Customer Reviews for Barnett Barnett Predator Crossbow Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Barnett Barnett Predator Crossbow Package

Everything about the Predator is built for maximum speed. The 16" power stroke. The high-velocity cam and cable system. The AVI limbs. All come together to deliver a blazing 375 fps. and 133 ft./lbs. of energy into the target. The innovative shoot-through stirrup cuts down on the overall length by not extending past the limbs. The adjustable cheekpiece and adjustable stock allow you to customize the crossbow to your shooting form for maximum comfort and length of pull. Barnett Predator Crossbow Package includes crossbow, Quick Detach Quiver, four 22" bolts, 4x32 multireticle scope and a rope cocking device. Draw weight: 175 lbs. Length: 37". Weight: 9 lbs. Width: 24".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Review 1 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minden, La
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Darn good but heavy

Date:January 9, 2010
I recieved my Predator two days ago and just tried it out this morning. My first impressions are that it is heavy. A small person will have trouble handling this one. Also when using the cocking rope included, it is easy to pull but for someone who is short or has short arms, they may want to opt for the hand crank. Also I had to put the scope all the way forward and extend the stock extender all the way out to get the right eye relief. Also moved the check plate up all the way. Having this is great so everyone can get set up perfectly, but they need a longer rail for the scope in my opinion.
Now, for the performance, This thing is fast. My wife was watching and could not even see the bolts in flight. I was using a McKensie Shot blocker with a pipeline float as a back stop and the bolts buried to the fletching at 30 yards. I have to remove the practice points and use a block of wood to beat them back to be able to pull them out. Using the first line on the scope I am dead on to 20 yards and 1" low at 30. I have not tried it any further as it is really cold outside today. I am shooting 2 to 3 inch groups and it is not the crossbow, I have been having trouble holding it steady. The times I held it steady I slid one bolt right beside the other one at 30 yards.
Not as noisy as some I seen, but it is a moot point anyway, I doubt a deer will let anyone reload and fire a second one from any x-bow. And with the speed this bolt is moving they will not have a chance to even flinch before it arrives. I am confident that with practice this x-bow will take deer down out to some really long ranges. As for the trigger, it seems to have the same pull as most rifles I have fired. But sometimes it seems the distance I have to pull the trigger is longer than other times. I found this strange.
But over all I say it is a really good x-bow and will do well hunting where I hunt. Looking forward to more practice and to hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maineville, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible energy

Date:January 7, 2010
I've used other crossbows before, but NEVER seen a crossbow deliver more energy than this one. My bolt actually went through a 2x4 stud at 50 yards (by accident). As for the good things - power, easy trigger pull, automatic safety, acceptable noise, factory scope needs little adjustment.
Bad things would be long trigger pull, a little heavier than others, no dry-fire safety, and very weak bolt retainer clip. My bolt slid out when moving, causing a dry-fire. Only the string popped (sounded like a gun shot!), so I got off real lucky and cheap there.
The bow is accurate at 50 yards with both field tips and broadheads. I would recommend also getting a sling with this, as it can get heavy on long walks to the stand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Very Fast!

Date:December 31, 2009
I got this Cross Bow the other day. The box came 2 days after I ordered it. As soon as I opened it, I got it together in less then 10 minutes. Then I took a pen style lazer and laid it on the arrow track. Aimed the bow at my target 30 yards away. I found the lazer in my scope and adjusted the scope so my lazer was right in the cross hairs. After that I took the first bolt and smacked my decoy dead on! I couldnt believe how fast this bow shoots, very accurate and consistent. It is heavy and a bit awkward but from what I have read it looks like most are. I think for the money you cant find a better made or faster cross bow. Im very happy with this purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: monroeville P.A.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.125grain practice point and .125grain 4blade hunt

Date:December 1, 2009
sighted in bow with .125grn. feild tips then used .125grn. 4 blade broadheads arrow shot 10"to12" lower on target then used rage mechanicals shot much better would not use 4blade broadheads for hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

really fast and accurate!!

