Customer Reviews for Bear Archery Bear Archery Lights Out Bow

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Bear Archery Bear Archery Lights Out Bow

With the shortest axle-to-axle length (30") and lightest weight (3.7 lbs.) of all the 2008 Bear bows, the Lights Out is the most maneuverable bow in the line. Yet, because of the extremely easy-shooting 8-3?4" brace height, this bow still retains a high degree of forgiveness. Patented compression-molded limbs and a powerful modular cam with a stainless steel ball bearing allow this bow to produce arrow speeds up to 300 fps., even with an 80% let-off. The beyond-parallel Flare Quad Limbs are the smoothest found on any bow today, yet they remain the most durable and energy-packed limbs anywhere. The aluminum pivoting limb cups give a zero-tolerance limb-to-cup-to-riser fit, regardless of draw weight, to greatly reduce the limb vibration. The single string suppressor greatly counters string vibration as well. Minimum riser reflex design, a characteristic of the Bear line in 2008, delivers a more forgiving and accurate shot. Right- and left-hand models available.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Review 1 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear Lights Out

Date:November 19, 2009
This is a great bow for the begining hunter. I got this bow and imedately started shooting great groups at 20 yards. Over all great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bear Archery customer service

Date:November 11, 2009
Product is good for the money -but Bear archery not cabelas has the worst customer service department I have ever encountered !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Otisville, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoother than the rest

Date:October 20, 2009
Went to Cabela's and shot Martin, Diamond, PSE and Bear. The Martin and Diamond had rough spots in the draw. The PSE was comparable to the Bear, but a little heavier. So with the smooth draw of the bear and being a little lighter, it is obvious what I chose. I have not shot a bow in years and I had three arrows touching with the Bear. The deer better watch out - it's gonna be time for lights out!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grove City, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Couldn't get Better!

Date:October 20, 2009
I went out and purchased this bow last year around Christmas time, my first real bow, no more hand me down's from everyone else, and i couldn't have been more pleased! When my friend and i have little get togethers, and start the trash talking, we let our bows do the work! I out shoot my friends every day of the week, and one of them has the new Bear Truth 2!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bow

Date:September 30, 2009
I recently purchased this bow in Mitchell, SD. I have been out of bow hunting for 15 years and things have changed in that time. The salesman who helped me was quite helpful and set the bow up for me and had me shoot some arrows before I left the store. Now after only a few days of shooting I find that I am able to shoot groups about 2-3 inches at 30 yards. This bow is a lot faster than what I used to shoot and the accuracy potential seems very good as well. There is hardly any vibration when I shoot and the noise level seems very low. For the price it seems to be a heck of a bow. Overall, I am very happy with this bow and I can not wait to get out deer hunting this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sandown, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear Lights Out Bow

Date:September 23, 2009
This bow is very light and compact; a great bow for thick woods. Very responsive and quick, however I did need to quiet it down a bit. Actually noticed the bow getting quieter, the more I shot it. Bow savers and silencers make this bow a great buy. I bought the bare bow itself, the RTS' comonents are not what I wanted. Setup how I prefer, this bow is awesome!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lawrenceburg, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lights Out bow

Date:September 13, 2009
Nice feel, shoots great, and is very short. I have not owned a Bear bow in years, but I'm glad I bought this one. Great bow for the money!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

To many problems to soon

Date:September 11, 2009
Guys I have to tell you when I first shoot this bow I was in love with it, but now I am having so much problems with this bow, I just went and bought new sights and rest for my old PSE. Just in case this bow fails me again, first, one month after I bought the bow the string begun fail all the strings were breaking up, trust me I have been bow hunting since I was 12, so I wax my bow string all the time, Bear did send me a new string right of way but still a month!!!, now one of my limb pockets just crack again Bear is sending me a new one, but this bow is only a year old, I do have to tell you the costumer service is excellent I have not had any issues with them they will replace anything that goes wrong. Hey maybe I just got a lemon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minot, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bow

Date:September 6, 2009
Bought this bow about a month ago and love it very accurate, and little to no vibration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salisbury, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome bow

Date:September 5, 2009
After using a large number of bows over the years, I found this bow to be the fastest, lightest, and most quiet all for a very reasonable price. I'm very satisfied with its performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NE Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice bow, great price

Date:September 2, 2009
Picked up the kit this week. Bow feels good, good weight and balance. Shot it the next day, slightly touched the sites to the left, and now right on shot after shot.
Quiet, fast enough for me, consistent accuracy, way better then what I was shooting before.
Would not make any suggested changes to the kit.
Smooth pull, able to hold back with little effort. Can't complain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Abilene, Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome shooting bow

