Customer Reviews for Barnett Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Barnett Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package

With a 15-1/2" power stroke and a new Veloci-Speed cam system to boost long-range lethality, you won't find a crossbow with comparable performance in this price range, anywhere. Powerful Quad Parallel Limbs and a synthetic cable system contribute to the 345 fps speed rating and 122 foot pounds of energy. The high tech composite stock is lighter, more comfortable and contains an integrated attachment point for a cocking device (not included). A contoured cheek piece not only conceals the attachment but also adds to its comfort. Trigger is set with a smooth 5-lb. pull for superior precision and control. Rugged machined scope mount. Crossbow Package includes a 4 x 32 multi-reticle scope and Quick-Detach Quiver with four 22" carbon shaft bolts. Length: 37". Width: 26.75". Weight: 7 lbs. Draw weight: 150 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.831 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
13
55 out of 71(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Review 21 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Alger,ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quad 400 problems

Date:September 28, 2009
Bought my quad 400 about 3 years ago never could get the scope to stay in finally called barnett and they said it was the scope and i said this is the one it was sent with and he said it isn't a good scope i said thanks i've been trying to sight this in for three years including shimming and it would be in then next time you shoot its off again finally went to using the pins and it shoots great. Now while sitting in the tree stand the other day i noticed that 3 of the 4 limbs are seperating or splintering .WOULD NOT RECCOMMEND THIS BOW.emailed barnett and waiting for their return email to see what this is going to cost me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

inaccurate

Date:September 26, 2009
I bought this bow for the low price and the speed. It is very fast but that doesn't matter when you cant hit the target. this bow is horribly inaccurate. I tried two different types of scope before sending it back. cabellas customer service was awesome. They returned the bow and replaced it with a horton explorer HD 150. I love the horton. its not quite as fast but I hit the bullseye every time. DO NOT BUY A BARNETT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package

Date:September 17, 2009
Great Crossbow; Only don't ever pull the trigger with the safety on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

about the scope

Date:September 10, 2009
The X bow went together easy. Had to change to the tall scope mounts. Not to bad to sight in, I did not use any thread lock and found that the scope screws came loose after 10 shots. So be sure to use thread lock and check all bolts after about 10 shots. This thing shoots hard so be sure of your back stop. Over all it is great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brentwood, AR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very pleased to date

Date:September 1, 2009
First let me say that this is the first crossbow I've ever owned or fired, so consider my comments with that understanding.
Out of the box, the Barnett Quad 400 was easy to install; it came together in a matter of 10 minutes or so. There were no instructions on mounting the quiver, but you figure it out easily enough. Mounting the scope was also quick and there was an extra set of O-rings which was nice should they ever be needed. The bow string, cables and rail were pre-waxed even though there is wax included. The foot stirrup went on easy as well but there was a missing lock washer- no big deal as I can easily find one even though I'm sure a phone call would get me one.
Sighting-in: Per the scope manufacturers suggestions, my attempt to sight the scope began at 15 yds. Also per their suggestions, I was firing at a 4"x4" bulls-eye. long story short, I lost two bolts in two shots (later recovered). It was shooting very high and right. Keep that in mind when placing your target if you do it yourself; I made corrections and my scope is now sighted-in. Also keep in mind that at 15 yds. you're going to bury your bolt in the target- @345 fps. this crossbow sends bolts down range fast; do as I did and reinforce your target for those short range shots. (I constructed a 12"x15"x4" block of cardboard and strapped it to my block target).
I am now practicing for the upcoming deer season, so I have taken shots out to 50 yds. Being that the scope is multi-reticle, it's very important to establish your yardage range for each reticle- the manufacturer includes an example ie. "15 to 23 yards" for the top reticle and "26 to 32 yards" for the second reticle. FYI, I was using the second reticle out to 40 yds. with barely noticeable drop; I won't brag about "groupings" as the shooter is a factor as much as the crossbow but my bolts to date are going where I aim.
Some have criticized this crossbow as being a little "loud". That may be so, but @ 345 fps. I can't imagine many animals having the opportunity to flinch much less move enough to take your shot out of the kill zone before the bolt found its target. As long as you're taking responsible shots and from a range recommended for a crossbow of this caliber, I find it difficult to believe crossbow shot noise will be a factor.
A minor complaint- after several shots the black plastic stock pieces that cover the port for the Barnett crank cocking device vibrate loose and have to be snapped back into place; an occasional minor annoyance.
I've read other site reviews on the Barnett Quad 400 and many complaints of the limbs splitting and a less than reliable trigger housing and safety. I've been firing mine now off and on for several weeks and limb inspection shows no wear and tear and my trigger and safety are working fine; another month of practice will likely inspire another review- I only hope it remains good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quad400exellent

Date:August 25, 2009
i've had my quad 400 for a couple years now and have taken deer with it in early archrey season , and after chistmas in some pretty cold conditions in Pa, and it worked great in both season i really enjoy shooting it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Crossbow

Date:August 11, 2009
All together this is a good and accurate a bow. Goes together in just a a few minutes, sighting in the scope takes just a few shots and it holds tight groups. Very fast and is devistating on deer even if your shot is not perfect. A little loud, but most crossbows are. You will want to get a cocking rope at some point, and a sling is a good investment, it does get a little heavy after a while. I am very pleased with this crossbow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quad 400 Crossbow

Date:August 3, 2009
I am very pleased with the Quad 400 Crossbow, it is easy to load and is very accurate. The scope is easy to read and quick to sight. It is almost like shooting a rifle. I am looking forward to this Deer season as it is the first season to make the crossbow legal in the regular hunting season in Texas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hunter

Date:July 23, 2009
i sited the cros bow in and it hites the same spot every time and it is verry fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

about the quad 400

Date:February 21, 2009
after 4 shoots string broke
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N. Calif.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

barnett crossbow

Date:February 9, 2009
only took 10 minutes to zero in excellent bow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CORNING NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BUY IT

Date:February 8, 2009
THIS BABY IS AWSOME. SUPER FAST SHOOTING WOW!!. I DONT KNOW HOW YOU CAN BE UNHAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE YOU PAY AND THE QUALITY YOU GET. FUN TO SHOOT BUY ONE FOR YOURSELF
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Baltimore, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

INACCURATE!!!!!

