Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels

CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels

The all-around match of other midrange fly reels on the market with one big difference – the affordable price. The Prestige Premier models are our lowest-priced fly reels featuring the reliability of a heat-dispersing carbon disc drag. The large-arbor design ensures faster line retrieve. Cast-aluminum construction delivers excellent strength-to-weight ratio. Pressure-fit spool pops out from rear for easy spool exchange, eliminating the chance of lost or broken parts. Easily converts from right- to left-hand retrieve. Line not included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
45 out of 48(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Review 1 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reel!

Date:July 11, 2011
I picked one of these reels up shortly after their release and have been really pleased with it. I've been told it uses the drag system from a well known reel company and it shows. I routinely catch carp on a 5wt with 4x tippets and the drag adjusts easily during the fight to keep just the right amount of pressure on the fish but still letting them run without breaking the leader. There is no buildup of pressure before the drag kicks in so your drag doesnt get tighter when the line stops. This is an excellent deal, especially when they put them on sale for less than sixty bucks! I'm buying another one for my 2wt, and wouldn't hesitate to buy more. You'd have to jump up considerably in price to get any more features or performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value with flaws

Date:February 7, 2016
I own 4 of these reels(5/6 and 7/8 models) with spare spools; have used in fresh- and saltwater.
They represent very good value for money but have some flaws.
I had to grease the carbon drag disks as they were dry on some of the reels I pulled apart. The carbon drag washers are solid and good quality. Also some machining issues on a few of the metal drag stack washers; easily solved with some 400 grit water paper.
The little nut that holds the drag adjustment knob in place stripped it's thread on two of my reels. As I am not in the USA I could not return the reels. Also the plastic washer that sits below the drag adjustment knob wears out if the drag is overtightened (my bad!)
Rinse gently after use and dry; treat with reel protectant afterwards to limit corrosion.
Bottom line is do not overtighten the drag and take care of the reels and they will last!
Still a good deal; especially at the sale price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prestige III Great reel for the price!

Date:January 24, 2016
This is the second reel I've bought. (I'm building a new rod)
It's one of the best reels I've used. Remember a reel just holds the line, the drag isn't really important unless your going for Bonefish,Permit or Tarpon, even then "palming" the reels is much better for putting the "Screws Of Death" before they reach #1 deep water or #2 they spool you.
The drag system for smaller fish to #10 is great by it's self, easy one or two click adjustment is easily done with the click of the 1 inch knob on the reel.
I have mine spooled with 100 yds(300 feet) of #20 backing and 100 feet of bonefish taper in 8wt, I still have plenty of room.
If you don't want to spend a great deal of money or your a "Brand name" guy, this reel is for you.
I do saltwater only with this reel.
Clean up is really simple, pull off 50-60 feet of line, turn on the sprayer to cone and rinse the rod from tiptop to fighting butt, hold the reel in the shower reel in the line... shake it and hang it to drip dry. In 6 months or so I'll break it down and grease the inside.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooth action

Date:December 29, 2015
For the price this is a nice reel with smooth action and a solid steady drag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great inexpensive reel

Date:December 22, 2015
Purchased this reel for my grandchilden to use, teamed with Cabela,s 7feet 9 inch, 4 weight, traditional fly rod, It's inexpensive but like other Cabelas products I trusted that it would be good for them and I was right.
It is light and the drag is very smooth. I hope it is used so much that they wear it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great "Go-To" reel for the price

Date:October 7, 2015
I'm sure there are purists out there who do not believe a good fly reel should cost anything less than $200. If that is the case, they can buy my next reel, as I'll probably have a Cabela's Prestige Premier on until then. I've used this reel for everything: small sunfish in a local pond, cutthroats in alpine streams of Colorado, largemouth bass in the marsh to my most recent venture: Peacock Bass in Miami. This little unit (5 wt) holds up it's end of the bargain and the drag works great, especially when tangoing with a ticked off peacock! Would not hesitate to purchase again, especially if it's on sale!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Value Trout Reel

Date:September 1, 2015
I have several Prestige Premier fly reels and they are excellent trout reels. I see no reason to pay more for trout reels especially when they are on sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite reel

