Customer Reviews for Wildview Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wildview Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera

The Extreme 4 has all of the same features as the Extreme 5, but with a 4.0-megapixel high resolution and 1.3-megapixel low resolution camera. Conserve disk space or get the best pictures possible ? it's your choice. Or, you can capture activity with QVGA-quality AVI video files. Burst Mode shoots 1-3 sequential pictures or 10 seconds of video every time the camera is triggered. Trigger can be set 1-20 minutes apart. Time and date stamped on all photos. Internal 32MB memory can be expanded to 2GB with expandable SD card slot. (SD cards sold separately.) In addition to on/off, flash can be set to automatic, which will detect when a flash is needed. 4-digit external counter display lets you know exactly how many photos you have. Plug-and-play compatible with Windows XP, ME and 2000 through USB output. Includes nylon strap, USB cable and software drivers. Runs off four C batteries (not included) or 12-Volt Lead Acid Battery Kit (sold separately).
Overall Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
15 out of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Review 1 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You get what you pay for!

Date:June 29, 2008
After attempting to "go low" with this entry level camera, I have yet again learned my lesson. I figured it was worth a shot at just over a hundred bucks. I put the camera out and got 17 pics the first week. Most were poor quality with massive amounts of white light flooding the pic during the daytime and a not-so-powerful flash at night. Even so, I got a couple half-deer pics that turned out OK. I did the memory card switch and came back the next week to find...... drum roll.... the camera had ceased to work entirely! All the screen will display now is a bunch of 8's. It wont even turn off. Nice quality stuff. My advice is to spring for the cuddyback. That's what I'm going to do!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera

Date:May 5, 2008
Not what I was hoping for. My expectations were much higher for this camera. Photo quality is not what I expect from camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Berwick, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera

Date:March 7, 2008
I put this camera out for a week. I got 164 pictures. The quality wasn't the best. I had a blurry spot in the center of the pictures. This spot made the animals eyes look like softballs at night. When I went out to pick up the camera at the end of the week, I was not able to turn it off. I think the toggle switch broke. I returned it. It was easy to set-up and it only took 4 C-Cell Batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great camera for the money

Date:February 28, 2008
I've had four of these cameras for over the past year and they work absolutely perfect. I did have one die on me and returned it back to cabelas for another one at no charge! This winter they were exposed to some extreme weather snow and heavy rains and they worked perfectly. I've showed up to check them and found them completely frozen solid but still took my picture! The pictures are not the best but then again it's a trail camera. Find out what sets them off ie, shadows, snow fluries, rains etc and place them in a an area to minimize them. Use good batteries and large sd cards and you'll be happpy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sandy Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wildview extreme scouting camera

Date:February 21, 2008
Every thing about this product worked as promised. The only problem I found is the motion detecter is slow to trigger the camera so the camera needs to be placed so the subject is in front of the lens for a fair amount of time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

workswell

Date:February 20, 2008
works well very easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Harmony Corners, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera

Date:February 18, 2008
Bought this for my wife for Christmas, she has wanted one for years. I did much research and the reviews for this sounded good, for the price and ease of use. It is now the end of February and all we have got is 5 pics of trees. My wife has moved it about 6 times, there are many tracks but no pics. She even set it up in the dogs play area and still nothing. She said that if she walks in front of it and stands there it will take a pic of her after awhile, like sleep mode is way to long. I can't believe that we are doing anything wrong after reading the manaul and changing locations that many times. The light flashes when she sets it up and walks in front of it in test mode but when she changes modes and leaves the area nothing. The batterys are new. Some Christmas present, not such a happy holiday. Not a happy camper with this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wildview Xtreme 4 Camera

Date:February 14, 2008
This product required a small capacity s.d. card of which none were available for sale in my area. If it limited to just certain s.d. cards ,one should be supplied with the camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Christmas Gift

Date:February 4, 2008
I purchased the Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera after reading the reviews on this website. It was purchased as a Christmas Gift for my husband. The camera was easy to set-up and provided very clear photos. We are very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hanska mn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wildview xtreme 4 digital scouting camera

Date:January 13, 2008
a great camera;takes awesome pictures,day or night,I bought the 12volt battery pack for it.the regular c batteries lasted about a week,depending on the number of pictures you get.I am going buy another one,A++++!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

deer cam 4

Date:November 17, 2007
Great camera for the money. I have taken over 500 pictures in the first month and am very pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mancelona, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:October 19, 2007
This camera does a great job! The picture quality is super, it is easy to use, easy to upload pics to the computer after use. For the price, it was a fantastic deal. We are very happy with our purchase of this camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

some good, but...

Date:October 16, 2007
the wildview 4.0 etreme was very easy to setup and use. it seems that the passive infrared feature that is supposed to trigger the shutter does not always do so when the animal is in front of the camera or the trigger speed is too slow....either way, I had a high number of pictures that had nothing in them. out of approx 85 shots, I also had 15 to 20 washed-out pictures. on the positive side, the clarity and definition of the pictures that did turn out were very good, even the night color shots. but in the end, I returned the unit and opted for a higher end IR mode. good camera to buy if you don't have high expectations.l
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wildview

Date:October 16, 2007
Great camera, can't beat the quality for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Show Low, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera

Date:September 17, 2007
For the price, a good camera. I've gotten some nice pics, and the trigger time seems ok, although not blazing fast. My only complaint: There seems to be some electrical dysfunction. It will at times show that the battery is low, when they are new. It has also, on 2 occasions, failed to start up. I took the batteries out, allowed time for it to reset, and then it was fine. I'm just a little concerned about the life of the circuit board. As for the function and camera itself, I can't complain at all...
I'm giving it 3 stars, assuming that mine will continue to work. If it worked perfectly, I'd give it 4-5 stars. For the money, definatley 5 stars....
Carter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst camera on the market

Date:August 30, 2007
This is by far the biggest waste of money. Do not buy this if you plan on taking pictures at night. I've tried auto and flash but this thing will not take a picture at night. Called tech support and the guy was clueless. Warranty was up before I realy got to use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: champion, ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wildview 4mp camera

Date:August 13, 2007
i bought this camera for the price. after only one use, i got 147 pics of deer over a four day period. every picture came out great, i've already sent away for another wildview. i would recommend this camera to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wildview trail cam.

Date:July 31, 2007
For the money,The wildview is a great choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anywhere
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera

Date:July 26, 2007
Don't worry the flash does not scare deer and other game at all, it actually makes them curious and they look at the camera. This camera takes very high quality pictures for only being a little over $100. The daytime videos are good, but they take a lot of memory. I bought a 128 mb chip for extra memory. The test mode on this camera is very helpful so you know if the camera will take a picture of the desired area. Just a good camera. It is every bit as good as the cameras that are over $200. If you are looking for a good camera pretty cheep, get it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wildview Xtreme 4 Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wildview Xtream 4

Date:July 26, 2007
The camera is very user friendly for set up and use. The pictures are great. I had a problem with the flash being to bright and night time pics appear white and washed out. I cured the problem by putting a paper on the flash with a small slit and it cured the problem. I called in the problem with the flash and was advised to send the unit back and it would be repaired. The folks were very friendly and helpful. If I were to ad anything to the camera it would be to enable the pictures to remain on the internal hard drive when there is no power to the unit. I put in a 256 mg, chip and solved that problem. For the money it is a good camera.
Country
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22