Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's TLr Fly Rods

CABELA'S Cabela's TLr Fly Rods

Intended as upgrades to the popular Traditional II rods, this series exceeded rod designer’s expectations and became something more. The TLr name represents their new identity as one of the best values in Cabela’s fly-fishing lineup. High-modulus graphite construction delivers lighter weight and improved casting performance compared with other rods in this price range. Ideal for beginners and intermediate casters, the moderate-fast action also appeals to experienced anglers who enjoy casting with a more relaxed tempo. Woven-graphite reel seats have double up-locking rings. Black anodized aluminum is used for the reel seats on 7 weights and higher. Lineup of models include two Switch models and two Spey versions. Includes Cordura® rod tube and rod sock. Cabela's return policy applies. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
38 out of 39(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Review 1 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2016

DO NOT BUY THIS ROD

By
I have gone through 3 TLR rods.
The first broke with a schoolie stripe bass on the line - Cabelas repalced it.
The second rod had the ceramic ring on the eyelet brake off - Cabelas replaced it.
The third rod broke during a back-cast, yes a back cast. - Cabels refunded the money via a gift card.
I have purchase a great deal of Caebelas branded products through the years - stay away from this rod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014

Good Performer

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
The performance of the rod is what surprised me (1168-4 Switch). Smooth casting rod and easy to load. Tip recovery is a little slower than I like. Finish of the rod isn't so great; no alignment dots, rod surface finish not as durable, ferrule ends a little slippery. Snake guides are good and so is the tip-top. Stripping guide is ok, could be a little bigger. After one use, the cork came a part but after some cork shaving/wood glue mix, it's all good now. Also, a little bit of candle wax on the ferrule ends and the peices stick much better together now too. Performance overall is surprisely good, quality is not so good, but you still can't beat the sale price for this kind of performance. I would still recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2012

okay 6-7 wt ??

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the 9ft 6wt looking for a rod to fish the Conejos river in southern Colorado where the fishing is often at short to medium casting distances. The rod was a little stiff for short distance casting, so I checked the line weight using the Common Cents method. The rod has characteristics right between a 6 and 7 weight rod. The TLr line does not include a 9 ft 7 wt, so this rod could be used for medium to long casting with a 6wt line or short to medium distances with a 7wt line. I can recommend the rod, but know that you are purchasing a 6/7 wt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Great rods!

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I own all the TLr switch rods. I am in love with them. The blank action on these rods hits that sweet spot as a medium fast action, progressive load through the upper half and fast recovery. They are extremely light in hand (compared with other switch rods of the same length and weight). Great price, especially when they are on sale. The only one issue I had with most of these rods is the components are cheap, in particular the cork on the upper handle wich is low quality, full of holes, and in some cases comming unglue from the blank. All in all they are great value rods. A touch better quality on the components and these may be better than rods five times more expensive. Cabelas, whatever you do, don't change the rod blank action which is the best feature of these rods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2015

Smooth casting

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this rod for my son who is 8. He picked up the rod and used it for the first time and was laying out some nice casts. I tried the rod and found it to be very smooth and easy to cast. I usually fish fast action rods and I would classify this as moderate fast. Very nice rod for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014

Switch rod musky stick

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this rod to add to my musky flyrods. I was looking to bump up my distance with big bucktail flys (6 to 12 inches in lenght). Two handed overhead surf style casting a switch is does that. The 8wt-11ft trl combined with a sa custom cut full sink line cut to 436 gains is the sweet spot. I'm able to shot 80ft with just the head outta the rod. The snake guides and tiptop could be two sizes bigger. But I put 11ft of hurt on a 40+ inch river musky with no problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

Cabelas fly rod

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Nice quality - came with a storage/transport case. Winter in NY so not much opportunity to use. Can't wait until spring. The website was a wealth of info in selecting this rod as it is more complicated shopping than with standard fishing gear. Thanks Cabelas foir a fine product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2013

Good Rod, Good Value

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Bought an 8wt rod for Sockeye in Alaska, matched it up with an Echo Ion reel, not the lightest rig but balanced well enough to use all day. This rod withstood a fair amount of abuse without a hitch. Handled Sockeye just fine, had a Chinook on for awhile, that was fun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2013

Good rod for the money + a great guarantee

By
Country: Canada
Province: New Brunswick
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I received this rod as a replacement for a discontinued rod that i had a warranty issue with. BTW, 5 stars to Cabelas for a fast, smooth and convenient warranty experience ... I have returned rods to other big companies and Cabelas is faster with less cost.
I was pleased with the TLr series, this particular rod (10' 7wt) I purchased for throwing dry flies at atlantic salmon and it has performed well. It's not a lightning fast action but for what I purchased it for it's perfect.
I'm a happy camper and would recommend this rod to anyone!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2013

