Customer Reviews for Smart Scouter SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Smart Scouter SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System

Imagine a scouting camera capable of sending you photos instantly anywhere in the world. That is a reality with the new SmartScouter system. All you need is an internet connection or cell phone to view all the latest images from your favorite hunting spots. The SmartScouter essentially is a 1.3-megapixel scouting camera capable of sending digital images just like a cell phone. Here's how it works: set up the SmartScouter just like you would a regular scouting camera. It will detect game movement and snap a photo. The image is sent wirelessly through the cellular network to smartscouter.com. You can then retrieve images and manage the camera from your computer or cell phone. Send pictures to your computer or cell phone within 40 seconds. Convenience is just one of SmartScouter's many advantages. It saves you time and money by eliminating travel expenses to and from camera locations for picture retrieval. You won't have to disrupt your hunting area, eliminating the chance of spooking away game before the start of the season. You get 24/7 picture viewing in real time for the most accurate scouting information. This means you'll know where to hunt tomorrow based on today's game movement. Each contract can have up to six different guest accounts, making it perfect for hunting groups and clubs. The SmartScouter can also be used as a normal scouting camera in areas without cellular coverage. It has a built-in compact flash (CF) card slot for easy image retrieval and allows you to use the camera in areas with no cellular coverage. The infrared monitoring flash system allows you to set the camera next to your stand location for precise scouting without the fear of spooking game with a white flash. The 50 infrared bulbs illuminate out to 60 feet. Three smart Passive Infrared Sensor settings (high, medium and low) detect different temperatures, while allowing the camera to sleep and conserve energy. The system is capable of taking pictures at specific times, and image resolutions can be set at high or low settings. Best of all, each of these adjustments can be made from your computer via your personal user account on smartscouter.com. SmartScouter currently sends pictures over the Sprint and Alltel networks to include their roaming partners such as Verizon. SmartScouter pricing plan:SmartScouter base charge is $14.99 per month (in season) and $7.99 when not in use (off season). You can hibernate your account for up to six months per year. The first 500 pictures each month are $0.04 for each low-resolution image and $0.10 for each high-resolution image. After the first 500 pictures, the fee is $0.02 for low resolution and $0.05 for high resolution. A wireless contract is required on activation. A one-time activation fee of $20 applies to all contracts. Cancellation fee is $75.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Review 1 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Camera

Date:December 28, 2009
I got my Smart Scouter Camera and while screwing the antenna to the camera the antenna would not get tight so I backed it off and the plastic antenna housing unscrewed from the antenna. I screwed the plastic housing back on the antenna body. I can see no reason why it would not work even though this should not have happened in the first place. I turned the camea on and it took forever to boot up. After the camera was booted up it couldn't receive a signal. I have another camera that transmits pictures through the same cell service and it worked well in this same location.
I called Smart Scouter and they told me I would need a different antenna. This antenna would be mounted to a metal shelf and then mounted above the camera via a long cable. I live close to one of the Smart Scouter offices and I took the camera there. A service technician set the camera up to his test panel and installed the new antenna that has the shelf. The camera got a good signal. They gave me the new antenna.
I set the camera up in the same prior location and it did get a signal and transmited pictures. The day pictures look all washed out and the night pictures look OK, I guess.
Now I'm ready to take the camera to the woods. As I was removing the antenna from the metal shelf this antenna came apart too. The antenna has a magnet in the bottom and that pulled out. I called Smart Scouter and they told me that the antenna they gave me is now discontinued. Now they wanted to sell me another type antenna for $59.99. I asked if I could just return the camera for a refund but they said I had the camera for more than 30 days and could not get a refund. I had the camera about 45 days or so. A representative at Smart Scouter said the only thing he could do was to give me $20 off the $59.99 antenna or send me another shelf type antenna that is discontinued. I said that I wasn't going to spend any more money on this unit and I accepted the offer to have yet another discontinued shelf type antenna sent to me.
I was told On Dec 16th by their representative at Smart Scouter that they had one shelf style antenna left and he would have it sent to me that day. It is Dec 28th and I still don't have the new discontinued antenna.
I stopped waiting on the new discontinued antenna and glued the magnet back on the antenna and took it to the woods.
I am very disappointed in the product quality and the service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This thing is a hoot!

