Customer Reviews for MUZZY Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads

MUZZY Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads

What sets the MX-3 three-blade apart from the rest of the broadheads in the Muzzy line? For starters, it sports a shorter profile, 1-1/4" cutting diameter and .025"-thick, stainless steel blades, making the cutting diameter 1/16" wider and the blades .005" thicker. This updated design allows the MX-3 to fly truer and faster and deliver more killing power at the point of impact. Like its predecessors, this take on Muzzy’s classic, proven construction includes a bone-splitting Trocar tip, a high-grade aircraft-aluminum ferrule and interlocking blades that form a stout column of steel within the ferrule. Per 3. Available: 75 gr. - Cutting diameter: 1-3/16" 100 gr. - Cutting diameter: 1-1/4" 125 gr. - Cutting diameter: 1-3/16"
Overall Customer Rating:
4.553 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
89 out of 94(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Review 1 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

MUZZY MX-3

Date:February 12, 2009
I LOVE MUZZY BROADHEADS THE ORIGINAL,IVE NEVER LOST A DEER,WITH ACCIDENTAL SHOULDER HITS,ANGLING AWAY,ETC.i HAVE TAKEN OVER 30 WHITETAILS WITH THEM.But the MX-3 HEADS DO NOT FLY AS TRUE AS THE ORIGINAL 3 BLADE DESIGN.ENOUGH SAID!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

hard to put together

Date:October 13, 2008
Product is hard to assemble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DO NOT BUY!!

Date:October 12, 2008
Ok, this gets one star....and one only for the price!! other then that these things are horrible! I have used the original Muzzy 3 blades for years with not to many complaints and when these "newer and better" MX3's came out I was excited....increased cut diameter thicker blades, short profile like the slick tricks truer flight etc.....WELL DONT BE MISLED. These things do not fly like field points, you need two "zeros" on your sight but the biggest problem is they produce HORRIBLE BLOOD TRAILS!!! The 2007 season was the first year I used these and I hit a deer perfectly broadside at a nice angle which should have resulted in a great blood trail and quick recovery...... well the deer went 150yds and it was a trying tracking job to say the least....drop here drop there.....So I thought it was a fluke and tried them 2008 as well...NOT...... had the same problem, deer hit through and through and over 100yds of no blood, lucky I could follow foot prints! Eventually found a similar drop here drop there blood trail, brutal and could result in lost deer!! As a result I made the switch to the Rage, 2 blade with 2" cut! hit a deer last night with that thing and WOW, talk about blood trail. I am sold! If I hunt thick skinned game I will possibly use the Muzzy again but the ORIGINAL not these things!
FYI
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: ks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do not fly true

Date:October 16, 2008
I have been a huge fan of regular muzzy 3 blades for years and recently purchased the mx3. The mx3 does not fly as true as the normal 3 blade muzzy. Consistently 6 inches to the left of field points. Regular 3 blade muzzys fly true.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Might depend on the Rest of your gear

Date:August 23, 2012
I have shot Muzzy broadheads since I was 12 years old and have never had any issues with them. I've killed a ton of deer with good old muzzy three blades so this year getting ready for elk season I figured I'd try muzzy's newest and greatest. What I found out was that with my bow I couldn't get them to shoot straight period. I could get one particular head to hit where it was suppose to but then If I grabbed another head out of the same package it would hit 12-15 inches off of the one I just sighted in with. I made sure everything was aligned and that the vanes on my arrow and the blades on the broadhead were lined up but it just didn't seem to make a difference. Now it could be my setup which is 7 years old and not near as fast as the new bows so maybe these were just designed to shoot off of faster bows or something. needless to say I went right back to my muzzy 3 blades and they worked just like before. for those of you with a new bow that shoots fast you might be able to use these but for me with a bow that only shoots about 240 fps I just couldn't get them to work. On the other hand I did find out you can hit a rock with one and it will stay together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Questionable Performance

Date:July 3, 2011
i had heard so many great things about muzzys so i thought id give them a shot. i gotta say i was quite disappointed. i did harvest 2 deer with these broadheads last season. neither went very far (both less than 50 yards) but one didnt bleed at all and i only received 8 inches of penetration on a solid behind the shoulder hit. the other left only spotty blood in the fresh snow on 3/4 passthrough. the shot was slightly high but not enough to cause any problems. however, the problem i had came on a doe at 21 yards quartering away. the hit was true right at the back of the ribcage. i thought it would angle in through the vitals but the arrow simply hit, turned, and fell out. it didnt even penetrate past the trocar tip!! i was baffled. maybe i will return to muzzys in the future (the original not the mx series) but for now i will look elsewhere... for the record i shoot a pse bow madness at 60# with easton st epic arrows
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Port Orchard, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally a blood trail

