Customer Reviews for Cabela's Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera

Follow game movements around your favorite hunting spot with Cabela's 4.1-megapixel camera. It records time, date and location on every photo, so you can see what game is visiting your area on a day-by-day basis. Select low or high resolution settings. The 30-ft. flash assists this by taking optimal, viewable shots every time. When not needed or wanted, the flash can be disabled. The laser aiming feature allows for precise camera mounting every time it's placed. 16MB internal memory is expandable to 1GB with use of an SD card. Built-in solar panel connectors ensure the longest-lasting battery on the market (Solar panel not included). All of this is secured in a Mossy Oak? Break-Up? casing for minimal detection. Photos can be viewed using either the TV-out cable or included USB cable to your computer. Mounting cords included as well. Powered by a 6-volt battery (not included).
Overall Customer Rating:
3.679 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 165 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
8
1 Star
20
132 out of 165(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Review 1 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lakeview, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Moultrie 4.1 MP

Date:October 19, 2006
Takes very clear, good quality pictures. I especially like the video feature. Seeing those bucks in motion is motivational in itself. One of the best features is the solar charging option. I put the camera out during the first week of August and didn't have to re-charge the battery at home until the middle of October despite the coldest fall in many years. This was after over 200 pictures and several videos. This is possibly the best value for the money out there right now.
Stongly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 4.1 MP

Date:October 21, 2006
I have two of these camera's and they work really well. Takes real good, clear pictures. The expandable SD slot is nice I can put a 512 MB card in and on the standard pic quality setting it will take over 1000 pics. On the high setting it will take around 500 pics. Video mode works real well. Runs off a 6V battery - I bought that from Cabela's as well and have yet to have one go dead on me. One camera I left the battery in it for over a month and it still had about 65% charge on it. The camera probably took over 2500 pics on that battery plus about 1/4-1/2 of them were at night so it ran the flash as well.
Negatives on it: the trigger is pretty sensitive, lots of pictures that are of nothing - the grass in front of the camera or tree branches moving in the wind will set it off. Also would like to see a better attachment system. The bungee's work ok but can be a pain in the butt to use. Would also be nice if they could put metal on the outside where you can put a paddlelock to keep others from getting into the camera and messing with the settings.
I would really like to see them make this camera with IR flash.
If they would have a better attachment system I would easily be able to give this camera a 5 star rating. Really love the low battery usage though, don't have to worry about my battery going dead before I can get to it.
Overall a very good camera and I really like. When I buy my next camera this one will definetly be high on the list.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Keep Looking

Date:October 25, 2006
Takes very good quality pictures during the day and the multiple picture option is nice.
Effective flash range is about 15 feet max. Battery life is horrible, maybe 9 days with supposedly extended life batteries in warm weather. Low battery warning means nothing as the camera stops working when the warning comes up. Extremely slow reaction time, be prepared for a lot of pictures of game leaving the viewing field. The tiny bungee cord mounting system has an extremely limited life before they are permanently stretched. After two weeks of use it now takes anywhere from 15 minutes to 4 hours to power up after changing the batteries. Sensor is very, very sensitive, trips on the slightest movement (except for animals) so use a large storage card as there will be a lot of pictures of the grass and trees moving.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT

Date:October 27, 2006
WOEKES GREAT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Greenfield, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent quality pictures

Date:October 31, 2006
I bought 2 of these cameras about 2 weeks ago. The quality of the pictures are excellent. The big problem is the delay between the motion/detection and the taking of the picture. I have some pics of just the back end of the deer. But for the price, you can't beat this camera. It sure beats lying in the woods all night watching for deer, or waiting for the film to get developed!!!
I have tried the video feature a couple of times but have not had any luck yet. I am sure this is user error, because I don't believe in reading instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: South Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great camera for price

Date:October 31, 2006
... This one works great for the price. I have two set up in my area. Pictures are clear and crisp. very easy to set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Useful Features make this camera a great value!

