Customer Reviews for G5 OUTDOORS G5 Montec™ Broadheads

G5 OUTDOORS G5 Montec™ Broadheads

Crafted using solid, one-piece MonoFlow™ technology, the three-blade Montec™ not only offers incredible bone-splitting strength, but also delivers exceptionally consistent, target-point-like accuracy as well. A cut-on-impact tip ensures deep penetration in even the heaviest game animals. The ultrasharp, multitapered blades leave a devastating wound channel, and they're easily resharpened. They are made of strong stainless steel. Per 3. Sizes: 85 grain - 1" cutting diameter. 100 grain - 1-1/16" cutting diameter. 125 grain - 1-1/8" cutting diameter.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(414 Reviews) 414
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 414 reviews
5 Stars
300
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
20
1 Star
31
356 out of 414(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Review 201 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: OkanaganFalls,B.C
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

expensive

Date:January 28, 2009
shot these broadheads out of a well tuned vectrix set at 60 pounds and could not get these these heads to fly well.they do spin beautiffuly on the arrow but just wasnt workin for me.i ened up taken some hail mary shots at a grouse and was relieved when they were ruined from hittin the dirt.construction seems good but they are just way overpriced.swithed to the classic muzzy and accurcy improved.might have been me but do yourself a favour save some money get the muzzy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great penatration

Date:January 27, 2009
I shot a doe at 20 yds with 85 gr G5 Montec on a 26" Easton Full Metal Jacket 400, 72# Mathews Switchback. I shot, she ducked and I hit her spine. This has happen 4 times before but never have I had one go through or even break the skin on the other side till now. I got a full 12" out the backside. Maybe I was lucky and I found a spot where this was possible but it still impressed me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 203 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Des Moines Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Montec Fly True

Date:January 21, 2009
I have used all the name brand 3 blade and Mechanical broadheads over the years. I would have my bow shooting perfect with field points all summer long. Then comes September to dial in my broadheads and I could not hold a group to my satifaction. I shoot a Hoyt, 75 pound draw weight with a 28 inch draw with a 340 grain grain arrow and each arrow would go a different direction. I saw the G5 and was turned off by the price. After spending nearly 3 times as much on other broadheads I decided to purchase the G5 Montec. Boy am I glad I did!!!! From field points to broadheads I have not made a single adjustment to my sights. These broadheads are tuned perfectly and fly as true as any fieldpoint. I have taken 3 deer this year with one arrow and one broadhead (1 Buck and 2 Does). Each deer was a complete pass threw and end up expiring with in sight. I highly recommend the G5 Montec to any hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 204 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Texas Hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

All I Use

Date:January 20, 2009
I am not in a position to compare becasue this is all I use, but it is hard to imagine any brand working better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 205 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hutchinson, Ks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great penatration

Date:January 17, 2009
i'm 13 years old and this year i tried bow hunting i shoot 40+pnds 26inch draw. i bought these broad heads and was excited to use them. i shot a doe at 29yrds she was quartering right at me i shot in front of the front shouder. the arrow came out the back hip the deer ran 25 yards. complete pass through. deer droped great penatration and alot of blood. but also have to sight in with them. i recomend to anyone great for low poundage bows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: south texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bad trails

Date:January 15, 2009
these broadheads leave the worst trails i have ever seen. i shot 2 deer this past season(one buck and one doe) and almost lost both of them. i accedentally found the doe and didnt find the buck till 3 weeks later after someone cut off the head and took my arrow. there was absolutley zero blood when i shot the buck. i looked at the body when i found it and it was a perfect shot. They do fly pretty good though and are pretty sturdy. thats why they get a three
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 207 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Des Moines, Ia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love and Hate

