Customer Reviews for Cheater Bow Sling

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cheater Bow Sling

The only hunting sling that does not have to be removed while shooting. In addition to allowing you to conveniently carry your bow on your back, the fully adjustable Cheater Sling also greatly improves stability while at full draw. Attaches in seconds. Fits most compound bows.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.722 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
14 out of 18(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cheater Bow Sling
Review 1 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shootin' with the cheater

Date:April 7, 2008
I have hunted with guns since I was a kid but have never been able to bow hunt due to the fact that I have a bad shoulder and can't hold my arms very stable. I purchased a bow at the end of this past deer season and began practicing with it anyway. I'm not a bad shot but, I have a hard time keeping my bow still and fixed on the bullseye at any distance. A buddy of mine had the cheater sling and let me try it. WOW! Right off the bat I began hitting the mark in a pattern the size of a Dixie cup! I know that's not great for the seasoned vets, but knowing how I shot before that's an improvement for me. I bought a cheater sling of my own and now shoot with it everytime. It makes it easy to carry my bow to my hunting spot and let's keep my hands free to open gates, move brush or whatever. I love this sling. I won't shoot without it. It doesn't smell as bad as some say and it just works great. I would recommend this product to anyone (I'm actually shooting better now than my buddies who have bowhunted for years!)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Austin, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

CHEATING CHEATER BOW SLING

Date:March 26, 2008
THE CHEATER BOW SLING WILL STINK UP YOUR HOUSE, YOUR BOW CASE AND EQUIPMENT, YOUR VEHICLE AND THE WOODS YOU'RE HUNTING IN. IT WILL ALSO RUIN YOUR HUNT. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO REMOVE THE SMELL FROM THE SLING. HONEST.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kankakee, Il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:November 5, 2007
The sling is awesome, I never had a problem with the smell on mine, I leave my bow out of the plastic case. When I put my bow in the case I have an earth disc in the case and I litely spray everything down with scent neutralizer.
I love walking into the woods with my hands free, I use a summit clearshot stand and I don't need to use a bow holder when eating or resting in the stand. I practice shooting with it and don't take it off, it's awesome...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PRODUCT, NOTHING BETTER!

Date:October 29, 2007
I bought my first cheater sling at a gun show more than 10 years ago. I wouldn't hunt without one. In fact I still use my original one, it's still in perfect shape. I read the other reviews and I remember that it was hard getting used to at first and it did smell pretty strong but after a few practice rounds and some scent away sprayed on it, it worked great. It keeps my bow rock steady and I use it when I'm seated in my stand to hold my bow upright. I never remove it. It is one of the best accessories I have ever bought for my bow.
Once you get used to it you will never hunt without one.
Good Hunting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bow Sling

Date:October 8, 2007
Pretty impressed with this item, somebody was definately thinking outside the box on this one. Good job!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stinky gear

Date:September 12, 2007
A good bow sling for widely ranging stalkers....as long as your target has no sense of smell....e.g. turkey bow hunters! The rubber sling really stinks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tucson, Az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheater bow sling

Date:August 27, 2007
Never knew I could be this steady, takes some getting used to but worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Pole AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cheater bow sling

Date:August 13, 2007
great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PITTSBURGH, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CHEATER BOW SLING

Date:July 24, 2007
I'VE BEEN USING THE CHEATER BOW SLING FOR ABOUT 10 - 12 YEARS...I PURCHASED MY 2ND SLING ONLY BECAUSE I BOUGHT A NEW BOW...THE 1ST ONE IS STILL IN GREAT SHAPE...
MY QUESTION IS THIS - AM I THE ONLY ONE IN THE WORLD TO REVERSE HIS QUIVER SO THAT THE FLETCHING FACES UPWARD INSTEAD OF DOWN? BY REVERSING THE QUIVER YOU CAN USE THE SLING TO STILL HUNT. THE PART 0F THE QUIVER (WHICH HOLDS THE BROADHEADS) PERFECTLY RESTS ON YOUR THIGH. THE BROADHEADS ARE ANCHORED DEEP ENOUGH IN THE QUIVER TO NOT BE AN ISSUE.
I BEEN HUNTING WITH THIS CONFIGURATION FOR AS LONG AS I'VE HAD THE CHEATER SLING.
THINK ABOUT IT---
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This is a waste of money.

