Customer Reviews for NAP NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads

NAP NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads

The Spitfire 3-Blade Broadheads have a patented blade retention system that eliminates the need for rubber bands and O-rings. The scooped-out Slimline ferrule delivers superior flight and unparalleled penetration. All blades are ground, honed and stropped. Per 3. Available: 85-grain, 1-1/4" cutting diameter 100-grain, 1-1/2" cutting diameter 125-grain, 1-1/2" cutting diameter
Overall Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 183 reviews
5 Stars
133
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
10
1 Star
13
157 out of 183(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Review 41 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ALABAMA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great broadhead

Date:February 23, 2011
I have harvested over a dozen deer with this broadhead--using both a compound bow and crossbow. Large exit wounds and good blood trails are the norm. They fly like just like my fieldpoints...no adj from the range to the woods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ecxellent product

Date:February 18, 2011
I shot a doe at 30 yards with this expandable. The arrow passed through both lungs. Entrance and exit wound gushed blood like a garden hose turned on halfway. Deer dropped in 18 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NAP Broadhead

Date:February 17, 2011
First kill with retractable broad heads and as clean and quick as Thunderhead fixed blades. Fly as well as field tips
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Schaumburg, Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No more fixed blade broadheads!!!

Date:February 3, 2011
Last bow season, I shot a nice whitetail buck with a fixed blade broadhead. I shot him broadside standing at 15 yards, so I know I made a good shot. Still he ran off, and I followed the blood trail for about 150 yards before I lost it. That same week I switched to Spitfire Mechanical Broadheads. I have since shot 2 more deer with the same bow. The first ran about 15 yards before expiring, and the second ran about 25 yards. Entrance and exit wounds are devastating!!! I'm a believer....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Penna.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'm fixed for this mechanical

Date:February 3, 2011
Great product. I like chisel head better than razor tip that you find on comparable Rage, and like Rage, no rubber bands to contend with as with other similarly designed retractable bladed broadheads, but pricing wise think better value when offered at a three or more dollar discount than regular suggested or sticker price but still nonethless more expensive than cabelas brand of similar mechanical broadhead. Perfect for crossbow use. Would have given a "5" star rating but price knocked it down a point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rhode Island
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE BROADHEAD

Date:January 24, 2011
a nice mechanical broadhead that performs well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: College Station, TX
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Mechanical Heads

Date:January 20, 2011
I have used fixed 3 blade Thunderheads for years. I was experimenting with mechanical heads & tried these on the recommendation of friends. 2 years now & they have not failed me yet. They deploy well (without O rings!) & create a nice wound channel. I have not used them on hogs yet, but they work great on deer, bobcats, coons, & soft skinned game. 50 yards is the longest track I've had to make so far on a deer w/ a fair blood trail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Flora, IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really good broadhead.

Date:January 19, 2011
Performs well. Opens up perfectly when you hit the animal. Does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Mechanical Broadhead

Date:January 19, 2011
Purchased along with one of my archery hunting partners, for use with a crossbow. I didn't get a shot this year, but he took a fine buck at about 25 yards. Thru and thru shot with the deer not even acting like it had been hit. Walked about 30 feet and dropped. Impressive cutting diameter... performed as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: lewisburg.wv
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

killed deer pass through quartering towards

Date:January 18, 2011
did the job this year quartering towards me at 40 yards, pass through.big hole. it only went 35 yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Iowa's Big Deer Mecca
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spitfire's do the job

Date:January 18, 2011
I've been using NAP Spitfire Broadheads since they came out, and they have never failed to do their job. They fly like field points, are extremely reliable, stay closed during flight (very important), and are tough. I've brought down a number of 250#+ deer,
and the Spitfires blow through the boiler room, never going more than 60 yards to a recovery. I only wish they would come back out with their 2 blade design. I think they're even more deadly than the three blade design, especially with light poundage bows (my wife shoots too). It's also easy to replace blades and components, adding extra value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N.Y.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice buck 2010

Date:January 18, 2011
great broadhead 45 yards out , fly's true thanks NAP SPITFIRE. SHOOTS JUST LIKE THE TARGET TIPS I USE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Montgomery County Tennessee, Clarksville
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NAP Spitfire 3 blade mechanicals.

Date:January 18, 2011
JUNK. Two of the three were way off weight. 5 grams aint much till ya need it. Flight of my arrows change severly. The one I did manage to use @ 25 yrds didnt penitrate fully, so I had to track ruffedup leaves till she broke the arrow shaft off. Never ever had that problem with Muzzy or Grim Reaper even @ 40 yrds. I just threw them away, wasnt worth the excuses NOR the shipping to return them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bet for expandables

Date:January 14, 2011
shot two deer this year in pa. and the blood trail was extreme!! both shots were quartering away. have been using nap spitfire for years without one problem. they fly exactly as field points out of my recently purchased crossbow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alberta, Canada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Reliable...

