Customer Reviews for G5 OUTDOORS G5 Montec™ Broadheads

G5 OUTDOORS G5 Montec™ Broadheads

Crafted using solid, one-piece MonoFlow™ technology, the three-blade Montec™ not only offers incredible bone-splitting strength, but also delivers exceptionally consistent, target-point-like accuracy as well. A cut-on-impact tip ensures deep penetration in even the heaviest game animals. The ultrasharp, multitapered blades leave a devastating wound channel, and they're easily resharpened. They are made of strong stainless steel. Per 3. Sizes: 85 grain - 1" cutting diameter. 100 grain - 1-1/16" cutting diameter. 125 grain - 1-1/8" cutting diameter.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.354 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(404 Reviews) 404
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 404 reviews
5 Stars
292
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
19
1 Star
30
348 out of 404(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Review 201 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Montecs

Date:December 11, 2008
I absolutely love these Broadheads, I recently moved to these broadheads from muzzy 100's and I am extremely happy with my decision. I killed my deer this year with these broadheads. I took a 30 yard with my Drenalin and my arrow blew threw both shoulders. The deer ran a mere 20 yards before collapsing. Would highly recommend these to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

1st bow kill gone

Date:December 10, 2008
Shot my first hog with the G5 and had a good shot with pass through. Disappointed with the blood trail. Stumbled upon blood about 30 yards from the place of entry and tracked pin drop blood for 200 yards through heavy brush only to find it dry up. Hog was found later in the day baking in the sun with the buzzards feasting on it! Looking to move to the steelforce or magnus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 203 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:December 9, 2008
I have already killed 5 pigs just 6 weekends into the season. The penetration on the hogs with the 100 grain was outstanding. The only bad thing about them is that they bend and chip easily. Overall, outstanding product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 204 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virigina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good broadhead, but still looking for perfect...

Date:December 9, 2008
Bowhunting for 10 years. Used mechanicals as well as cut on contact. Would never use mechanicals on any big game other than small deer given my experiences. Started using cut on contact. Was not happy with those with multiple parts. Allow too many variables in bowhunting, something will go wrong. That's the appeal of the G5 Montec. Single piece. No collars, no loose blades. Good flight, but not quite field point flight. Durable. I have literally killed big game, resharpened, reused. (Rocks, trees excluded.) Very sharp out of the box, but using their stone, I can never get them quite as sharp as when they were new. They can be resharpened enough to do the job however. As mentioned, will continue being my only broadhead, but still looking for something better...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 205 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Poygan, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good broadhead!!

Date:December 4, 2008
These broadheads work great! I've been using them for the past two years and haven't lost a deer yet. Both the buck that i shot last year, and the one i took this year ran 60-80 yards. After the shot i could see the blood just pumping out as they ran away... you can't ask for much more than that... and needless the say the blood trials were excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Montec

Date:December 2, 2008
Excellent broadhead....shot 2 does this year that didnt go less than 40 yds before going down. Come out of the package very sharp and these are very durable.
During a brain lapse moment a shot one of these at my bag target in my basement....at 15 yds it blew through the target and hit the basement concret wall.....arrow was destroyed, but the broadhead was in suprisingly good shape. I now use it as my practice head.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 207 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

G5 Montec

Date:December 2, 2008
This is one great broadhead, super tough, you can resharpen them and they fly great, would highly recommend for big game, especially elk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: I.B. Cal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Broadheads

Date:December 1, 2008
I like the fact that I can buy practice broadheads in the same size and shape.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 209 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arlington, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not sharp

Date:November 30, 2008
My brother bought these and I could run my fingers along the blade without being cut. I would not recommend these to anyone. I am going to stick with my muzzy 75, which darted through a buck at 30yds with a 50lb bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 210 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dull, Dull, Dull

Date:November 27, 2008
Product flys very straight but is very dull. I purchased 3 different packs and all three packages were dull. So, I bought the stone to sharpen them (shouldn't have to do that) and they will not sharpen to the level a hunting broadhead should be. Seems like a common problem in this group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 211 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Norwalk, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:November 18, 2008
Outstanding broadheads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! they really do fly like field points. I was very impressed with the penetration power this broadhead delivers.....I shot a doe at 40 yards hit her in the shoulder the G5 and arrow pass clean through. If you are done with mechanicals I would seriously think about giving these a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 212 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carlisle, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best broadhead on the market

Date:November 18, 2008
This is one sweet broadhead. Tunes easily and flys just like a field point out of my Hoyt. I have killed several deer with this broadhead and I recommend it highly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 213 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: 20ft up in Fayette Co PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bustin bone

