Customer Reviews for G5 Outdoors G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

G5 Outdoors G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest

This drop-away rest is so easy to use and tune any level of archer will have success with it. The Expert II gives you the ability for microadjustment a full 1/4" of vertical. Ultraquiet draw with dampening rubber bumper for the stealth hunter. The polymer over-molded launcher spool design renders it super-quiet. 100% corrosion-resistant components for long life. Adjustable spring tension. Cord Lock system can be pulled from buss cable or cable slide. Includes hex wrench for fine tune adjustments. Right-hand only. Camo pattern: Realtree? AP HD?.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Review 1 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southren I.L
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome!

Date:January 3, 2010
this arrow rest is great and quite... the only way your getting your arrow to fall off is if you completely turn the bow sideways pretty well you have to try your hardest to get the arrow to come off.... regular hunting situations and odd shots wont make it... just pulling back as fast as you can will make it fall. G5 is a very high quality brand!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: central wi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

expert 2

Date:November 19, 2009
got this as a present...was really excited to get it on and shoot. worked great all summer. come fall i shot 1 day and was shooting like 3 feet left. moral of story is a screw and spring came out and then my arrow fletchings got all messed up and it took some plastic off of the rest. just e-mailed their customer service hopefully i will be taken care of!!
w/ out these problems and up until this i loved it!
never had any problems w/ arrow falling off hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Troy, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Rest

Date:October 20, 2009
I love my Expert rest. It is dead silent, and works correctly every time. If you have a problem with your arrow floating off the rest, it is because your knock is getting pinched. This usually occurs by a rope d-loop being to tight against the nock. Not being able to handle your draw weight also does not help.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

expert II drop-away

Date:August 22, 2009
This rest is awesome, so easy to install, setup, and tune. So well designed and extremely strong, lightweight, and it is the quietest rest I haven't heard. A piece of advise to previous review writers, and perhaps some in the future, if it looks like you are chopping firewood when you are pulling your bow back then lower your draw weight so you can handle it. This would be the only reason I could even imagine that the arrow would come off during the draw. This should never be a problem with this rest, as it cradles the arrow perfectly and securely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Staples, Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Drop-Away out there

Date:June 13, 2009
Had a Spot-Hogg Whammy for a while but it was so noisy,the
snap at the shot was way louder than my new Reezen 7.0. I
switched to the Expert II and it is very quiet, reliable, the arrow stays on just fine and my broadheads (Montecs) group
with field points out to 50 yards. This company has not put out a bad product yet so in the future, I will be looking to G5 first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wouldn't Buy It Again

Date:May 14, 2009
Solid Drop Away. Quiet, reliable, but not recommended for hunting. The arrow will fall of, even if you are careful about a smooth draw. I was worried about this before I bought it and sure enough, I am going to change
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Rest

Date:May 10, 2009
I have been using a whisker biscuit for the last 1 1/2 years with good results, but I practice so much the biscuit would breakdown quickly. I switck to the G5 Expert II last week and I could not be happier! My shot group has improved and I do not have to worry about my rest wearing down. Highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hush hush

Date:April 6, 2009
I tried the qud but it started to fail after only 20-30 shots.
so I got the g5 wich is super quite, looks good, seems very dependable and reilable, and most importantly works great..it also comes up very smoothly and i havent had an arrow fall off yet, aside from that it seems like it will work reliably far longer then the qud or ripcord.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KANSAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 EXPERT II

Date:February 17, 2009
REST SEEMS TO WORK VERY WELL. EASY TO INSTALL AND SETUP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 does it again

Date:January 10, 2009
Another great G5 product. Easy to set up and fine tune. Very quite and durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elk, Mule deer, and white tail hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Absolutely the best

Date:January 10, 2009
I have never been compelled to write a review before. But after using several drop away rests, the G5 Expert II is the best I've found. No other has given me TOTAL clearance with a PERFECT bullet hole through paper on initial setup. As a die hard hunter in rough terrain, the simplicity and durability are of utmost importance to me. I wish I could give it more stars. Thanks Cabela's and G5. I will DEFINITELY buy more G5 products in the future. All you archers out there, look no further.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

g5 expert 2

Date:December 9, 2008
verry quiet. easy to set up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: East Central Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Shelf

