Customer Reviews for PATTERN MASTER Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PATTERN MASTER Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind

Double Bull introduces a Dark Horse that leads the pack when it comes to ground blind innovation. The optimal wind resistance of the famously effective Double Bull T5™ has been combined with the infinite visibility options of the Matrix 360°™ to produce a ground blind that incorporates all of the best features of both its parents. A strong, yet lightweight hub-style frame is the support system and setup time can be measured in seconds. The rugged, weather-resistant camo cotton/polyester fabric wraps the entire blind in invisibility and won't shine in the sun. The exciting new camo pattern, Ground Swat™, is a Pattern Masters™ concept design that blends into more hunting scenarios than any other single pattern on the market today. A black interior absorbs light, cuts down on shadows and minimizes game-spooking reflections from within. The window arrangement offers unmatched visibility so you'll be able to see game approach from any direction. A huge 6'4" diameter and 5'7" center height make plenty of room for you and a hunting partner or friend with a video camera to catch the action. Shoot-through mesh on the windows adds to the concealment for archery hunters. There are also shooting ports for firearm hunters. Four wall tie downs and four stake rings secure the blind, even in gusty winds. Includes a carrying case with backpack straps and a 30-minute bowhunting demonstration DVD. Weight: 20 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
65 out of 75(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Review 1 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Princeton, NJ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:November 7, 2011
This blind definitely lives up to all the hype!! Love the black out--and shoot expandables (Rage 3 blade) thru the netting without a problem! Sturdy and first rate materials--heavy zippers etc. Definitely a buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome blind

Date:November 19, 2012
I have owned 3 other manufacturers blinds and a DB T5 Prostaff blind for nearly 10 years. This Darkhorse is my preferred blind to hunt deer and turkey from. The 180 degree viewing and smaller drop down windows allows you many shooting angles and options. It is great to video from as well. Well made, silent, easy to set up and very durable. No complaints. I will hopefully get 10+ years from this blind as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ground Bind

Date:October 8, 2012
After 8 years with a less quality ground blind, I recently purchased a Primos Double Bull Dark Horse ground blind. My Dad and I have had it set up for the first two weeks of archery season here in Pennsyvlania and couldn't be happier with it. The weather has been changing daily and the blind has been a God send. During the first week it was nearly too hot to stay in the woods, but with the top vent, hunting in the blind was fantastic. Then the weather turned rainy and cold and we were both warm and dry. We have had deer at less than 10 feet and have been completely concealed, haven't had one deer spook yet. Easy to set up and provides great cover and shooting angles. Great value, quality construction, couldn't be happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great blind great price

Date:October 2, 2012
The dark horse blind is a great blind works great looks great , my bow season starts in October the 6 I hope to kill a nice buck out of the dark horse and thanks for the great service from cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Blind

Date:September 17, 2012
I highly recommend this blind. Built great and a great place to spend a cold wet day in the field. We call it the sweat box! Use these in Northwest Oklahoma and the ground swat camo really blends nice with the green cedar and plum thickets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shacked Up

Date:September 12, 2012
I bought this as a display model off of the outside wall of Cabela's retail store in Reno, Nevada and it has been an absolutely great blind. I used it all during my Antelope hunt in August and it not only worked great but it surprisingly stayed cooler than expected! Great product/great pattern!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great blind ..... But ....

Date:September 3, 2012
Be prepared for a heavy pack. 20# for blind, 6# for a good chair, plus food, water, first aid kit, and other essentials plus the weight of a good load distribution pack and you've got 40-45# on your back. Doesn't compare to a full combat load-out in The Corps but those days were along time ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great blind

Date:August 30, 2012
This blind is great so far!! Lots of room inside and so many options for the hunting set ups! Would recommend to all my friends!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR QUALITY AND TOO HEAVY