Date:November 29, 2009
The SmartScouter is addictive! Looking for photos from the camera on my computer or iphone is something I look forward to at the end of every work day. The image quality set on low is sufficient to see what to count the points on any buck that goes by. We've gotten bear, plenty of deer, and a turkey set on the highest sensitivity setting. I bought an extra battery to swap out so we have continuous coverage. I give it four stars because the delay causes the camera to miss game moving fairly close to the camera - that is partly a set up issue. Also, it is pricey, but considering the 4 hours round trip drive, plus walking time, plus disturbing the game, it probably saves money in the end. No problem with cell phone coverage even in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains. This camera is a game changer for trail cams.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Southern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Problems....and not a lot of help

Date:October 15, 2009
My wife bought this for me as an anniversary present! My land is about an hour away, so this was a perfect scouting solution. Prior to buying the camera, she went on the Smartscouter website to be sure we had cell coverage. My land was in the highest rated area.
The first camera would not send pictures. After several emails and phone calls, Smartscouter determined that the serial number on my camera was incorrect and that my pictures were probably being sent to another customer. So, they agreed to send me a new camera (I had to pay for it up front and activate a SECOND cell plan), and I could return my Cabela's camera to them for a refund.
I got the new camera and it worked at home but I could not get ANY cell serviced any where on my 120 acres with the camera, despite their website giving it a top rating for cell service.
I called again to get a refund. Smartscouter promised a refund on BOTH activations and on my second camera (the first was returned to Cabela's without any problems), but said I had to wait for a shipping slip to send it back. I have emailed and called several times, and each time they promise a shipping slip, but still after over a month nothing has been sent. Oh, and they are still billing me a monthly cell fee!
So, I guess I will pay the money to send it back and demand refunds for the camera, cell service and shipping.
I don't know if the camera is good or not since I never did get either of mine to work. They are nice, but follow up is terrible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WMSPT PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOT OF FUN

Date:January 14, 2009
THIS CAMERA IS A LOT OF FUN. ONCE YOU HAVE RECEIVED YOUR CAMERA AND SET UP YOUR ACCOUNT WITH SMART SCOUTER YOU ARE ABLE TO HAVE YOUR PICS SENT TO FIVE OF YOU CLOSEST HUNTING BUDDIES EVERY TIME THEY ARE SENT TO YOU. MY PHONE STARTS RINGING NOW AS SOON AS A DAY GOES BY THAT I DONT GET PICS. THEY ARE CALLING TO SEE IF I PULLED THE CAMERA FOR CHARGING. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS WITH SMART SCOUTER ARE GREAT AND REALLY GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO HELP YOU OUT. EXPECT TO SPEND A LITTLE TIME TWEAKING YOUR
CAMERA SET UP AND DISTANCE TO YOUR DESIRED TARGET TO GET OPTIMAL PICS, BUT IT IS WORTH THE TIME. THE ONLY REASON I DID NOT GIVE IT FIVE STARS IS PICTURE QUALITY. THE PICTURE QUALITY ALTHOUGH MEDIOCORE AT BEST IS GOOD ENOUGH TO IDENTIFY AND DIFFERENTIATE BUCK ON YOUR PROPERTY. IF YOU ARE A LAND MANAGEMENT NUT LIKE MYSELF THIS CAMERA IS A MUST.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Huntsville, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great Idea, however with unresolved problems

Date:October 14, 2008
The SmartScouter product is a superb idea, however, the product has many "glitches" to be resolved, including poor photo quality, even when paying 39 cents per photo at the "mega level". Most concerning is that the customer service department appears to be severely limited and you will either be met with an answering machine with no response, emails that evidently get lost, or if you are able to speak with someone "a promise to recontact you regarding the issue that is not fulfilled". I have been using the product for over a month and many of the pictures between 10-15 feet are of such poor quality that horns are not identifiable, don't expect anything relative to photos taken at greater than 20 feet other than to tell that something is there. It is a great idea and exciting to use, however, do not spend the money for this product until they resolve these issues. The photos I have obtained so far do not meet with the expectations of the company web-site, however, this may be something that I need to correct, but have been unable to obtain direction relative to such from the Customer Service/Support department. - October 14, 2008
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unit doesnt always work

