Customer Reviews for PSE PSE Impala Recurve Bow

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PSE PSE Impala Recurve Bow

If you've ever thought about giving traditional archery a try, the Impala is a great entry-level recurve. Distinctive hardwood riser is both beautiful and strong. Take-down design lets you easily break down the bow for pack-in hunts. Riser is drilled and tapped for mounting quiver and stabilizer. Length: 60". Available: Right-hand, Left-hand. Draw weight: 45 lbs., 50 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.952 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Review 1 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Poor

Date:May 29, 2009
Purchased two of these bows, first one arrived strung it and went to find arrows. Within 1 hour of laying on bed strung the bottom limb started cracking and delambing. Four days later the second bow arrived strung it (Yes used bow stringer each time) fired 7 arrows then while holding the bow the bottom limb started cracking and delambing. Dealing with the Manufacturer has been exhausting and downrigjht depressing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: North WI.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor product

Date:March 10, 2007
I purchased this bow and didn't even get to shoot it before the lower limb came apart. The glue in the lamination was so poor it folded right over like a dog leg while it was strung. It was hanging up in my garage for a few days. I returned it for my money back and would never cosider it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TAKE DOWN RECURVE

Date:November 27, 2006
I BOUGHT THIS BOW SO I COULD TAKE A RECURVE ALONG WITH MY COMPOUND ON MOOSE/ELK HUNTS TO USE FOR SMALL GAME. I WAS DISSAPOINTED WITH THE BOW AND RETURNED IT. IT HAD NO CENTER SHOT AND KICKED THE ARROWS SEVERLY TO THE LEFT, THE INSERT FOR THE STABILIZER KEPT FALLING OUT UNTIL IT WAS LOST. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOW AND AM A LITTLE DISAPOINTED THAT PSE WOULD PUT IT OUT!
RLC1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recurve Review

Date:July 5, 2009
This hard wood recurve is a great bow to start off with in traditional archery. It it great to use flinging arrows around the house, bowfishing, and hunting. It is a great all around bow. A little loud but with todays silencing products it wouldn't matter. I would recommend this bow to anyone getting started or someone who wants a good bowfishing bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great, accurate bow for the price

Date:April 29, 2009
I got this bow last summer to give traditional archery a try. It shoots much better than I expected- last week I shot a 3" group at 25 yds (not professional grade... but better than I expected to ever do). You can add a stabilizer, fishing reel, or a quiver (I like it). If you do intend to purchase one, I would go ahead and get a higher quality rest than the plastic sticker type. Great bow for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice

Date:November 20, 2008
Nice bow for the $$$.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: yorkton,sask.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

flying impala

Date:February 27, 2008
this great bow for anybody to buy. the only problem was that plastic rest they give you with it. is not the best things in the world to be using it started to come apart just after a few shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bow for the money.

Date:October 30, 2007
I bought this bow about a year ago. It has taken many shots and arrow combinations to get it right. If you put the time into this bow, it will be an effective target and hunting bow. It is great for entry level traditional archers, but I will probably be moving up to a better, quicker bow now that I have gotten comfortable with shooting instinctively.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Two thumbs up to the Impala

Date:April 25, 2007
This bow would have received 5 stars but my first one had to be returned because the top limb broke! The return was painless but caused some delay in my shooting. This bow is very accurate but because it is not a center shot bow you have to be careful with arrow spine. My 50# Impala kicked 2117's a bit left but when I switched to 2013's the arrows began to fly straight to the x-ring!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, Ca Bird Hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good all around bow

Date:April 3, 2007
I used this bow for turkey hunting last weekend and It worked perfectly. I am going to buy a diffrent aroow stabalizer as the plastic one that comes with the bow is a little cheap. Great bow for the money especialy if you are just getting into re-curve bow's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not to Bad

Date:December 31, 2006
Nice enrty level bow. Have no problem with the way it shoots. The brass insert for the stabilizer did fall out after the first two dozen shots, put it back in with some super glue. Am over all happy with the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wells,Vt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good value

Date:December 16, 2006
A great beginner's bow,or one for someone on a budget.For it's price you get what you pay for...A no frills,cheap shooter.I like it.I'm going to upgrade bows and this one will become my bowfishing setup bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great beginners bow for hunting

Date:October 25, 2006
I bought all kinds of expensive recurves and compound but still could not find the right bow until now. The Impala is light and easy to string and fire. It takes little time to get the feel for the bow. I would recomend this bow to anyone for pleasure shooting are hunting i use this bow for both.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newell,WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works geat

Date:December 29, 2009
Just got this bow for Christmas and i love it took it out shot about 200 times and it shot geat. One thing is you mite want to get the silancers on it. i set it up to be traditonal i put the bear hair rest on it looks great. The best arrows to shoot out of them is the Bemon ISC Hunters 400.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: salina, kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very functional easy to put together and shoot

Date:March 31, 2009
the bow itself has nice lines and easy to put together and is easy to string for a first timer if your an amature archeryman as I am this the bow for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gilman, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bowfishing

Date:February 24, 2009
Great for bowfishing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisville, Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Recurve Bow

Date:December 3, 2008
Shoots good right out of the box. It looks to be built well and has a nice finish. I hope to stick a deer with it next season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Two Rivers WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bow for the money

Date:October 16, 2008
I have been shooting Traditional Archery for 40 years. I have shot many recurves and long bows costing a lot more than this bow but this is one of the best bows I have found for the price.
I purchased this bow as a small game bow in 45 lbs but once I recieved it and shot it, I believe I am going to use it for Whitetail also.
I plan on ordering another set of limbs,55lbs,have not yet decided.
If you are looking for an inexpensive bow that will cast an arrow and shoot great than this is the bow for you. I dont think you will be dissapointed.
The only thing that I personaly will change is the string. I don't really care for continuous loop strings so I am making up a Flemish spliced for it. They are quieter and I feel as though they perform better than the stock string.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Poth, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impala Rocks the House

Date:June 17, 2008
I bought this bow as my first recurve after reading all the reviews and shooting just a few. To be honest the price was a huge factor in my decision. I wasn't sure if i was going to like trad. shooting so i didn't want to spend a lot of money. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the bow was very forgiving and a great learning tool. Without a doubt I would recommend this bow to anyone who is thinking about getting into trad. archery and doesn't want to spend a lot of money to find out if they like it. My only advice is to get a poundage that you will grow into if you are just a starter. Maybe 5#'s more than you think. Trust me, if you shoot any at all you WILL grow into it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PSE Impala Recurve Bow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cordova Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bow

Date:June 1, 2008
dude....i dunno what these other guys are complaining about, but this is a great bow...no limbs folded like other reviews said, and the plastic rest is fine for shooting untill you buy a fancy one, it does need a wee bit of super glue to hold it on though...
and if you dont like instinctive shooting....its got holes predrilled and tapped with brass fittings for sites, mounted quivers, and stabilizers.
all around, its a great bow, very accurate
and shipping was fairly quick...even up here in alaska
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 21