A Step Up

By
This rod is a step up on the Cabela's package i bought previously. Lively and a bit faster on the cast. Does not equal my Sage, but did not cost as much either!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2012

11' 8wt, so far so good

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I haven't had the chance to use it on the water yet, but I've practiced some casts and have to say that it's definitely up to the same quality of my other Cabela's brand rods. I've been using Cabela's fly rods for years and have found that the overall quality is definitely on par with their higher priced counterparts. This rod is no different; the construction is definitely superb. I'm looking forward to using it for steelhead and salmon and have a feeling that I won't be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2012

excellet

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A very good rod in this price point
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2012

Good rod at a good price.

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The reason I got this 11 foot, 8 wt rod was to help myself learn to use my spey rod by learning on a smaller scale. This rod was a good choice. The rod has a good even flex, it's surprisingly light and the handles are just the right size for a switch rod making over head one handed, and flip casting an easy chore. It works well with a short skagit head for long casts as well as a stealhead tapper for everything else. The only problem I have found is one of the cork rings in the forward handle seems to have a hollow spot, but hasn't broke through yet. Mabey a higher grade cork would solve this issue. I'm not too worried about it unless it becomes annoying. All and all a great purchase. P.S. It held up well to several 30+lb king salmon with no issues!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2016

great lite rod

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
great rod for novice and pros 8wt throws large flies like a dream thank you rch.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2016

Reel Nice!

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased the 9ft 4wt. It has a comfortable grip and throws tight loops and long effortless roll casts. I will grab an 8wt when they go on sale again. Cabelas rods do not disappoint!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

Great fly rod

By
I bought this rod on sale at Cabela's. I have only had it out once since then, but I was pleased with the ease of casting. It is very light and handled easily. I got a bit longer casts also. I caught several good sized Rainbows and a very nice Tiger Trout. I hope to have many great experiences with the TLR Rod. Mine is a 9' 5 weight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015

My weapon of choice

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I won the 4 piece 9ft 4wt at a local TU fundraiser this year so I wasn't really sure what to expect from the rod. This rod is super light in the hand, definitely moderate fast as described and drab army green is a pleasant color for a rod. I tried a WF4F and while I was able to cast sufficiently, it still felt like I needed a bit more so I went to a WF5F and voila. Even over lined there is plenty of reserve power for longer casts and fighting fish. I am able to roll cast it a mile and the best part is that it balances out to the nose of the foregrip with a 3.55 clicker reel making my whole set up around 8oz. I can/and do fish this rod all day with no fatigue whatsoever. I've fished wets, dries, nymphs and even some streamers on this rod and it has yet to disappoint. Ive even done some long leader nymphing and the tip is sufficiently responsive to flip light rigs up stream. I don't know if this rod is best suited to one specific technique but if you're looking for a swiss army knife this may be your rod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2015

11' 6 wt Very nice rod

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought this as a back up because it was on sale. It really surprised me. It's light in hand easy casting either single hand or spey casts. In fact I like it better than some more expensive rods. Would I buy one again, you bet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2014

Switch Rod for Salmon and Steelhead

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the 11ft 8wt over a year ago for a salmon fishing trip to Alaska. I did not get a chance to use it on that trip, so the rod went untested till this past weekend, Oct 11, when I fished for Coho and King salmon in Michigan. It was my first real attempt at fishing a Lake Michigan tributary. I only landed two fish, but one of them was a 32 inch King. I paired the rod with a 6.6 oz (7/8/9wt) reel and a fully integrated switch rod line (415 grains with a 26ft Scandi head). The rod and reel handled both fish with no problems. As a side note: A fly shop recommended I use 12lb fluorocarbon tippet on this river, but it did not hold up. After a couple of fish broke off, I switched to 15lb floroclear and was able to land the two King salmon with ease. I’ve attached a picture of the 32 inch King.
The 11ft 8wt is a light weight switch rod that can be fished for hours without fatigue. I use it single or double handed as needed. A couple of people have commented about the small tip top on this rod. I did not find this to be a problem. The bigger issue is matching the rod to the right size reel and line. I chose the 6.6 oz reel because it and the 11ft TLr rod create a well-balanced outfit. I went through four lines before settling on the 415 grain Scandi style switch rod line, but anything close to that should work fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's TLr Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2014

Surprisingly good!

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought 11feet 6 wt and 8 wt at sale, I thought these would be too heavy to cast; wrong: because of the leverage of longer length, they cast farther with less efforts... really joyful to cast...looks could be better but I have no complaints because of the price I paid...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 39