Customer Reviews for American Broadhead American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

American Broadhead American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads

They slice on contact, fly identical to your field points - even at speeds in excess of 300 fps - and blast through big game with gusto. They're also the world's only three-blade, cut-on-impact broadheads with individually replaceable blades. Hardened .036"-thick stainless steel blades are held rigidly to the ferrule by a rear locking nut. Per 6. Available: 75 grain, 7/8" dia. 85 grain, 1" dia. 100 grain, 7/8" dia. 125 grain, 1" dia.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
46 out of 52(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Review 21 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: chugiak, alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sonic broadheads

Date:June 17, 2008
they hit right where your field points do and penetrate amazingly. I've used many other broad heads and nothing compares. I saw two complete penetrations through black bears.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: scotland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

neat broadhead

Date:February 27, 2008
purchased these before and am impressed with the flight,they did'nt group with my field points but it was very easy to bring them both together.
I have not used these on live game[only 3-d targets]
also had 5 out of 6 heads bend after two shots[all kill zone.no legs of misses]maybe it was an isolated issue as i've used these before and after[different packet]and have had no problems.
accuracy is great and am stripping fletchings at 30 yards.
have not had a problem with loose blades,just make sure you tighten them up well,found that the practice blades were 6 grains heavier than the sharp one's,and boy are they sharp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NORTH WEST , OREGON
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great For ELK!

Date:December 15, 2007
I think these broadheads are great! i had no problems at all with them they did the job and shot straight ! i shot my elk this year opening morning at 63 yards through both lungs! he ran about 30 yards and then fell ! i will be useing these broadheads again this next year !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tips!

Date:November 19, 2007
Shot my buck 11/17/2007 with the sonic 100 grn. This is the 3rd deer I have killed with these broadheads and I love them. There is zero change from field point to the broadhead. With my setup, they hit the exact hair that I'm aiming at. I didn't even have to tune them or line them up with the fletchings. At the shot, all three deer acted like they didn't even know they were hit. The arrows completely passed through all of them. It passed through one shoulder blade on the most recent buck. He went only 20 yards before expiring. The other two deer went maybe 40 yards each. Don't let the small diameter fool you. The blood trails are still plenty adaquate. Especially since the deer don't go very far. There is really only one down side to these tips. Most of the time, all three blades need replaced after shooting the deer. I'm still giving it 5 stars because blades are a small price to pay for making clean, accurate and short kills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Penetration

Date:November 17, 2007
I had a 160 class whitetail at 15 yards, hit behind shoulder or barely caught front blade got no penetration. I will be tracking this deer later today. We all hunt way to hard for this to happen, do not buy these broadheads, second time I have had a problem, buck last year found, but not a good blood trail left by broadhead. I repeat do not buy these, I gave them a second chance hudge mistake literally. Keep fingers crossed I find the animal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pelham,NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sonic 100gr

Date:November 5, 2007
This was my first year bowhunting and I was a little unsure about the small cutting diameter (7/8")of these. Being made in my home state of NH and the assurance of the store owner I bought them. A good size spike gave me a shot at 27 yards, my placement was forward 3 inches but with 60lb draw my carbon arrow went through both shoulders. He ran 40 yards. That broadhead will be put next to the horns on the wall but other than being dull it was still shootable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Central NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a good experience

Date:October 25, 2007
I switched from Muzzy 3 blade 100 grains to these for the past 2 years. I shot a buck in the shoulder and it didn't pass through (muzzy's did). I shot a coyote in the vitals and lost it. I double lunged another buck and almost lost it due to a poor blood trail. Cutting diamiter is just too small. They did fly great though. I switched back to Muzzy's this year and already have a doe in the freezer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Blood Trail

Date:October 18, 2007
I hate to be negative but I shot two deer this season with these tips and did not get a blood trail at all. The blades were dull and banged up pretty bad after the shot. On the positive side both were complete pass throughs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads

Date:October 9, 2007
These are the best broadheads I have ever used. They have all the qualities that I look for in a broadhead. They are cut on contact. They literally fly just like a field point.(as long as your bow is tuned properly) They are not very expensive. A six pack of the sonics 100gr. are under $40. The blades are individually replaceable. You can also buy practice blades. A six pack could last for years to come. The first deer I shot with a sonic ran 30 yards and dropped dead. I retrieved my arrow and looked at the broadhead and it was flawless, not even a chipped blade. I would recommend these broadheads to anyone and everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Flys straights hits target