Date:November 3, 2008
Its too bad the earlier review tarnished this 5 star rest. This rest is by far the quietest rest I have ever shot and is built very well. Excellent clearance with a more than generous launcher. In my opinion, only a case of Buck Fever could knock the arrow off.
G5 Expert II in definately in a league of its own, Top Shelf Archery at its best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: sac,ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

BE CAREFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:October 27, 2008
IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GOOD REST FOR YOUR TARGET BOW, THIS IS A GREAT ONE, HOWEVER IF YOUR PLANNING ON THIS REST FOR HUNTING FORGET ABOUT IT!!!!! I DREW BACK ON A MONSTER WITH THE G-5 ON MY 08 S-2 HANGING OUT THE SIDE OF MY TREE STAND TO MISS THE CHANCE AT THE TOAD DO TO THE ARROW FALLING OFF. THERE IS NOTHING TO HOLD ARROW IN PLACE,AND SOMETIMES THE ARROW BOUNCES OUT OF THE HOLDER PROVIDED.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southern illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best rest there is

Date:October 24, 2008
i recently went from a trophy taker taker to the g5 expert II. i have to say the biggest difference is seen. this rest has completely eliminated fletching clearance problems. i am now shooting 3 inch groups at 30 yards and consistent groups at 45 to 50 yards. the only complaint i have is that i have robin hooded 2 sets of arrows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Round Lake Beach, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Expert II

Date:September 26, 2008
By far the best drop away rest I ever put into my bow. Really quiet, easy to install and well made. When you drawyour bow the arrow will smoothly roll into the rest without jumping from the supplied arrow holder. Totally satisfied with this product, G5 has always excellent product in the archery market. Highly recommended to anyone looking for an excellent drop away rest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LaCrescent MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best rest ever

Date:August 23, 2008
I shoot a 07 bowtech tribute! I switched from a muzzy zero effect rest to this g5 rest and am so happy I did! My muzzy was really loud because the blazer vanes on my maxima hunters would not clear the rest no matter what I did! My girlfriend bought me this rest for my birthday and I imediatly had it installed and paper tuned! It was an incredible difference! The tributes have a signature thump at the end of there shot and thats all you here! Its amazing!
g5 is gonna be one of the biggest if not the biggest archery accesory company in the world!
2007 bowtech tribute 72#
g5 expert II
g5 xr sight
g5 meta peep
g5 montec broadheads
______________________
one sweet setup!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montgomery, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome Rest

Date:July 16, 2008
I went from a whisker biscuit on a Bear Instinct to the G5 Expert 2 and its amazing. The sraightness of the arrow flight, constent accuracy, and the speed increase. It has complete fletching clearence and is the quietest rest on the market. The rest holds the arrow good when at full draw. No metal to metal contact. I would recommend this to anyone out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Did Good

Date:June 16, 2008
I Just put this rest on my bow a week ago. I have shot about 100 arrows and so far so good. This rest was easy to get the timing adjusted and I had no problems with getting the center shot and nock point set. I really liked that G5 put a hole that you can put a allen wrench in that holds the rest in the up position while making these adjustments. Having just put the rest on I decided to start by shooting a group at ten yards and I tubed the first arrow. This rest is super quiet even when drawing. I shot a few arrows with a traditional shooter and he even commented on how quiet my bow was. I would recommend this rest to everyone including beginners.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for G5 Expert II Camo Drop-Away Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grapevine TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Expert II

Date:June 11, 2008
I bought this rest to replace a TT rest that I was not happy with.
The rest is exactly as it is advertised. Extremely quiet, easy to tune, and simple. In fact it may be the quietest drop away rest I have used. I was a little concerned that it might have a hump in it, causing you arrow to jump if you draw quickly(Especially if you have binary cams). Not the case. I actually tied it to my slide and it works perfect. I still can't believe how quiet it is. I shoot a fast bow over 330 and was worried about fletching contact. I powdered some arrows and was very happy with the clearance and speed. The only thing I wish G5 would do is add slide to go with it in the package.
Also be careful it is a solid aluminum rest and you can strip the screw heads if you over tighten.
Overall I highly recommend this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.