Customer Reviews for Stealth Cam Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Stealth Cam Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera

See the game that's on your property with Stealth Cam's Rogue IR. It delivers high-resolution stills with infrared technology. You'll get 1.3, 3.0 or 5.0-megapixel color stills and infrared images and video at night out to 40 ft. with the 36 stealthy IR emitters. VGA video compression with 640x480 digital video programmable for five to 180 second adjustable video clips. Time, date, moon phase and temperature stamp on images and video. Accepts up to a 2GB SD card. Burst Mode? shoots one to nine images per triggering. 32MB built-in memory. One to 59 minute programmable time-out. Low-battery and test-mode LED indicators. Operates on eight C batteries (not included). Optional 12-volt Battery Kit extends power source (sold separately). Adjustable PIR (Passive Infrared Sensor). USB and AV output. Includes strap and USB cable.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.181 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
8
1 Star
27
66 out of 105(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Review 21 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Appleton, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so good

Date:September 28, 2009
After reading the reviews I thought I would give this camera a try. The motion sensor is not consistant past 20ft regardless of setting on camera. Overexposure. If the camera is in a shadowy, dark area and the pictures are taken in a brighter area, the infared sensor will kick in and you will get white pictures. It doesnt matter whether the camera is facing north, south or in a lighted building. I do like the ease of access to the SD card. Programming was easy if you read the directions. The pictues that are taken without the overexposure are good during the day and night. Belt strap not a good option when trying to hang in a tree 15ft above ground. Difficult to get the right angle. I like the test sensor, but it doesn't go off all the time. So you dont know if your setup is going to work or not (very frustrating). The only way to make sure it is working properly is to take test pictures as you walk by your camera, hope it takes pictures, take the sd card out and take home to computer. Fine and dandy if the camera is in your back yard. The place I hunt is 1.5 hours away from home. Not recommened for a serious hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: seattle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:September 20, 2009
worked as advertised. Tended to overexspose on IR with no way to adjust . Overall great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very impressed with the photo quality and features

Date:September 18, 2009
I didn't use this camera for trail photos. I used it to catch a thief and we got our man the very first time out. We obtained excellent evidence photos.
The environment was inside photograph with limited lighting. We got outstanding shots. We tried a trail camera on a lark, and this one sure paid off. I would recommend this camera to anyone, including other detectives, and I have already.
The price for this highly diverse piece of equipment is more then reasonable and frankly I was surprised to get such a quality product for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MARATHON , N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PICTURE QUALITY

Date:September 15, 2009
NIGHT TIME PICTURES TURNED OUT GREAT ! ! ! 4 STARS
EARLY MORNING @ 6:30 AM PICTURES WERE SO BRIGHT YOU COULD NOT SEE WHAT WAS THERE !!!! 2 STARS
EASY SET UP ! ! ! 4 STARS
EASY MOUNTING TO A TREE ! ! ! 4 STARS
OVER ALL I GAVE IT A 4 OUT OF 5
I HAVE NOT FIGURED OUT WHY PICTURES DURRING DAYLIGHT TURN OUT SO BRIGHT YOU CANT SEE WHAT IS IN THE PICTURES , I MOUNTED IT NORTH , SO IT WOUL NOT GET MORNING SUN FROM THE EAST OR SUNSETS IN THE WEST , COMING FROM THE WEST ..... SO I KNOW THAT IS NOT THE PROBLEM !!!!!
DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY IDEAS WHY THIS ACCURED ????
I WILL CHECK FOR ANSWERS
I WOULD UPLOAD PICTURES IF I KNEW HOW TO DO IT
ONLY REASON I WOULD RECCOMOND TO OTHERS IS THE NIGHT TIME PICTURES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good investment

Date:September 11, 2009
I have two of these cameras. I have been getting good battery life,good trigger speed,and good pictures day and night. My nephew also has one and has been very satisfied.I gave it a 4 there is always room for improvement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains,VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Game Scouting Camera

Date:September 2, 2009
The first one I ordered made it through the programming, but would not complete the test mode. After two attempts by Stealth Cam technical support ( by phone ) to help me correct the problem, I returned it for an exchange. The second unit would not even start the programming mode. I returned it ,and gave up on trail cameras for this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florence, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cam

Date:September 1, 2009
This is a great, camera. It takes great pictures at night. Very good pictures during the day also. I have had it approx 2 weeks, and I'm excited everytime i go to check the camera. I would recommend getting a sd card for the camera though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Problems at first, then...

