Customer Reviews for Horton Archery Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Horton Archery Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package

A crossbow in the Horton tradition of accuracy and proven in-the-field performance. It has a list of top-grade features matched with an affordable price. The Talon™ Custom field-grade trigger ensures consistent shot placement. Quickly adjust your sight for various distances using the Dial-A-Range® trajectory compensator. ToughBoy™ wide-body limbs and lightweight composite stock and barrel. Machined-aluminum alloy wheels.Draw weight: 150 lbs.Length: 31".Weight: 6.5 lbs.Bolt length: 20".Camo pattern: Realtree APG™.Summit HD 150 Package includes: crossbow, single-dot red-dot sight, Hunter Elite Lite three-bolt quiver and three practice bolts with practice points.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
39 out of 42(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Review 21 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Summit Crossbow

Date:November 19, 2008
Unbelievable value. First day, I start the site in process. I notice that even though I'm not dead center, the bolts are very close together. A little more fine tuning and we back off to 20 yards. The first bolt is just a little high but thats where I want it. The second one hits the first DEAD CENTER. I mean right down the middle. I now have one bolt forever imbedded in the other. Honest, I got the pictures.
Next night I go out. A nice buck makes his last mistake. At 26 yards, he takes a thru' and thru' that puts him in my freezer. I cannot say enough good things about this package.
Power, accuracy and easy to use. I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton, ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Summit HD 150

Date:January 5, 2009
This was my first crossbow, and I bought it so that my 12 year old daughter could enjoy archery season with me. I have been very pleased with it so far. The red dot scope took awhile to get on the mark.... i tried to adjust it like i would a rifle scope and eventually had to bottom out the elevation turret and use the "dial-a-range" knob for elevation adjustments. I put in on the 2nd setting and it right on the money at 22-25 yards. My daughter loves it. She uses a shooting stick under the front and puts all three arrows in a sauser size target everytime. She is always asking when we get to back to the range and practice some more.... Maybe when she can draw it back without me.....maybe its time to try the cocking rope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ventress, louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it

Date:January 21, 2009
The bow took about 15 minutes to assemble and about 15 minutes to get it sighted in. After that I could place 3 bolts in about a 2 inch group from 40 yards. Great product! I can't wait to get it in the woods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Summit HD 150 Crossbow

Date:September 28, 2009
This is a very nice crossbow, I have killed 2 bucks & a very large Russian boar with my horton summit hd 150 crossbow. none went farther than 30 yards. using a scope that I added and carbon arrows tipped with undertaker/meet seeker broad heads. The meet seeker 3 blade broads shoot just like field points in my Horton summit crossbow and kill fast with a good blood trail.
it is much lighter than other crossbows and very tough. I walk a long way carrying my tree stand and crossbow. being light is very important to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You get what you pay for

Date:October 15, 2009
After reviewing several different brands of crossbows, features and price ranges, I settled on a Horton Summit HD150 for an entry level taste of crossbow hunting. Cabelas price is reasonable and the Horton package offered everything I thought I'd need to get my feet wet. I like Horton's style and long-time reputation. I was amazed at the ease of use, power and accuracy of the Summit. However, a couple of concerns: The 25mm single red dot scope that I received with the crossbow would not fully adjust for correct sight in (I've heard of this as an issue with other brands). The dot moved horizontally a little, but vertical movement was an arch. I compensated for this by moving the dot to center and using Horton's Dial-A-Range feature (a nice touch). The crossbow will group 3 arrows almost on top of one another at 10 yards. Second, after about 20 shots, the quiver mount fell off. The mount that attaches the quiver has 2 nuts embedded into it for a 2-screw attachment. Unfortunately, the nuts were buried only to just under the surface of the plastic material and had little to anchor to. It appears to be just a weak design. I've got access to a mill and lathe and intend to rework it so that the quiver will stay in place, but others may not be so inclined to tinker with it. As far as the non-adjustable scope is concerned, I may install a Weaver rail and put a better scope on it. I realize that what I purchased is an entry level crossbow package from Horton, and I'll make it work for my purposes, because I like its overall style. I'm looking forward to some good shooting after I get the "bugs" worked out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

straight shooter

Date:October 20, 2009
This is a well made product. Easy to assemble and shoots straight. I am very impressed with its accuracy for the price.
I really like its small size!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Gaylord, Michigan/Parker Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Watch out for the red dot

Date:October 23, 2009
My first HD150 would not sight in, then the string broke before it was sighted. Cabelas quickly sent me a second bow. While sighting in the second bow I discovered that the red dot that is included with the package actually reacts in reverse when adjusting the sight. If you want to move the shot to the right you have to turn the dial to the left and vice versa. The elevation dial is the same. To move the shot up you have to turn the dial in the down direction. I had noticed that my shots with the first bow weren't following my changes on the dials and the second bow confirmed that. In the end I was able to get it zeroed in about a dozen or so shots and it seems to be holding on the bulls eye. The bow does shoot well and at 20 yds. I can hit the bulls eye every time now. I have ordered a Horton red dot from Horton just in case the one that came on the bow gives out. We'll see if the string holds out this time. All in all, it seems to be a pretty good crossbow (my third).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tyrone, Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent bow

