Customer Reviews for Bushnell Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Bushnell Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam

Small enough to fit in your palm, yet big on technology. Lightning-fast trigger speed is less than one second. Multi-image mode can capture one to three images per trigger. Functions up to six months on a single set of four AA batteries or 12 months on eight AA batteries (batteries not included). Day/night autosensor. High-quality, full-color resolution options from 3.0 megapixels to 5.0 megapixels. Crisp VGA videos at 16 fps and QVGA video at 20 fps. Programmable video lengths from one second to 60 seconds. Interval trigger is programmable for between one-second and 60-minute shots. It has 24 infrared nightvision LEDs with a flash range out to 45 ft. The PIR sensor is motion-activated out to 45 ft. and it has adjustable settings (low/med/high). Time-lapse mode. Adjustable web belt and 1/4-20 socket. Functions in extreme temperatures from -5?F to 140?F. SD card slot with a 2GB capacity (SD card sold separately).
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
81 out of 101(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Review 1 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Northern Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Lousy

Date:April 16, 2010
2 trips to Bushnell and it still doesnt work. Thanks Cabelas for refunding my money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Staples, Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Yet

Date:April 4, 2010
I have had a few different models of Bushnell trail cams over the past few years. I have tried other and they just don't seem to be of the quality Bushnell offers at an affordable price. I replace other cams with Bushnell once they stop working.The 2 Trophy cams I just purchased are the best I've
tried so far. Battery life is great, and the pic and video quality
are great as well. They also hide in the woods very easy due
to their size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trophy Cam

Date:March 23, 2010
Great trail cam for the money, slight problem in cold weather if you're on video you may only get 7 or 9 seconds, and would be nice if it had a laser aim feature. I had 1 for the last year just bought 2 more my dad has 1 and a few different moltries and the bushnells perform just as well if not better in many ways. One set of batteries lasted a season with 2 of 3 bars on the meter, fast shutter speed had only 3 or 4 empty pictures out of hundreds taken, also had the sensitivity turned on high so could have been a branch that set it off.
To a few of you that have had problems when you turn on the cam and not having any features work if you don't had a card in it wont let you program anything, as for aiming remember you're most likely taller than what you're trying to shoot so just because you set off the camera doesn't mean it will. and don't set up to far away i try to stay within 25 feet of where i aim it.
This is not the best camera on the market but definitely the best for the price
(it wont shoot the deer for you)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: S. Central Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great camera

Date:March 22, 2010
This is my second game camera. My first was a Moultrie with a regular flash, 2 megapixels, and a 6 volt battery. The Bushnell has a much faster trigger speed, and battery life is great. For cold weather I use lithium batteries. Lithium batteries provide power, where alkaline batteries get weak when very cold. My set of 8 lithium batteries has just gone through an Idaho winter, and the battery gauge still shows full. The compact size is the best, and I just use different lengths of 1/2 "nylon pack straps to mount the camera, depending on the size of the tree or post. The case is very sturdy. I had an elk scratch his body on the camera, and neither the camera or the strap mounts broke under this abuse. The IR sensor is sensitive enough to detect small birds. Programming is easy for anyone who can set the time on a digital watch or program any other modern digital device. I am puzzled by those persons who only give the camera a 1 Star rating. I use SanDisc memory cards, either 1 or 2 GB. At times I have had as many as 400 photos during a week long set. High wind blowing weeds and branches will cause photos to be taken, but the same thing happened with the Moultrie. All you have to do is delete the "wind" pictures, after you upload to your computer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: germany
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

piece of junk

Date:March 14, 2010
DO NOT BUY THIS SYSTEM, save your money or buy a different product. I was reluctant to purchase a trail camera without being able to test it or talk to somebody who owns this model. The reviews for the Bushnell 5.0 megapixel Trophy Cam were positive so I took a chance...big mistake. After 2 weeks, 3 sleeves of AA batteries (I replaced all 8 batteries 3 times with no photos taken) and several hours worth of trying to get the camera to take a picture in daylight, I gave up. It would take photos in SETUP mode only inside of five feet. The camera failed to function with the timer on and would not take photos at all in dark. The biggest frustration was all the lost time trying to make this thing work and making peace with the idea that I knew better. Thanks to Cabela's for standing behind all their products, I received a full refund and learned my lesson. Don't take my word for it, write Cabela's and ask them how many they have had returned...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Limpopo Province. Rep. of South Africa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell 5MP Trophy Cam

