Customer Reviews for American Whitetail Air Rest Arrow Rest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

American Whitetail Air Rest Arrow Rest

The first and only true touchless arrow rest. The Air Rest uses powerful magnetic levitation technology to literally float your arrow on air to completely eliminate shaft and fletching contact, so there is no friction, no noise and no moving parts to wear out. Your arrow is held securely in place with powerful magnetic fields and only touches the bowstring when at full draw. In fact, the magnetic field is so strong, you can push down on an arrow at full draw, and the shaft will flex before it breaks the magnetic field. To use, simply install the magnetic inserts into your arrow shafts. Inserts weigh 50 grains (about 30 grains more than standard inserts). Rest comes with six inserts for internal component carbon arrows. Additional inserts can be purchased separately. Right-handed rest only. Inserts fit most Gold Tip, Carbon Express, Easton and Beman internal- component carbon arrows.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Review 1 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Mesick, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Save Your Money

Date:November 23, 2006
I purchased the Air Rest with high hopes. I had the owner of the local bow shop install it for me. He was not impressed with it and explained why: The magnetic insert that goes into your arrow is only a fraction of an inch wide so you have little room for error at full draw. If you let off a little the arrow will drop from the center of the rest. Or if your bow doesn't have a solid back wall and you pull back a little too far, the arrow drops from the center of the rest. You have to find that happy medium where your arrow will hover directly in the center of the rest. It's actually kind of cool. But, once you reach full draw, the arrow quivers for a couple of seconds before it settles down in the center of the rest. If you shoot before the arrow stops quivering the shots will not group. However, if you have a stop peg in your cam or a very solid back wall this rest could work well in a 3d set up. I would not recommend it as a hunting rest, though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent non contact rest

Date:November 29, 2006
I have been looking for a drop away rest and was very excited to find this rest which has no moving parts. I don't worry about hunting in inclimate weather because this will not freeze or lock up. I debated other style rests but this one is the most practical and innovative.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: SLC, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good Concept Poor Execution

Date:May 22, 2007
On the plus side it was easy to set up and tune. First start with an old arrow that you can through away and just keep cutting the tip down until you get the perfect length. The first shot through paper was promising in that it was a perfect bullet hole with straight vein tears but I struggled with this rest at the range.
This rest needs a lot more time in the research and development department. I found the previous posts to be true in that there are 2 severe problems that need to be fixed before this is a practical rest.
1-There is zero tolerance in either direction for the positioning of the magnetic tip at full draw. I could not get the same grouping at 30 yards as I got with a whisker biscuit.
2-There is 3-5 seconds of the tip vibrating when the bow hits full draw. This make the rest a poor choice for a hunting set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no problems

Date:September 6, 2007
I shoot a tribute that does have a very solid back wall and the air-rest works perfect in mine, you do get the vibrating for couple of seconds but that has never cost me a shot in the stand , just take the time and cut your arrows right and you will have no problems, absolutely no noise. and I added a no peep to make sure you have no torque on the bow, and the thing shoots very sweet, best set up I ever had, have been using this set up going on 2 years now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rineyville KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best rest

Date:October 30, 2007
I actually have had this rest since they came out and refuse to use any other on my bows. easy setup I installed this rest and was shooting bullet wholes through paper in under 30 minutes. I have one on my switchback, that I use for hunting and by when my switchback XT arrives I will be useing the New and Improved 07 Model on it. Get One, you will not be disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: tomah WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Air Rest Review

Date:April 13, 2008
The description of this rest and what it would do really impressed me. I had very high hopes. It was easy to installal, but the fine tuning was challenging. Went to my local archer shop, and when I pulled it ouf of the case he was not impressed. Seemed he had some expierince with this type of rest. After cutting down two different arrows we were able to make it work. A "stop wall" is needed with this type of rest, without a posotive "stop" any deviance of an 1/4" or so would cause the arrow to drop. You had to have the instert at the perfect spot in the rest to make it work. If you were off a little bit "draw to far or let off to much" the arrow would drop. It would also "vibrate" for a couple of seconds. Once it found its "home" position in the magnet it would stop and you could shoot.
Not recoomend this unit for hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rest

Date:September 11, 2008
Some vibration as others have posted. Need solid back wall on draw. Spoke to inventer on the phone and they have now come out with a wider magnetic arrow insert that will give you a better "Magnetic window" where the arrow will levitate. This helped me as I am shooting a Fred Bear SQ32 bow that didn't have a rock solid back wall. There are times I have thought about going to a simple whisker biscuit. Something to be said about simple equipment. If you are in doubt, try it, because reviews are like opinions...everyone has one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Air Rest and inserts

Date:September 29, 2008
This is my favorite addition to my hunting arsenal. Being able to put the arrow on the mark without fear of interruption from the rest is great. The only issue I have with this is the magnetic inserts. They are so expensive and once you lose an arrow you need to order new inserts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Air Rest Arrow Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Easton, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

air rest

Date:March 7, 2009
Worked great right from the start. You must take the time and set it up properly or it will not work very well, also a bow with a solid wall at full draw is necessary. If you are meticulous like me and take the time and read all info on set-up there should not be any problems. It is silent, no moving parts, and I kept tuning it until it settles out almost instantly, within a second or so. I have never had the arrow not be settled before I was at my anchor point and settling the pin on the target, the settling out is a non issue to me. I bought it because it was basically half price and figured I would try it, the only down side I see is the price of inserts, but I rarely lose any of my arrows, so if I buy a few each season, that is not a big deal. I can't wait to use it hunting this year!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.