Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's TLr Fly Rods

CABELA'S Cabela's TLr Fly Rods

Intended as upgrades to the popular Traditional II rods, this series exceeded rod designer’s expectations and became something more. The TLr name represents their new identity as one of the best values in Cabela’s fly-fishing lineup. High-modulus graphite construction delivers lighter weight and improved casting performance compared with other rods in this price range. Ideal for beginners and intermediate casters, the moderate-fast action also appeals to experienced anglers who enjoy casting with a more relaxed tempo. Woven-graphite reel seats have double up-locking rings. Black anodized aluminum is used for the reel seats on 7 weights and higher. Lineup of models include two Switch models and two Spey versions. Includes Cordura® rod tube and rod sock. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Review 1 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

okay 6-7 wt ??

Date:July 10, 2012
I purchased the 9ft 6wt looking for a rod to fish the Conejos river in southern Colorado where the fishing is often at short to medium casting distances. The rod was a little stiff for short distance casting, so I checked the line weight using the Common Cents method. The rod has characteristics right between a 6 and 7 weight rod. The TLr line does not include a 9 ft 7 wt, so this rod could be used for medium to long casting with a 6wt line or short to medium distances with a 7wt line. I can recommend the rod, but know that you are purchasing a 6/7 wt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas fly rod

Date:January 14, 2014
Nice quality - came with a storage/transport case. Winter in NY so not much opportunity to use. Can't wait until spring. The website was a wealth of info in selecting this rod as it is more complicated shopping than with standard fishing gear. Thanks Cabelas foir a fine product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Rod, Good Value

Date:August 23, 2013
Bought an 8wt rod for Sockeye in Alaska, matched it up with an Echo Ion reel, not the lightest rig but balanced well enough to use all day. This rod withstood a fair amount of abuse without a hitch. Handled Sockeye just fine, had a Chinook on for awhile, that was fun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: New Brunswick
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rod for the money + a great guarantee

Date:July 30, 2013
I received this rod as a replacement for a discontinued rod that i had a warranty issue with. BTW, 5 stars to Cabelas for a fast, smooth and convenient warranty experience ... I have returned rods to other big companies and Cabelas is faster with less cost.
I was pleased with the TLr series, this particular rod (10' 7wt) I purchased for throwing dry flies at atlantic salmon and it has performed well. It's not a lightning fast action but for what I purchased it for it's perfect.
I'm a happy camper and would recommend this rod to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Step Up

Date:July 16, 2013
This rod is a step up on the Cabela's package i bought previously. Lively and a bit faster on the cast. Does not equal my Sage, but did not cost as much either!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

11' 8wt, so far so good

Date:December 27, 2012
I haven't had the chance to use it on the water yet, but I've practiced some casts and have to say that it's definitely up to the same quality of my other Cabela's brand rods. I've been using Cabela's fly rods for years and have found that the overall quality is definitely on par with their higher priced counterparts. This rod is no different; the construction is definitely superb. I'm looking forward to using it for steelhead and salmon and have a feeling that I won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellet

Date:October 2, 2012
A very good rod in this price point
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rod at a good price.

Date:June 12, 2012
The reason I got this 11 foot, 8 wt rod was to help myself learn to use my spey rod by learning on a smaller scale. This rod was a good choice. The rod has a good even flex, it's surprisingly light and the handles are just the right size for a switch rod making over head one handed, and flip casting an easy chore. It works well with a short skagit head for long casts as well as a stealhead tapper for everything else. The only problem I have found is one of the cork rings in the forward handle seems to have a hollow spot, but hasn't broke through yet. Mabey a higher grade cork would solve this issue. I'm not too worried about it unless it becomes annoying. All and all a great purchase. P.S. It held up well to several 30+lb king salmon with no issues!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:November 15, 2013
i like this rod a lot! i have the 11' 8 wt and used it for king salmon. it worked better than i ever imagined. for the price you cant go rong. I put it to the MAX and it didnt break! bigest king landed this year was 32 lb.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice action

Date:November 12, 2013
The rod makes precision casting easy and reduces the fatigue in making many casts. I began fishing small mouth with it on the ol Miss and it gives me enough control to cast effectively even into a wind. This rod is a good value for those wanting a quality rod without spending $300+. Mine came with a quality case as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:October 15, 2013
Purchased the 11' 8wt after having trouble on some early kings with a 9' 8wt on NY's Salmon River.Instantly added another 20' to my cast with much easier mends.The real benefit is in fighting the fish---tons of power/leverage to handle the big boys.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

13 foot 8wt.

Date:September 26, 2013
Great purchase. Best buy I could find for a spey rod on the web and comes with a 10 year warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy, on sale

Date:September 1, 2013
I bought this 5 weight rod to pair with an old 5 weight reel I inherited, and the combination has worked well. The rod loads very well and shoots a good distance too. I use it with easy mend line on a local small stream. I'm glad I bought this rod, and you will be too!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skeena River Fishing Trip

Date:August 26, 2013
I just returned from a week of fishing the Skeena River in British Columbia. I fished the 13', 8wt Tlr the whole week and caught lots of fish, Pink's, Coho and Steelhead. I must say the rod preformed excellently and handled a 550 Skagit head well. Add a T14 tip, of the desired length, slick shooter and backing and it was a great combo and boomed out the spey casts. It handled those bigger fish well. I was well into my backing several times. It works well for your primary rod and you can't go wrong if you take it as a back-up to your favorite rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Interesting rod

Date:August 20, 2013
This 13ft fly rod is going to challenge me to get some good fishing out of it. Will use on bows and lake fishing but will probably never be an expert caster. Working on the line requirements and proper weights to send out a long cast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

910-4

Date:August 9, 2013
I have not tried the edge 84, sage musky, or the predator to compare it to nor have I tried expensive 910 rods but this rod is light for a 10 wt and very forgiving, but tosses 10"-16" musky flies very well, I would highly recommend this rod to anyone looking for a fairly high end rod at an amazing price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Switches are hidden gems

Date:July 31, 2013
The switches I have (1108, 1106) are light, progressive sticks that cast as well overhead as they do with a water load. The six will water load, nymph with an indicator, and throw tight loops overhead...love it for smallies. The eight does the same with more power...bigger game than smallies. Recommended sticks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exactly what I needed

Date:June 24, 2013
Took this rod bass fishing today, handled size 2 deer hair poppers with ease. I got the 9' 8 wt. Great rod!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rod Good Price

Date:January 15, 2013
I really like this rod, the way it casts and the way it feels in my hands. Perfect!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

11ft 6wt TLr

Date:December 15, 2012
This long, lean, willowy rod is a pleasure to cast and play. I own rods that cost 5 times more but the TLr has become my favorite steelhead rod. Great action and good feel.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24