Customer Reviews for Cuddeback Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cuddeback Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera

The Cuddeback® Capture may be the easiest to use digital scouting camera ever made. You'll learn to operate the Capture in less than a minute. The innovative Rotary Switch programming makes setup as simple as setting an alarm clock. The revolutionary Hair™ Trigger Technology provides you with trigger speeds comparable to previous Cuddeback models. The Capture features a 40-ft. flash range to produce color images both day and night. Plus, you get 3.0-megapixel image quality during the day and night. The extended battery life gives you more than 1,000 images on a single set of four D batteries (not included). Test mode determines detection zone of coverage. Five delay settings let you choose the time between exposures, from 30 seconds to 30 minutes. SD card expands image storage up to 2GB (sold separately). Weatherproof housing in 3-D Reality™ camo.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.052 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(288 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 288 reviews
5 Stars
166
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
8
1 Star
41
235 out of 288(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Review 81 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SE Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wildlife camera

Date:July 7, 2009
Works well and is easy to set up. Sucessfully took photos the first time I used it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Birmingham, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Capture

Date:June 16, 2009
Have 4 trail cameras, 2 of which are Captures. Have not been using them long enough to know about length of service, but both are functioning good at this point. Get good pics and trigger speed seems to be fast enough to get pics on trails, not just over bait stations. They function as good as other more expensive model I use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: BATTLE CREEK, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EASY TO USE

Date:June 15, 2009
VERY NICE CAMERA FOR THE LESS EXPENSIVE CUDDEBACK. FLASH RANGE COULD BE BETTER BUT ALL IN ALL A GOOD PICTURE AND TRIGGER SPEED. PLANNING ON BUYING ANOTHER ONE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wauzeka, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the cuddeback

Date:June 6, 2009
I got the camera the first day and It took really good pictures in the house and it was fast It really took long good pictures of me at 50 ft and I would recommend it to anybody.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rockland County, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cuddeback Capture

Date:April 12, 2009
Bought this camera and the first one i had the flash would not go off at night. Called cuddeback they fixed it and sent me the camera back. The first night and the following day had great pictures on there the pictures taken at night were clear. Also had heavy rain all night and the camera stayed dry and worked as it was supposed to (including catching two people messing with my friend's stand). Can't wait to put this out for an extended period and see what it can do. Also, while reading some of these reviews people complained about Cuddebacks customer service. I had a very positive experience with them, the people i spoke to were very polite and apologetic for the defective flash.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mountainous New Mexico, lots of pines & fir trees
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cuddeback scout

Date:April 7, 2009
After reading other reviews, I was very worried about getting one that ate batteries, but so far mine has been out for about a week and batteries are still at full charge-about 40 pictures (15 with flash) and all batteries still at 1.5 volts. Getting them in is a tight squeeze and getting them out is darn near impossible- I had to pry them out with a screw driver and slightly damaged one of the battery tops. I will probably use a dremel to pare down the flanges, which are a bit too high-a design flaw- you can't angle the batteries past them. The picture quality seems okay. I've never used a trail camera, but I think the quality will be sufficient. At night, the camera would trigger at about 30 feet, but the flash was not bright enough to sufficiently light the subject. This is not a flaw, as most camera flashes would not illuminate that far out either. Should be fine if set up so the subject would have to pass by closer. If you want a well-camoflauged camera you will have to add some paint- a slightly darker gray color would work better than the tan color- not too many trees have that color. I will be using the bear safe, which is an even lighter color yet- I plan on using actual bark and gluing it on- I plan on using the camera for security as well, so I want it to blend in perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

norwoodhunter

Date:April 5, 2009
I've
used Stealth Cam products for 6+ years and will never go back to them
after using the Cuddeback Capture. I setup this camera overlooking my
food plot, for two weeks, side by side with my Stealth Cam model and
the Cuddeback took over 50 more pictures. Not only did the Cuddeback
take more pictures, it captured pictures of coyotes, a bobcat and
numerous turkeys that the other camera didn't. The easy setup makes
field operation a true advantage. My only complaint with the camera is
transfering images from the SD card onto my computer using my HP
reader. For some reason, the images will not load using an HP reader
configured with my computer. I haven't determined if this is a copy
protection feature of the Cuddeback or only a format issue of the SD
card. Regarless, a great camera, clear images and great trigger speed.
Goodbye Stealth Cam!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: western pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

capture 3.0

Date:March 17, 2009
Capture 3.0 takes awesome pictures day or night! I have only had my capture for a few weeks and i still have the same batteries in it. Its taken about 2000 pics and some nights it was near zero degrees. I set my camera by the feeder and set it to take a pic every minute (it was a new toy to play with) i did notice that sometimes it would go about 3 minutes between pics of the same deer feeding. All in all i am happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very happy so far....

