Customer Reviews for BuckWing BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BuckWing BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy

The head, neck and tail on this decoy move in the wind, making it come alive with the slightest breeze. For the ultimate in hunting versatility, it includes small and large antlers, or you can remove the antlers altogether and turn it into a doe. You can even change the mood by positioning the ears higher or lower, and by raising or lowering the head. Decoy quickly and conveniently breaks down into parts that can be carried in the included mesh backpack. Weight: 11 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.565 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
15 out of 23(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Review 1 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WNY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bobbn Hear Deer Decoy

Date:January 22, 2008
Hunted with this decoy this bow season and so did my son.
Using this decoy, he stuck a good one. This 8 pointer came right too the decoy. Very realistic and the movement is so life like it's unreal. Few time it made me jump thinking it was real deer!
Slightest breese puts this decoy to work and it works great. Transport good and easy and fast setup. I found that on plow ground or hard ground by cutting two small strips of plywood (about 1/4" thick about 12 to 15" long and about 2"wide and drill a hole in plywood to match mounting stakes and setting the decoy on the plywood and insert the mounting stakes into the ground) works and makes decoy steady as a rock.
I also use deer scent from company and it eliminates all
plastic odor yet makes decoy smell like a deer. Deer came right into this decoy without any fear or reservation. I would recommond this decoy to anybody. What made me look at this deer decoy was the fact I use Buckwing Bobbn Head Turkey Decoys and have had great success with them and I can see this deer decoy will be effective for me too.
Check out this deer decoy yourself. Compair it to anything out there and you'll see what I'm talking about. It's the best I've found and that's the truth!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Schnecksville, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bobb'n Head Buck Decoy

Date:November 15, 2007
I don't normally write reviews, but I had to about this one. Went hunting with my Dad and brother and took this thing out. Carrying it in was a little noisy, but everything makes noise when your trampling through in the dark. I set it up in a matter of minutes and just sat back and watched. Believe it not, not only did I have a doe come up and lay down beside it, I actually had a 6 pointer come up and try to mount it! I didn't use the free scents that they sent me, but I can only imagine what would have happened had I used them to! Definitely impressed...I may get another to use as a bedded doe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Emory, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The most realistic decoy available

Date:November 5, 2007
I used this last wkend here in Texas for opening day, in the small buck configuration, since rut isn't in gear yet. I had 3 does come in early, what looked to be an old doe, a 2 yr old and a young one or younger yr old. The old doe took immediate notice of the decoy and seemed to get upset, the middle aged doe paid it no mind and the young one started to walk right over to it. The mature doe literally ran it off and went into cover. This story proves little, but I do think the deer all took it for real and that was important tome. I don't plan to put it back out again until the rut begins and hopefully it will attract a dominate buck. I also had a coyote wander in and actually walk right up to it, very cautiously, but sniff it and then run off. This decoy will trick deer and even up close. I spayed it with scent killer and left it outdoors for a week or so before using it in the woods...I plan to use it in a buck configuration and spray it with buck urine one the rut kicks in. The day was breezy and the head looked very real moving gentle from side to side. I have good expectations about using it at teh right time of the season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia Beach, Va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Product

Date:October 22, 2007
I used this decoy last week and it is so lifelike. I had one deer looking at it but I was out of light for the day. It is now in West Va. lent out to a friend on another bow hunt. I am patiently awaiting results. I plan to take it on my muzzleloader hunt in two weeks. Good job on a great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Brunswick. Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buckwing bobb'n hesd deer decoy

Date:October 15, 2007
this has to be one of the best items in my hunting gear. the first time I used it was unbelievable, not only did it attract a lot of attention from the deer in the area, but it also scored me one of my largest deer in all my years of bow hunting. That 10 pointer came all the way across an open field just to get a look at it. It not only looked at it, but came up and actually sniffed it. My only complaint is that it is a little noisey when it is moving in a big wind, but that was easily fixed with a little foam around the neck cavity. I would definetly reco mmend this product to any serios bow hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cape girardeau, mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:September 24, 2007
great decoy, used it the other night on 9/23/07 worked like a champ. had a 2 mph wind and it just made the decoy come alive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Decoy

