Customer Reviews for Cough Muffler The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cough Muffler The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black

You're on a stand, the wind is right, game is starting to move and all of a sudden an irrepressible cough erupts from your chest, taking with it the golden opportunity that might have been. Don't let a cough spoil your hunt. The Silencer's baffle system absorbs sound waves out of the cough while letting air pass through giving the user complete cough relief and a second chance at hunting success. Lightweight, durable, compact construction and a matte black finish make the silencer easy to carry and unobtrusive to game. Includes lanyard. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Review 1 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This thing just WORKS

Date:October 28, 2006
I tend to get bouts of bronchitis at the worst possible moments. In other words, hunting season. But even without that, we all know the feeling of cold dry air triggering a coughing spell. And let's not forget those of us foolish smokers (well, I'm working on that).
The point is, it's impossible to suppress the urge to cough. And it will happen to the best of us. And who knows how many deer, or other game that you never see avoid you because they heard your coughs hundreds of yards away.
The Silencer is just that. It almost completely muffles, or sometimes even eliminates even the smallest sounds from your coughs. Since I finally decided to see if the hype was real with these, the number of deer on average I spot on stand has increased dramatically.
It takes a little practice. I don't suggest using it for the first time on stand, as you'll need to figure out your best way for a tight seal, so that you don't make a razzing noise as air escapes between your lips and the Silencer. But once you get your techinique down, you'll be whisper quiet.
Of course, you'll hear your coughs somewhat, just as you can hear yourself chew. But noone else can hear you chew, and the coughing noise is almost undetectable unless you're standing right next to the guy using it.
If you've ever had a coughing spell, or the sudden urge for a cough ruin or hamper your hunt, you need the Silencer. It's worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cough Silencer

Date:November 13, 2006
This can truly be a hunt saver. It reduces the noise of a cough by a ton. It is lightweight, easy to carry (laynard is nice), and non-glare. You can't cough quite as freely as usual with this device. You will have a bit of "back pressure" if you do. But, if you are careful, you can get releif from a cough without spooking game with the cough silencer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:November 18, 2006
I have used the silencer this year. I had to get used to using it. The seal is the key. I have found that this works really well by expelling air into it initially, then coughing. I have been on stand with a slight cold this season and it has not stopped me yet. This unit is small and goes into my fanny pack. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:November 19, 2006
My children enjoy hunting with me, but this year they have had problems with coughing when out in the cool air. This was given to us and it has drastically improved things. It is slightly akward for my 9 year old, but she is getting the hang of it. My 12 year old had no problems using it. It is easy to clean and sterilize between uses. I would recommend this product to anyone who hunts just to keep on hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wallkill, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works

Date:November 20, 2006
Other than the time that it came apart and fell to the ground from my treestand, it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Edmonds, Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Silencer Cough Silencer

Date:November 20, 2006
This October I took my new Silencer Cough Silencer. It's always cold on the mountain where I hunt, and after a couple full days of sitting, stalking and sneaking I start coughing, hacking and wheezing. Fortunately, I came prepared. The Silencer is ultralight, handy and silent. Kudos for making such a sensible solution to an age old problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cough Silencer

Date:November 21, 2006
The Cough silencer has proven to be a valuable tool in my pursuit of Big Game. I use it whenever I am hunting because one errant cough can spoil a set up. I have tried other products from competitors and they just dont stack up to the Cough Silencer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: tellico plains tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cough silencer AAAAAA++++++++

Date:November 21, 2006
this is a great product! Last year my husband was turkey hunting and he had called the turkey almost to him and then it happened he coughed that was it the turkey turned tail and went the other way. This year he had the cough silencer and he bagged the bird it worked great. we bought one for his brother it worked so well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westchester County ,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Silent coughs

Date:November 22, 2006
i could not believe how quiet my coughs were. this thing really works and now my dad and partners are all buying one. you have to have one of these before you venture out to into the woods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Moberly, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

i dont know about this one?

Date:June 21, 2007
it muffles your cough somewhat but not to the extent that you and game in close range cant hear it.....sounds nothing like the camercial...i pearsonally think that holding your hands together and coughing down your shirt has the same effect....but it has some advantages of less movement...but i guess its ok....for the price.....but the extras like the camo and cough tube are a little rediculous!! and thats like an extra 15 dollars....SO GET THE BLACK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort McMurray, ALberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:August 20, 2007
This product really works, I was a little skeptical at first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:August 20, 2007
I'm on my third after two were swiped by friends. I didn't want them back. They work pretty well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cough silencer

Date:September 26, 2007
The cough silencer does not work very well for me.
My coughs are usually deep heavy types and a lot of back pressure developes in the silencer.
For someone with a light cough, this should work quite well for them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Campbell, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Silencer

Date:October 16, 2007
It will make a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mountain Home, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cough supressor

Date:November 12, 2007
I have chronic cough and it worked fine. Clean daily. Use cotten balls of good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ontario,Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cough

Date:November 13, 2007
Cough Silencer-compact,light,easy to use.Seems to work extremely well.Quite impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Wonders

Date:November 13, 2007
I used this product this year and had no problems with scaring or alerting the deer due to coughing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kelso, Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smokers cough

Date:November 25, 2007
Awesome product, Little hard to keep mouth on. However when practiced and use it correctly, works wonders
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wilmington, DE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cough Silencer

Date:February 27, 2008
The cough silencer worked well. It reduced the noise by about 75%. It is not the perfect solution but at least you can get out and hunt instead of staying home when you have a cough. If the deer are within 30 yards they may hear you cough but it they are that close to you they should be dead already. I do not think the camo version is necessary since I kept mine inside my jacket that reduced the noise even further when I coughed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Silencer Cough Silencer - Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ontario,Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cough Silencer

Date:July 14, 2008
works great should be exellent in the field when hunting season opens.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22