Date:August 28, 2009
This bow is an extremely smooth fast shooting bow. I added all my limbsaver items from my old bow and it made the Bear bow even quieter. I shoot this bow at 29 inch draw and 70lb draw weight. It is really light and just about vibration free. Great quality, especially for the low price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice

Date:August 23, 2009
My set-up: Bear Lights Out 28" draw 70lbs, extreme 4 pin sight, QAD Ultra LD rest, Limbsaver string leeches, stabilizer, limb dampeners, scott release.
I got mine at a local shop just to keep things local... that said, this bow rocks! Its small, light, fast, quite quiet, just amazing. Add a stabilizer and some limbsaver dampeners for split limb bows, plus a few string leeches and this thing shoots whisper quiet (almost too quite to hear on my video camera with a $200 shotgun microphone placed behind the target). I got this bow in June and totally love it. I get great arrow speed (chronographed around 275 shooting easton st excel 400s with the Starrflight FOBs) and great groups. For the money you will be very hard pressed to find a better bow. THE ONLY "problem" I had with it was the string supressor. It was totally worn out after almost 3 months of use (about an hour every other day)... it lasted a long time though really. If you shoot just once a week or every other week all year then it will last a year at least. All I did was send Bear Archery an email and they sent me out a new one for free... great service. Bear not only makes amazing products, they stand behind them which is hard to find these days. The bow is light, not heavy at all like some other bows. The short axle to axle length is great for overall maneuverability, especially in a tree stand or ground blind. This bow is overall amazing. It shoots better than my step dad's hoyt that cost over $500 (nothing against hoyt, they also make an amazing product). If you're looking for a bow in the sub-$400 category this is your bow. If you're looking into a more expensive bow, check this out anyway. The lights out shoots just as good if not better than many bows that are much more expensive (I also shot a Bear Truth 2 and I actually liked the lights out a little better). The lights out is amazing. I would not hesitate to recommend one to a friend and I look forward to buying more bear bows in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Way out West Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:August 18, 2009
I have had the advantage of trying out several bows in this price range by multiple different makers. This bow for the money is by far my favorite. It's feel and draw characteristics fit me too a tee. With a few minor adjustments I was easily putting all my arrows in a single dot on my block target, at 20, 30, 40 and 50. Tight, effortless groups. Don't hesitate on getting this bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bow

Date:August 7, 2009
In my opinion this speed debate is way overrated. My buddies have high dollar Hoyts and Diamonds and you do notice a slightly zippier arrow speed, but this bow hits hard with very good kinetic energy. I out hunted them both last year with the Lights Out. And believe me they both respect this bow after my success in the field. If you can shoot 60 yards, this bow will drop anything in North America at 70 pound draw weight. I bought the Lights Out in 2008 and harvested two bucks, shot one at forty yards and the arrow shot flat and cut through like butter and still traveled another 15 yards. The huge doe I harvested at about 20 yards was literally knocked her off her feet as if I shot her with a 300. win mag. The Lights Out has the same cam as the Truth but with less bells and whistles and of course shorter limbs. We all have individual preferences, but in my experience the Lights Out from Bear is one of the best bows out there for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT BOW!!!!!

Date:April 16, 2009
This is my first bow...I shot many bows..But kept coming back to the lights out bow...Very Forgiving Bow...Shoots just as good if not better than many higher priced bows..This bow is a winner...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bow for the money

Date:April 3, 2009
I bought this bow last summer after looking at different bows for months. I shot a 138 class buck last October at about 42 yards and shot clean through like melted butter. I shot a doe on the very last day of the season (Jan. 1) and again shot clean through. I can not say enough positive things about this bow. Good job Bear Archery!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Bow made!

Date:March 31, 2009
Don't let the low cost make you think this bow is cheap this thing out shoots bows that cost doulble and tripple the price with the right setup and bear customer care is great a+
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newville,PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEAR FREAKIN ROCKS ALOT

Date:February 26, 2009
BEST FREAKIN BOW EVER INVENTED, I WENT DOWN TO CABELAS PLANNING ON BUYING THE PSE BRUTE. IT WEIGHED A FREAKIN TON COMPARED TO THIS BOW, AND WHEN I SHOT THE PSE IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN WENT OFF, BUT WHEN I SHOT THIS, I COULDNT EVEN HEAR IT GO OFF. TRUST ME, YOULL KNOW THIS BOW IS THE ONE FOR YOU AS SOON AS YOU PICK IT UP. THANK YOU BEAR ARCHERY FOR CREATING THE BEST HUNTING BOWS IN THE WORLD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bear Archery Lights Out Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bow

Date:February 10, 2009
i have been very happy with this bow once i got it sighted in i was shooting very tight shot groups very quite bow all around great bow bear archery is keeping up their tradition of great bows
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35