitch, you can see where there will eventually be a hole starting. The window openings are still way to high... they should have made them at least 8 inches lower and 4 inches wider. I've learned a valuable lesson..... Bone Collector is just a name.... Michael Waddell really needs to be careful what he endorses or he is going to lose the hunters respect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:April 5, 2010
Once I was familiar with it I could set it up and tear it down in less than 5 minutes. Great visibility and I love the vertical windows for bow hunting. Had two gobblers almost run into it while running to my decoys on it's first trip into the woods. One is now the tail fan for that same decoy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Omaha, Ne
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bone Collector

Date:March 30, 2010
I set it up in my garage with some difficulty before the hunt. It would probably work better if you had a 3-5 man team of helpers.
It might work in some instances but I am going back to wearable cammo. The top polls snapped when I tried to set it up in the field. Save your money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bone collector

Date:January 9, 2010
I am going to use this for turkey only for me and my daughter. Plenty of room, easy to set up and take down, good material and well made. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is the windows, wish they were zippered or magnetic instead of the elastic bands. Have hunted out of a penthouse and the zippers were queit to zip open and shut if the turkey came from a different angle. I had a hard time choosing this one or the penthouse but I am happy with my choice. Gun ports in the shoot though mesh are nice also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SLATER,MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bonecollector blind A++++

Date:December 29, 2009
I HAVE ALOT OF BLINDS BUT THIS ONE TOPS THEM ALL EASY SETUP, VERY ROOMY WE ARE SOME VERY BIG GUYS AND WE STILL HAVE ROOM TO MOVE AROUND. I AM VERY SATISFIED WITH THE BLIND AND THE PRICE!!! I HAD DEER WALK BESIDE ME IN FRONT OF ME AND BEHIND ME. SCENT CONTROL A+.THANKS BROTHERHOOD!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Scent Proof

Date:December 21, 2009
This is undoubtedly a great Turkey Blind, but it's not scent proof by any means. I also own the Dog House TSC and Intimidator models -- both have been far better at containing scent than this version. Be sure to consider wind direction when placing this one to best support your ambush. I have been busted by deer and hogs repeatedly using this blind in situations that either of my other blinds would have protected me from. Very roomy interior with great visibility, but each window opening has a flap that promotes too much air circulation - even when windows are closed and secured. Plenty of area to get comfortable inside -- plenty of room to draw, aim, and shoot a bow. Still I'm going to save this one for Turkey Season and use my Intimidator to bow hunt deer and wild hogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice

Date:November 30, 2009
I bought this blind before opener of bow season and was very impressed! I can easily fit inside with a ton of extra room for a friend! The shoot thru mesh is a little deceiving of yardages I took a shot at a 10 point that I guessed to be 25 yards but it was 35, and Ive been bow hunting for 10 years so I like to think I have my distances down packed for the most part but other than that this
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ameristep® Bone Collector¿ Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Coldwater MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

perfect ground blind

Date:October 22, 2009
i have had a chance to use this blind many of times on 3 different properties. the set up is very simple. it only weighs 20 pounds and is in its own back pack with plenty of room for other gear. i have set it up in all kinds of locations from a buck wheat field to deep in the woods and in any location i have not been busted by any deer. and ive had bucks walk out just 8 feet away. the velcro windows are kind of loud but i just remove the tall corner windows and my field of view is great. if you are hunting from a ground blind though i would recommend a directors style chair, i bought the tripod style first and after an hour of use i went to get a new chair. it was very uncomfortable. this blind is worth every pennie.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25