Date:February 18, 2009
So far I'm pretty pleased with the cuddeback picture quality is by far better than cam I was using before. Battery life is good so far but recently the temperature has been below zero or just above for the two weeks I've had it out. So its not the best way to gauge battery life but it was better than the other camera I've used before. I have no complaints so far and can't wait till spring to get it back out. Overall a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cuddeback Capture

Date:February 10, 2009
Overall, I have been very happy with my purchase. I have another trail cam and miss a great deal of pictures due to slow trigger speed. With my Cuddeback, I have no blank pictures and only 1 partial picture. That picture appears to be of a deer that was on a dead run and passed within a few feet of the camera. The only reason I have not rated this item as a 5 star item is I have not had it in use for an extended time period. Overall, well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cuddeback Capture 3.0 - good camera

Date:February 3, 2009
This is my third trail camera and the best yet. I had been using a Moultrie GameSpy and hated it. It would not trigger half of the time and would take "white-out" pictures. The Cuddeback triggers every time and I have beautiful pictures. Now when I setup my trail cam I know it is going to trigger when something walks by when I used to be weary that it was even working. I also had the Capture IR but the infared night pictures were terrible and I could not tell if the deer was a buck/doe from 8ft away, so I returned it for the flash Capture and I am very happy with it. I just wish there was a more secure way to lock it or fasten it to the tree without having to buy the Cuddeback Bearsafe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Stockton, Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cuddeback Capture 3.0

Date:January 26, 2009
This is my first trail cam and it did meet my expectations. Its takes excellent color pics night and day. The range of the flash at night is amazing. Trigger speed is fast so u do not miss anything. I must say if it had the ability to do video it would have been rated at a 5 for me. This is not my last cuddeback. I will be purchasing many more in the future. The flash does not scare them at all I have the same deer coming back numerous times to the bait pile even the big boy I have only seen signs of in the past. I now have numerous pics of him.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An OK automatic camera.

Date:January 5, 2009
Purchased the camera to find out who was getting into my office at night. This camera did not work for that, had to spend alot more money for RECONYX with IR flash to accomplish that.
These cameras seem to be pretty good for the cheaper price. They worked OK in cold temperatures at around 15F in the back yard around the house. To get a picture of something like a person distance should probably be 15 to 50 feet. It would work over a larger range but I am not sure how the pictures would turn out.
Easy to view results on the computer.
I will loan these to a friend who runs a couple of trap lines and see what he thinks of them. I don't have much hope of very good preformance with the white light flash at night but hope to use them as security cameras around the boat floating docks during the daylight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Millersburg,Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not A Good Strap

Date:December 23, 2008
This is a very good camera, takes high quality pictures that you can see crystal clear. There is only one problem, THE STRAP IS A PIECE OF NOTHING.....Cuddeback if you want more people to buy your product I would reccomend a completely different mounting system. The camera is awesome though !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryland bow hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trail Cam

Date:December 12, 2008
This is a great product. Easy to set up and use, great battery life, very fast shutter speed and motion sensor and takes very high quality pix. The attaching strap is functional, but does not match the overall high quality standards of the rest of the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: I hunt in New York's Adirondacks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cuddeback Camera

Date:December 9, 2008
The Cuddeback Capture camera is by far the easiest camera to set up and operate that I've seen. The pictures are top quality and when I don't have it set up in my hunting areas, it's in my back yard at night on the bird feeders. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Amherst, Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Camera

Date:December 8, 2008
The camera takes great pictures day and night. The trigger speed is very fast. I can drive by the camera with the YAMAHA Rhino at 12 MPH and it will get the picture. I had the camera for 2 months and the flash stopped working. Took it back to Cabela's and they gave me a new camera. No problems with this one so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Satisfaction Guarenteed

Date:December 3, 2008
I own a Cuddeback No Flash and found the Capture to be far more superior. Not only do the batteries stay in place but you can set the delay to 30 seconds, which makes a big deal when hunting the rut. Bucks are always last in line and if a doe comes by than I know the camera will have a better chance of getting the pic of Big Boy if the delay is under a minute. Very easy to use as well!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Capture cam

Date:November 18, 2008
This is a great cam for the money. Sure it dos'nt record video,but I knew this before I bought it. The Flash is great and in sync perfectly with the cam(no washed out or dim pics.). The trgger speed is all they say it is. all other cams I have I have to use bait, but the capture I just set up on the trail and it dosnt miss a pic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Cuddeback® Capture 3.0 Megapixel Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brazil, Ind
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tree attachment

Date:November 3, 2008
So far the only thing I think can be improved is the way the strap holds the camera to the tree. It is too narrow and allowes the camera to move some what. If there were more prongs to secure to the tree, I think the belt might help more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 81-100 of 288