Date:March 7, 2010
After searching and comparing different makes I decided on the Trophy cam. Wanted a camera to pinpoint the feeding cycle and behaviour of the South African Bushpig, as it is one of the most sought after game under local hunters. Used the camera for two weeks ( over 200 photos ) and can find nothing to squeel about.
Very easy to operate, great pictures up to 10 meter with the IR flash. ( did not try it on longer shots ) Have not tried the video mode yet. I believe it wil stand up to my expectations. The only negative is the aiming of the camera that is a bit cumbersome using the led marker in setup mode. With the wide detection area this is not a major problem. Thanks for a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: streator, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great camera

Date:March 1, 2010
It is a pretty inexpensive camera for the quality of the pictures and video. It is a very good camera, the battery life is good and despite the other reviews about not performing in the cold it did well in temperatures in the single digits and picked up a lot of good pictures. I would recommend this camera to anyone and will buy another one in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Corbin, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell 5.0 Trophy Cam

Date:February 13, 2010
Great little trail cam. I love that it uses AA batteries and has great battery life. Has been out over a month now in single digits to a high of the thirties and no battery issues at all. Faster trigger time than other cams that I own (Moultrie I-40 & Moultrie 40). Love the small size---not combersome to care or mount.
CONS: Hard to aim--no IR aim--just basically have to "eyeball" it and wait on pictures. I tend to mount it too high onto tree and miss alot of pictures.
I would give 5 stars if it could have an aiming mechanism. I am now sold on Bushnell!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: eastern NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NOT FOR COLD WEATHER

Date:February 1, 2010
I bought this camera and it is nice and compact. However, it only took 1 photo on a milder cold temperature day (35 deg F)and never again. I changed the sensitivity, height on tree, number of photos, etc. No pictures in cold weather yet it claims it works in "extreme" temperatures to -4 degrees F. I returned it and purchased the Leaf River IR-5. This camera works just fine and is built to high class standards. Works great in the cold for pictures or videos. It has a great control panel but the directions are somewhat vague. Once you figure it all out, it is great. It is a bit more money but was on a good sale so not so bad. Very nice camera so far. It is also rated for -4 degrees F but I take it in on extreme cold days as it is not warranted if it is exposed to colder than that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bushnell Trophy Cam

Date:January 30, 2010
I ordered the camera, it came and did not work, it would not respond to the menu keys. Cabelas replaced it with a 2nd one, it came and it also did not respond to the menu keys. Cabelas offered to replace, refund or send a different camera. I was crazy enough to think the 3rd time things would be different. And I was right, they were different, the 3rd one would not even power on. Sending it back for a refund on Monday. Don't buy one of these things!
No problems or issues in dealing with the Cabelas people.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste your time!

Date:January 27, 2010
Ordered the first one, got it, it wouldnt take a pic. The motion sensor wouldn't pick up anything except in setup mode, so I sent it back and got another ; same problem. Bushnell oughtta stick to binoculars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hinesville, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

updated review

Date:January 15, 2010
Ive had this camera in the woods since october and its still taking quality photos (700+). Battery life is still excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:January 14, 2010
I was a bit reluctant to purchase this after reading some of the reviews that had problems in cold weather but I ended up ordering one anyway. First off, the videos and photos are excellent. It makes me want to hunt more when I know all these other big bucks are out that I didn't know about. And to address the others that had issues with temperatures below 40, I have not had that issue at all. I have tried taking videos and photos and both worked just fine in temperatures down to 2 degrees F (coldest it has gotten so far). Easy to setup, EXTREMELY small, you can throw a couple in a pack if you have them. Overall I am very satisfied with this product and I'm going to pick up a couple more for setting up next year's hunts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buchnell 5.0 trophy cam