Date:May 7, 2007
This is a waste of money. It smells like rubber and you could never hunt with it. Unless the animal your hunting can't smell. I don't think it helps to support the bow like it says it does. I'm sending mine back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sling Odour

Date:April 10, 2007
Thank you for giving me the oppertunity to give our review of your Cheater Bow Sling.
A friend and I mainly use the Sling for "Stalking" an animal and find the sling excellent in construction and ease of use for this purpose, as carrying a Bow over long distances or long periods of time can become quite uncomfortable.
We have found one Major problem in that our Buck/Wild Animals have extremely sensitive noses and as most of our hunting areas have Ticks we need to use a Tick stray which does not give away our presence. Although difficult to find" we can get hold of a very effective Citrus sented Tick spray.
The problem with the Sling comes in at the Rubber used in it's constuction has a highly potent Rubber odour which causes our Buck/Wild Animals to head for cover at the slightest wiff of the rubber odour as it is totally foreign to them.
I would have undoubtedly given the Sling a 5 Star rating had it not been for this Rubber Odour Problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thrilled

Date:November 27, 2006
The Cheater Bow Sling is a must for any bow hunter that moves through the woods. While hunting Elk in western Oregon, we must from time to time move from one area to another. The Cheater takes weight off your carry arm, and allows you to completely let go of the bow when you need your hand for other stuff. It also helps to stabalize your bow at draw, and is not in the way at all. I use it even when I'm just practice shooting. After I bought it, my hunting buddy said I was smart. That's the first time he ever said I was smart.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

sling

Date:November 24, 2006
the use of this bow sling is excellent,but it smells like i am in a tire store. i have had mine for about three months and i can still smell it, and if i can smell it my game can smell it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Added Stability

Date:November 21, 2006
I am a fairly new bow hunter and thought I could benefit from this sling. I think it would work well, but my bow has split limbs and the sling just didn't fit properly (more for single limbs). I did, however, like the stability it provided once attached, again just a bit off since my bow has split limbs. I would say if you need that "extra" edge to keep your bow stable and do not mind the added bulk, this is a good sling. Additionally, I did like how you could carry the weight of your bow on your shoulder, eliminating carrying the bow with your hand (while hunting). Would purchase a new one if they made for split limbs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eva, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheater Bow Sling

Date:November 21, 2006
The Cheater Bow Sling is a great product for bow hunters. I purchased mine online without ever trying it out and I was completely pleased with it. Carrying a bow into the woods can be frustrating when you have to put it down to do something. The Cheater Bow Sling allows you to have your hands free when you need to, but also have the security of knowing that you can pull it up and shoot at any time. The only downfall is that after a while it can get uncomfortable around your neck. Another feature that can be considered good or bad is that it is very difficult to unsnap off of your bow. Therefore, it is very secure, but if you need to get it off it takes some effort.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mesa, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ELK HUNTING WITH THE CHEATER BOW SLING

Date:November 20, 2006
The Cheater bow sling is ideal for the stalk hunting situations as it is the only sling that does not need to be removed to shoot your bow. The Cheater gives you a precious seconds by having your bow in a ready to fire position. The Cheater improves your shot accuracy by keeping your arm rested and also providing another anchor point to help steady your bow when your trophy appears. The cheater lets you use both hand to use your binoculars. I hunted elk for eight days in Arizona, walking many miles, but was able to make a double lung shot on a 330 6x6 bull with my Cheater bow sling. I will always use a Cheater bow sling on future archery expeditions.
Happy hunting,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Carroll County, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheaters never win

Date:November 20, 2006
I do alot of still hunting so I thought this may be the sling for me. It's just not right. When trying to shoot with it the way it is recomended it pulls the bow at an odd angle. I'll just stick with carrying my bow in hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cheater Bow Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: woodstock, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheater Bow Sling

Date:October 15, 2006
This bow sling is made mostly of semi-stretchy rubber with a strip of nylon that goes around your arm and is adjustable to different size shooters. This sling is awesome you can shoot with it or were it in the treestand or while stalk hunting. It will help you steady your bow for target practice without any resighting for use. A pad under the arm would be the only improvement I can think of if you have a heavy bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.