Customer Reviews for WASP ARCHERY WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads

WASP ARCHERY WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads

WASP'S hot new Jak Hammer Broadheads have a 3-blade design that opens on impact. This concept gives you more cutting power and a true flight that is easy to tune. These super sharp expandable blades have a thickness of .036" that create up to a 1-3/4" cutting diameter. Per 3. Available: 75-grain, 1-1/4" diameter 100-grain, 1-3/4" diameter 125-grain, 1-3/4" diameter
Overall Customer Rating:
4.658 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
103 out of 111(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Review 21 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2007

You can't go wrong with the Jak-Hammer

By
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
I have harvested many deer with these broadheads. Most were complete pass thoughs. On a big doe that I shot last year, the broadhead smashed though one rib bone on the way in and two of the blades each cut through there own rib on the way out. Three ribs and the arrow kept on going. The head has also harvested a few deer when I made a less than perfect shot. A smaller head may not have cleanly killed these deer. The heads also hold up well. I have some heads that have killed 4 or 5 deer. New blades can be a little tricky to install but not too bad.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

Wasp Jackhammer SST

By
Location: New Mexico
This is a great broadhead. I use alot of different heads both fixed and mech. This is the best mech. head made in my opinion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2008

wasp jakhammer

By
Location: gallia co., OH
the wasp jakhammer is the best head ive used. always complete pass through deer never goes farther than 40 yds. i shot a 133" p&y buck and it ran about 15 yds. love the blood trail. i use 100 gr. 1 3/4 heads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2008

Wasp Jak-Hammer 125 gr

By
Location: Schaghticoke, NY
I archery hunt with 5 friends that believe lighter and smaller is better. I believe bigger is better. I elk hunt using the Wasp Jak-Hammer 125 gr with a cut length of 1 3/4 inchs. This broadhead is more than its advertiement states. In 2007 I arrowed a 6 by 5 bull elk at 22 yards. The entry hole was 1 3/4 across, all 3 blades opened, and the exit hole was amazingly larger.
I have since purchased 3 new Jak-Hammer broadheads for this years hunt. Buy them , you won't regret it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2008

Jak Hammer SST 100

By
Location: Helena, MT
Worked great, shot my first bull (6X6) on my first day bow hunting. Broke a rib entering, took out both lungs and broke a rib upon exit. Arrow was 20 yards beyond impact firmly stuck in the ground.
I like not having to worry about the head in my quiver having exposed blades.
Good hunting all!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2008

Questionable Durabilty

By
Location: WV
As a bran new archer honestly having never take a deer yet I can say that I just entered whitetail archery hunting in 2007. I was shocked at the price of broadheads and choose to try the wasps as they are under 30 dollars. For that they get 2 stars. I quickly found out that broadheads at least for me dont fly like field tips. Since November of 2007 I have practied on average 2 times a week to get my skills up both with field points and the wasp broadhead. Bought 2 packs so far. Out of the first pack I had one BH sort of come unralived if you can believe that and just now one of the blades bent on one from my second package. Both heads were shot into a soft Block target around 30 times each. Neither has hit dirt or ground etc. Maybe these heads arent meant to shoot that much, but as someone serious about not wounding an animal I at least need a BH with enough quailty to shoot into a soft target like, THE BLOCK without getting damaged to the point I cant practice with it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2008

Great broadheads

By
WOW! I have shot all types of broadheads, both mechanical and fixed, and the jackhammers are by far the best. One reason I like them so much is because all I have to do is sight my bow in with fieldpoints and I am ready to go. They fly the same, which makes it really nice because I don't have to tear up my target trying to sight my bow in with them. I shoot the 100 grain just because I prefer a lighter arrow and the entry and exits holes are just as they advertise- an inch and three quarters or larger. I will continue to use this product for a long time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2008

Target to Trail

By
Location: Phx,AZ
I have used fixed broadheads before i bought these jackhammers. I shot some field tips with the same weight so i got use to the weight. then i puit these on some easton aluminum arrow shafts. I am shooting 100 grn. 1 3/4 dia cutting. i shot 3 of the 6 that i will use on my up coming elk hunt and verified thru my target block out of 3 arrows all 3 blades on 3 arrows opened up. If this is confirmed on target @ 40 yds @ 65 lb draw shooting 277 fps on a PSE Beast. I shot a coyote at 44yds luck shot and droped it within 3 yards. They are as advertised, leave a good blood trail and no malfunctions @ 40yds. Best mechs i have ever bought. would highly reccomend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2008

absolutely

By
I would absolutely recomend these.
My first deer with these heads went less than 10 yrds.
I used an old Bear bow and shot about 20 yrd. Flew straight, putctured deer, and went 10 yrds. The hole that my 125 grn put in was unbelievable. With these heads it alows a little room for error. I'm impressed. I've been using these for years. It's simple and opens every time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2008