Date:September 17, 2007
I began bow hunting last year. I used razor caps and couple times mechanicals with no success all season. Never seemed to fly straight for me. Switched to ABC Sonic 100 gr head during the summer. Practiced 2 or 3 times a week. Opening day 2007 shot a doe. She collapsed about 40 yards. My arrow flew straight and went through her on a quartering away shot at 25 yards. Good blood trail and exit and entering hole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vabuckhunter

Date:August 30, 2007
I am very impressed with these broadheads. They truly fly on the same path as a field point. I shoot 100 grains and really like the performance and durability. I would recomend these broadheads to any of my hunting buddies!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Westbrook,ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ABC Sonic broadheads

Date:August 21, 2007
This will be the third year using the American Broadhead Company's fine product. The Sonic broadheads are very small looking, but don't be fooled. The thick blades are ALL cutting area. The tight configuration makes these babies fly true. And I've shot nothing but pass-throughs .Try 'em, you'll like 'em!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:August 17, 2007
I have used these broadheads for four seasons in that time I have harvested 22 deer, none of which traveled farther than 70 yards after being shot. They fly very well and have never failed me F.Y.I. after a kill the blades need to be replaced and at about three kills the entire broadhead is toast (as long as you don't hit a rock or wood), so they are built quite well contary to other reviewers. I have used many other broadheads and these are by far the best bang for the buck. Buy with confidence... Highly recommended!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Customer Service

Date:July 2, 2007
I purchased these broadheads and had a small problem with the machining on 2 of the heads. I contacted ABC and they went way above and beyond in making their product right. I was highly impressed and would recommend them to anyone. Oh.... and they fly outstanding.....Just like my field-points.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Black Bear

Date:May 28, 2007
I was recently hunting black bear in Alberta Canada. When I was setting up for the hunt I wanted a little heaver arrow and broadhead. I went with the Terminator select 6075. at 30", tiped with the 125 grn. Sonic broadhead, for a total arrow weight of approx. 480grns. The arrows were very accurate, pentration was very good. The only thing I was was not pleased with was the wound channels left. The blood trails were very difficlt to find. My outfitter claimed that with other broadheads, the trails left have the "spray paint effect". For lighter game, or very light fast arrows these are probaly good broadheads, however for heavy game, or game that doesn't bleed alot, (bear or hogs) for example. I would go with something else
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Victoria, Australia.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ABC Sonics

Date:May 21, 2007
I find the Sonics to be an excellent all round broadhead for Australian hunting conditions. I have used them to take everything from rabbits, to deer, to extremely large Australian wild boar. Penetration and accuracy are unbeleivable. They may look small, but they kill big.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sonic Broadhead

Date:May 5, 2007
I just bought a new bowtech Guardian and have switched over from finger shooting to shooting with a release. I decided to switch broadheads also and noticed the advertisement of the sonic shooting like a field point even at 300+ FPS. I tried the sonic and they are correct it shoots accurately. I can group better with the broadhead than my field points.
Last week I had a trip down to Texas. I ended up taking a Javelina at 39 yards and a Axis deer at 20 yards. The Javelina did not even take a step. The Axis had a complete pass through, but ran 200 yards and had little blood to follow. I am a little concerned about the small cutting diameter, but will continue to use these as their flight is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:April 30, 2007
Fly fast and accurate. Hit exactly where my fieldpoints were at all yardages. Really liked the individually replaceable blades. Would recommend these for all even those shooting bows 300+ feet/sec.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Freeport, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable Fieldpoint accuracy

Date:March 12, 2007
All I can say is WOW. I have tried several brands of broadheads and they have all planed 3 to 6 inches below my fieldpoints, requiring me to set my pins one way for shooting fieldpoints, and adjust them for hunting with a broadhead. But, no more. I went out to try my new Sonic Broadheads at 20 yards. I fired a fieldpoint into the bullseye, then launched the broadhead. It struck the target only a hairs distance away from the fieldpoint. I shot a second broadhead and bang, the two shafts touched side by side. I pulled the arrows from the target and realized I had struck the blades, destroying them. Thats accuracy; I have never been so happy to wreck a new toy the first time I have used it. Now I can practice with a fieldpoint at the range, swap out the broadhead on opening day and have the confidence that I will be on the mark.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for American Broadhead Company Sonic Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

do not buy

Date:March 12, 2007
these broad heads break first shot ferrule broke first shot and blades broke/bent in black hole target. they dont have much penetration and blades fall off. save your money and your time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 52