Date:September 18, 2007
I have yet to hunt with this decoy, but it looks amazingly realistic. I set it up in the back yard and the neighbor's dog went crazy! The motion of the head and tail make this decoy very realistic. My cousin Shawn purchased the Flambeau Boss Buck and I was going to do the same, but when I went to get it just seemed too big.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyalusing,pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This is the greatest deer ive seen

Date:September 10, 2007
I cant believe how real like this deer is ,with the eyes and looks I swear its real. I hope it will help in archery season and im sure it will bring him in. I hope everyone will get one. I set mine up day september 10/07 and it looks so good ,just a few minutes and your done. Thanks for making it look like the real thing , bigred42 Wyalusing,pa.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Medina, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bobbin head decoy

Date:September 9, 2007
I purchased this decoy for bowhunting this fall.
I intentended to use it as a dominate buck to bring in some big boys in to bow range.
After receiving this decoy I am so impressed with it I am going to purchase another one and use it as a bedded doe with a dominate buck standing behind her. This will sure get there attention.
The set up is super easy and it is well made.
The decoy is very realistic with great detail and dynamite eyes.
The bobbin head and tail works great and adds even more life like to you setup.
I would recommend this decoy to anyone who want's to add some action to your hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Watertown, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This deer decoy is SUPERIOR to all others

Date:September 5, 2007
I purchased this deer decoy and I just recieved it today! I set it up in less than 3 minutes and it is very quiet to set up and take apart! I took the decoy out in the back yard and set it up. The anchor system on this decoy is far better than any other decoy that I have used...and there have been many others! We had a 30 mph wind today with gusts up to 40mph and the decoy did not even flinch in the high wind! I would have no problem taking this decoy out in the field on windy days where with other decoys in the past...they tip over in 10 mph winds! The moving bobble head and tail on this decoy is SUPER cool! Even later tonight when the winds died down to about 10 mph...the head and tail still moves up and down...side to side with GREAT realism! The color of this decoy is very very realistic, and the eyes on this decoy are so good that they are spooky...they are so real looking. At 50 yards...the eyes on this decoy pop out at you and make you think for a split second that the deer is real!
BOTTOM LINE: This decoy is about $50 more expensive than other deer decoys...but the $50 difference is SO worth it! This decoy is probably worth over $300 it is so good! I cannot wait to take it in the field and catch some awesome action on the video camera...and when season comes...I want my trophy buck to come in looking for a friend and find my arrow in his backside! :)
BUY THIS DECOY! YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED! I SURE AM NOT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ithaca, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy

Date:August 13, 2007
I just purchased this decoy a few weeks ago and I put it up in my back yard. My buddies came over for our "Poker Night" and saw the deer in the yard and called me over to come check out the huge rack! He actually thought it was a real deer! With the motion from the little breeze we had going and the paint, it looks so real! Not to mention, it was so easy to set up...it took me like 2 minutes! This thing is incredible!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Andover, Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, but be aware

Date:October 15, 2008
This decoy works great once you get it set up and firmly in the ground, but I've struggled with the thing falling over, even when it's not that windy. The other issue is that it's noisy to set up and take down, so be careful where you are going to use it.
However, once it's set up and solid, it works great. Bucks love it, especially during the rut. I always use the antlers and almost every buck that sees it comes right over to investigate and then they just hang out for extended periods--rubbing, scraping, etc. My partner shot a buck over it the first time he hunted it, and I had to talk him into using it! Now he says he'll never hunt without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Greenville, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bobb'n Head brings in the Bucks

Date:January 21, 2008
This decoy is awesome! I have never used a deer decoy before this one. I did read a lot about hunting with decoys before I purchased this. I took it with me on my yearly trip to Ohio. I hunted for 5 days. This was during the pre-rut/rut phase. Basically here is my assessment. Every buck, and I mean every single buck that made eye contact with this decoy came right in. I had bucks from 150 yards away heading in the wrong direction. I would grunt and they would look and see the decoy and come right in. I had 140" bucks down to spikes come into this decoy. Every time I set it out I sprayed it with scent eliminator spray and then applied some buck urine gel to the back legs. This thing really brings the bucks in. The down side to this is that it is very large so it is very awkward and noisy to carry out in the field and setup. The biggest problem I had though was with the stakes. Those stakes can't hold the decoy in real windy conditions. What I ended up doing was getting some long pieces of rebar and after pounding them in the ground, I duct taped them to the legs of this decoy. That was able to withstand 30mph wind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looks realistic!!

