Customer Reviews for Horton Archery Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Horton Archery Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package

A crossbow in the Horton tradition of accuracy and proven in-the-field performance. It has a list of top-grade features matched with an affordable price. The Talon™ Custom field-grade trigger ensures consistent shot placement. Quickly adjust your sight for various distances using the Dial-A-Range® trajectory compensator. ToughBoy™ wide-body limbs and lightweight composite stock and barrel. Machined-aluminum alloy wheels.Draw weight: 150 lbs.Length: 31".Weight: 6.5 lbs.Bolt length: 20".Camo pattern: Realtree APG™.Summit HD 150 Package includes: crossbow, single-dot red-dot sight, Hunter Elite Lite three-bolt quiver and three practice bolts with practice points.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
39 out of 42(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Review 21 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rogers Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great crossbow for the money and the youth!

Date:December 27, 2009
Santa got this for my 9 year old son. He always wanted to bow hunt with me but couldn't pull back the 40 lb. minimum on a compound bow. I got it sighted in, which was very easy to do, and he can drive tacks with it at 30 yards. I recommend getting a shooting stick with this if you plan on a youngster using it. The only bad thing I can say about this package is the practice arrows you get with it. They are definately junk. Do yourself a favor and get a good set of carbon arrows when you buy this setup. We just hunted today for the first time but didn't get a close enough shot. I feel sure his first deer will be taken with a bow though! Happy hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: virgina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

deerslayer

Date:November 12, 2009
i purchased my first summit hd 150 crossbow this september highly recomend killed massive 8 pointer an a nontypical 10 pointer both wall hangers an its still early in the season deano in virgina
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sucessful hunt

Date:November 3, 2009
Bought the summit hd 150 pkg this past summer for this years Penna archery season. Sighting in was easy, cocking is easy and it shoots accurate. Using a stalker x bolt and a fx-3 100 gr broadhead I was able to arrow an nice 8pt last week. The red dot didn't come on a few times when practicing, but it worked fine during the hunt. Good deal for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tyrone, Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent bow

Date:October 25, 2009
this bow is very accurate and reliable, i have killed 2 deer with it in the past year. its two cons are that it is loud and i have scared several deer away with clicking the abnoxiously loud safty. other than those two it is great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

straight shooter

Date:October 20, 2009
This is a well made product. Easy to assemble and shoots straight. I am very impressed with its accuracy for the price.
I really like its small size!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Summit HD 150 Crossbow

Date:September 28, 2009
This is a very nice crossbow, I have killed 2 bucks & a very large Russian boar with my horton summit hd 150 crossbow. none went farther than 30 yards. using a scope that I added and carbon arrows tipped with undertaker/meet seeker broad heads. The meet seeker 3 blade broads shoot just like field points in my Horton summit crossbow and kill fast with a good blood trail.
it is much lighter than other crossbows and very tough. I walk a long way carrying my tree stand and crossbow. being light is very important to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ventress, louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it

Date:January 21, 2009
The bow took about 15 minutes to assemble and about 15 minutes to get it sighted in. After that I could place 3 bolts in about a 2 inch group from 40 yards. Great product! I can't wait to get it in the woods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton, ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Summit HD 150

Date:January 5, 2009
This was my first crossbow, and I bought it so that my 12 year old daughter could enjoy archery season with me. I have been very pleased with it so far. The red dot scope took awhile to get on the mark.... i tried to adjust it like i would a rifle scope and eventually had to bottom out the elevation turret and use the "dial-a-range" knob for elevation adjustments. I put in on the 2nd setting and it right on the money at 22-25 yards. My daughter loves it. She uses a shooting stick under the front and puts all three arrows in a sauser size target everytime. She is always asking when we get to back to the range and practice some more.... Maybe when she can draw it back without me.....maybe its time to try the cocking rope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Summit Crossbow

