Customer Reviews for Wildview Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wildview Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera

With the Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 Game Camera, you can see what your previous scouting cameras have been missing. It shoots 15-, 30- and 60-second video clips in 640x480 VGA format. Besides taking perfect videos, it also captures 5.0-megapixel still images. Time, date and moon phase stamping. The Burst Mode™ allows for multiple exposures or video. And to be even more stealthy, it has 24 infrared emitters, so you never have to worry about your camera placement being detected. The Wide Angle Coverage (PIR) ensures that you see the most area possible. The test mode allows you to fine tune the placement of the unit. An expandable SD memory card slot accepts up to a 2GB memory card (SD card sold separately). It also has a USB output for easy PC downloads. The LCD status screen offers quick diagnostics of the unit. Low battery indicator. External power jack for longer field life. Runs on four C batteries (not included) or 12-volt Lead Acid Battery Kit (sold separately).
Overall Customer Rating:
2.697 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
6
1 Star
11
14 out of 33(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Review 21 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamecam

Date:September 10, 2009
Taskes good pictures day and night. Dusk appear ok too. Easy to set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good camera

Date:September 10, 2009
I had purchased other cameras that didnot offer infrared flash and they tended to spook bears and larger bucks,not so with this camera,very,very easy to use.Got great pictures .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New London Wi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth the money

Date:September 8, 2009
When I went looking for another camera(cheaper to put on leased land,I do have a couple of higher priced cameras on private land)I run acrossed this ir camera & thought heck for this kind of money you can't go wrong.This camera had terrible trigger speed, pictures where either whiteouts or so blurry you couldn't make out what you had. I returned the camera & purchased another cheaper model to scout my land.
I also sent Wildview an email looking for some support or guidance on this model but received nothing back. You could give me this camera & I wouldn't use it as it's useless and I travel 32 miles & 85 miles to my hunting spots I want to know what's going on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Bad for 1st try

Date:August 27, 2009
Recently I purchased an add'l Wildview IR for the upcoming season. The IR feature worked ok out to 20 feet, but was poor quality at longer distances. Day images were good out to 30 feet. Some blurred images as expected, but this unit took 436 images in 6 days. Trigger speed seems on the slow side compared to other units, but for the price it is a bargain! I didn't experience the "white out" at dawn and dusk, so make sure the unit is not facing directly east/west. Picture quality was average as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor view

Date:August 17, 2009
The overall camera is ok. It is easy to use and takes decent pictures during daylight hours. The inferred flash is poor,very dim. You can barely make out the image of a large animal (deer, elk) at night. The distance was aproximately 20-25 feet each time. Even with a full moon you could barely make out the outline of a body. No sence in having a trail cam if it won't take night pictures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The Average

Date:August 17, 2009
The Wildview IR video Game Cam is a good product it preforms OK. and since this is my first 'GameCam' I don't know what to expect. Battery life seem average, day light photos are above average, night time seem to be wash out. I hope that there are better quality trail camera, and I wonder if a few dollars more would have got me into that area.
I am not dissatisfied. It operates as advertised.
The few photos that I have compaired with other trail cams it seem to be average.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great price, but be wary you get what you pay for!

Date:August 14, 2009
I recently leased some hunting property and wanted to get a reasonably priced trail camera to scout it. I had heard about Wildview cameras from a hunting friend who had success with them, so I figured I give it a try.
I like the features that the IR Extreme 5 has; easy programming, IR at night, video modes etc. However the performance did not live up to the claims. My experience with the two units I owned is that they take great middle of the day stills and video, decent night time stills and video and nothing during the prime movement early evening and morning hours!
Basically these cameras suffer from an inability to transition from light to dark and dark to light, and thus during these hours the camera will trigger, but the pictures will be a complete white out. In my area of the Midwest the prime deer movement hours are during the early evening, night and early morning. It seems like a camera that only captures night pictures and not dawn or dusk is probably not a great trail camera.
I also had an issue with the trigger times. When it did trigger at night or during the day, when you could see a picture, it mostly caught the deer leaving the camera, or not even in the shot, so slow trigger times. At any rate I decided to return the two units I had and buy one better quality unit from a different manufacture.
My last issue is with Wildwiew/Stealth Cam (same company) customer support. I e-mailed my issues hoping they had a firmware fix or some way of dealing with the problem, but got no response, and when they finally did respond, after the third email, they basically said that I could return the units for replacement, but said nothing about addressing the problem. No thanks, no point in exchanging two functioning units with a problem, for two new functioning units with the same problem.
My advice to anyone considering this unit would be to avoid it and go for a more expensive unit if you plan to use it as a scouting/trail camera. If you plan to use it to view activity at a feeding station it should do just fine as long as you don’t care about dawn or dusk pictures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wildview Camera