Date:July 17, 2015
This reel is almost 2 oz lighter than what came with my 5 wt St Croix combo. What a difference! I had to shed almost half of the backing going to this large arbor. No problem for trout as I never get into backing for trout. I'd have to wonder about Salmon though. I'll stay with a conventional there.
I couldn't figure out how to remove spool as many have said. A friend who has a Lamson showed me how. Wrap fingers on the frame and push the spool with thumbs. Very simple. Should be in instructions.
On sale this reel is a Cabelas best buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome deal

Date:July 3, 2015
I got this reel at half off to replace a cheaper one. By far the best performing reel for the money. I would pay full price for another one for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Premier Plus Fly Reel

Date:June 30, 2015
This reel performs like a real expensive one. The drag is smooth and efficient. The arbor is large enough for fast retrieval. I would recommend this to any first time fly fisherman or to more experienced anglers who want to keep their costs reasonable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT VALUE FOR THE PRICE

Date:June 27, 2015
I HAVEN'T USED IT YET, BUT IT SEEMS VERY NICE. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE GREAT DIFFICULTY I HAD POPPING THE SPOOL OUT TO REVERSE THE DRAG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

prestige fly reel

Date:April 22, 2015
really like this reel it has a great adjustable drag that's easy to set and smooth even reteval
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reel for the money

Date:March 5, 2015
Holds plenty of line has a good drag system and has available extra spools
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reel

Date:January 27, 2015
Great price good quality you realy can't beat it..the drag is good and smooth well worth every penny
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great For The Price

Date:January 13, 2015
I got this on a sale price. Used it for the first time. Worked very well. Very smooth and responsive. Drag system was great. Great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Real good reel

Date:December 3, 2014
Bought one earlier because of the price and the advise of a friend. Liked it so much, bought a second one. For the money, you can't beat them. I have a couple of fairly expensive reels, and these are as good or better. Definitely would recommend them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A bargain of a reel

Date:November 24, 2014
I purchased two of these reels about 2 years ago to go on my 8 and 9 wt saltwater rods. I have to admit that I really wasn't expecting much, being that they are an inexpensive cast reel, but once I lined them up and took them out, I was very impressed. The drag is one of the smoothest I've encountered at any price, and they have held up well. The only issue I've encountered was with one of the drag knobs becoming tight. But after disassembling and cleaning the drag, all is back to normal. I would highly recommend this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:October 21, 2014
Real started out great but after several salmon hookups the drag completely blew out. I do not say this with any negative feeling toward Cableas or even the reel except it did fail and it failed quickly. I did return the reel on Oct 13th and have not heard anything since.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than Expected

Date:October 1, 2014
I own the 10 weight version of this model. this reel feels just like a Lamson model in my hands. The drag system is much easier to maintain then my Cabelas RLS plus.I am Not sure if in the specifications it says this is a sealed drag but after pulling it apart I would say the drag is well sealed. However I would still rinse it well after using in salt water. I bought this reel originally for catching king salmon but haven't had the chance to use it yet for kings. I have also used this reel in lower weight models and it works great. I would give it a 5-star based on my rating because it has very smooth drag and a good solid feel. It is also pretty light weight for the price. However I give it a four star rating: because the staff at Cabelas have told me they have received a few returns on this reel. The returns were not made by strong fisherman but more by newbies. The Cabelas staff said that if you set the drag too tight it can damage the drag with a large fish. For example turning it all the way down which is something strong fisherman would not do anyways. However I think it should be taken into consideration for this rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional fly reel for the price

Date:September 7, 2014
I've been at this sport for 30 years and have gone through some reels and still own some high end reels. I bought this 4wt reel because it was a backup to my Ross, only exception is this is a large arbor and much lighter. My assessment after three very productive outings I have come to the conclusion that this is an exceptionally nice reel for the money. The drag system is good, but I was landing fish in the 10"-16" range, no big bad boys but then I would have used my 5 or 6 wt rod vs my 4wt. It reels nicely, smooth, not jerky. I would recommend this reel to the beginner who wants to get into the entry level fly-fishing and not spend a ton of money. I have my Cabelas Prestige Fly Line on this reel which I also recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 48