Date:May 18, 2012
THESE BLINDS WERE THE BEST WHEN DOUBLE BULL OWNED THE COMPANY, NOW THAT PRIMOS HAS TAKEN OVER, THESE BLINDS ARE VERY CHEAPLY MADE AND VERY HEAVY. I HAVE TWO OF THESE AND THE ZIPPERS TEAR UP VERY EASILY, HAD TO SEND ONE BACK AFTER ONLY HAVING IT A MONTH. I HAVE AN OLD DOUBLE BULL BLIND THAT I HAVE HAD FOR OVER 10 YEARS, STILL IN PERFECT CONDITION, AND CAN'T GET ANOTHER ONE LIKE IT, I WOULDN'T TAKE 1,500 DOLLARS FOR IT, THAT'S HOW GOOD IT IS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Issues make this a no-go

Date:May 9, 2012
I finally saved up and purchased this blind, thinking it was top-of-the-line. I used it this past week for the first time while turkey hunting. It was very difficult to set up the first time, but I got the hang of it after that. At first I loved the roominess and windows/mesh, but unfortunately the roof will not stay expanded. It keeps collapsing every 10 minutes, without wind, rain or anything on top. I had 2 turkeys coming in to my decoys when the blind roof collapsed, sending them running. VERY frustrating! Like I said, the windows and room in this blind are great, but I'd rather have a smaller blind that doesn't collapse! The zipper is also noisy, and I've heard in other reviews that there are many issues with the zippers. I now have to use a support pole to keep the roof up, which kind of negates the room inside since 2 people have to accomodate a pole in the middle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy!!!

Date:April 28, 2012
I first purchased the Primos Crusher blind used from bargain cave, I returned home to my garage.Then started my 2 hr fight trying to set it up,maybe because i had no instruction video.So back to Cabelas,with no problems for a full refund. I wasn`t over the needs to own a primos blind,so i put the Dark Horse on my wish list and this past birthday my wonderfull g/f buys me one.So back to the garage i go,after watching instruction video many many times,what i see in video, is after first wall is popped and u go to popped up roof rather pushing on RED hub with your palm of hand,but he graps the ROD close to RED hub and pushes up.Now i have no problems setting this blind up.This blind is deadly on Turkeys,i recieved bllind on 04/02/2012 and already have 3 kills out of blnd. A must have for seroius hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Double Bull Blind Sweetness

Date:April 23, 2012
I too spent alot of time reading the other reviews on this blind and after talking to a buddy that owns one and checking them out in the store, I made this purchase. It helped that it was on sale too. The blind (at first) is a little tricky to get spread out and to get the first hub to pop out but that is only because the blind was so tightly rolled up which made all of the material "stick" together, but once it had been opened for the first time, this blind goes up without any issues. The orange roof hub is the key and once that is up, it took me about 15 seconds to finish set up. My only issues (and they are minor) is that there is no camo pattern on the two back windows and that there could be some added loops for brushing in on the outside and velcro or magnets for the roof panel due to the zippers being so heavy duty that they are noisy. Other than that I love this blind and cant wait to use it in the field. Oh yea, This blind has an awesome backpack style carying bag with pockets for stuff. HAPPY HUNTING!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: platte river
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

set up not that bad

Date:April 16, 2012
After you figure out the setup it should take 10 seconds, tops. That first and second hub is the key. I permanently marked the hubs as #1 and #2. Now it is no sweat to throw it up, take it down. The material is heavier duty than other blinds and very durable. Price is justified over cheaper manufacturers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gridley,CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blind Set-up

Date:April 10, 2012
Don't set the blind up like the video shows you, I have heard from a few buddies say that its difficult to set up. I set mine up in 2 min or less and take it down in the same. Instead of getting inside it or whatever the video says just pull on the cords on the outside of the blind with a good yank and they will just pop out, do that to all four sides and the top and its set-up in no time. I have done this numerous times and its great. Hope this helps. Other than that this is a great blind holds up good, the only thing I might like is if the openings were a little taller for shooting my bow and also magnets. Those are the only two knocks I have on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Atlanta,Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primos Double Bull Dark Horse Blind Pros and Cons