Date:November 3, 2006
STONG POINTS
-Video and Stills
-SD card option makes collecting shots quick and easy. I bought two cards so I just swap out cards and review photos back at home, without any downtime or having to lug a laptop to the camera or buying an expensive portable viewer.
-4.1 megapixel allows zooming in to catch details in your shots that lesser cameras fail to detect.
-Simple to setup and use. Laser aiming feature ensures your pointing the cameras lens right where you want it. Programming is a snap with easy to use menu options. All you need is one quick review of the user manual and your ready to go.
-No film processing costs!
WEAK POINTS
-Battery comsumption is poor (48 Hrs at best) I highly recommend optional solar charger and rechargeable battery.
-Needs more secure design. Plastic holes where locks/cables can be attached could easily be broken leaving camera in working order and vulnerable to theft.
-Somtimes takes forever to come online after power up.
-Video mode takes one photo in low resoultion when triggered then 10 seconds of .avi video...it would be nicer if that photo was high resolution.
-LCD display is difficult to read in bright sunlight or if not directly facing the camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SW Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Home & Trail

Date:November 4, 2006
I bought this camera to watch the bears and deer that visit our vacation home on the southern Washington coast. While I've got 100's of excellent shots day and night, I never know what to expect from the battery life. A fresh Duracell battery had 3/4 power after 2 weeks and 50 shots, day and night, the second battery was dead in 3 days with 20. After downloading pictures and resetting camera with 3/4 charged battery, it would not turn on. Mine is set to take 3 pictures in a row every minute with auto flash. It does take 10 -15 seconds for the camera to 'wake' so if the subject walks past the camera, it will take 3 empty shots. As the battery weakens, it will take longer to flash. Night shots with flash are good when the subject is in the flash zone but the eyes will be lit like 100 watt bulbs! Apples are working best to to get some excellent shots of deer looking right into the lens and a Frisbee placed in the yard has every bear stopping to check it out. Bought a 6 volt, 2 AMP AC/DC converter & hobby lead, drilled a hole in the case, inserted the hobby lead, sealed the hole and I now have water proof pig-tail that can be connected to the converter or a more powerful battery. With my $20 off Cabela's coupon, the camera was a great buy! I'm sure it will be a good trail camera too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This is a great camera.

Date:November 4, 2006
This is a great camera. We use this at out corn piles all the time. We have gotten some great pictures of Big Bucks down to Baby deer that still had their spots. This is a great way to see what time the deer are coming out and what deer are coming to that particular corn pile. It's also a great way to see if just deer are eating your corn. All around GREAT camera, it takes clear, crisp pictures. It's very accurate and the battery lasts a long time! If you want a good trail camera, get this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really impressed.

Date:November 4, 2006
I own two previous Moultrie cams and have not been too happy with them. I saw that this cam had moved up to 4.1 Megapixels and had to try it.
I buy a 1 gig SD card for $21, set the picture quality to high, and get great pictures. Battery life can be a challenge, especially if the cam is taking lots of night shots.
I cannot decide yet if the solar charger is helping or not. I have only used for about 1 month and it does not always seem to help. It may be the choice of batteries I am buying.
Trigger time is slower than high dollar cams but I can live with it.
I like this cam so well I bought a second one and may buy a third. Great value!
If they could improve battery life, I would give it a five star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MORGANTOWN,KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DIGITAL CAMERA

Date:November 8, 2006
THIS CAMERA IS GREAT FUN AND VERY ENTERTAINING. YOU CAN CAPTURE THINGS THAT YOU NORMALLY DON'T HAVE TIME TO SEE. THIS IS A GREAT WAY TO LEARN WHAT ACTUALLY LIVES WHILE YOU SLEEP...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yadkinville NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exellent cam

Date:November 8, 2006
For the money this is an exellent camera. Instructions are easy to understand, as well as operation of the camera. Laser sighting is the bomb. Makes for fast easy aiming. I would recommend something different to attatch it to the tree.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marietta, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Camera