Date:October 25, 2009
this bow is very accurate and reliable, i have killed 2 deer with it in the past year. its two cons are that it is loud and i have scared several deer away with clicking the abnoxiously loud safty. other than those two it is great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:November 2, 2009
Believe to be good value but a few things make me concerned. When sighting in@20-30 yds, my shots are 3 inches right & cannot move sight any farther in azimuth. Major adjustment in elevation needed to bring shots up but is OK. Assembly done in about an hour but directions are poor. Directions try to blend assembly for several models. I spooked a buck at 100 yds when moving the safety to fire, gotta be careful or you'll make a loud click. Was easy for me to closely group shots @20-30 yds, just annoyed at the needed offset because the sight won't move far enough. Seemed brutal at first to cock, now it's really pretty easy to hand cock & de-cock but God gave me big shoulders & a good grip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sucessful hunt

Date:November 3, 2009
Bought the summit hd 150 pkg this past summer for this years Penna archery season. Sighting in was easy, cocking is easy and it shoots accurate. Using a stalker x bolt and a fx-3 100 gr broadhead I was able to arrow an nice 8pt last week. The red dot didn't come on a few times when practicing, but it worked fine during the hunt. Good deal for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: virgina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

deerslayer

Date:November 12, 2009
i purchased my first summit hd 150 crossbow this september highly recomend killed massive 8 pointer an a nontypical 10 pointer both wall hangers an its still early in the season deano in virgina
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Millport Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buying the wrong bow

Date:November 18, 2009
I bought a horton summit 1 1/2 months ago, after shooting a few times, i dedided to purchase a 3 dot scope, everytime I shoot my bow, this scope pops up in back, I called the company but didn't get and answer. Four days ago the cable on the cross bow broke. I emailed the company twice and called. Still no answer. They have truly changed my mind about Horton products. Good bows maybe, costomer service, zero.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Dover, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

More Quality Control Needed

Date:December 16, 2009
They should test fit and test fire the crossbows before shipping them.
The scope is junk, very hard to site in. I had to take the top off the string catch mechanism and move one of the washers into a double stack to get the bow on the target. It shoots very consistent but it was very difficult to get sighted on target.
Also there was plastic in the threads of the quiver mount. Horton shipped me a new piece right way, but again, a little better quality control would solve that problem.
Most of the issues could be taken care care of by test fitting and test firing at the factory.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rogers Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great crossbow for the money and the youth!

Date:December 27, 2009
Santa got this for my 9 year old son. He always wanted to bow hunt with me but couldn't pull back the 40 lb. minimum on a compound bow. I got it sighted in, which was very easy to do, and he can drive tacks with it at 30 yards. I recommend getting a shooting stick with this if you plan on a youngster using it. The only bad thing I can say about this package is the practice arrows you get with it. They are definately junk. Do yourself a favor and get a good set of carbon arrows when you buy this setup. We just hunted today for the first time but didn't get a close enough shot. I feel sure his first deer will be taken with a bow though! Happy hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NW'rn Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Summit 150

Date:January 13, 2010
Good starting bow. I had it zeroed in 9 shots. The red dot scope isnt the best but it gets the job done. I'm not sure why you would have different levels of brightness on it but whatever. This is my first attempt at archery so we'll see if I can get r done. Poor instructions but if you cant figure it out you maybe shouldnt be handling any weapons, just my opinion. Im excited to see what it can do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cabot, Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sight Bridge Problem

Date:January 18, 2010
Red dot scope is okay. It sights in using the opposite directions of turn. Scope is not magnified, so you see what you get. Also, use the trajectory compensator for yardage compensation (2 for 20, 3 for 30 yards). I was not satisfied with red dot, so mounted the weaver rail and a BSA .22 scope with parallax 50. Sighted in in about 15 shots, but then plastic sight bridge broke into two pieces at the screw mount. I called Horton and emailed them, but no replies after one day. After reading other posts about this problem, apparently this plastic piece is a design flaw that they replace for free with a metal sight bridge. Despite this setback, this is a great bow and outstanding value for the money - recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My first crossbow

Date:January 18, 2010
This is my first crossbow and it does everything I though it would and want it to do. It is accurate despite being held by me :^) Very sturdy.
I wondered about the red dot versus the next bow up with a three dot. There is a compensator that seems to work well. I can hit the bullseye at 10, 20 and 30 yards using the compensator. I'm glad I bought this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton 150 Crossbow With Red Dot Scope Package

Date:January 25, 2010
All indications are the corssbow is very nice. Red Dot scope should have come with scope caps. The elevation dial on side of the crossbow is decent feature, however, experience archery salesperson said using the elevation dial will eventually loosen the Red Dot scope mounting screw. It will fall out and the scope will fall off. The mounting screw threads are very tiny and they are often overtightened by the owner or even at the factory, resulting in stripped threads. Dont let the scope make the decision for you though, as it is a nice crossbow. Purchase and install the crossbow cocking rope/device from Horton. Cocking crossbow by hand has a tendency to create uneven string tension which results in 2-3 inch deviation on target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW MICHIGAN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT BUY

Date:February 9, 2011
ONCE I GOT THE SCOPE DIALED IN IT IS THE EASIEST WEAPON TO USE. EASILY COCKED AND WITH THE RED DOT EXTREMELY ACCURATE. SECOND TIME OUT GOT A NICE 8 POINTER AT 25 YARDS. EASY TO USE EVEN WITH THE ACKES AND PAINS OF AGE!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Holdrege Ne
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

good crossbow

Date:May 16, 2011
the crossbow shot nice but after a few shots the red dot would go out and you would have to tap on it to come back on . batt. ok batt. lid snug just a bad scope . only horton scopes will fit there crossbow ! had to send it in' 2-3 weeks not hapening traded up for a Barnett Quad 400 ! 345 fps 22 in bolts 125 gr. broadheads man its fast reg scope with 5 lines no red dot ! the Barnett 5 STARS !! thanks Cabela's for leting me trade up !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 42