Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's TLr Fly Rods

CABELA'S Cabela's TLr Fly Rods

Intended as upgrades to the popular Traditional II rods, this series exceeded rod designer’s expectations and became something more. The TLr name represents their new identity as one of the best values in Cabela’s fly-fishing lineup. High-modulus graphite construction delivers lighter weight and improved casting performance compared with other rods in this price range. Ideal for beginners and intermediate casters, the moderate-fast action also appeals to experienced anglers who enjoy casting with a more relaxed tempo. Woven-graphite reel seats have double up-locking rings. Black anodized aluminum is used for the reel seats on 7 weights and higher. Lineup of models include two Switch models and two Spey versions. Includes Cordura® rod tube and rod sock.10 year limited warranty. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 31(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Review 1 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Performer

Date:August 12, 2014
The performance of the rod is what surprised me (1168-4 Switch). Smooth casting rod and easy to load. Tip recovery is a little slower than I like. Finish of the rod isn't so great; no alignment dots, rod surface finish not as durable, ferrule ends a little slippery. Snake guides are good and so is the tip-top. Stripping guide is ok, could be a little bigger. After one use, the cork came a part but after some cork shaving/wood glue mix, it's all good now. Also, a little bit of candle wax on the ferrule ends and the peices stick much better together now too. Performance overall is surprisely good, quality is not so good, but you still can't beat the sale price for this kind of performance. I would still recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

okay 6-7 wt ??

Date:July 10, 2012
I purchased the 9ft 6wt looking for a rod to fish the Conejos river in southern Colorado where the fishing is often at short to medium casting distances. The rod was a little stiff for short distance casting, so I checked the line weight using the Common Cents method. The rod has characteristics right between a 6 and 7 weight rod. The TLr line does not include a 9 ft 7 wt, so this rod could be used for medium to long casting with a 6wt line or short to medium distances with a 7wt line. I can recommend the rod, but know that you are purchasing a 6/7 wt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Switch rod musky stick

Date:October 14, 2014
I bought this rod to add to my musky flyrods. I was looking to bump up my distance with big bucktail flys (6 to 12 inches in lenght). Two handed overhead surf style casting a switch is does that. The 8wt-11ft trl combined with a sa custom cut full sink line cut to 436 gains is the sweet spot. I'm able to shot 80ft with just the head outta the rod. The snake guides and tiptop could be two sizes bigger. But I put 11ft of hurt on a 40+ inch river musky with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas fly rod

Date:January 14, 2014
Nice quality - came with a storage/transport case. Winter in NY so not much opportunity to use. Can't wait until spring. The website was a wealth of info in selecting this rod as it is more complicated shopping than with standard fishing gear. Thanks Cabelas foir a fine product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Rod, Good Value

Date:August 23, 2013
Bought an 8wt rod for Sockeye in Alaska, matched it up with an Echo Ion reel, not the lightest rig but balanced well enough to use all day. This rod withstood a fair amount of abuse without a hitch. Handled Sockeye just fine, had a Chinook on for awhile, that was fun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: New Brunswick
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rod for the money + a great guarantee

Date:July 30, 2013
I received this rod as a replacement for a discontinued rod that i had a warranty issue with. BTW, 5 stars to Cabelas for a fast, smooth and convenient warranty experience ... I have returned rods to other big companies and Cabelas is faster with less cost.
I was pleased with the TLr series, this particular rod (10' 7wt) I purchased for throwing dry flies at atlantic salmon and it has performed well. It's not a lightning fast action but for what I purchased it for it's perfect.
I'm a happy camper and would recommend this rod to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Step Up

Date:July 16, 2013
This rod is a step up on the Cabela's package i bought previously. Lively and a bit faster on the cast. Does not equal my Sage, but did not cost as much either!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

11' 8wt, so far so good

Date:December 27, 2012
I haven't had the chance to use it on the water yet, but I've practiced some casts and have to say that it's definitely up to the same quality of my other Cabela's brand rods. I've been using Cabela's fly rods for years and have found that the overall quality is definitely on par with their higher priced counterparts. This rod is no different; the construction is definitely superb. I'm looking forward to using it for steelhead and salmon and have a feeling that I won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellet

Date:October 2, 2012
A very good rod in this price point
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rod at a good price.

