Customer Reviews for PATTERN MASTER Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PATTERN MASTER Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind

Double Bull introduces a Dark Horse that leads the pack when it comes to ground blind innovation. The optimal wind resistance of the famously effective Double Bull T5™ has been combined with the infinite visibility options of the Matrix 360°™ to produce a ground blind that incorporates all of the best features of both its parents. A strong, yet lightweight hub-style frame is the support system and setup time can be measured in seconds. The rugged, weather-resistant camo cotton/polyester fabric wraps the entire blind in invisibility and won't shine in the sun. The exciting new camo pattern, Ground Swat™, is a Pattern Masters™ concept design that blends into more hunting scenarios than any other single pattern on the market today. A black interior absorbs light, cuts down on shadows and minimizes game-spooking reflections from within. The window arrangement offers unmatched visibility so you'll be able to see game approach from any direction. A huge 6'4" diameter and 5'7" center height make plenty of room for you and a hunting partner or friend with a video camera to catch the action. Shoot-through mesh on the windows adds to the concealment for archery hunters. There are also shooting ports for firearm hunters. Four wall tie downs and four stake rings secure the blind, even in gusty winds. Includes a carrying case with backpack straps and a 30-minute bowhunting demonstration DVD. Weight: 20 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
65 out of 75(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Review 21 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great to hunt out of

Date:December 16, 2011
Would love to give it 5 stars but the bottom half of the zipper to the door is missing 4 teeth and will not zip. I assume we did it while setting it up not a problem with the product.
A lot of room, very sturdy in some pretty strong winds. I really like the ability to create a small slit for the opening to cover any movement and disturb scent. I hope when it comes down I can fix the zipper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:December 13, 2011
Same as everyone else. Not easy to set up first time, but a great product. Lots of room, sturdy and great concealment. Would definitly recomend this blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Purchase

Date:November 23, 2011
I purchased this blind to use during the 2011 Archery Season in PA. When I got the blind and got it set up I was disappointed to see that one of the zippers was broken. I returned the blind to Cabelas and they returned it and repolaced it with a new one, no problems. I really like the blind and how much room there is inside of it. I have used other blinds in the past for turkey hunting and it seemed like every time you moved you hit the side of the blind. Not the case with this one. I really like the blind but am glad that I read some other reviews prior to setting up my blind. I would agree that the term "Simple Setup" is not a way I would describe my first attempt at setting up the blind. My blind did not come with a video so I was left with the instructions in the carry bag which were confusing to say the least for the first set up. Once you know how to open the blind the instructions make much more sense. My advisce to anyone purchasing this product would be to PRACTICE in ADVANCE setting up the blind prior to going hunting with it. I was glad I did. My first seven second set up was more like an hour. Do not get discouraged and DO NOT FORCE the product to open or close in any way. If you have to force it something is wrong. I found the hardest part to this point is opening the first hub, the rest then just go right into place. It now takes me about a minute to open the blind, not seven seconds, but also not an hour, so I am happy. Hopefully you will be too. Happy Hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: IL
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dark Horse

Date:November 5, 2011
I agree 100% with the other reviews. It is initially difficult to set up. It took me 12 minutes the first time as well as skinning my knuckles and crushiing them a few times. After that, I got it down and can set it up in under a minute with out the pain or frustration. Just be patient!!! Good luck. I look forward to geting it in the woods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mixed Feelings

Date:November 3, 2011
I decided to spend the money on this blind after reading reviews and seeing various videos. The construction is great, the camo is extremely good. As a matter of fact, its the most universal camo I've ever seen. I'll bet Ground Swat camo will get more and more popular in years to come. The first time I used it a beautiful buck walked right up to me. It was opening weekend, and the first buck I've ever harvested.
Now for the not so great stuff. For starters, figuring out how to set it up was a real pain. My wife laughed for hours as I struggled to figure it out. Right when I was about to toss it out the window, I finally got it. Now I can deploy it in under 30 seconds (which is awsome when it matters).
The major issue I have is that the roof has difficulty staying popped up. I tried to contact customer service several times, but they were little help. In the end I finally figured out a make-shift solution to "stiffin up" the roof.
For the most part it is an amazing blind. I think my climber stand is going to be lonely this year. It does have a few flaws, but nothing is perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West, TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Blind but a rascal to set up