Date:September 8, 2008
I bought the unit very excited and was expecting nothing but a great product for the money I spent. After recieving the unit I had to go buy a memory card (you have to have one to use the unit.) After that I got the unit up and running and seemed to work fine. The pictures werent the best with low meg pixel camera. After the 1st day it didnt send the pics to my computer anymore, a error code kept coming up and in talking with the owner for 2 days we never could figure out why it wasnt sending the pictures to my computer. A Signal strength was 3 out of 5. With the amount of time I spent on it I decided to send the unit back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best trail camera around

Date:August 26, 2008
This is probably the best trail camera that I have ever used. I only live 20 miles from where I have my camera set, but now with this camera I don't have to drive in there all the time and disturb the animals. I haven't really had this camera out long, but so far I am extremely impressed. I would very definately recommend this to all my friends!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like getting a present every day

Date:June 5, 2008
MY Smart Scouter is set up on my Property in IL. I live 200 miles away. I set it up to send photos to my cell phone. It's so cool to see the buck on my property from my cell phone even though i'm 3.5 hours away. It's like a getting a present everytime a new photo pops into my cell phone. I love it....it's addicting....and it's saving me money by not driving down there every other week
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: COMANCHE CO, TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FINALLY A CELL CAMERA THAT DELIVERS

Date:June 4, 2008
LAST YEAR I TRIED ANOTHER BRAND AND HAD TO RETURN IT, I READ ABOUT THIS CAMERA IN A BOWHUNTING MAGAZINE AND CALLED THEM. THIS CAMERA DOES EVERYTHING THEY SAY AND MORE, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INSTANT RESULTS. I RECOMMEND THE AUXILARY BATTERY PACK FOR LESS TRIPS TO THE WOODS.
CONGRATULATIONS ON A GREAT PRODUCT, THE PRICE IS NOTHING COMPARED TO THE PRICE OF FUEL.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love smartscouter

Date:June 3, 2008
Killed the biggest buck of my life last season with smartscouter after seeing it at a tradeshow. I was able to "save" a stand location and not hunt it while knowing big bucks were travelling near it by looking at the pictures at the internet. Midway through the rut, I couldn't wait any longer - three shooters the first morning I hunted the stand with the third (and biggest) now on my wall!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:May 25, 2008
WOW!!! i was leary of the product until i broke down and bought one after having to drive 75 miles with $4 gas to check my cameras during turkey season. the product was very easy to setup, the customer service at SmartScouter as fantastic and the product beat my expectations. It has a fast trigger speed and bright infra-red flash. Best thing about it is that i can change all of my unit setting from my computer at home. i can change my delay between pictures, picture size, see my battery life, and cellular signal strenght. Only reason im giving 4 versus 5 bars is that i wish was just a bit cheaper so i could afford to have 3 or 4 more camera. No wonder this product won Field and Stream product of the year in 2007..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SmartScouter I've been waiting for you!!

Date:May 20, 2008
I purchased a SmartScouter camera primarily for deer hunting and I just can't contain my excitement!! Here I am sitting at work (don't tell) and I just logged into the SmartScouter website to check my pictures...no bucks...yet.... but a lot of doe action. Normally I would travel to my hunting spot about a 1/2 hr drive, hike into my hot-spot, retrieve my pictures and then drive back home. Now I can check my photos and not even get out of my chair!! VERY COOL!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SmartScouter™ Cellular Surveillance System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gypsum, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trail Camera 10 hours away...

Date:April 29, 2008
I live in the Eagle Valley (Vail) Colorado but hunt close to my family and in-laws in central Kansas. With two Smart Scouter cameras I can keep tabs on what is going on with my hunting acreage as well as "WHO" is on my property. ...pretty awesome...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.