Date:February 1, 2009
For its price the Quad 400 shoots much faster than other bows in its price range, and the package comes with a scope rather than a red-dot sight, which is what i wanted. It went together great and seemed to be a good product. Hitting the target accurately was impossible. I hoped it was a bad scope. I called cabellas and they had a new scope at my house in 3 days. I also purchased and used a cocking rope. The new TRU-GLO scope (which i liked alot) made no difference. The bow would not hold a pattern. I sent it back to cabellas with both scopes and exchanged it for the HORTON HD 150 package. What a difference! This bow is great! It took about 30 min. to zero it in. I am hitting dead center at 20,30 & 40 yards. DO NOT TAKE A CHANCE ON THIS BOW. ITS NOT WORTH IT. I would recommend a HORTON to anyone.
P.S.
Cabellas was great! he customer service, and tech. support were awesome! They did everything possible to make sure I was sattisfied, and now that Im shooting a HORTON, I AM.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: p.j., n.y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

design

Date:January 25, 2009
if you can spend more money on a crossbow with better support between riser and limbs mine fell apart in two days or about twenty shots
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bow!

Date:December 9, 2008
Seems to be a very good weapon of destruction! I'll let you know after I get the first deer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Richmond, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Cust Service

Date:December 4, 2008
Had mine for over a year and the limbs started to delaminate. Barnett replaced limbs, cable and string at no charge. Shoots well- took a 6 point at 35 yards - arrow went clean thru.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Little Hocking, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Quad-400

Date:December 3, 2008
The Barnett Quad-400 is a pretty decent crossbow.I have had mine for almost 2 years now and I have killed alot of deer with it and I have probably shot it over 1000 times.
THE GOOD.....
1. easy to assemble
2. pretty accurate
3. 345 ft/sec
4. hard hitting
THE BAD.....
1. loud
2. one of my limbs cracked
3. string frayed from use
4. heavy
5. hard to use in a treestand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: broad run va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great first hunt

Date:November 27, 2008
First off I've never hunted with any type of archery, but was told crossbows are easier to learn for a novice. I ordered this bow back in August to be ready for October 1st the the first day of the season. After putting it together which took no time at all, I had it shot in within 5 shots. I practiced for the next month just to feel comfortable. While practicing my 65 year old dad liked it so much he bought a similar one made by a different manufacturer. On the first day I took it hunting I was in a treestand for about 45 minutes when two bucks came up the path toward me. I raised the bow got the first one in my sights but there was too much brush in between me and him so I shifted my aim to the second buck about 25 to 30 yards away. He was a better shot, slightly smaller in size then the first. I pulled the trigger and hit him he let out a kick and ran less than 20 yards and dropped, the arrow went straight through and had stuck in the brush behind where he had been standing. So far I've also gotten a doe and she didn't go very far after I hit her. My dad also got a 6 point buck with his. I am pleased with the performace of this product with the proper care and handling it seems durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marietta, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Quad 400

Date:October 27, 2008
My son bought this crossbow and it was his first bow. He loves it, shoots fast and accurate. Took it out of the box, we assembled it in less than 10 min. Set up the target and within 20 min we had it sighted for 20/30/40yards. Bolts fly true and hardly drop. We could not of asked for a better crossbow, and for the money how could you go wrong. It is hard to pull back, but after a few days in the field my son who is 15 can now pull it back himself. I am still looking for a cocking rope that will fit this bow. I purchased the excalibur and it was still way to short. The cocking device has to go around the butt of the stock, ulike most crossbows that go just behind the scope. But all in all a great bow. That deer or turkey won't stand a chance once they step in range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Barnett Quad-400 Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

John

Date:October 27, 2008
I purchased a Quad 400 crossbow in September so that I could expand my hunting days. When it arrived, it was easy to assemble. The scope came with two sets of mounts and the higher mounts are perfect. Three shots and my scope was zeroed. At 92 feet I am still using the top line of the scope and since I hunt brush here in South Carolina, my shots are usually less than 40 yards. The bow is a little awkward using it from a tree stand, my degree of radius for shooting from a tree stand versus a ladder stand is about 90 degrees but with a little extra work and knowing where the deer travel, adversities like the reduced shooting zone are easily overcome. This is a powerful bow and will give thru and thru shots at such close range. I love it. A piece of advice to the first time buyer though, get a cranking device, it is a necessity. At 59 years of age I found that cocking strings are best left to the young. Also, when hunting a tree stand put a field point on one of your arrows, that way you can take the arrow that has the broad head out of the bow, replace it with the arrow that has the field tip and fire it into the ground prior to climbing down the tree. On the cable that draws the string back when using the cranking device, I use a rubber band to secure it to the back of the scope mount after releasing it so that it doesn't bounce back and hit me in the face when the bow is fired. This is an excellent product and I am considering using it during turkey season next year and may even try my luck shooting at some gar fish in the nearby lakes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 71