Date:October 31, 2011
I love this blind for it's durability - it's tough, no doubt. It let's a little too much light in for my taste, but I fix that with dark material hung over the cracks. Regardless it's a quality blind. However, setting this bad boy up is a whole nother issue. My wife loves to watch me set it up because I always throw at least one fit in the process and she gets a good laugh out of it. But... once you get that first hub popped up - it's all good. I recommed this blind, just be prepared to give it a good cussing while setting it up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Set up

Date:September 18, 2011
I could not believe how difficult this blind was to set up. The video is misleading to say the least.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: frederick md
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

amazing

Date:May 21, 2011
im 14 and dont really like treestands but this blind is amazing, for turkey hunting you cant beat it , also i killed my first deer with a bow last year out of mine. the only thing is that i have accidentley shot through it twice at a pieball and a doe but that was my fult because i didnt open the windows enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Portage, PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Blind with some reserves

Date:March 22, 2011
When I first openned the box, my thoughts were how difficult it would be to set up. Well they came true pretty quick. I had a very difficult time setting the blind for the first time. I watched the video over and over, but still had trouble. About 30 min until i figured it out. The video that was sent to me showed the gun hunter series blind being set up. It looked so easy on the tape. I knew I was doing something wrong. When I finally realized what side to start with, it took ALL BUT 7-10 SECONDS TO SET UP. The video/directions do not clearly state how to set up the blind.
With that being said, the blind itself is great! Top of the line. Great color, material and viewing windows.
RESERVES!! heavy(not for the run and gun hunter), first time set up very difficult
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mt. Sterling, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Doublebull is good quality

Date:March 19, 2011
This is my second doublebull blind the first one still works after 10 years. i wanted somthing that i could shoot bullheads through. There is alot of cheap low qallity blinds on the market. The list is endless and the styles are too.double bull makes a qallity product that shows. Some of the bad reviews are that it is hard to put up. Practice early before the season. It is alittle stiff from the box but they get eaiser to put up after awile. Read and follow the directions and practice well before the season so that it will be easy for you in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top of the line

Date:March 1, 2011
I now own 4 of these blinds for Turkey and deer. The blind is sturdy and holds in the heat and any noise from inside. My 8 year old son shot a big 8pt. with a crossbow this season as I sat next to him. There is no way that could have been accomplished without this blind. We were able to adjust the window from a 1" slit to myself opening it up enough that he could get a shot in a matter of seconds. My buddies thought they would cut costs and buy the more economical ones only to find out they were flapping in the wind, poles broke and the camo faded.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sheridan, WY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You will Love it

Date:January 9, 2011
I purchased this with the idea that I could take my 5 year old son bow hunting. It has since gone everywhere with me. Super easy to setup and take down and the backpack straps on the bag make it easy to pack in and out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chester Co. PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First set up was difficult.

Date:January 2, 2011
I watched the DVD several times before attempting set up so I would know the procedure. Opening that first wall was very difficult. I finally accomplished it by pulling out on the tie-down cord. It took me about 20 minutes of pulling and pushing HARD. Next time I'll get a helper. I'm hoping that was just because the blind was new and in the open position the fabric will stretch a little. I like the camo patern, it fits in very well where I set it up. I don't like that there are no tie down strings on the outside to secure brush to. Entry zippers are really tight, but hoping they'll loosen a little too. All in all I think it is a very well build blind, but so is another one I have that I paid less than half that much for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lawrenceville IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase!!!

