Customer Reviews for Summit Treestands Summit 180° Max Treestand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Summit Treestands Summit 180° Max Treestand

Sometimes bigger is better. If you're tall or wide, or both, then you'll want to hunt from Summit's 180? Max? SS treestand. Summit added a full 2" to the top section width and kept the 180? top-section length to give you Summit's tallest and widest treestand experience. Comes standard with RapidClimb? stirrups, so bending over to attach boot straps is a thing of the past. You decide which way to face and shoot with the ultracomfortable surround seat, which can be removed or set facing the tree for those often-missed, behind-the-shoulder shots. Rated for up to 350 lbs. and specifically designed with big hunters in mind. Seat has super-comfortable solid-core backrest. Thick, comfortable pads in armrest and top section bar. 8,000-lb. cable secures you for success. Includes Summit Skin. Stand is tested to TMA standards and includes a full-body harness with S.R.S. (Suspension Relief System). Made in USA. Seat height: Adjustable. Seat Size: Base: 18" x 12". Back rest: 12" x 20". Size: 20" x 28-3/4" Weight: 22 lbs. Weight capacity: 350 lbs. Camo Pattern: Next Camo? G-1?. A Video Public Service Announcement from the TREESTAND MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
Overall Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Review 1 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

CHEAP MADE

Date:October 25, 2008
DID NOT HAVE ALL PARTS IN BOX.
TIE WRAPS ARE CHEAP WAY TO KEEP
PADS ON . SENT IT BACK AN BOUGHT A LONE WOLF
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Glen Carbon,Il.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

180 max

Date:October 28, 2008
Drawbacks-The curved rail puts your rear too far away from the tree when climbing,which makes alot of noise scraping bark on your way up.Turned the seat around on one climb,much nicer even nice,but if your not hunting facing tree on your hunt moving the seat was a little unnerving.Stirrups, not so great would be in the way facing the tree.Surround seat,Can't think of any thing I would put in there other than permit's,liscense or a couple body warmers (velcro pocket flaps are loud). But it's a summit well built (3 stars) wish I would have bought a Titan or Golliath.Other climber is a Summit Bullet (I will still be using it! (alot).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

seat and cable

Date:January 9, 2008
the nylon strap should be wider on the seat, that is the one you use when facing the tree, because it tore my seat. there is not enough support to keep it from tearing. plastic on the cables comes off fairly easy. thats not a real big deal though. i am 340 lbs. and the stand is overall very comfortable and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Summit 180

Date:January 7, 2008
This is a comfortable and sturdy stand. It sets up easy and climbs great. I like the fact that you can face the tree or face away from the tree. A tad on the heavy side, but nothing major. A little pricey, but should last a lifetime. All in all a great climber
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upstate New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Summit 180 Max

Date:November 14, 2007
I used this stand during bow season and shot a six pointer from it a 25 feet on November 3 with my Bowtech Guardian. I bought it with the assumption I would use it both for bow and gun season here in Upstate NY. I'm 6'2" 252 lbs. It packs up pretty compact, not too bad on weight, it's quiet going through the woods so long as you use the strap to secure the upper and lower platforms together.
What I like about the stand:
Lots of room !!!!!!!
Seat is extremely comfortable
Surround seat keeps the wind off of you so you are WARM
Seat can be switched to face tree during gun season or bow if you like
Climbs quietly and relatively quick
Sturdy even when the tree your on is swaying in the wind
Quiet, got caught seated when the buck approached but stood up slowly and the stand never made a noise
Pretty easily to set up in the dark, also quiet when setting up
Two ways to climb, sitting in the seat, or like I do, sitting on the edge of the bar (use the seat back bungee to secure the seat to the platform if you climb this way)
What I don't like about the stand:
Paint chips real easy but I spray paint mine an array of camo colors anyway
Summit skins are pretty bad, don't even waste your time putting them on the base platform, they peel off easily in cold, wet weather
Rapid climb stirups could be better (more rigid). I get a chuckle when I read the Summit ads "Rapid Climb Stirups...Patent Pending" Honestly Summit, I wouldn;t worry about someone stealing this design.
Switching the seat to face the opposite way while on stand is not that easy and there isn't a lot of room to do this if you're a big guy. I did it once while on stand and I won't try that again - it's easier to get into the climbing position and rotate yourself around the tree.
Difficult to get to full draw while sitting (not an open front stand)
I'd give it 5 stars if the rapid climb stirups were better and the skins stayed put but they appear to have a coating that shines when sunlight hits them so I'm gald they are off.
You can get to full draw while sitting depending on the tragetory of your shot, if the deer is under you, you are goign to have to stand. Also don't have the seat hanging far from the support rail that circles the upper platform if you want to shoot sitting since this is not an open front stand.
If you must or like to shoot sitting them buy an open front stand. I usually don't get surprised but that 6 pointer snuck in from behind. I like to shoot standing so sitting and shooting is not a big loss for me even though it would have been handy for me on November 3.
I'm considering buying the Lonewolk sit and climb and taking my Summit seat off the 180 Max and putting on the Lone Wolf for the remainder of bow season. I'd buy it again though even though its not the ideal stand for a bow hunter since sitting and shooting can be challenging depending on the angel of your shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

summit

Date:December 23, 2008
I haven't got to use it for a full days hunt yet, I bought it late season and the weather has been below zero several days with the wind chill. I hope to use it more soon. Summit has been very good to me in the past. I had a crack in one of the welds on a platform and they sent me a new one quickly. I sent the other back shipping paid. This mean alot today. I do like the larger stand platform. Before I would catch my toes hanging past the platform, now there is more than enough room. The seat on the stand is like a lounge chair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carbon County PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Roomy, Sturdy, and Comfy

