Customer Reviews for Barnett Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Barnett Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package

With a 15-1/2" power stroke and a new Veloci-Speed cam system to boost long-range lethality, you won't find a crossbow with comparable performance in this price range, anywhere. Powerful Quad Parallel Limbs and a synthetic cable system contribute to the 345 fps speed rating and 122 foot pounds of energy. The high tech composite stock is lighter, more comfortable and contains an integrated attachment point for a cocking device (not included). A contoured cheek piece not only conceals the attachment but also adds to its comfort. Trigger is set with a smooth 5-lb. pull for superior precision and control. Rugged machined scope mount. Crossbow Package includes a 4 x 32 multi-reticle scope and Quick-Detach Quiver with four 22" carbon shaft bolts. Length: 37". Width: 26.75". Weight: 7 lbs. Draw weight: 150 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.831 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
13
55 out of 71(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Review 21 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Live in Vermont used the crossbow in Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett quad-400 crossbow package

Date:November 30, 2009
The crossbow performed well, I would recommend a different scope be supplied with the package as the field of view on the scope provided is small. I would have prefered a red dot scope with a larger field of view. A choice between the two would be a good option if possible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Quad 400 Crossbow

Date:November 21, 2009
This is my first crossbow, the bow does extremly well, very accurate when sighted in properly, The only down fall is the Crank Cocking Device it's not the device itself, it the cable,string that pulls the cocking device back, It has a problem of fraying and breaking, BUT when I contacted the Barnett company they rectified the problem in a timely manner with very satisfying results, I would recommend this Company to everyone because they stand behind their product and the customer, hassle free, I appreciate a company that take care of the customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

barnett quad 400

Date:November 18, 2009
very happy with bow, trigger pull could be shorter..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: hawthorne,n.j.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quad 400

Date:October 12, 2009
good value for the price-
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package

Date:September 17, 2009
Great Crossbow; Only don't ever pull the trigger with the safety on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brentwood, AR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very pleased to date

Date:September 1, 2009
First let me say that this is the first crossbow I've ever owned or fired, so consider my comments with that understanding.
Out of the box, the Barnett Quad 400 was easy to install; it came together in a matter of 10 minutes or so. There were no instructions on mounting the quiver, but you figure it out easily enough. Mounting the scope was also quick and there was an extra set of O-rings which was nice should they ever be needed. The bow string, cables and rail were pre-waxed even though there is wax included. The foot stirrup went on easy as well but there was a missing lock washer- no big deal as I can easily find one even though I'm sure a phone call would get me one.
Sighting-in: Per the scope manufacturers suggestions, my attempt to sight the scope began at 15 yds. Also per their suggestions, I was firing at a 4"x4" bulls-eye. long story short, I lost two bolts in two shots (later recovered). It was shooting very high and right. Keep that in mind when placing your target if you do it yourself; I made corrections and my scope is now sighted-in. Also keep in mind that at 15 yds. you're going to bury your bolt in the target- @345 fps. this crossbow sends bolts down range fast; do as I did and reinforce your target for those short range shots. (I constructed a 12"x15"x4" block of cardboard and strapped it to my block target).
I am now practicing for the upcoming deer season, so I have taken shots out to 50 yds. Being that the scope is multi-reticle, it's very important to establish your yardage range for each reticle- the manufacturer includes an example ie. "15 to 23 yards" for the top reticle and "26 to 32 yards" for the second reticle. FYI, I was using the second reticle out to 40 yds. with barely noticeable drop; I won't brag about "groupings" as the shooter is a factor as much as the crossbow but my bolts to date are going where I aim.
Some have criticized this crossbow as being a little "loud". That may be so, but @ 345 fps. I can't imagine many animals having the opportunity to flinch much less move enough to take your shot out of the kill zone before the bolt found its target. As long as you're taking responsible shots and from a range recommended for a crossbow of this caliber, I find it difficult to believe crossbow shot noise will be a factor.
A minor complaint- after several shots the black plastic stock pieces that cover the port for the Barnett crank cocking device vibrate loose and have to be snapped back into place; an occasional minor annoyance.
I've read other site reviews on the Barnett Quad 400 and many complaints of the limbs splitting and a less than reliable trigger housing and safety. I've been firing mine now off and on for several weeks and limb inspection shows no wear and tear and my trigger and safety are working fine; another month of practice will likely inspire another review- I only hope it remains good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Crossbow