Date:January 2, 2011
I just got this blind and I love it. I have never had a blind and was a little worried about how hard they would be to put up and take down and it is a piece of cake. Very roomy as we had 3 grown men hunting in it at same time with no problem. I love the carrying case with the back pack straps makes carrying it in and out great. It went through everything first weekend out as I shot a doe within 30yds of it then came rain and wind along with a tree falling on half of it which took two of us to move and once we did the blind went right back up no problems at all I was amazed. I cant believe I didnt get one sooner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IRON RIVER, WI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent choice

Date:December 13, 2010
After buying and returning two "Crusher" blinds I picked the Dark Horse to replace them. This blind was a lot easier to pop out versus the "crusher" where you had to have super human strength or two people. The size was identical for both and the windows are completely adjustable. I use a propane heater during this cold weather and it needs to have a vent. There is a zippered flap on top that suited that need. The colors are different but so far the deer and turkeys don't seem to mind. It has held the heat to my satisfaction and there is plenty of room to place all my "stuff". The only thing I found to be a problem was the zippered door. I am a large guy and you need to bend down and squeeze through a door that is made for someone a lot smaller. Also the door doesn't zip shut in cold weather. The frame is very taut and if water is frozen in the teeth, forget it. I just hung a dark colored blanket from the inside and that worked great..This December has been brutal so far and we have a ton of snow in the woods. I"m not sure I can get the blind loose from the ice & snow so it will probably sit out till spring. But it is so sturdy I don't believe there will be any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tecumseh, Ks.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great customer service

Date:December 1, 2010
I bought this blind and used it last year during deer season and it was a snap to set up and take down, with plenty of room for 2 old fat guys to sit in. Visibility is excellent out of the numerous windows, we had deer passing within 40 yards that never even noticed us inside. The last day of the season we had 40 mile an hour winds that blew it down and away about a 1/4 mile breaking some of the connecting end peices, upon calling Primos customer service they sent out replacement ends at no charge, great customer service in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NorthWest, Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not a shoot through net

Date:November 5, 2010
blind is great, but if you are going to shoot through the camo net, practice with it a couple times to see if your broadhead will cut it and allow for an accurate shot. i use Rage 2 blade mechanical 3/3 shots have all hit randomly when shooting through the netting at different yardages.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Howards Grove, WI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best you can get

Date:October 1, 2010
I purchased the Primos Double Bull Blind because I wanted a blind that offered complete concealment and comfort, and I got both. At first it was difficult to set up because I was unsure of how much pressure I could use when pushing the hubs out. Once you figure out how to set it up, you can do it in about five seconds. I've had deer three feet away not knowing I was there and have had a squirrel jump into the side of the blind thinking it was just part of the woods. Fits two people perfectly and it is perfect for a father son hunt. Spend the money and get this blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CAMERON, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply the best

Date:September 6, 2010
I recently bought the Dark Horse, I own a Matrix 360 and love it. The dark horse looks to be of the same high quality and craftsmanship. I love the camo pattern, the dual zip entrance and the choice of using either a 360 style or a T-5 style. It offers the advantages of both. I defintely recommend utilizing the instuctional DVD and practicing the set-up and take down process alot before using in the field. It would be like borrowing a buddies rifle to hunt, with only his word that it's sighted in. Knowing your equipment well makes life much less stressful. Primos Double Bull Blinds are pricey but worth it. That is why they are the top of the line ground blinds on the market. Hands down the BEST!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: God's Country U.S.A.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another Weapon in the Arsenal

Date:June 12, 2010
Sometimes you can't set up in a tree and a ground blind is the only option... you can spend several hours to build one out of branches and cover and spread scent everywhere -OR- pop this baby up and you're hunting in 3 minutes! Reviews said some people couldn't set it up so I was worried but after watching the instructional DVD and practicing in the yard I set it up in 3 minutes or less. Set Up is EZ just don't force it- Take Down is EZ, too. I can't wait to sit in this blind at my favorite waterhole on my elk bow hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 75