Customer Reviews for BEAR ARCHERY Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow

BEAR ARCHERY Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow

This premium longbow features a unique reflex-deflex design that practically eliminates hand shock and significantly improves hunting arrow performance. The smooth-drawing limbs make it both quick and stable. A hand locator traditional grip and arrow shelf are both custom covered in genuine rough-out leather. The 64" high-performance length will comfortably handle personal draw lengths from 26" and up. Length: 64". Draw weight: Right Hand - 50 lbs., 55 lbs., 60 lbs. Left Hand - 55 lbs. only.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
27 out of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Review 1 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SE UT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Bow for the Buck

Date:January 16, 2012
Perfect bow for the beginner or seasoned hunter. Zero stack zero hand shock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Longbow

Date:November 19, 2013
Nice smooth bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice bow

Date:September 30, 2013
this is a very underated bow ,I also got a slip over quiver and used vintage bear arrows , this bow will do anything the expensive custom bows do , well made , you will be happy with it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bow

Date:June 8, 2013
I'm new to traditional bows so I did a lot of research, this bow is great. I have shot a compound for years and for me this is a lot more fun. I plan on getting some arrows better suited for a longbow than what I have now. Hope to be good enough with it by deer season to hunt with it, I think I will be. Can't wait for deer season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear Montana

Date:October 2, 2012
What can I say? Love it so much I bought one in 40#
for my wife. Was using a compound I'd had for
years but with the need for Tri-Focals a couple years
ago, I got to where I could not see the sights. Gave it
to my Son-in-law when I go my 50# Montana. I'd forgot
how relaxing an afternoon of bow shooting could be.
5 stars all the way. Smooth, easy draw; quiet and
easy to shoot. This is Archery again.
Dano
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Montana Longbow

Date:April 29, 2012
Accurate, nice to look at, and very easy to shoot for a 55 lb draw (60 lbs at my draw length of 29 ").
Don't be afraid to go for the upper draw weights if you want to buy one, you will find it quite shootable..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Longbow

Date:April 10, 2012
The Montana longbow is a great value for the price.
The bow shoots as well or better than other more expensive bows I have used. Bear has a winner with the Montana.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A REALLY GREAT BOW!!

Date:January 11, 2012
I have been traditional archery oriented for years, but have always shot a recurve. I decided to give the longbow a try and researched many products. I settled on the Montana as an "entry level" bow and figured that I would trade up if I decided to stick with the longbow. I couldn't be more pleased - and I can't imagine why I would ever part with this bow - it is a smooth shooter tht fits the hand comfortably and sends the arrows right where they should go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Could Easily be the best Deal in Traditional Bows

Date:January 11, 2012
The Montana Bow is extremely quiet, light, powerful and accurate. It almost makes you feel like it should cost a $100 more. When matched up to other bows of more money you can only say, I'll take 1 Montana Longbow and a recurve please. It is the perfect bow to add to your collection or to only have 1 traditional bow to shoot and enjoy...it is that good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great longbow!

Date:October 23, 2011
This is my first longbow and I can't put it down! Cabela's provided excellent service and Bear did a great job with this great quality product. I recommend to beginners and experts alike. Overall great bow!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Haven, VT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bow

Date:September 7, 2011
I like this bow alot! it's very fast and accurate and reasonably quiet!
Being a lefty, I had to get the only choice of 55# and it took awhile to get use to it but since I have, I can shoot it pretty well!
The grip will have to be changed eventually but what the heck!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: alaska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No regrets

Date:March 14, 2011
Well made bow. Accurate at the range and quiet enough to hunt with. Have about 2000 shots fired with no problems. you will need to replace the fabric on the shelf after extensive use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Medford, NJ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Broke during first stringing

Date:February 22, 2011
Went to string up the bow for the first time (using a stringer, didn't try stepping through like an idiot), heard a loud pop when I was about halfway there. Slowly let off the stringer and examined bow. Bow had delaminated on top limb, right side. Sent back for refund. I'm giving it a two because I think mine was a fluke and I'm thinking 60# is too much to expect from a bow at this price range. Would recommend getting the lighter draw if you're set on this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Bow

Date:January 26, 2011
This is a really good long bow. It draws and shoots well. I actually shoot this better than my compound bow with sights.
One caution is to use a glove on the hand that holds the bow. I drove the vien of a feather into my thumb when the arrow passed over it and I was hold it too close to the rest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quiet, strong

Date:July 4, 2010
Silent and powerful. Constantly getting commented at how silent the bow is on release and asked what I have done to quiet it. Answer: Nothing.
Great bow.
Downside: The little medallion set into the side of the bow keeps falling out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Perkiomenville, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FRED BEAR MONTANA 60# Draw

Date:January 3, 2010
purchased this bow after christmas began shooting it and i cant believe how forgiving this bow is it shoots well its quiet and it has plenty of arrow speed for great penetration im new with a longbow but i do shoot compound and im looking for ward to take this bow into the field adds a new challenge to hunting technology is fun but tradition is fullfilling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

lonbow reviews

Date:August 5, 2009
I am very happy with this bow shoots well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:July 15, 2009
another great product from from bear archery.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Palisade, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fred Bear Montana Longbow

Date:May 26, 2009
For the men and women who've always thought about going back or trying traditional archery for the first time this is a great starter bow. Very forgiving, no hand shock, doesn't stack up at all and still a reliable Bear product.
Tinman
Orchard's East
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bear® Archery Fred Bear Montana Longbow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elyria, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fred Bear Montana longbow

Date:March 23, 2009
I purchased one of these back in 98. I still have it and it still shoots as great as it did out of the box. The first shot I made with it was a bullseye at 40 yards. After that I knew it was a keeper. Over the years I have looked at and tested other longbows, but none seem as smooth as this. The spirit of Fred Bear lives on in this bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28