Date:January 14, 2010
good little camera. good battery life. will buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

innovative product

Date:January 13, 2010
I've had several types of trail cameras but these are definitely the best. The battery life is incredible. I was able to get 5 months out of regular alkaline AA batteries and they still had some juice left when I took the camera down. Changing the SD card is a breeze. I can change the cards and batteries (if I ever need to) without ever taking the camera off the tree. The trigger speed is very fast. When I walk in front of it it may even go off a little before I get into view. It always takes the second and third pics while I'm walking through the view. The picture quality isn't the best I've seen but it is more than adequate to get the details of whatever you're looking at. I also like the outer case. The latches seal it up very well. It's just like a Pelican case with a camera built in. They're small and easy to carry around. A great product!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Blueridge Mountains of Va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pros & cons

Date:January 10, 2010
I got the Bushnell Trophy Cam for Christmas 2009. I have 2 Cuddeback Capture cameras already. The Bushnell has been out in the woods now for 3 weeks right alongside one of my Cuddeback cameras as a personal field test. I think the Bushnell may have a little problem with cold temperatures. We have had night temperatures from 10 to 15 degrees the whole 3 weeks. Most nights the Cuddeback gets 35 to 50 photos and the Bushnell gets 20 to 35 shooting the same area as the Cuddeback. Both are set for 30 second picture taking. I do like the size of the Bushnell. You will need to get a different attachment strap for the camera as the little buckle with mine broke the first time I tried to attach it to a tree. The instruction book with the Bushnell Trophy Cam is about worthless. I would rather pay $10.00 more and get a good instruction manual. I finally gave up and just played with the camera till I got it programmed. It is not as easy a process as some will lead you to believe. Cuddeback is totally user friendly but not so Bushnell. Another thing I have a problem with is that the latches to lock the camera cover, face toward the tree, and it is hard to get your fingers on them to open them. I have 4 AA batteries in my Trophy Cam and they have worked well so far. When I put it out for extended use, I will use the 8 battery set up. The Cuddeback is a 1.3 megapixel during day light operation and the Bushnell Trophy Cam is 5.0 megapixels but the Cuddeback actually takes better photos. I would like to see Bushnell make the Trophy Cam with a flash version for night time photos. The biggest selling point for the Trophy Cam is it's size and reasonable price. I wish Cuddeback would come out with a camera the size of the Bushnell Trophy Cam. I definately rate Cuddeback higher. I hope this review was helpful to you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:January 4, 2010
It was so easy to set up I did not have to read the instructions. I have took over 300 picts with this camera and they are good. I have uesd it in video mode and the vidoes were good. The camera has been out in the woods for 2 months and the batteries are still good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mtns of N.M.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

work great

Date:December 31, 2009
I recently purchased 2 of the bushnell cameras and was a little worried about the cold weather reviews that I had read. However, the 2 cameras I purchased have both taken excellent pictures in sub zero conditions, over 400 pics on each, and are still running on the original batteries 2 months later. I am an outfitter and cameras are a very important part of my business and I will definately purchase more of these because of the size, mobility and picture quality. Great product Bushnell!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: The Deep South,GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap Junk

Date:December 29, 2009
I bought this trail cam and found it was relativly easy to setup. After setup Itook the cam outside and tested it. It took 4 pictures and the photo quality was very good. I then took the camera and set it up on a mineral lick. So far, so good. Went back a week later and checked it. The lick had been worked over real good. Opened the camera and found the batteries, all 8 of them, dead and not one photo taken. Thought it may be my fault so I took it home, put in fresh batteries, set it up outside and it took 2 photos and just quit working. It never took another photo after that. I'm exchanging it for a Cuddeback Capture. I have several of them and they work perfectly. I always thought Bushnell made cheap products and now I'm convinced they make cheap junk. Don't waste your time and money. Get a Cuddeback, Moultrie or whatever, anything but Bushnell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bushnell 5.0 Megapixel Trophy Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: East Longmeadow, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell 5.0 Megapixal Tropy Cam

Date:December 28, 2009
I purchased the cam 3 moths ago from a local Cabela's store and it has taken over 400 pictures and 150 vidio clips and batteries still going strong. This is the first trail cam I have owned and found it very easy to use. The item that could use improvement is the camera iternal numbering cancels out the number each time format, unlike your handheld cameras which continues for the life of the camera, thus preventing the same number. So to solve I made a file for the days pictures were taken.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 101