Date:April 2, 2012
Spent hour and half reading reviews on line regarding all blinds Cabelas has to offer. I always try to buy the best quality in all my purchases. Settled on Primos Double Dark Horse Blind based on over-all reviews. Blind is difficult to set-up. Spent approx 30 minutes first set up in back yard after watching the video that comes with product. Construction of blind looked very good. Blind fabric top quality, even the carry sack it arrived in looked very high quality. Took it to the woods for the first time and tried to set up. Spent at least 45 minutes trying to set up for turkey hunting. Warm day and felt like I was never going to get the blind erected. Once set up I started checking the openings. One thing strange is that two square windows have a black fabric cover with no way to secure them if you want windows open. I assume you roll them up and stick under the fiberglass support poles. The other windows have covers that have stretch cord with a hook to secure up.After setting in blind and making adjustments to windows etc. I decided it was time to head home. Securing all windows closed,I step out of blind and get ready to zip the door. Zipper is broken and cannot close the blind. Next day returned to woods and took down blind. No problem with take down. Returning to Cabelas for refund. Maybe I just got unlucky because the blind did seem to be top quality but you better be prepared for a work out setting it up. Steve
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Blind

Date:April 2, 2012
I have been using this blind for a few seasons now and this blind is still going strong. Very durable, easy to set up, and this is an absolute MUST HAVE for bowhunters. I run a number of blinds during a season, and I believe the T5 model from double bull is a better blind. The T5 to my knowledge is a discontinued model however, so I decided to try the Dark Horse. This is a great blind with the mesh up, however with the mesh off, it lets in a lot more light than the T5 and animals approach it more suspiciously. With the mesh, you cant shoot a bludgeon head or a lopper style broadhead (gobbler gillotines or magnus bullheads) so you must shoot with the windows open. This is usually not a problem, but with the amount of light entering the blind, you must be careful of your movements even when wearing black. Overall this is a great blind and since my purchase, over a dozen bow gobblers have been taken out of it so I am deffinatly pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Richmond,VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best by far!!!

Date:February 10, 2012
Excellent blind had to use the video and practice alot at the beginning. Durable, very good field of view, quiet and very easy to setup after practicing. Material held up very well no fade or leaks unlike the other brands I tried. Windows are the right height for sitting on a stool or chair. Camo blends in all surroundings. Very well thought out design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Puyallup Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb turkey blind

Date:February 2, 2012
Used this blind the past 2 turkey seasons here in WA. The blind is waterproof and wind proof which helps you be a little more comfortable out in the woods versus sitting against a tree. The zippers are tough and strong. Easy enough for one person to set up.
I love the black out. When the jakes and toms come walking by they don't even know you are there. You can move in the blind to get in postition for the shot and they have never seen or heard me and/or my hunting partners. Big enough for two hunters.
The windows are plenty to check your back when the tom decided to approach from the rear and even shoot out the back portals. Comes in an easy pack with comfortable straps to hike it in the woods.
Excellent blind. I highly recommend buying this blind. The best out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Woodsfield, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 Star Hotel of Blinds

Date:December 31, 2011
Without a doubt, this is the 5 star hotel of blinds. The camo pattern is so effective, the first time I set it up for a evening hunt the following day, I had trouble finding the blind. If you've spent a lot time in a blind, you will find the spacious interior, compared to any other blind is well worth the extra money.
And yes, just like a lot of the other reviews....I'm also a guy who didn't pay much attention to the set up instructions and was eat'en, bitten, and spit-out by my dark horse. I know it's guy thing, however reviewing the instruction video will make you a master Jedi in seconds, which other hunters will admire and fear!
If you are the type who only settles for the best, get the Double Bull Dark Horse and become a Jedi Warrior!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primos® Double Bull Dark Horse Hunting Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Humboldt, IA, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good blind for the most part.

Date:December 27, 2011
I don't know where my other review went to. Again, this blind is very, very hard to set up. Yes, it does take two people to set it up. I just finished hunting here in Iowa, and I prayed alot when I took it down myself!! Otherwise the blind worked well. One thing I would change, is to have windows on all sides of the blind. Also, some of the zipper/lining had been folded somehow in making the blind which led me to hold my breath zipping up and down the zippers - it did not affect my hunt. I also bought the pole to hold up the roof in case of a lot of snow - I did not need it this year - but I wonder how in the heck I am going to use this pole in the middle of the blind? I guess I will have have to move around it. Otherwise, this is a good blind. I wish I could have someone from the manufacturer come out and help all of us to show the easiest way to set it up and take it down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 75