Date:September 1, 2009
Yes, at first I had problems using this camera. The pictures were so so and the IR (night) pictures were complete white out. SO I went and read the owners manual. WOW what a complete difference. You have to adjust the camera to the specs you desire, or the ones that will work best with the environment you are going to use it in. And although it is tedious and we usually don't do this you MUST read the owners manual for mounting and positioning directions. Day pictures are clear and night pictures are absolutely awesome, even set to "close range PIR" the Infra-red snapped pictures clear enough to seen my entire yard (40 Yds wide X 60 Yds deep). Mounting in a hunting location in two days and cant wait to see the results. OH YEAH, forgot to mention the camera is completely silent too.
Only neg is what others have stated, the speed from sensor trip to 1st pictures is a little slow but if the animal isn't running you get him in there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting C

Date:August 24, 2009
Daytime images were fine, 90% of nightime/dawn and late evenings were whiteouts. Tried setting camera in multiple directions, no success whatsoever. Even set it up in my workshop under low light conditions, no better at all!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brunswick, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does what I need it to do

Date:August 22, 2009
I was very confused researching all the different Trail Cams. I did not want to spend a lot of money, but not waste my money either. Set it up by my feeder and so far so good. Day shots look great. Night shots look good for the IR. The trigger is a little slow, so you might miss something traveling quickly by. The manual recommends setting it up by a feeder or mineral block. I am using the C batteries right now, after 2 weeks I have over 200 pics and batteries are still reading full. Out of the 200 about 8 shots didn't capture anything. I am thinking about getting the rechargeable 12 volt system. I had a couple windy nights with no misfires from foliage motion. All in all I am please so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Central part of MT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

trail watching

Date:August 3, 2009
This is a very good camera and never gave any trouble, but was hard for me to program. The speed of the picture was not good for me, as game that was walking by tripped the timer , but got out of the way before picture was taken.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scout Camera

Date:August 3, 2009
Camera was used for one week, pick up 24 clear shoots, but only 6 shoots of a animal. The balance were pictures of the area in front of the carmera, wind or rain must have caused the other pictures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cortland, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stealth Cam - STC-1540IR

Date:August 3, 2009
I have four cameras, the Stealth Cam has by far the clearest pictures I have ever seen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lincoln ,NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't Do It !!!

Date:August 3, 2009
Bought this camera a few weeks back while it was on sale. 1st setup was so so good morning pics but horrible night pics. Also a lot of scenery pics during the day thought sunrise was the problem. 2nd setup no sun interference so less scenery pics night pictures were blurry which kept me from seeing the monsters in velvet. Last setup had over 700 scenery pics which wasnt good knowing placement was in canopy of trees. Those 700 pics broke the shutter. Have an I550 with the flash havent had a single problem and the deer love it its almost as if they are posing at times. Going back to store in the morning good thing cabelas is a great company which caters to its customers the best Ive ever seen. Happy Hunting All
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Alright for a year, after that nothing but TROUBLE

Date:August 2, 2009
I bought this camera after using a few other cameras hoping it would be a upgrade. I purchased this camera and the 12 volt charging system for it. Battery Life is great, over all pictures are awesome. But for some reason I have bad luck with a camera after about 8 months to a year. I went from having 300 to 700 pictures every two weeks, to having maybe 20 or 30 a MONTH! In NC you can bait deer and i put my cameras on corn piles to see what comes in. And The deer were eating over a hundred pound of corn a week and the pictures want adding up to the useage of the site. I dont know what the deal is. If your a weekend warrior deer hunter this camera might do alright but for those of us who hunt morning noon and night about 5 days out of the week i wouldnt hit a dead hog in the butt with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Contra Costa. CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cam for the $$$

Date:July 28, 2009
Love this camera. Have both the Sniper Pro with Flash and this one. Both are great. This one provides great B&W night photos. Can't go wrong with this camera. Looking to buy another one if they go on sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wayland New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Will buy another

Date:July 26, 2009
Picture quality is great.Battery life much longer than I expected. Night time pics are very clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Clay county Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trail Cam Review

Date:July 5, 2009
The camera has worked perfectly. I read other reviews complaining about battery life so i purchaced the 12 volt stelth camera external battery pack. after 3,000 pictures the low battery light still has not came on. Pictures are crystal clear and sharp day or night.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Limerick, pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stealth cam

Date:July 1, 2009
I bought 2 of these cameras for my property in Ohio and was very happy with its performance. It even caught a deer running full speed with 3 crystal clear pictures. Defintley picking up another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Stealth Cam Rogue IR Digital Video Game Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Eastman, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

RUN DEER, RUN!!!!!!!!!

Date:July 1, 2009
I have always used the flash cameras and had gotten great pictures. I bought this camera for the IR and tried it and got some good pictures, but alot of deer running. I had it set on video mode. When it starts to record, the bulbs turn red. It almost looks like a tail light on the tree. But the batteries did last over a month and the pictures of deer that didn't spook were ok.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 105