Date:November 13, 2006
This camera is a very good buy for the money. I always wanted a digital camera but they were all high priced with mega-pixels over 3.1 but this my friend is the way to go. It takes great pics. I really like the feature that you can have the flash on auto so it only flashes when it scenses enough darkness thus not scaring deer during daylight hours. I have captured several mature bucks since buying the camera. I also like not having to go to a photo lab and get pictures developed. Over time with my other camera i could have bought two of these cabelas exclusive digital cameras. The product just works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Houston, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Moultrie4.1 Trail Camera

Date:November 14, 2006
This camera takes GREAT clear pictures. I purchased all 3 from Cabela's. The only problem I have had is with the batteries and solar panel, which is not part of the camera package. This particular camera has external solar panel hook ups which made me buy it in the first place. Very easy to hook up the solar panels, now I wish I could buy a solar panel that would actually work good. My first battery lasted for about 6 weeks, the second only 2. Which again, is not the camera's fault. I love the camera. The attachments to the trees could be alot better. I have had it move on the tree and had "leaning pictures" but overall the camera itself is great. Takes great night shots, the eyes come out looking like aliens though. We have added chips to all our cameras to make for easy viewing. The camo cover makes it disappear on the tree. Overall, I would highly recommend this camera. Don't waste your money on a cheaper version.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Moultrie Camera's

Date:November 14, 2006
Moultrie possibly make the simplest camera to use. It's easy to set-up and rechargable 6-volt batteries make this product even easier to maintain a consistent camera set-up in the woods. This product unique feature of external solar-panel recievers is what sold me on this new Moultrie camera. Solar panel's are key to long field life of batteries and lead to more pictures of bigger and better animals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

game camera

Date:November 15, 2006
i was not happy with this product i could not get it to take more than 6 pictures at a time before a rechargeable battery would go dead even with a solar panel. i tried several batteries and still nothing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great price but a little slow.

Date:November 15, 2006
This product worked everytime but on faster moving game was a little slow and only caught the hind end of a few passing animals. However, the clarity of the pictures is awesome. I was able to view the pictures on my computer and zoom up in on objects 40 yards to get a crystal clear view. If you purchase this item make sure you have a long viewing zone so there is enough time for the camera to sense the animal and take the picture, otherwise you will only have good pictures of the empty background.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: wv
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very fun to watch

Date:November 17, 2006
it is a very nice product i really enjoy watching the animals in the woods it is all about nature it is very relaxing and the product is very easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Moultrie Gamespy 200 Performance

Date:November 17, 2006
Totally unreliable. Original purchase routinely went into fault "check flash". Sent back to Cabelas and got a replacement. Have the same model focused on a hugh buck rub and again it goes into "check flash" missing great pictures. I'm sending this one back too but will not accept a replacment of this same product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Moultrie 4.1 Outfitter Cam Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wish I still had it

Date:November 17, 2006
I had a lot of fun with this camera for about 8 weeks until someone stole it. I had it locked to a tree using aircraft cable and a lock attached to the plastic lock hole on the case. Some people are horrible.
Anyway, it ran the whole time on one battery using the solar charger (which they also stole, although it was screwed to the tree.) It took dozens of pictures and videos. I had a video of a bear that was worth the price of the camera. Very cool!
Picture quality is excellent, far better than many more expensive cameras. Ergonomics and design is fabulous. The camera is easy to use with good sized buttons and a clear to read display. Camera is watertight. Motion sensor could be more sensative and the delay is a bit too long. Also, it would be nice if you could have a video longer than 10 seconds.
Security is my biggest complaint. It is annoying that some creep is using my camera. I wish it had a locking code or other mechanism that rendered it useless to a thief. Also, it would be nice if there were a lockable safe into which it could be installed.
I am considering buying another, if I can think of a way to keep it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 165