Date:November 1, 2009
This is my first crossbow and find it to be very fast and accurate. Mine came with a red dot sight and I use the first pin from 20 to 40 yds. The only thing I don't like is the possition of the safety, it can be bumped off if your not careful,find myself checking it often.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: T R, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Predator Package

Date:September 18, 2009
Great, I got mine on sale, must have been an older model, lots of creep in the trigger, but one fast, accurate and a confidence builder, much more advanced than my Quad 300 and it fits my case!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blistering Speed & Power

Date:September 1, 2009
I purchased the Predator package with the 4X32 multi-reticle scope. Very easy to assemble, though the instructions could be a little more detailed. Assembly is simply mounting the arms to the stock with one bolt, mounting the scope to the scope rail and fastening the bolt carrier to the foregrip.
I had to mount the scope as far forward as possible, and extend the butt plate (which is simple) pretty far in order to maintain appropriate eye relief with the 4X32 scope. I do not have long arms either, so this may be an issue for some of you tall folks.
Ok, on the the good stuff. I took this out back with the supplied barnett bolts and field points. Just FYI, barnett stipulates that no less than 425 total grain weight bolts should be used with the predator. Using "the block" target, starting at 20 yards, it shot clean through and hit my backstop. I had to pull the bolts out of the back to retrieve them. After I got my scope aligned, I went back to 40 yards, and using the top reticle it was dead on bullseye. The bolts buried themselves in the block, up to the fletching, with some up to the nock.
I then ranged it out to 60 yards, and using the second reticle, hit about an inch or two below center. The quality of the supplied bolts suprised me, as I did not lose a single bit of fletching through the abuse they took.
Overall, the Predator seems to be well made and is very accurate. My only complaint is the trigger, which seems to take about 10lbs of force to release (my guess). However, I am accustomed to my 3 - 3.5lb triggers on my rifles, which is all together different.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bridgeton, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Predator

Date:August 25, 2009
Just got my Barnett Predator and love it. Very powerful!!!
At 45yds, bolt went thru a 10" layered foam target and 1/2" plywood. Keep it lubed up. Scope was just about right on out of the box. I shot 1/2 moon nocks and flat nocks with no difference. And shot carbon and alum. bolts. Alum. bolts didn't have the range because of being heavier. Make sure your total weight, bolt and tip is at least 445 grains. I'm all ready to go and can't wait to kill a deer with it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First crossbow

Date:August 10, 2009
This is my first time shooting a crossbow, it is everything I wanted, its fast and delivers a hard hit. A little noiser than I am use to, being I have only shot compound bows before.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Crowley, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME CROSSBOW

Date:June 12, 2009
If your in the market for a crossbow, buy the Barnett Predator. It's the best deal on the market. It's blazing fast. You can't even see the arrow when you shoot. I can shoot 1/2" groups at 50 yard indoors. On my setup the first line on my scope is good up to 30 yards, in between the 1st and 2nd is good at 40 and the 3rd line is perfect at 50. I haven't shot further yet, but I'm absolutely positive this crossbow will kill a deer at 50 yards with ease. Since I've bought mine, my dad, my brother and best friend have all bought Barnett Predator's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Athens, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Predator is AWESOME

Date:May 28, 2009
This is one AWESOME crossbow!!!! I have shot this thing approximately 70 times now with only one problem. The scope base vibrated loose after about 30 shots so I had to remove the scope and put Loc-Tite on the base screws. 40 shots later and it's still tight. I hit a 2" bullseye at 90 yards with this thing using the 5th cross hair. It is incredibly accurate. Since the string has weakened from this many shots, I can only hit a bullseye at 80 yards now with a 2" grouping. BELIEVE IT!!!!!! I use the 1st crosshair for 10-30 yards, the 2nd for 40 yards, the 3rd for 50 yards, between the 3rd and 4th for 60 yards, the 4th for 70 yards, and between the 4th and 5th for 80 yards. When the string is new I use the 5th for 90 yards. This is a FAST crossbow and surprisingly quiet. I've heard bows louder than this thing. Just make sure to Loc-Tite the base screws down when you get it, before you put the scope on. Also, I keep it gooped up with wax at all times. This thing is very well made and it's EASY to assemble. I highly recommend it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

predator avi

Date:May 17, 2009
i have never shoot a crossbow like this one this is one fast crossbow of it's kind nothing on the market can bet it i recommend this to anyone who us a crossbow for hunting.with this crossbow shoots bolts 375 fps arrow spreed at 255 mile per hour that fast. go and buy it today it might be gone tomorrow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwestern Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Flat awesome