Wasp Broadhead

By
I was a little nervous about shooting expandables at first but I bought wasp jackhammers and have killed two deer with them so far this season. I had a complete passthrough on one and the other I spined and it did not damage either broadhead. I would definitely recommend these broadheads to anyone. They fly just like my field tips as well...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2008

excellent broad head

By
Location: Mt. Jackson, VA
I have been an avid bowhunter for about 15 years. I can honestly say that no other broadhead opens up a deer as well as the wasp. For a long time I was not a fan of mechanical broadheads, however wasp made me a believer. They fly the same as my field points and have ALWAYS been deadly, leaving one awesome blood trail. I have tried other mechanicals, and I do not think I will ever have to try another. My hat is off to wasp for a wonderful product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2008

Simply the Best

By
Location: Ashburn, VA
I've taken several whitetails with these heads, and they are simply the best I've ever used. They fly identically to field tips, do tremendous damage, and leave great blood trails. Keep making these broadheads. They're awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2008

Simply the Best!!!

By
Location: Texas
My brother and I both use this broadhead and he just took down an elk at 30 yards using this beast! It works great, is very forgiving, and will not break your wallet like the rage!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2008

killer

By
Location: North Carolina
Always been conscious of broadhead performance. After having these recommended by several of the best bowhunters I know I bought a pack of three 100 grain with 13/4 cut. Now three shots and three harvested deer with massive tissue damage, incredible blood trails and all three down within 30 yards. 65 lb bow with 450 grain arrows. 1 pass through into the ground on 140# deer with direct hit through ribs and exit in offside shoulder. 1 complete penetration through both shoulders on 180 lb deer with direct shoulder hit. Gigantic entry hole in 230# 10 pt. with head stopping in offside shoulder but deer went down in sight and lungs utterly destroyed (slightly quartering shot ).
Some of my own suggestions - use only slight helical or blazers - screw a new head on after each deer as they tend to bend somewhere if you check them on an indicator - and just spin them for straightness and don't shoot them into foam targets before hunting as the arrow spin tends to slightly bend the blades. If you use one for practice don't hunt with it. Would go to the 11/4 in. cut for very large deer. I would probably not use any expandable for elk sized game. Just my opinion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2009

WASP JACK HAMMER

By
Location: PA
Best mech.Broadhead i used!BUT!do not take a quartering shot with these heads cause they will deflect everytime!Cause when the blades are closed,they stick out to far to the tip,So when arrows flyin at ur game etc,on a angle,one blade will open,pushing it away from ur dear ending up slicing the side of ur game or just wounding it,shanks bend easily,when hitting dirt etc.But for a broadside shot they cant be beat in the mech.head market!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2009

great broadhead

By
Location: cortez,co
shot a 4x4 mule deer at 20 yds, went thru lungs and opposite shoulder, deer went 50 yds with no damage to broadhead, very impressed with this broadhead, flies just like field tips.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2009

great design

By
Location: Utah bowhunter
I really like the bh shoots very good but blades are bending back to far went though a deer at 70 yds and when I picked up the arrow one of blades that broke a rib was bent back to far may be good for deer don't know about elk. blades are very sharp kill very quickly and angled shots are no problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2009

SST 75 gran WASP Jak-Hammer

By
Location: Clinton,IA
It is hard to find a 75 gran to shoot. I will tell you this 75 gran did the number on an Iowa 10 pointer. He went 20 yards and crashed. A great product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2009

Jak-Hammer 100 Grain

By
Location: Athens, GA
I shot a doe yesterday at 20 yards and she ran 50 yards and dropped. I was hesitant to use these at first because of the wide cutting diameter. I didn't think it would pass through. Boy was I wrong. It broke 5 ribs in the process ( 2 on one side and 3 on the other). It was a double lung hit with a complete pass through. No damage to the blades. Awesome blood trail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for WASP Jak-Hammer SST Broadheads
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2009

Highly reccomend!

By
Location: Glasgow, KY
I have been using these broadheads for about 12 years now. They leave a massive entry and exit hole. Great blood trails.
Haven't lost a deer yet!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 111