Customer Reviews for BlueStar BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BlueStar BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray

Formulated after a reagent used to discover blood trace evidence at crime scenes. Just spray on and the slightest trace of blood becomes fluorescent in the dark. It even works after a rain. Safe for the hunter and the environment. Hunting kit contains a spray bottle, two sets of tablets and user guide. Good for one or two 8-oz. doses.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
13 out of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Review 1 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tucson, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tricky, but works as advertised

Date:June 17, 2009
This stuff works great if you know how to use it and have reasonable expectations. It must be very dark, and the pills and water must not get any blood contamination when mixing. False positives won't glow as bright or as long, and large quantities of blood will flame out fast as it absorbs the compound quickly. It's best for tiny amounts of blood difficult or impossible to see. BTW, I've mixed it 16-20ozs of water as opposed to the recommended 4-8 and still had great results!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BlueStar

Date:June 15, 2009
I use it for Forensic training because it works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Keswick, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BlueStar Will Work

Date:January 8, 2009
While there have been some problems with the BlueStar Blood Revealing Spray "lighting up" everything, there are a couple of things that will make it work. First, reduce the water mixture by a couple of ounces to make it a little more concentrated. Next, since the blood of mammals is based on iron, don't use water with iron in it, as it'll give a false reading. Also, just as an earlier review states, those homes which use the water softening salt tablets should not be used, as the blood contains salt, so such contaminated water will give a "false positive". As such, bottled or distilled water can be used. I have, and it works! Found a nice buck that I shot at dusk, and it'll be on the wall in a few months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blue Star

Date:January 4, 2009
After not seeing anything in the woods with allot of hours in the stand, I finally nailed one during the 4th week of bow season.
I decided to go out at the last minute. At about 4:15 this skipper came in eating apples off the tree. I had a clear shot, but knew that a doe was always with it along with another skipper. Then from behind a pine tree the doe stepped out and started over. I was in a pop up blind against some pines but she knew it didn’t belong and something was up. She was only about 40yrds away, but looking at me straight on. She would not come in and just bobbed her head.. The kiss of death. The skipper started getting nervous so I took the shot. Then it was my 1st NY deer all over again.. the rain started coming. The deer ran down hill but doubled back to head to the doe. It was not in view so I would not have known this. I was initially looking for it in the wrong area, but we found the arrow where it broke off and then tracks.
Anyway.. the blood light I had did not show anything, but the rain diluted all the blood. So I gathered all my gear and dropped it off at the truck giving it time to get darker. I was getting worried that I could not find any blood. I had some “Blue Star” that I bought in the truck. I then mixed the blue star and still could not get blood under the tree where I hit him. I tracked the deer by the tracks that were dug in thru to the dirt, but then we lost the tracks. I then found indents in the grass areas and knew the direction it went. I figured it went thru the stone wall in one of two areas. I picked the correct one 1st. I sprayed the blue-star and the branches and stones had blood drops glowing. Nothing major just spatterings. We were amazed how well this stuff worked after/during the rain. I kept spraying and had glowing. The amount increased over time.. Then huge areas would glow. We would try and see the blood with a light and NOTHING. Some of the spots were so large that glowed with no visible blood when a light was used that I thought something else was triggering the glow. Although I did remember my cousin saying that he had the same thing when he used it to find the deer his dad arrowed. Anyway with such large glowing areas I thought something was off so I told thought that I would have to come back in the morning. I had brought one of the 1M candlepower lights with me so before I left I gave a quick look around and about 10yrds away lay the dead button buck. It was a lung shot and with the rain and aspirated blood no sign could be seen with a regular light or blood light, but huge areas lit up with the blue-star blood finding agent. I am not sure if I would have found this deer without the blue-star, not before coyotes got it anyway.
This product is as claims and is excellent. I would recommend it be carried in all hunters daypacks.
Steve
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Charleston, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray

Date:December 30, 2008
Haven't been able to use it, but we are sure if it is a Cabela's product, it will be great!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works...if you mix it correctly!!

Date:November 12, 2008
I see reviews on here that are saying it does not work, it works perfect. When handling the tablets or the water that you use, you can't have a trace of blood on your hands. If you mix it after touching blood and cross contaminated the product it will show blue everywhere...because it is in the product. Also, the water source has to contain no iron or salt, so some have used well water that may contain salt from the softeners.
When mixed correctly...this stuff works great!! After a rain...what would you pay to recover a buck of a lifetime?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't Believe the Naysayers

Date:November 1, 2008
I will tell you(and those that don't believe in this product) it works beyond belief! I won't go into all details of our recovery, but I will say that it was just short of unbelievable! Buddy of mine hit a buck right at dark and wasn't 100% positive on the impact so after trailing for about 75 yds he backed out on lack of blood and being unsure of the shot. That night/next day it rained over 3 inches. Blood trail gone! Found Bluestar after searching and called them...after talking to them he ordered it and had it in 3 days. The owner said it could rain for a year and this stuff would still pick up the blood...he was right! I helped use Bluestar to track from last blood he had found on this buck and we blood trailed and found the buck 100 yds from last blood...this was 7 days and 4.5 inches of rain later! If you say it doesn't work you either haven't used it or you didn't use it properly! Buy with confidence! By the way, I have no affiliation with this product! Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Springfield, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BlueStar Believer

Date:October 23, 2008
Great product! I recovered my biggest buck ever thanks to BlueStar. I hit the deer poorly(liver and gut) and had very little visible blood. After a 4 hour wait and 6 hours of tracking, we lost the trail in a grown-over field. Within 2 hours of nightfall, we recovered the buck by using BlueStar. He covered 1/2 mile after the shot, and at one point walked a figure-8 in tall grass. Recovery simply would not have been possible without BlueStar. It even reacts with clear body fluids. I will not hunt without BlueStar in my backpack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marion, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bluestar Blood Spray

