Customer Reviews for BEAR ARCHERY Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow

BEAR ARCHERY Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow

This premium longbow features a unique reflex-deflex design that practically eliminates hand shock and significantly improves hunting arrow performance. The smooth-drawing limbs make it both quick and stable. A hand locator traditional grip and arrow shelf are both custom covered in genuine rough-out leather. The 64" high-performance length will comfortably handle personal draw lengths from 26" and up. Length: 64". Draw weight: Right Hand - 50 lbs., 55 lbs., 60 lbs. Left Hand - 55 lbs. only.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Review 1 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Best Bow for the Buck

By
Location: SE UT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Perfect bow for the beginner or seasoned hunter. Zero stack zero hand shock.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2015

Total package. Great Bow!

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bow looks better in person. Excellent finish. Shoots even better than it looks. Shoots extremely quiet! . Everything I wanted and more. Highly recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2013

Longbow

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Nice smooth bow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013

nice bow

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this is a very underated bow ,I also got a slip over quiver and used vintage bear arrows , this bow will do anything the expensive custom bows do , well made , you will be happy with it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2013

Great Bow

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I'm new to traditional bows so I did a lot of research, this bow is great. I have shot a compound for years and for me this is a lot more fun. I plan on getting some arrows better suited for a longbow than what I have now. Hope to be good enough with it by deer season to hunt with it, I think I will be. Can't wait for deer season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2012

Bear Montana

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
What can I say? Love it so much I bought one in 40#
for my wife. Was using a compound I'd had for
years but with the need for Tri-Focals a couple years
ago, I got to where I could not see the sights. Gave it
to my Son-in-law when I go my 50# Montana. I'd forgot
how relaxing an afternoon of bow shooting could be.
5 stars all the way. Smooth, easy draw; quiet and
easy to shoot. This is Archery again.
Dano
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2012

Montana Longbow

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Accurate, nice to look at, and very easy to shoot for a 55 lb draw (60 lbs at my draw length of 29 ").
Don't be afraid to go for the upper draw weights if you want to buy one, you will find it quite shootable..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

Great Longbow

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The Montana longbow is a great value for the price.
The bow shoots as well or better than other more expensive bows I have used. Bear has a winner with the Montana.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

A REALLY GREAT BOW!!

By
Location: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been traditional archery oriented for years, but have always shot a recurve. I decided to give the longbow a try and researched many products. I settled on the Montana as an "entry level" bow and figured that I would trade up if I decided to stick with the longbow. I couldn't be more pleased - and I can't imagine why I would ever part with this bow - it is a smooth shooter tht fits the hand comfortably and sends the arrows right where they should go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Could Easily be the best Deal in Traditional Bows

By
The Montana Bow is extremely quiet, light, powerful and accurate. It almost makes you feel like it should cost a $100 more. When matched up to other bows of more money you can only say, I'll take 1 Montana Longbow and a recurve please. It is the perfect bow to add to your collection or to only have 1 traditional bow to shoot and enjoy...it is that good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2011

Great longbow!

By
This is my first longbow and I can't put it down! Cabela's provided excellent service and Bear did a great job with this great quality product. I recommend to beginners and experts alike. Overall great bow!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2011

great bow

By
Location: New Haven, VT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I like this bow alot! it's very fast and accurate and reasonably quiet!
Being a lefty, I had to get the only choice of 55# and it took awhile to get use to it but since I have, I can shoot it pretty well!
The grip will have to be changed eventually but what the heck!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2011

No regrets

By
Location: alaska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Well made bow. Accurate at the range and quiet enough to hunt with. Have about 2000 shots fired with no problems. you will need to replace the fabric on the shelf after extensive use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2011

Broke during first stringing

By
Location: Medford, NJ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Went to string up the bow for the first time (using a stringer, didn't try stepping through like an idiot), heard a loud pop when I was about halfway there. Slowly let off the stringer and examined bow. Bow had delaminated on top limb, right side. Sent back for refund. I'm giving it a two because I think mine was a fluke and I'm thinking 60# is too much to expect from a bow at this price range. Would recommend getting the lighter draw if you're set on this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2011

Nice Bow

By
This is a really good long bow. It draws and shoots well. I actually shoot this better than my compound bow with sights.
One caution is to use a glove on the hand that holds the bow. I drove the vien of a feather into my thumb when the arrow passed over it and I was hold it too close to the rest.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2010

Quiet, strong

By
Location: Salt Lake City
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Silent and powerful. Constantly getting commented at how silent the bow is on release and asked what I have done to quiet it. Answer: Nothing.
Great bow.
Downside: The little medallion set into the side of the bow keeps falling out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2010

FRED BEAR MONTANA 60# Draw

By
Location: Perkiomenville, PA
purchased this bow after christmas began shooting it and i cant believe how forgiving this bow is it shoots well its quiet and it has plenty of arrow speed for great penetration im new with a longbow but i do shoot compound and im looking for ward to take this bow into the field adds a new challenge to hunting technology is fun but tradition is fullfilling
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2009

lonbow reviews

By
I am very happy with this bow shoots well
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2009

great

By
another great product from from bear archery.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2009

Fred Bear Montana Longbow

By
Location: Palisade, CO
For the men and women who've always thought about going back or trying traditional archery for the first time this is a great starter bow. Very forgiving, no hand shock, doesn't stack up at all and still a reliable Bear product.
Tinman
Orchard's East
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 29