Date:March 13, 2009
After a poor blood trail with the MX 4 I switched to the MX 3. Third day into my hunting trip and I took a large Cow Elk at 20 yds. It passed through and destroyed the broadhead
( i suspect it hit a tree after it went through). It left a good blood trail and found my cow 50 yds from the point where i hit her. I convinced my partner to switch from his shuttle T locks or what ever they are called because his would not fly true. two days later he took a cow straight on at 10 yds in the throat and it didnt go more than 20 feet before it dropped. The blood trail may not be as good as the rage but I wont use anything else especially since in washinton I have to use a fixed blade broadhead. I agree with some of the other reviews I dont have to same point of impact as my field tip, I average an inch difference between the two.
Still would not use anything other than a muzzy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FYI

Date:November 10, 2008
The muzzy mx3 has good craftsmanship, and make pass through no problem. I shot a doe with one, and broke 2 ribs with a clean pass through. However, goo thing she didn't go far because i could not find any blood. The muzzy does not fly like a field point It was consistently high at all ranges by about 3 inches. I am switching from 4 inch veins to blazer veins hopefully this will cure the problem. If not i am going to find a mechanical that i like been hearing lots of good things about them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice Broadhead

Date:October 14, 2014
For the price, this is a very good broadhead. I shot a toxic last year and loved it but they just cost too much for me to keep shooting them so I switched to Muzzy. This broadhead shoots higher than your field point does, so make sure and practice with the actual broadhead before heading into the woods with one. Very nice broadhead, I definitely recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:September 4, 2014
Have not had a chance to try broadhead, but deer season opens end of this month. Muzzy has a good product, it should fly straight and open a large wound channel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Far So Good!

Date:December 24, 2013
While I haven't put one through a deer yet, I really like the way these broadheads sighted in. Bought the 100 grain and no adjustment was needed when going from my 100 grain field points to these broadheads. My 20, 30, 40 and 50 yard pins were all right on. Shooting on Carbon Express Mayhems, through a Whisker Biscuit rest on a Hoyt Charger, 70 lb. limbs and 30.5" draw. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is due to not having a kill shot yet, but I have all the confidence in the world in these broadheads and hope to change that this weekend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great value and flight

Date:September 11, 2013
These broadheads fly like bullets if you know how to properly tune your bow for fixed blade broadheads. I practice out to 40 yds. And they are right on. 1 kill with them so far. Pass thru double lung 21 yds. One blade edge rolled over some from hitting a rib but did the job. Great value also, can afford to have several practice heads and hunting heads at that price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Broadheads

Date:July 26, 2013
Bought these as my first broadhead. Easy to put together, razor sharp, and I love the practice blades. They seem to fly just like the regular blades, but don't tear up my target nearly as much. The only reason I put 4 stars is I haven't had a chance to hunt with them yet, but hopefully that will change as soon as the season opens!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice broad heads

Date:November 19, 2012
Very nice points, stable, sharp... cuts good and as deep as it gets. Only problem with the set is, I am greatful that it comes with a practice set of blades, but it only comes with one set.... you have to chase your 1 arrow over and over... unless you have kids :-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good penetration

Date:September 28, 2011
I recently used the MX3 100gr to harvest an Elk. Was very surprised at performance as the shot was a little forward and completely shattered the shoulder! Happy with killing power, but these do not fly like field points. Disappointed as they are good at 20, 4 inches right at 30 and 8 inches right at 40. Don't want to move my sight but will have to re-adjust. Wish they flew better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Flys great! poor Blood trail

Date:October 10, 2010
Just shot a nice doe last night. 15 yard pass through double lung shot. Deer only made 75 yards but the blood trail was extremely poor. I was on my hands and knees following a trail of dots. It's been a real toss up between these and the Rage 40KEs but I can't argue with success. Out to 40 yards they do fly as well as my field points.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Muzzy MX3

Date:August 4, 2009
I thought they worked great. I killed My first deer Last Nov. with them. The only thing I didn't like was that they seem to fly low and to the left. Otherwise great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always good

Date:July 23, 2009
Whether you like muzzys or not, there's no denying their strength. The MX-3s have the flight characteristics of the old 3 blades with a greater cutting path. I have yet to harvest an animal with them yet, however if the 3 in. groups at 60 yards is any indication of how they will perform, I can't wait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing

Date:March 7, 2009
These fly beter than my field tips!! Although some asembly required these are great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Muzzy MX-3 Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Albany Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

crossbows

Date:February 18, 2009
I have a Horton 175 and shot one of these out of it and did not even fly stright and drop 8 inches at 25 yards. my friend has a compound and gets groups touching each other. but don't know about other crossbows but recommed these heads out of compounds works great won't complain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 94