Date:August 11, 2009
All together this is a good and accurate a bow. Goes together in just a a few minutes, sighting in the scope takes just a few shots and it holds tight groups. Very fast and is devistating on deer even if your shot is not perfect. A little loud, but most crossbows are. You will want to get a cocking rope at some point, and a sling is a good investment, it does get a little heavy after a while. I am very pleased with this crossbow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quad 400 Crossbow

Date:August 3, 2009
I am very pleased with the Quad 400 Crossbow, it is easy to load and is very accurate. The scope is easy to read and quick to sight. It is almost like shooting a rifle. I am looking forward to this Deer season as it is the first season to make the crossbow legal in the regular hunting season in Texas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Richmond, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Cust Service

Date:December 4, 2008
Had mine for over a year and the limbs started to delaminate. Barnett replaced limbs, cable and string at no charge. Shoots well- took a 6 point at 35 yards - arrow went clean thru.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

satisfied

Date:October 6, 2008
Aside from the scope, I really like this crossbow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bedford, Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

chance77

Date:July 22, 2008
Had some trouble at first. THe string broke on the first shoot fired. Cabelas sent me a new string and I was on my way to a Cabelas store where they were able to restring and sight in the crossbow. I have not had any problems since and I am very happy with the Barnett-400. I am just waiting for our archery season to begin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crossbow

Date:April 15, 2008
Excellent in every way. Except the quiver screw was to long,then the plastic striped out. So quiver will not stay on bow. Reason for 4 stars instead of five.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Quad 400

Date:October 7, 2007
Buy this devastating weapon. Also purchase wax, extra string, extra cables, (do not wait to replace these items; I have my own bow press...) a rubberized sling, (bow is heavy and unbalanced-that is the way they are) blue threadlocker, (on all threaded parts-bow vibrates them loose) and plenty of the same size bolts, same grain blunt field tips and mechanical broadheads. Keep it all the same for accuracy.
There is an incredible amount of energy stored in this bow; you must inspect/maintain it EVERY time you shoot because of this.
Honestly, I have not removed a bolt yet from an animal-the bolts pass clean through! And keep going. I did not believe those stories until I saw it for myself. Have taken 2 deer and they were put down within seconds.
The only drawback to this bow is the length of time it takes to get parts from Barnett. You would think they would know that if your bow is broken and you have invested thousands of dollars in a hunt, you might need those parts ASAP. Nope. Allow 30 days minimum. Really. I used blue painter's tape to hold my bolts in place after the bolt retaining spring broke. Parts came 23 days later!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Akron, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Quad 400

Date:November 21, 2006
The Barnett Quad 400 is a great crossbow. The Quad 400 can really pack a punch and has the ability to launch bolts at extremely high velocities. I can hit targets accurately out to 60-65 yards because of the excellent Barnett scope that came with the crossbow. I would recommend that you also purchase a sling for the crossbow because it can begin to feel heavy after a long day in the field. I would recommend this product to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oneonta, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

crossbow

Date:November 20, 2006
The Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow seems to have enough power to take down any size deer we have here in Alabama. Regretfully the Alabama state law states that we cannot have scpes on our bows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: norris, Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett 400 Crossbow

Date:November 20, 2006
The Barnett 400 Crossbow is a hunter delite, its fast, accurate, and although the weight is a little more than the older model 350 i have the handle of the 400 is so much better. It's fits in my arm just like my rifle and isn't the least bit uncomforatable, and being that I am a paraplegic in a wheel chair with not much balance i need for every thing to fit perfect. The Scope on the bow is easily sited for great and accurate shots. The Quiver is easly disconnected or fine to leave on the bow. This bow is the best ive shot and I have shot a few different kinds and makes. I recommend this bow to all my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bow

Date:November 2, 2006
This is a great crossbow for the money. It shoots great and is very fast. The only problem I have with it is the noise. I wish it was a little quieter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Quad-400

Date:June 17, 2010
This crossbow was not very hard to put together even though the
instructions were a little vague at times. When I shot it the first time after putting it together, the scope was a lot closer than I ever expected out of the box. It shoots very well and very fast, the only things I think it could use is two more bolts and a string silencer because it is a little noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wilmington, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

102 yard 3 arrows in a 4" group

Date:April 5, 2010
This x-bow out performed my expectations by far. After siting in the 4x32 scope I found that each of the 5 cross hairs equaled out to be 20 yards farther each line. 20,40,60,80,100! The only drawback that I found was that due to a shoulder and back injury the crank cocking add on was a must. For a 150lb pull it sure is tough to pull, but that's the reason it is so accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oak Grove, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quad 400

Date:March 9, 2010
This bow is everything I expected and more. I just assemblied it and was ready to go just remember to get your limb savers and silencers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 71