Date:November 17, 2008
bought these last year but passed on many deer waiting on the man so they sat around for a year waiting for a shot. finally shot a doe off the ground this past Saturday, slightly above me on hillside, quartering to me at 15yds, not ideal but it was an awesome opportunity. the 100gr out of a 65# Matthews 11yr old Feather Max went through shoulder blade, through a rib, crushed the bottom half of the spine {I was shooting uphill} and through rib on the other side and the broadhead and 4" of arrow were sticking out the other side!!!! I do think they need sharpened a bit out of the package, not hard on a diamond stone. they fly 2" high and 2" right from my field tips but when I switch it takes about 4 shots to dial it in. I'm taking them bear hunting Wednesday...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 214 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Pickens, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Overrated!

Date:November 15, 2008
First season using this particular broadhead and very dissappointed in performance and design. Good idea but lacking in factory sharpness and resharpenability! Used the recommended Diamond stone by Montec as well as Arkansas stone in conjuction with leather stropping to remove any burrs on blade edges. Shooting Diamond "Black Ice" at 68 lbs. and carbon shafts at over 250 fps. Poor penetration on Whitetail doe at 24 steps. broadside shot just behind lungs penetrating liver, etc. but no pass thru. Have reason to believe fletching held up a complete pass thru, as I could see the arrow nock extruding her side! Minimal blood loss and no recovery. Dissapointed as any bowhunter would be, as I strive for humane kills. Will go back to replaceable blade designs such as WASP Boss SST, Muzzy or even Slick Tricks. Wouldn't recommend!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 215 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greene County, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blow thru

Date:November 11, 2008
I was not having much luck with mechanicals, so yesterday I used a 100 gr. montec. An 8 point walked by and I took a 24 yard shot. After getting out of the stand and trailing it, I found the arrow blew right threw him and was covered with blood. There was one heck of a blood trail for less than 100 yards. During field dressing, I pulled out the heart and realized 'wow', the broadhead/arrow went clean thru the center of the heart. Lucky shot to get that, but it hit right where I aimed and being so sharp that it passed clear threw this animal amazed me. I'm using them from now on with every deer I harvest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 216 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mandan, North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never Again

Date:November 10, 2008
Never again will I hunt with this broadhead. Not even remotely sharp enough (out of the package). Not enough cutting surface. The blades are not long enough and the sharpness is close to that of a butter knife. If you want to shoot a fixed blade look at GAP or Muzzy... end of story!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 217 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southdakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great broadhead

Date:November 9, 2008
i was hunting one evening in a snow storm. the deer were very active and at the last few minutes of light i stalked up on a doe. when i got within 35 yrds she spotted me and i had to try to shoot at her square on rather than turned so i did my best to place my shot with a 45 mph wind and when i shot i droped her dead. i went to see were my shot was placed and found that between the wind and my difficult stance to shoot i hit her in the jaw bone and it went all the way though the thick bones. i still have not sharpened that broadhead and i have killed two more deer with it since so i would recommend this to any bow hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 218 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lyndhurst VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

"DULL"

Date:November 9, 2008
The montec flies great but leaves a lot to be desired in the sharpness category. I am employed by a razor blade manufacturer and if we produced a blade this dull they would all be in the scrap bin! After several hours with a bench stone I was able to achieve only a mediocre edge at best. With the price compared to other competitors producing much sharper products, a man should be able to spend his time scouting and not sharpening his brand new broadheads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 219 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blood trail

Date:November 5, 2008
I have been using these heads for two years. I shoot them both out of my crossbow and compound bow. I have killed four deer in two years with them.
They seem to fly really well at distances I am comfortable shooting (35 yds and less)
I am not certain that the practice heads fly as the hunting heads do. In my compund, there is an 8 inch difference between the practice blades and hunting blades. Both group well. It doesnt seem to matter out of my cross bow.
Of the four deer I have killed, three ran over 100 yds. One dropped right away, but a limb deflected my arrow and I hit it in the eye. That one would have died from a field tip.
The other three expired cleanly enough, but there was very little blood to find. Twice I had to get my dog to track them. I am colorblind, and need a reasonable amount of blood.
They are well built, easy to sharpen (though sharpness out of the box is inconsistant) and fly great. (you need to line the head with your vanes for consistancy)
These heads represent a great concept. Jus tnot sure that the leave enough blood for me....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 220 for G5 Montec™ Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Racine,Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:October 29, 2008
It went right through the the buck. I was standing 20 yards away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 201-220 of 404