Date:October 30, 2007
I purchased this Bobb'n Head decoy as a gift to my sister. She wanted to try a deer decoy. We put it together and it looked great. When the head and tail move it looks very realistic. You can adjust the weight on the neck to put the deer in a feeding position or looking upright. The decoy comes with two sets of antlers. The biggest set is alittle too big for where we hunt, over doing it a bit. The decoy can also be turned into a doe.
She has only used the decoy a few times. On one hunt the buck decoy was placed near a feeder and a small buck came up to the cross fence and just looked at the decoy and left, it did not come to the feeder.
Overall, the decoy looks like a real deer...correct size, shape, color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Collapsed

Date:August 18, 2008
Well after it sat outside for the first couple of weeks the main body started to collapse. Now the head won't bobble like it should.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Takes a Hurricane

Date:November 16, 2007
I tried out the decoy in middle of rut during hunt in Richland county in South Carolina, deer was intrigued for sure. Bucks circled downwind of it to smell it when it was a doe. The deer remained motionless during heavy wind, I was surprised to see no "bobb'n" going on even though it was set up to "bobb" freely. Tail remained motionless as well, I am not impressed with what I got compared to the price. I could have easily got the same effects from the $80 standard decoy. Also, front legs come loose easily which causes trouble when you try to pin it in the hard ground. Looks very real out there in the field. Heavy duty staple that the head attaches to will eventually break apart and you will have to drill something new to hang the head on. Ears and horns fall out too easily. I am disappointed with the price most of all, performance is OK if u can leave it out there and not transport it around from one spot to another. You got to do something about the smell, many deer were shy of it since it didn't smell quite right to them. I did put lots of doe urine on it when it set it as a doe, seemed like it wasn't enough, hope the wind is your favor, as I don't think a smart buck will approach if the smell of the deer isn't strong enough to convince him it is real. I give it an F on the movement. I may contact Cabela's to see if I can return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: I am a deer hunter from North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Moving Buck Decoy

Date:December 12, 2007
I would not recommend buying this decoy for the money it cost.It is made of brittle plastic and will crack. Mine was cracked when I got it. Transporting it under hunting conditions is difficult.It is difficult to put it together and keep the legs on the body especially if the ground is hard.The head and tail require more wind to make them move than indicated in the advertisement. If you can get it to stay together it looks very real and will attract the attention of deer but so will a 3d bow target that costs much less.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

buckwing decoy

Date:November 11, 2007
I purchased this decoy because of the tail and head movement. I use to have a doe decoy, and the problem with that was that it had no moving parts, some big ones wood come in, and hang up because it did not move.
I took this product out a few times, only once was there a buck that came in to investigate. He snuck in behind me, but would not commit. The problem? The anchoring system! While the head was moving, the tail was because the back end was leaning to the right, so the buck was looking at a crooked doe. He just walked off, I guess he wasnt into handicapped chicks.
Also, when carrying it into the woods in the bag, it makes a lot of rackett because the parts are not secure in the cavity. When I did get it to stand right, the head and tail motion was life llike, but I have been having problems getting the back legs to seat properly. I only use the doe configuration because the area I live in and hunt, the buck to doe ratio is out of whack.
I did read other reviews with the does being spooked by the decoy, and that is not uncommon, I have had those problems in the past with other decoys.
Over all, for the money, I think its a little over priced, although it does work as advertised, its a pain to set up, and makes a lot of rackett to and from stand.
I own it now, so I wont give up on it yet, but no positve results to report as of now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Piece of junk

Date:November 8, 2008
This product is not worth what you pay for it. They tell you not to drop the head, because the lug to hold the balance wieghts will break. Well, When I was screwing the wieghts onto the bolt the lug already started to show stress marks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BuckWing™ Bobb'n Head Deer Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Western PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too flimsy for the money

Date:December 17, 2007
Thsi thing would be OK for about half the money but when you shell out close to $200 (on sale) for something where the competitors are all selling for less, you expect quality
It looks real enough and the bobbin head is pretty realistic but the thing is made SO flimsy that it's a royal pain to set it up without it popping apart. It even has a warning molded into the plastic on the head telling you the warranty doesnt cover dropping the head while the weights are attached. Something thats going to be used out in the field shouldnt be so fragile that it needs warning labels!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23