Customer Reviews for Horton Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Horton Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package

Compare the Explorer HD 150 feature for feature with comparably priced crossbows and you'll find no one offers more performance at a lower price. Its new Talon? custom-machined trigger has a smooth, lightweight pull that will improve your consistency. Horton's CamoTuff? Limbs - among the toughest on the market - coupled with machined-aluminum alloy wheels produce the energy needed to achieve speeds up to 270 fps. The Dial-A-Range? trajectory compensator makes it quick and easy to adjust your sight for various distances. For maximum vane clearance, the lightweight weatherproof synthetic barrel has a MicroFlight? Groove. Ambidextrous safety. Realtree Hardwoods Green? HD? finish. Crossbow includes three-dot Mult-A-Range? red-dot sight, Hunter Elite Lite three-bolt quiver and three practice bolts with practice points. Draw weight: 150 lbs. Length: 30". Weight: 7.4 lbs. Bolt length: 20".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
16 out of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Review 1 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Lees Summit, MO
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Just a bit disappointed

Date:June 1, 2010
1. The bow was advertised with a one red dot scope, however mine came with a 3 dot scope -- GOOD? Maybe, once I figured out that the scope adjustments were REVERSED -- adjust the scope "right" to move the strike "left". ditto "up" and "down".
2. At 20 yards, it's tough to hold a 6" strike pattern. (I'm an expert rifle marksman).
3. The 150 # draw seemed to provide very adequate striking power.
4. The bow is light and fairly easy to handle.
5. Recommend for a beginner to learn the basics.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Explorer

Date:May 24, 2010
This crossbow is one of the lighter ones available and that's the main reason that I bought it. I have a severe case of arthritis and the lighter the better, especially when aiming. The stock doesn't adjust, but I liked it just the way it was. I didn't care for the red-dot scope, so I replaced it. I use this in combination with the Parker Red Hot carbon arrows and they prove very accurate and deadly. It's not the fastest 150lb bow around, but it does the job and it's probably a little cheaper and made by a company that's known for quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Explorer Crossbow Package

Date:May 3, 2010
Shoots accruately and functions perfectly, including the red dot sight included that others have bad mouthed. Effective range with a skilled shooter is 60 yards or more. Yes the safety is sometimes a little loud, but a little silicone spray quiets it greatly. The trigger is excellent as to pull weight and let off. You get great value with this outfit. I have a lot of archery experience and feel this is a great outfit with respect to quality, durability, and price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elyria, OH>
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy for the money

Date:May 1, 2010
I don't know what the one reviewer is talking about, not being able to hit the morel target at 20 yards. Usually when you don't have any pattern or grouping something was assembled wrong.
Anyway, I have the Tacoma, not the top of the line crossbow but a good entry level one. I upgraded to the Explorer, and couldn't be happier. As with the Tacoma I get GREAT groupings at 25 yards. I did change out the factory red dot for a Truglo single red dot in camo. I sight in at 25 yards and know that my dot has to be six inches higher on my target at 50 yards to hit center. Anyway, off of a rest at 25 yards, with both bows, I have to use aluminum arrows. When you are constantly Robin Hooding bolts, carbons will be expensive. Another tip, get an equivalent fast flight string from winners choice or extreme and see how much faster your bolt flies...:)
For the money, Horton is a tuff accurate crossbow. Clean and lube all cables, strings, cams, rails, track, and trigger after every time you shoot or outing and the bow will last you a lifetime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Omaha,Ne.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

needs some engineering

Date:April 12, 2010
I like the bow. three dot scope. But the attachment for the quiver needs to be redesigned ( the 10-24 nuts came right out! They should have been set in the opposite side of the adaptor! After I Did this no problems!! ) P.S. Very accurate!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: colliers wv
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

horton

Date:March 28, 2010
i have a horton to me this is a good by, i got two deer at one time and got my bolt back. my wife went after one, and i went afther the other. all i have on the crossbow is a pen for 40 yard. i would say thin horton a good by
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ambler, Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Explorer review

Date:March 1, 2010
I Purchased the Horton Explorer for my 11 year old daughter. What a value for your dollar! It is light enough for her to handle. Compact enough to not get hung up on every branch in the woods. Super accurate, and powerful enough to shoot through any deer in the woods.
Great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton HD 150 Red Dot CrossBow

Date:October 17, 2009
Set up the crossbow, turned on the Red Dot, set the Dial a range @ "0", 10 yds. bulls-eye X 3....Range @ "1", 20 Yds.,
Bulls-eye X 3, set range @ "3", 30 Yds., bulls-eye X 3,
Ready to go to Maine for Bear (again)
Could not ask for more
Thank you Cabela's for your advise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canton, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy and accurate.

