Customer Reviews for Stealth Cam Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Stealth Cam Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera

A high-resolution 3-megapixel digital camera will capture multiple exposures (one to three images) or 10 seconds of video when motion is detected. Camera is activated by a passive infrared sensor that detects both heat and motion and can be programmed for 1-60 minutes between activations. Camera has 32MB of internal memory. Expandable compact flash memory card slot accepts up to 512MB (sold separately). Video-out jack and cable allow you to view images on the Stealth Cam TV monitor (sold separately) or any TV with proper jacks. Compact housing is fully weatherproof. LCD information screen displays modes for easy setup. Flash effective up to 90ft. Includes USB cable, imaging software for PC download, mounting strap and locking plate. Operates on eight D-cell batteries (not included) or a 6-volt lead-acid external battery kit (sold separately).
Overall Customer Rating:
3.312 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
11 out of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Review 1 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SAntiago,Chile
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It is a very good product

Date:February 27, 2008
It is a very good products. I used it before with very good results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

STC-AD3

Date:February 20, 2008
This is a very easy scouting camera to set up. This camera works in our area where it gets very cold in the winter, whereas some do not work in cold weather. I had purchased two other brands that I had to return due to cold weather effecting the camera or to complicated to set up (I did not need passwards as camera is on our own property). This camera takes excellent color pitcutes. The fact that it uses more batteries than the other two I had tried, causes the camera to take picture longer before replacement of the batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Works good at first

Date:January 11, 2008
I have 2 of these cameras, they both worked for 3 to 4 mounths, then the flash started not working and wouldn't take any pics.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk Junk Junk

Date:November 27, 2007
If you want to waste your money buy a stealth cam. It will break in 4 months and Stealth Cam could care less, they will do nothing for you. Avoid stealth cam.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pictures

Date:October 22, 2007
I have this product on a trail that is constantly used and it does a excellent job with great picture quality. I would have given it 5 stars but I have a Cuddeback also. Make sure you purchase the optional 6 volt battery pack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Chester, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:August 27, 2007
I have four and they all work great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera!

Date:August 8, 2007
I bought this camera over a year ago it has preformed very well. The battery lasts much longer than I expected, and I can easily get 1000 pictures from one set of batteries. This camera has taken pictures of bears, turkey, and coues whitetail, and takes high quality pictures even on the lowest setting. The only drawback is that it can be triggered easily, and put in the wrong place, background trees can trigger the sensor. Once you take the time to learn its functions and features it can be used very effectively. I own 3 other cameras, all 35mm and digital is definetly the way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Quebec, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good camera

Date:July 10, 2007
I bought 2 of these Stealth cam I390 in May 2007 and they work great i took over 400 photos so far of bear, deer and some moose at my salt lick her in Quebec, Canada and the photos a night time a very good i was surprised of the clarity of the photos and i even tried the video, it wasn't bad but it's only 10 seconds it's to short to see any action. I still have the same batteries inside the cam since end of May and they still work fine but i just bought two 6 volts battery packs for the units that i will try.
Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stealth Camera STC -AD3

Date:July 5, 2007
We (my wife and I) have had a Stealthcam model STC-AD3 for 6 month and are disappointed in its performance.
The flash has only one intensity setting and a night picture is overexposed if the subject is closer to the camera than about 15 feet.
There is no automatic exposure adjustment. Not only does the lack of an automatic exposure adjustment contributes to the overexposed flash picture problem, but it results in underexposed pictures taken in shady woods setting and pictures taken at twilight.
There is a delay of about 5 seconds after the subject enters the range of the camera until the picture is taken. If the subject keeps moving, the STC-AS3 misses the subject.
We could not get pictures of small animals. A call to the support personnel revealed that the STC-AD3 is not intended to take pictures of animals less that 14 lbs. This fact was not included in the camera documentation.
I believe that for this camera to function satisfactorily in a remote, unattended environment that is needed to get pictures of wild animals in their natural habitat, this camera should the following features, as a minimum:
1.An automatic flash intensity adjustment that is a function of the ambient lighting and the distance to the subject.
2.An automatic exposure to allow pictures to be taken in low light conditions.
3.An adjustable delay time from 0 seconds to about 5 seconds that can be adapted to the subject animals.
4.A more sensitive and adjustable detection system that will accommodate pictures of smaller animals such as chipmunks, squirrels, raccoons and possums.
Since the above features are included on most, if not all, inexpensive digital cameras, it is difficult to justify the purchase of a game camera that does not include these features.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital

Date:May 14, 2007
I have used the camera for 200-300 pictures and it does a fairly good job for the price. IR range is very good and the flash range is good. Instructions are somewhat lacking and there are a couple little things that are I'd change but not too sure yet since instructions aren't clear. This is my third game camera and first Stealth Cam.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newton, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:December 14, 2006
For the money, this camera works really great. Really impressed with the quality of the pics, if the date and time stamp was not imposed on the pics, they could almost be reproduced for frames (3.0 mp = great pics). Love the burst mode, 3 or 2 or 1 pics for every trigger. 90-ft flash helps a lot, don't need to edit contrast or brightness on pics to see what's in them. Video works good, too. Had no problem with trigger times or battery life, had this camera a month so far and batteries are still "full." I am going to try the 6 volt battery soon, use the D-cell batteries now. Programming took a little while to get used to, but is really easy now. Like the test option, helps figure out where the optimal placement is. In all, really great camera for the price. Actually took more, and better, pictures than a scouting camera that was twice the price. Can't go wrong for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I390 Scout Cam

Date:November 23, 2006
I purchased 2 of these I390 Scout Cams and they have performed better than I hoped for. For the price you can't go wrong on this scout cam. During the warmer months the batteries lasted 3 months and 2 months during the colder temps.
I would say if you don't want to throw a 500 dollar bill on a tree and do it for under 200 bucks this is the way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

STC-AD3 Cam

Date:November 21, 2006
This camera had a poor detection range and a slow response time or "trigger time". I would not recommend this camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Digital

Date:November 20, 2006
When I received this camera, I put new batteries in and it wouldn't even turn on. So I returned it to Cabelas for a different camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eastern KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stealth cam

Date:November 18, 2006
I found this to be great trail cam, and very easy on the batteries. I have had it out for over 4 weeks and battery level still high. The flash really reaches out. The programing is not as straight forward as I would like.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stealth Cam STC-AD3 3.0 Megapixel Advanced Digital Scouting Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trail Cam

Date:October 31, 2006
This was the first Trail Cam that I ever purchased so I really did not know what to expect. I set it out on Sep. 27 set to take 3 pictures every 1 min at the highest resolution setting. I put it on a bait pile with a 512 meg card in it. When I returned on Oct. 16 it had taken 848 pictures and the card was full. Most of the pictures where taken at night %85 in fact and all but about 30 had animals in them. the battery meter still read full on the display as well. I took the batteries home and tested them and from what I can figure they would have lasted alot longer. (they started at 1.62v and where at 1.45v they will go down to 1.25v). So all in all it would be hard to say it isn't good because it worked so well. The trigger time wich alot of people get worked up about is somewhere between 3 and 6 seconds I did as many tests as I could in that area and after setting it out in the woulds concluded that whatever it is it's good enough! The only other thing is the flash and it as well works fine most of my pictures had animals that were about 40 feet away. Good camara! It also has a test mood wich is very handy during set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.