Customer Reviews for Ameristep Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Ameristep Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand

The commanding view you get from the tallest ladder stand offered by Ameristep is impressive. This safe and stable stand uses the patent-pending Truss Technology System that replaces the traditional stabilizer bar found on other stands. It's a compression-lock system that holds the ladder to the tree and holds the sections tightly together by using downward pressure on the setup as a stabilizing force. Trap door access to the roomy platform adds convenience and safety. Made of gray powder-coated, corrosion-resistant steel. Features a ladder leveler and slim-hide ladder design. Padded seat and armrests with cup holder that converts to a shelf. Stand is tested to TMA standards. Includes a full-body safety harness with Suspension Relief System (SRS).Height to shooting rail: 22 ft.Platform size: 38-1/2" x 28-1/2".Weight: 115 lbs.Weight capacity: 300 lbs.A Video Public Service Announcement from theTREESTAND MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
Overall Customer Rating:
3.88 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
21 out of 25(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Review 1 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 stars once its up

Date:August 10, 2009
I found that it goes up easy in the wide open. It is very sturdy to climb and attach both the ratchet and the back rest once elevated. BUT, if errecting in a tight space the 22 ft tall ladder is heavy and very hard to manuver amongst the lower over head branches. After the sweat to get it set up, it is the KING's throne!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good stand

Date:February 4, 2009
This is a very good ladder stand. It is easy to set up and comfortable to hunt in for extended periods. The height gives a big advantage in avoiding detection. I have 2 and will probably buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nashville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GRATE

Date:December 19, 2008
THIS IS THE BEST STAND I HAVE!!!!!!
IT IS GRATE I HAVE ORDER (1) MORE FOR MY FARM.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Team Realtree 22 FT Sky Scraper Ladder Stand

Date:December 15, 2008
Like it very much once we got it put together, the directions need to be more detailed, but the stand is terrific once you get it put up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eden N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Take your time

Date:October 16, 2008
I've been hunting for nerly 30 years and the time came to switch from a hang on stand, for which I had to climb like a monkey, to a easier to get in ladder stand. I've always liked to go as high as possible, so, that was my number one priority when selecting a stand. Although it seemed a little daunting when first opened the box, I just took my time, did the majority of the assembly in my driveway, and had the help of one guy to put it up. Once in the field, it only took about 25 minutes to get it up and ready to hunt out of. So take your time in assembly and you'll be MORE than happy with this stand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sterling Hieghts, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:September 3, 2008
Great stand. The instructions on Ameristeps web site is 100 times better than what you get in the box. Good luck this year in the woods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SKYSCRAPER

Date:August 17, 2008
What a great stand." I hunt high, usually 30'-35' with my climber. I was pleasantly surprised at how familiar the height felt with this stand. Super platform; large and stable. Excellent seat. Well made and has good quality hardware supplied. The two hunting buddies that stopped by and helped me erect it were giving it rave reviews as well. Granted the supplied directions leave something to be desired; but if you’re half a mechanic you’ll overcome that problem quickly. It took me about 30 minutes to assemble the thing. I found the instructions on Ameristep’s web-site to be superior. I printed them out and brought them along. Don’t let the bad press over instructions turn you off to an outstanding stand. Even if it takes you an extra 45 minutes to figure it out the first time, it’s just an investment in years of using a stand of above average features that puts you above deer’s usual sight lines and above a lot of air currents.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsboro,WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MUCHO GRANDE EXCELLENTE

Date:May 31, 2008
This stand is ''EXCELLENTE'' I love the trap door for the easy access!
THANK YOU GEORGE!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sky scraper stand

Date:July 10, 2007
I haven't used the stand yet but it is really well built. The seat is very comfortable, tried it in
my garage. I have had a nice buck
walk under my 20ft have no reason to think they wouldn't this one. The instructions are not very clear but not bad, I think I am going to enjoy this stand a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tree stand...bad seat

Date:September 2, 2009
This is a great tree stand. It was easy to assemble. easy to put in the tree. It's very tall, about the same height I went with my climber. I really like the truss design. Allows it to hook to any tree. My one complaint is the seat. It's comes with a "sling seat". I have 3 other tree stands with sling seats (including ameristeps 18' buckbuster) and I could fall asleep in any of them. But not this one...the way it hooks to the seat frame makes it very uncomfortable. It doesn't allow you to lay back. For the money I paid, it's frustrating not to be comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top of the line ladder