Date:December 28, 2010
I have been using the Spits ever since they hit the market years ago. Call it "lucky" if you may, but I have never had a failure with this head. My current bow set-up is a Hoyt Maxxis 31 set at 71 lbs with a 30 1/2" draw. I use ACC 3-60's and my bow speed with my hunting arrows is 307fps. This year I took a bull moose at 52 yards. Complete pass through after breaking through a rib on the opposite side. He travelled less than 70 yards.
This isn't an uncommon occurance. Living in Alberta gives me the opportunity to hunt several species during an extremely liberal archery season (August to December). I've taken several of the "tougher" animals like moose, elk and bears with the Spitfires. In almost every case, I've managed to find my broadhead and found they have worked as expected.
Like every other mechanical on the market, I wouldn't suggest using them for draw weights less than 60 pounds and speeds under 260 fps. For those situations, a good fixed blade will outperform the mechanical every time.
If you're looking for a proven performer in the mechanical broadhead category, this is the one you can rely on time after time.
Some of the features I also like is the ability to purchase practice blades for sighting in. They are identical in weight and flight characteristics. The .027 blades easily go through ribs and shoulder blades without breaking. It is easy to replace the blades. The hidden retainer clip eliminates any need for elastic bands and keep the blade closed in flight yet designed well enough to open on impact.
Of course, there isn't a broadhead made that can replace accuracy and well placed shots. Practice a lot and stay safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoked!

Date:December 8, 2010
These broadheads are amazing!!!! i shot a spike at 15 yards and he ran 60 and found him the wound was huge!! this did so much damage as we were lesuirly walking the blood trail we were findig chunks of lung. Also its competitor RAGE has nothing on these. ive seen three dear that have been shotn with the rage all good shts. one was a HUGE 8 and all of them were lost. Then my friend got a doe good shot but the thing survived over night and we jumped it into a neighborhood and had to wait till the next morning....Anyways... if your choice comes down to the RAGE or SPITFIRE choose these. The rage mite have 2" cutting daimeter but that doesnt matter if it doesn cut and u lose blades...GO SPITFIRE!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Angle shots

Date:November 25, 2010
I have been using spit fire broadheads for about ten years and have had great sucess with them. I was amazed by the exit hole on the first deer I shot with the spit fire. I use a mathews bow and tryed several other broadheads before trying the spit fire. They fly great.
After reading all the other reviews and what had happened to me this year I do have to agree with others about angle shots defecting. All the deer I have shot broadside have gone done within site and thinking back have about 4 deer that were quatering shots and everyone has had defliction. This years buck had me scratching my head. I did recover it but I made a prefect middle of the chest shot and arrow should have come out right behind the leg on the other side. Instead the arrow turned came out at the base of the sternum. With the arrow going from traveling forward in the chest to going backward and coming out at the base of the sternum did make for a long recovery. The only thing I can come up with for the deflection is with an angle shot one or two blades are opening before the other or with an angle shot a blade is make contact with deer at the same time the point is causing a deflection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N/W Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Old Faithful

Date:November 21, 2010
All the deer I have shot shot with this broadhead have expired within view of my tree stand except one, and this buck went less than 75 yards. This holds true with either a compound or crossbow. I have never had one fail yet. Flies straight and true with large entry and exit wounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Broadhead EVER MADEE

Date:November 8, 2010
This broad head is crazy! They fly like field tips and cut hugeee wholes. I shot a nice 7 point at 20 yards and got a complete pass through and the broadhead is still very sharp and looks like new.I could have put a baseball in the exit whole!! I will always use the spitfire, i highly recomend it, you will be very impressed and happy with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for NAP Spitfire 3-Blade Mechanical Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Howell, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Heartbreak...

Date:November 7, 2010
In all honesty, I would have given a zero if I had written this review 2 days ago when I should have. The only reason I gave it a 2 is because I killed 1 deer with them with good results.
I bought these broadheads with high hopes and knowing that I liked NAP products and wanted field point accuracy. That, I got, no problem. My first deer I shot with these was quartering away at a just about 45 degree angle from my stand height and quartering away angle. I shot it through the heart and it hit the far shoulder blade. No pass through. I was super impressed by the blood trail, especially for no pass through. On recovery, the broadhead left a very nice sized hole. This is the positive.
The next deer i shot...a little high (probably high single lung) hit far shoulder and stopped. Tracked that deer for near 5 hours with little blood and never found.
The real downer...I've been hunting a monster 8 behind my house all season...my friend missed it twice and I'd been aching for a shot at it. Finally the time came. Less than 15 yards...I took aim...release, smoked him. He kicked out and darn near flipped over then bolted and I was pumped. I waited then looked for blood. Found some and followed it...found my arrow 60 yards away in tact...and was heart broken to pick it up to see the head did not open. Tracked and tracked the deer blood dried up quickly...heartbroken...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 183