Date:April 20, 2009
Which is faster, Cabela’s shipping and handling or the Barnett Predator? It’s a question with an easy answer, it’s a tie. With a crossbow pushing a bolt down range at better than 375 feet per second and ordering from Cabela’s on Wednesday morning (standard shipping) and receiving your order the next Friday, it’s pretty evident that both have truly redefine the word ‘Fast’. I can’t help but wonder if I had specified expedited shipping, would Cabela’s have delivered this crossbow Wednesday afternoon to my front door? As for the Barnett Predator, this is the crossbow that is setting new standards for the archery industry. Its great speed and accuracy will send a cold chill down the back bone of all game you may pursue. Custom fitting this crossbow to your size and shooting style is accomplished in mere minutes with the adjustable stock length and cheek piece. Thanks to Barnett’s attention to detail, the precisely crafted trigger assembly is as smooth as glass. There’s no question that cocking a crossbow with a 175 pounds of pull can be difficult at best, but using the Barnett cranking device makes drawing the string into place a piece of cake. If you prefer to do it the old fashion way, use the rope cocking device, as it too, makes cocking this crossbow easier than most of all the others I have used. Superb optics, quiver, supplies bolts, finish and surprisingly quiet only add to this already great crossbow. Everyone expects a review to mention a CON for the product, OK, to date I have yet to find a target capable of handling the power generated by this crossbow. Be prepared to do a lot of very hard pulling to remove the bolt from the target. We actually use a piece of a 2x4 placed against the field tip to push the bolt back through the target. Using soap on the bolt to ease removal just allows the bolt to completely bury itself in the target. Don’t take my word for it, if you’re looking for a crossbow for hunting, target practice or just a whole bunch of fun in the backyard, look no further. Combine the Barnett Predator crossbow and Cabela’s for a winning combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Forestville, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

$$$...Best For The Money...$$$

Date:February 17, 2009
Super fast and deadly accurate! I practice shooting oranges at 50 yards. Would have gave it a fifth star but they need to make a lighter crossbow (not just Barnett) acroos the board. All makes and models are still to heavy. I use mine for handicap hunting and they're heavy to hold in position to shoot when you see the game approaching.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

string snap

Date:February 3, 2009
new barnett predator after 5 shot string snap cabela take the problem cabela is the best
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waynesboro, MS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wicked Accuracy

Date:January 20, 2009
I sighted in the crossbow at 15 yards like the instructions said. I then shot it at 20, 25, and 30 yards using the same crosshair. At 30 yards it dropped one inch. Aim halfway between the first and second crosshairs for 35 yards and use the second crosshair for 40 yards dead on. It is also very fast. I love it. I have killed two deer with it in two weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wow

Date:December 30, 2008
fast and acurate. great deal buy one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Predator Crossbow

Date:October 2, 2008
I really like the crossbow. Its fast, accurate, and very powerful. I have found one problem with it. I bought a crossbow sling for it. If you use the sling you cant have any arrows in the quiver. It pushes against the first arrow and puts a bow in it. I tried it with 1, 2 ,3, and 4 arrows and it did the same to each one. the only ways to get around this is to have no sling or to carry the quiver in your hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great crossbow!

Date:September 23, 2008
This crossbow is all you'll need for hunting. POWER!!
SPEED!! I have a Excalibur Lumi-zone scope on mine and the range compensator has to be turned (all the way up) to 350 FPS
in order for it to work right. WARNING!!! DO NOT DRY-FIRE this bow! I've done it twice, forgetting to put a bolt in it after cocking, and it destorys itself!!! Cams.sting and cables, all at once. Otherwise, this is a great crossbow that can really drive nails at 40 yds. !!! They should have put a safety on it that prevents firing if there is no bolt! Good Hunting!
Wolfman951
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnett Predator Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: glenville, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

barnett predator crossbow

Date:September 22, 2008
everythings good about this bow but needs to be alot more quiter other than the noise ..it sure is fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27