Date:January 5, 2009
To be honest these are the broadheads I turn to when I have problems with others but I'm going to keep trying others. In a perfict world where every deer will come in to 20 yards or less I would never shoot anything other then these. They're durable hard hitting Broadheads. However, I have tuned and tuned my bow beyond belief and tinkered with every type of fletching out there but I always loose accuracy with distance. I shoot on average 500 shots a week perfecting form but for some reason I don't feel comfortable shooting deer at 40+ yards with these points. I'm thinking maybe the G5 Striker next or one of the Magnus Buzzcut Broadheads next.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: lubbock tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

my review

Date:January 3, 2009
Let me first say that in my experience that these heads DO NOT fly even close to field points. Not even close enough to lie about and get away with it.
The construction of these heads are simply great tho, I like the solid broadhead. To me if you have to build a head, I loose a little confidence in it bc maybe once in a life time something could come loose, and if you notice when companies use these types of heads where you have to build the blades, the razors are not real durable.(similar in the striker model and muzzys)
Durability- they are great, I made a mistake on my release at 70 yds and sent the arrow down the sidewalk and it didnt look very damaged.
in the feild- I am curious as to how they preform, mine didnt make it out.
So if you are looking for a head that flies like a field tip this is not your head, unless you like sighting in with the broadheads and going thru targets every week! haha I hate buying new targets they are expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 209 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wicked

Date:January 3, 2009
Very operator friendly the only way these broadheads don't kill somethng fast is if it's a bad shot. Don't put down the gear if you don't know how to use it!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 210 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

montec

Date:December 31, 2008
excellent broadheads. fly true and reliable and easy to sharpen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 211 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Montecs

Date:December 11, 2008
I absolutely love these Broadheads, I recently moved to these broadheads from muzzy 100's and I am extremely happy with my decision. I killed my deer this year with these broadheads. I took a 30 yard with my Drenalin and my arrow blew threw both shoulders. The deer ran a mere 20 yards before collapsing. Would highly recommend these to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 212 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

1st bow kill gone

Date:December 10, 2008
Shot my first hog with the G5 and had a good shot with pass through. Disappointed with the blood trail. Stumbled upon blood about 30 yards from the place of entry and tracked pin drop blood for 200 yards through heavy brush only to find it dry up. Hog was found later in the day baking in the sun with the buzzards feasting on it! Looking to move to the steelforce or magnus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 213 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:December 9, 2008
I have already killed 5 pigs just 6 weekends into the season. The penetration on the hogs with the 100 grain was outstanding. The only bad thing about them is that they bend and chip easily. Overall, outstanding product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 214 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virigina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good broadhead, but still looking for perfect...

Date:December 9, 2008
Bowhunting for 10 years. Used mechanicals as well as cut on contact. Would never use mechanicals on any big game other than small deer given my experiences. Started using cut on contact. Was not happy with those with multiple parts. Allow too many variables in bowhunting, something will go wrong. That's the appeal of the G5 Montec. Single piece. No collars, no loose blades. Good flight, but not quite field point flight. Durable. I have literally killed big game, resharpened, reused. (Rocks, trees excluded.) Very sharp out of the box, but using their stone, I can never get them quite as sharp as when they were new. They can be resharpened enough to do the job however. As mentioned, will continue being my only broadhead, but still looking for something better...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 215 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Poygan, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good broadhead!!

Date:December 4, 2008
These broadheads work great! I've been using them for the past two years and haven't lost a deer yet. Both the buck that i shot last year, and the one i took this year ran 60-80 yards. After the shot i could see the blood just pumping out as they ran away... you can't ask for much more than that... and needless the say the blood trials were excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 216 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Montec

Date:December 2, 2008
Excellent broadhead....shot 2 does this year that didnt go less than 40 yds before going down. Come out of the package very sharp and these are very durable.
During a brain lapse moment a shot one of these at my bag target in my basement....at 15 yds it blew through the target and hit the basement concret wall.....arrow was destroyed, but the broadhead was in suprisingly good shape. I now use it as my practice head.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 217 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Montec

Date:December 2, 2008
This is one great broadhead, super tough, you can resharpen them and they fly great, would highly recommend for big game, especially elk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 218 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: I.B. Cal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Broadheads

Date:December 1, 2008
I like the fact that I can buy practice broadheads in the same size and shape.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 219 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arlington, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not sharp

Date:November 30, 2008
My brother bought these and I could run my fingers along the blade without being cut. I would not recommend these to anyone. I am going to stick with my muzzy 75, which darted through a buck at 30yds with a 50lb bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 220 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dull, Dull, Dull

Date:November 27, 2008
Product flys very straight but is very dull. I purchased 3 different packs and all three packages were dull. So, I bought the stone to sharpen them (shouldn't have to do that) and they will not sharpen to the level a hunting broadhead should be. Seems like a common problem in this group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 201-220 of 414