Date:February 3, 2009
This is one of the best ladder stands I have seen. Unlike many others it is high enough to fool mature whitetails, although as is the trend with all stands they misinform you about the height giving you the distance to the seat or shooting rail. It is not 22' it is 20' to the platform, made very well with many additional features(shelves and drink holders) it has high end ratchets and a slim ladder design which hides it well. Largest platform on the market for a single stand which I like for someone like me who is tall. The only fault I can find with it is the sling style seat, although very comfortable it is not to friendly when getting up and down and it will not tilt up out of the way. As I age I find ladder stands more comfortable to use over my hang on stands and they can be set up almost anywhere, especially this stand with its truss system. I recommend this stand to all BUT MAKE SURE YOU DOWNLOAD THE INSTRUCTIONS OFF THE WEBSITE BECAUSE THE INBOX DIRECTIONS ARE VERY VAGUE. IT WILL TAKE SOMETIME TO GET IT TOGETHER BUT IT IS WORTH IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Grass Lake, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2 guys and 2 ladders

Date:September 2, 2008
Two somewhat downside to this stand, is as everyone says, instructions are not real good and wish they created more room to stand on plateform when climbing in through the trap door, not much room to stand when trying to close the door when entering. But, one buddy and me were able to set 2 stands from assembly to the tree in about 2 hours total, not bad. We did not need to drill any additional holes, but with some common sense of how things go together, looking at pictures, we had no issues. There just isn't that many parts, so it makes the decisions pretty straight forward. We are both 41 years old, so it would be easier with 3 guys, as the instructions say, but 2 guys can make it do-able. The plateform is large, nice size seat, very comfortable, very nice stand height, and we are looking forward to an all day affair in the woods sitt'n in this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Coldwater, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22' Skyscraper

Date:August 27, 2008
I agree with the bad direction. I even had to make new holes. With that aside it still only took me about 45 minutes to assemble. We just got done installing it in the tree and everthing went very smoothly. I would recommend this stand to anyone. As long as you are some what mechanically inclined. I am looking forward to a great season and hopefully taking that big buck that has been caught on my trail cameras near the stand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

directions

Date:August 5, 2008
the enclosed directions are terrible for assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Spokane Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Heavy Duty Stand

Date:January 7, 2008
Nice well built stand. It is difficult to assemble. But once you figure it out it is a great stand to hunt out of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22' skiscraper stand

Date:December 30, 2007
I've been saving for this tree stand for a while, I wanted something at least 22' and easy to climb. After reading the reviews, I was having second thoughts. I was at Cabelas and wasn't sure if I was going to purchase it or not, but I met a hunter at the store that helped me make up my mind.
I have to agree that the intructions are pretty bad and In some cases the instructions confused me more than anything. I was able to put the tree stand together in my drivway in just about an hour, then I took it apart and put it in my truck, the next day it only took my friend and I about 45 minutes to put it on my tree.
The tree stand itself is incredible. It's very sturdy, easy to climb, easy to get in and out of and very comfortable. I'm glad the hunter I met at cabelas talked me in to it.
It was a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ocean City, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

High Enough

Date:November 30, 2007
Along with everyone else, I agree, the instructions we pretty much, for use of a better word, terrible. I honestly though it would be worthless if the instructions were this bad. After getting up I found it is a very comfortable stand. I have hunted it a couple times and am ecstatic with it. I have had all kinds of deer, come out from underneath me, from the sides, and infront, and not one has seen or smell me. You can get away with a lot more movement, and scent being that high up. You def. need 1 or 2 buddies to give you a hand putting it up, it is a little top heavy. Other than that, it is a great stand!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denver, Co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Difficult Assembly

Date:June 25, 2007
I found the assmebly directions and the photo instructions to be rather lacking.
Better directions, clearer drawings and labeling of the parts, particularly the hardware, would be helpful.
Once assembled I found the stand to be quite and solid.
I would strongly recommend assembling this product prior to taking it into the field so as to become familar with it.
One other minor problem.
The stand comes with an adjustable strap to raise and lower the trap door.
Unfortunately the plastic clip on the strap did not hold making it impossible to raise and lower the the trap door.
I plan on contacting the manufacturer reguarding a replacement strap.
Overall I am happy with the product and look forward into using it in the field
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skyscraper

Date:October 27, 2008
After reading the above reviews about the assembly instructions, I went directly to the Ameristep web-site which was a little more helpful.
Assembled stand in about an hour by myself, but needed an extra hand getting this behemoth attached to the tree.
It took a little while to get used to the height compared to my other 14' stands, as well as the very narrow ladder steps, but with my safety harness on, this is a pretty good stand.
The trap door was however about an 1/8th of a inch too long to shut properly, so I had to use a hacksaw to cut off the ends by this much. Small aggravation I guess.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ameristep 22-ft. Skyscraper Ladder Stand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WHAT INSTRUCTIONS!

Date:July 22, 2008
The intruction sheet did not match the parts included. The photos did not match the product. I had waisted time to figure things out that normally should be easy IF you have proper instuctions.
The things I liked:
Tall enough, stable.
The things that need inprovement on:
truss to ladder attachment, you feet hit the truss at the bottom and top connections. The ladder sections should have fastners so the will not come apart. The truss is mad with cable, so should the truss connections. Not nylon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25