Date:December 7, 2008
I'm 6' 4" and go about 280 so I need a heavy duty climber. I took the plunge and bought the 180 Max, well I have no regrets.
The stand is roomy with a very comfortable seat. The welded construction eliminates squeaks and gives a very sturdy feel. It is stable where it mates to the tree.
The stirrups are not up to par with the quality of the rest of the unit but they did function. My solution was to cut a 1"long piece of 5" tubing, split it in two and TIG weld the "U" shaped pieces in the place of the original plastic pieces. Hey Summit for the price of the stand, take my advice and weld $4.00 worth of material on in place of the plastic stirrups.
I like to sit facing the tree and the stand has enough room to stand and turn to take shots in any direction.
If you're considering this stand... don't hesitate like I did for so long. Just buy it and you'll have no regrets either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Fulton, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

summit 180 max

Date:November 3, 2008
This is the only climbing stand I found that lets you hunt facing the tree, allowing you to make those unexpected shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MarylandBowhunter

Date:October 1, 2008
This stand is top of the line. Very quiet, sturdy, light, adjustable, easy to climb/descend and very, very comfortable. You'd have a hard time finding one better, if you do - call me. The only thing I would like to see changed is the length of the cables, you can't go much bigger than a 14"-16" tree. Other than that, a flawless work of art.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OFALLON IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

summit 180

Date:August 1, 2008
This is the best stand I have ever owned. Its light weight, easy for log walks, comfortable to sit in and on while climbing, and quiet. This stand has no moving parts and the seat is great, with the pockets for carrying gear which elimate the use of a back pack. I can sit all day if this stand. I luv the round bar for sitting back to rest while climbing up the tree or the 180 which allows you to sit facing the tree or away while hunting....Great stand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New England
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Afraid of Heights?

Date:February 26, 2008
I am new to hunting but i am glad i did my homework on this one. I bought the Summit 180 Max with the surround seat. I found out the hard way before i purchased this item that I am afraid of heights, at least not comfortable 20 feet up in a "regular" stand. This stand is easy to use , its quiet, and most of all i feel secure facing either way. The seat is very comfortable and warm, i plan on purchasing the foot rest kit and the comfort mat. The stand did squeek once in a while when my boots were wet, and when are your boots not wet hunting? Some find the summitskins useless, not me, put them on and keep them there, they dampen any noise of the metal stand and everyone knows,quiet is good! The rubber around the cables do wear out but doesnt affect the stand at all. I would recommend this product to everyone who wants to be able to relax while hunting and have the flexabiltiy to move to any area you need. The one thing i would caution is make sure you pick a tree with bark, smooth trees and this stand dont mix and also make sure the string you tie the two pieces together with is long enough that your not putting pressure.
I harvested my 1st and only deer out of this stand (a doe) in my 1st year of hunting. This is the one and only stand for me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Climber Made

Date:January 15, 2008
I have owned several different climbing stands over the years, but I have to say this is the best one yet. I even had an older model Summit Viper. The new climbing stirrups make it so much quicker and easier to use. The surround set is very comfortable with think padding for all day setting. The only thing I recomend is that you add the foot rest kit. I added one to mine and it allows your legs to be in a more reclined position, which reduces leg and lower back fatigue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best treestand i own

Date:November 12, 2007
I AM BIG BOY AND THAT TREESTAND HAVE LOT OF ROOM VERY EASY TO USE QUIET AND VERY SAFE I DID MIST MY LAZY BOY WENT I WAS IN IT BUT MAYBE ONE DAY SUMMIT COULD ADD TV ON THIS ONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wesley Chapel Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

180 Max Best one yet

Date:November 10, 2007
This is the most comfortable climbing tree stand that I have ever used! It was so relaxing and yet when it came time to shoot I was able to stand up and move around with ease and quiet. Great job in planning this stand. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Inman, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

killing stand

Date:October 19, 2007
This is the best tree stand I have ever used. It has lots of room to turn around and shoot deer coming in behind you, and it is quick to put on a tree, and it makes no sound at all climbing. I have had it only a few weeks and I have killed a 10 point and a six point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Central Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stand

Date:October 8, 2007
I bought the 180 for my wife after someone stole her Viper Ultra. She likes the option of facing toward or away from the tree so the 180 was an obvious choice. She hunted out of the 180 this past weekend and spent five hours in it Saturday morning which is a long time for her. Keep in mind she is 56 and was 40 feet off the ground. She reports that the stand is very easy to climb, extremely comfortable sitting away from the tree, acceptable facing the tree, and provides a good level of security while in the tree. Her only complaint was she does not like having to disconnect and reattach the seat when the climb is complete in order to face away from the tree. We recommend this stand to anyone who is in the market for a climbing stand and wants the versatility or facing toward or away from the tree.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Swanzey, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Summit 180 max tree stand

Date:October 8, 2007
Have used regular summits, the 180 has much more room. Can easily climb through stand without getting caught on your back. Much more leg room for taller hunters.
I would recommend this to anyone over 6' tall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Summit 180° Max Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kenner, La
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Stand I have ever used

Date:August 1, 2007
I ordered the 180 Max SS because Im a big guy and I own 4 other climbing stands, but can't find one I can sit all day in. Don't get me wrong I like them all, and I use them all, but this stand came in and I used it to go hog hunting. I found it to beeing the nearest thing I could find to hanging a Lazyboy recliner in the tree. It was simple and quiet to place on the tree, to climb with, and to take off the tree. It takes a little practice to get it to fit together right to tote, but once you get it down pat your on your way. This stand really feels like it was designed by a hunter for hunters. This is the first Sumitt stand i have ever owned but it will not be the last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.