Date:October 16, 2009
I just sighted in my new explorer crossbow. Easy to draw,very powerful, sighted in easy. I shot one of my bolts in half with another at 30 yards. So far I am pleased, I can't wait to hunt tommorow. Assembly was very easy,product came in 3 days with standard shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor equipment

Date:October 11, 2009
redot fogged up like another reveiwer comments. another reviewer had one that shot like a shotgun at 200yds 1 have not been able to group any at any range.I hope i,m not that bad of a shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horton Horror

Date:September 25, 2009
Found my limb pockets had slight cracks, contacted horton they told me to return it and it would be covered under warranty. After about a week horton contacted me to tell me my limbs were cracked, I needed new cables and string and they wanted $130.00 to repair I declined. The limbs WERE NOT cracked when I shipped them. I received my bow parts back a week later (which were just thrown into a box with little to no packaging) the limbs are definitely cracked now. horton buyers beware their customer service is the worst I have ever dealt with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lower Burrell,PA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT BOW FOR THE MONEY

Date:December 3, 2008
I purchased my Horton crossbow at Cabelas in Wheeling, WV. The service I received was great. I was able to sight the bow in at their in door range. This crossbow is easy to use and comfortable.My only complaints are that the safety is loud and the stock is a little short.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: east tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very accurate crossbow

Date:June 25, 2008
i just purchased this crossbow and let me tell you it is a very very accurate crossbow.my 14 year old daughter can shoot it really good and very acurate.i owned a barnet last year and it does not compete with a horton in accuracy and quitness and weight.the cross bow is very shootable offhand or with a rest.i would highly recomend this crossbow to anyone at 30 yards offhand you can shoot 3 arrows inside a coke can off hand !!!!!!!and it has a very light trigger only drawback it has is the safety its loud.if you slide it very very slow its not that loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Explorer HD 150 Crossbow

Date:March 17, 2008
My son purchased a Horton Exp HD 150 (2) years ago. I too had a crossbow that I purchased from another manufacturer a few years earlier. My crossbow was heavy and a little bigger, too much for a 65 year old man to carry around and climb trees....so my son let me use his bow this past season. The Horton Explorer is priced right, much lighter, accurate and I took a few deer with it. Rather than wear out my sons bow, I decide to get one of my own. Delivery from Cabela's was extremely fast...!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Suburban Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bow, poor red dot

Date:December 31, 2007
I love the Crossbow itself and have taken 2 deer with it, both were within 10 yards of me on the ground (ahh, the benefit of not having to draw).
However, I've replaced the red dot scope twice since I've had the bow. First one fogged up in light rain, second one the front glass came loose. Horton quickly replaced both.
- David
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton HD 150 Explorer

Date:September 20, 2007
The Horton far exceeded my expectations. It was sighted in straight from the box. No adjustments needed. The only thing to complain about was the safety. It is loud. Perhaps there is someway to quiet it down. If anyone wants a quality crossbow buy this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Waycorss, Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Holds a pattern like a shotgun at 150 yards

Date:September 20, 2007
I would not recomend this equipment to anyone at all. This bow held pattern like a...... well it didn't hold anything. My mate and I shot this bow 50+ times trying to sight in and from 20 yds we couldn't keep it on the Morrell bag target. We also used a different aarow b/c we thought that may have had something to do with it, but we were wrong. The red dot scope fades in and out even after new lithium batterys were put into the scope. I am extremely dissapointed with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Bend, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOT A BUCK OPENING DAY IN INDIANA WITH THIS BOW

Date:December 11, 2006
I purchased this bow, Horton carbon bolts , Horton Broadheads and the EZ Winder, (a "must have") back in October. The bow and red dot sight were quick and easy to set up and sight in, although the instructions were a little weak in the area of battery changes. After sighting in and observing flight and penetration, I ended up changing over the Horton Broadheads to 100 gr. Thunderheads and found them to be much more effective; expect a pass-through on deer every time, with great accuracy. I also bought the heavier broadhead target for crossbows, and was glad I did. The speed and kinetic energy of the bolts will go through a field point archery target and into the backboard. I also found that shooting field points into the heavier broadhead target is a mistake! King Kong couldn't pull them out. I had to shoot WD-40 along the side of the bolt to remove it from the target.
The second archery season in Indiana for 2006 opened last Saturday and I took a nice buck. This crossbow exceeded my expectations. I shot my traditional bow in the early season and had a bad experience wounding and not recovering a magnificent animal. With three badly damaged discs in my back, I just can't hold the recurve long enough to shoot well. This Horton crossbow made hunting pleasurable and successful again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeast Georgia Mtns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it, excellent

Date:November 22, 2006
Excellent purchase. I got my big buck with my first shot and only arrow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horton Explorer HD 150 Red Dot Crossbow Package

Date:November 21, 2006
I think that this crossbow is a great crossbow to use hunting for deer. I really like this crossbow. A friend of my family owns one of these crossbows.
I would recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.