Date:June 12, 2012
The reason I got this 11 foot, 8 wt rod was to help myself learn to use my spey rod by learning on a smaller scale. This rod was a good choice. The rod has a good even flex, it's surprisingly light and the handles are just the right size for a switch rod making over head one handed, and flip casting an easy chore. It works well with a short skagit head for long casts as well as a stealhead tapper for everything else. The only problem I have found is one of the cork rings in the forward handle seems to have a hollow spot, but hasn't broke through yet. Mabey a higher grade cork would solve this issue. I'm not too worried about it unless it becomes annoying. All and all a great purchase. P.S. It held up well to several 30+lb king salmon with no issues!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Switch Rod for Salmon and Steelhead

Date:October 13, 2014
I purchased the 11ft 8wt over a year ago for a salmon fishing trip to Alaska. I did not get a chance to use it on that trip, so the rod went untested till this past weekend, Oct 11, when I fished for Coho and King salmon in Michigan. It was my first real attempt at fishing a Lake Michigan tributary. I only landed two fish, but one of them was a 32 inch King. I paired the rod with a 6.6 oz (7/8/9wt) reel and a fully integrated switch rod line (415 grains with a 26ft Scandi head). The rod and reel handled both fish with no problems. As a side note: A fly shop recommended I use 12lb fluorocarbon tippet on this river, but it did not hold up. After a couple of fish broke off, I switched to 15lb floroclear and was able to land the two King salmon with ease. I’ve attached a picture of the 32 inch King.
The 11ft 8wt is a light weight switch rod that can be fished for hours without fatigue. I use it single or double handed as needed. A couple of people have commented about the small tip top on this rod. I did not find this to be a problem. The bigger issue is matching the rod to the right size reel and line. I chose the 6.6 oz reel because it and the 11ft TLr rod create a well-balanced outfit. I went through four lines before settling on the 415 grain Scandi style switch rod line, but anything close to that should work fine.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Surprisingly good!

Date:September 12, 2014
Bought 11feet 6 wt and 8 wt at sale, I thought these would be too heavy to cast; wrong: because of the leverage of longer length, they cast farther with less efforts... really joyful to cast...looks could be better but I have no complaints because of the price I paid...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality for a bargain price

Date:September 2, 2014
I bought this rod from the bargain cave and have not been disappointed. Medium fast action, light weight, well made, sensitive, nice looking, and handles very well. I admit it that I am cheap...... but have expensive tastes. This rod takes the conflict out of my life. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Rods

Date:August 19, 2014
Rods are excellent to cast.I own 3...11-6wt,11-6,7wt. 11-8wt.All rods are Switch Models.I also own a TLR 10' 7wt fly rod.Another excellent rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Price Ever

Date:August 19, 2014
I purchased 3 TLR Fly rods(all Switch Models).I purchased each one individually when they went on sale.By the time I purchased the last one,I paid half price of the original first one I purchased.Wished I would have known the price would keep dropping.I would have waited and bought all 3 at one time...All 3 rods are excellent to use.My biggest problem is trying to determine which line is best for each rod.The lines cost just as much as the rods.I have to find a place that will let me try the lines before buying.Too much trouble to buy on line and then have to send back if wrong.The TRL Fly rods are an excellent buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:November 15, 2013
i like this rod a lot! i have the 11' 8 wt and used it for king salmon. it worked better than i ever imagined. for the price you cant go rong. I put it to the MAX and it didnt break! bigest king landed this year was 32 lb.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice action

Date:November 12, 2013
The rod makes precision casting easy and reduces the fatigue in making many casts. I began fishing small mouth with it on the ol Miss and it gives me enough control to cast effectively even into a wind. This rod is a good value for those wanting a quality rod without spending $300+. Mine came with a quality case as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:October 15, 2013
Purchased the 11' 8wt after having trouble on some early kings with a 9' 8wt on NY's Salmon River.Instantly added another 20' to my cast with much easier mends.The real benefit is in fighting the fish---tons of power/leverage to handle the big boys.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

13 foot 8wt.

Date:September 26, 2013
Great purchase. Best buy I could find for a spey rod on the web and comes with a 10 year warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy, on sale

Date:September 1, 2013
I bought this 5 weight rod to pair with an old 5 weight reel I inherited, and the combination has worked well. The rod loads very well and shoots a good distance too. I use it with easy mend line on a local small stream. I'm glad I bought this rod, and you will be too!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 31