Date:August 13, 2009
Stay away from any Wildview camera. I have purchased two and both have been problems. Your pictures do not download from your SD card to a PC. Images will also not print out clearly. You have to be careful not to use your SD card in any other camera other than Wildview or it will fail. Go with a Moultrie, Cuddeback or Stealthcam. You will be glad you did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Macoupin Co IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked well for the price

Date:August 12, 2009
I purchased this camera to use over feeder sites and it did as advertized, during both day and night events, I do however concur that the camera uses batteries quickly and figure that do to using “C” cell batteries instead of D cell. The last five day outing the camera recorded over 280 events which approximately a third had no pictures of an animal but after carefully reviewing of the pictures, I concluded that wind or possibly changing light condition triggered the camera. Another issue was picture whiteout which occurred I believe during the transition from dusk to dark. The infer red did work well and had great resolution out to 30 or 40 feet. The camera is easy to set up, operate, and program.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Union, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fair Camera

Date:August 6, 2009
I purchased this cam because of the IR and the price and was really hoping it would work to my satisfactory but it didn't. The funny thing is that this cam is made by Stealth cam and they are no better by other reviewers.
Pros: Small, silent, Good Quality and very nice clear day pictures and good b&w at night. Infrared excellent past 30' more like 40-45'. Easy to program. Wide PIR detector
Main Con: trigger speed 6 seconds whether day or night even with a wide PIR detector.
No good for trail scouting but good for feeders. The green and red light could be improved by like a count down for setup and battery life.
I can't say anything about battery life since I only tested it for 2 days.
But if it wasn't for the slow trigger speed I would of kept the camera. I even put it side by side with my Moultrie D40 and that triggered every 2 sec day or not. I wish I was able to replace the flash from white to infrared on that cam.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You get what you pay for!!!!!!!

Date:July 14, 2009
I blame myself for buying this camera. I was looking to save a few bucks to scout an area that I rarely hunt and it backfired on me. This camera is garbage!!!!!!!!!! The picture quality is terrible and that is if it even takes the picture before the animal is out of the frame. Set up is more comlicated than it should be and if that's not bad enough the camera just completely stopped working after about 3 months, and yes I checked the batteries. I guess there is a chance that I could have purchased a lemon but even when the camera worked I was unhappy with its results. If pre-season scouting is vital to your fall and winter hunts, learn from my mistake and buy a quality camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: western Mass
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

slow

Date:July 7, 2009
this camera takes good pictures when it finaly takes them you have to turn all the settings to take the most picutres to get any and if its raining forget about it it wont take them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Wildview IR Extreme Video 5.0 MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

4 stars

Date:July 7, 2009
I bought two of the cameras and I have just started trying them out. I did a test at dark at my home during a light rain and both cameras triggered easily all 5 times I walked past them. However if you are moving very much the pictures will have some blur to them. When I put them in the woods I put them at places I knew the deer would be standing around and not a trail where they would be walking past and the cameras worked fairly well. One of the cameras took 600 hundred pictures the first week and about 50 to 100 pictures were of nothing and I couldn't figure out what was triggering the camera. However I did get lots of good pictures of deer. The other camera got 140 pictures of deer and did well. The IR lights glow red when the camera goes off but doesn't seem to spoke the deer and it doesn't make any sound. The pictures are good but the camera will work best in a spot where deer won't be moving quickly. The biggest negative was several pictures were lost everyday by a white out when the camera switched over from color to black and white at dusk or dawn. For the price of the cameras I though I am satisfied and would recommend the cameras as long as people knew their limitations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-33 of 33