Date:October 1, 2007
I bought this product last week and tried it out this weekend. We tracked a big buck and this definitely helped. After we lost blood and didn' t know which way the buck turned, I would spray this on the ground and it would show up fluorescent blue as long as their
was no lights shining on it. It would pick up little specs of blood I couldn't even see with the naked eye. I put one foil packet for 4 ounces of water and it seemed to work fine. I am excited to use this in the future!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bluestar

Date:July 14, 2009
I used Bluestar last season when my brother shot a spike buck a littel to far back. We must have tracked this deer for two hundred yards before we lost the trail so we decided to go back regroup and start over in the morning. While we were back at camp I decided in the morning I would try Bluestar to see how it worked, I read about Bluestar in a last season Bowhunter Magazine and I thought I would give it a shot. That morning I went to were we last saw blood and within seconds we were on or way. Now, I know this product is best used at night but within 30 minutes we had travled 300 yards and found this deer that should of been lost. The only thing is make sure you do not have blood on your hands when you unwrap the tablets, it will make your entire bottle glow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upstate New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, But!

Date:January 8, 2008
The product helped me track a nice Eight Pointer, so it does work. The only problem is that the tablets don't dissolve well enough without crushing them first. Maybe a powder would be more efficient.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

light blood trail? or a piece of mind, BUY THIS!

Date:September 24, 2007
Blue star blood revealing spray does exactly that, reveals blood. we tracked a deer for 1/2 mile before kicking it up. of course no blood after that. we went home and got my Blue Star. one spray were we lost blood and the whole ground lit up. we turned our flashlights back on and looked, "oh yeah, there is a spot of blood there (pin drop size). 50 yards further we found the deer. my buddy i heard this product from said he used it after shooting a deer a month earlier and found that deer.
my only complaint would be the directions say to put water in the sprayer and drop two tablets in. doesn't say how much. so i filled the sprayer and the blood was not showing up real bright. i could see it good but not neon. then i read the directions on the tablet package. says to use 4 oz of water, i had 8 oz. after i switched it to 4 0z it worked great. i gave it four stars instead of five only because of that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

blood spray

Date:December 10, 2008
used once works good if your on a leafy forest floor but i got into brushy stuff with different types of vegatation where i knew there was blood and it just started lighting up stuff that i knew wasnt blood never found deer couldnt tell what was blood and what wasnt but like i said leafy ground cover it does what its suppose to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Ocean City, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Showed Blood, but everything else as well

Date:February 28, 2009
I used this product this year when I shot my first deer with my bow. I shot a 10 pt buck and had to trail it. thought we would try out this "awesome" product. This led us on a huge goose chase. It showed the blood but also lit up half the woods, and after using it I didnt see another deer the whole season in that spot. Went from 30-40 deer the first week to 0 for the next 4 months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Simsboro, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

dissapointing

Date:January 1, 2009
I tried to use this product on a moonlit night. Even spraying it on large bloodspots It took several minutes to see any kind of glow from the spray, and even then with the moonlight it was hard to see unless I knew where to look. The tablets also took a few minutes of hard shaking to get dissolved completely. I found my deer, but my flashlight showed the very obvious trail much better than the spray did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Yea, I guess so.

Date:October 18, 2007
It does show blood, but that's not all. Some plants will glow like they were covered in blood. After a while, I sprayed for 5 yards in 2 different directions. It glowed small specks in both directions. It had led me on a wild goose chase. I won't be buying any refills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never agean

Date:October 5, 2008
I feel like I just threw my money out the window! It was at dusk, I took a shot at a doe in southern Ohio she bolted off to the left and I thought I had a good shot. I lost sight of her after 30 yards and I thought I heard a crash. Great time to test out BlueStar so after an hour I retrevied my hunting buddy and the BlueStar man I couldent wait to try it out and to show it off to my huntting partner. I had premarked a fill line on the bottle that was supplied in the kit and all I needed to do was to add the two tablets. After they disolved I started to spray and blue dots started showing up everywere then my partners jacked sleve had blue dots all over it. I inavertnly sprayed his arm. I used the rest of the bottle on the ground but the same size dots showed up with no real pattern or trail. Blue dot were all over the place. I found the arrow the next morning five yards from the area and it was not a great shot there was blood five inches up the arrow and some bone stuck to the rage. I never found the doe. If I had a good shot I would never need BlueStar but reading their clames I thought this product would be great for not so perfect shots and you would be able to pick up the smallest traces of blood, not so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bluestar blood-revealing spray

Date:January 8, 2008
I USE this product to trail a deer.
I mixed it acording to the instructions.This product is worthless
IT showed up on eveything that I sprayed.I even sprayed
my 4 wheeler where it glowed on that to.Dont buy.
I WAS not able to tell the differences between where blood
was and where it was not as everything tested positive for blood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BlueStar Blood-Revealing Spray
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Works so good that its terrible

Date:October 29, 2007
The blood trail I was tracking got thinner and thinner, and then disappeared... so I broke out my new BlueStar blood spray. It was like a miracle! I sprayed in the direction I had been heading, and found tiny spots lighting up that I was unable to see with the naked eye. Kept spraying, kept seeing little spots light up, and kept walking. After a while it seemed too easy. So I sprayed totally in the other direction, and it lit up the same way with tiny specs. Hmmmm. So I sprayed in a complete circle, then up a tree. EVERYTYHING in the woods lights up with tiny specs!! Apparently there are tiny specs all over the forest that react to this stuff !! No matter where you spray the so called "blood trail" looks the same. Bah !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.