Date:November 19, 2008
Unbelievable value. First day, I start the site in process. I notice that even though I'm not dead center, the bolts are very close together. A little more fine tuning and we back off to 20 yards. The first bolt is just a little high but thats where I want it. The second one hits the first DEAD CENTER. I mean right down the middle. I now have one bolt forever imbedded in the other. Honest, I got the pictures.
Next night I go out. A nice buck makes his last mistake. At 26 yards, he takes a thru' and thru' that puts him in my freezer. I cannot say enough good things about this package.
Power, accuracy and easy to use. I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mineral Wells W.Va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

happycrossbowhunter.61

Date:September 30, 2008
I want to tell you about my crossbow Horton sumitt 150 When I bought it they told me it was on back order and that was ok with me because I was in no hurry just so it got to me before season came in. Well after 3 weeks I got it and was I excited and happy. I took it out of the box put it together (a kid could do it) was not hard to put together at all. I haven't owned a crossbow before and didn't no much about one. I ordered the cocking devise because I have arthritis and couldn't begin to pull it back without it. I went to the country and set up a target shooting against a hill so I wouldn't loose my arrow if I missed the target. I started by walking out 15 yards and when I shot once I hit the target first shot then I walked back to 30 yards and almost hit the arrow I had already shot so I shot again and put that one right beside those two. I never even had to move the scope or adj anything. I shot the arrows within my palm of my hand and I think that is close enough for me to kill a deer. One thing I noticed is the loud clicking it made when I reeled up the string so I went to my shop and cut a little piece of rubber off of an old tube I had and glued it on that little clicker with grillia glue and now it is quite and perfect. I love it and hope to kill a big buck. happy hunting.by rrg
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Summit Crossbow

Date:September 26, 2008
The bow went together in 10 minutes and worked as advertised, the only thing I don't care for is the red-dot.
I will install a better one,but it works fine and is a very
good product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME CROSS BOW

Date:September 25, 2008
Received the crossbow two days after I ordered it. Shipping was fast and inexpensive. My friend recommened this crossbow to me and a few other guys. When I opened this box I put the crossbpow together in 10 minutes. I shot a few practice shots made a few adjustments and the crossbow is now DEAD ON. I can't wait to take the bow out hunting. The dot scope is a awesome addition to this lightweight crossbow. I'm glad i ordered this inexpensive but awesome bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Buy

Date:September 22, 2008
I purchased this bow with the idea that it would give me an excuse to get out of the office and into the field. Assembly was a snap, and it took all of about 20 minutes to sight it in. After sighting in the bow, my wife shot three bolts from 30 yards and they were all touching! Killed an elk on opening day. An overall great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: la
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

crossbow

Date:September 2, 2008
like the product very much
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Summit HD 150

Date:September 2, 2008
Easy to assemble and easy to follow instructions. In less than 15 minutes the crossbow was sighted in. A little hard to draw back until you get used to it but lots of fun to shoot !! Great value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: I'm a Senior hunter from the state of Illinois.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 Star Rating

Date:April 21, 2008
I am a senior citizen and they just leagalized the use of Crossbows for any one 62 or over in my state. It was getting increasingly harder to pull my compound-bow every year. So, I went on line to the Cabelas site to look for at the crossbows after looking at the bows I decided to purchase the Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow.
I have been busy sighting my new bow in, and I would highly recomend this Crossbow to any Senior Archer, because it will extend your hunting time by several years.
The Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow is small enough that I can use in a blind on the ground. Therefore, it eliminates the need for me to climb a tree to hunt. The bow is light enough to carry to any hunting area.
I prurchased, from Cabelas, a Cocking Rope to help with the cocking of the Crossbow, and It too makes cocking my new Crossbow an easy job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

h150 red dot

Date:January 10, 2008
great deal i had an easy time assemble easy to site in great bow love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: staunton va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thanks for excellent shipping

Date:November 7, 2007
purchased bow leaving on hunting trip. called cust service they speeded delivery. thanks !!!!bow went together in less than 10 minutes on target in less than 15 minutes. a awsome product. i have friends with more expensive bows they cannot believe the quality and cost of this bow!!!!recommend to anyone who wants a crossbow. thanks again cabelas came thru as usual that is why i purchase from them.
thanks again!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: King George, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Crossbow

Date:August 27, 2007
This crossbow has a lot of punch behind it. I will be using it this season and know that I will havest a deer without any problem. It was on target within 30 to 45 mins out of the box, with a few adjustments made to the scope. Hits target in same area 99.9 percent of the time. Excellent crossbow! Will recommend to anyonew left, right handed, first time bow shooter...etc. Great bow!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Horton Summit HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great crossbow

Date:January 4, 2007
this is a great crossbow i had one and the plastic spacer cracked so i sent it to horton and they gave me a new one back with no questions asked. great service and shoots very accuratly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 42