Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels

CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels

The all-around match of other midrange fly reels on the market with one big difference – the affordable price. The Prestige Premier models are our lowest-priced fly reels featuring the reliability of a heat-dispersing carbon disc drag. The large-arbor design ensures faster line retrieve. Cast-aluminum construction delivers excellent strength-to-weight ratio. Pressure-fit spool pops out from rear for easy spool exchange, eliminating the chance of lost or broken parts. Easily converts from right- to left-hand retrieve. Line not included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
49 out of 52(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Review 1 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2011

Great Reel!

By
Location: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I picked one of these reels up shortly after their release and have been really pleased with it. I've been told it uses the drag system from a well known reel company and it shows. I routinely catch carp on a 5wt with 4x tippets and the drag adjusts easily during the fight to keep just the right amount of pressure on the fish but still letting them run without breaking the leader. There is no buildup of pressure before the drag kicks in so your drag doesnt get tighter when the line stops. This is an excellent deal, especially when they put them on sale for less than sixty bucks! I'm buying another one for my 2wt, and wouldn't hesitate to buy more. You'd have to jump up considerably in price to get any more features or performance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2016

Great Value

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great value for a simple and effective product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2016

Great reel!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A real steal at sale price. Nice smooth and good drag. I like the way the spool pushes on - no buttons or levers to accidentally hit and have the spool fall in the drink. Not too heavy either. I love the 2 models I have on 2 different rods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2016

3 Years Later

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased my first Prestige Premier in 2012 and it’s still going strong. I now own several and have used them for stripers, carp, bass and trout. I’ve found them to be tough and the drag flawless. It’s a great deal when these are on sale, but they’re still a good value at full price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2016

Prestige Permier Fly Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Great low price reel. Very smooth with a nice drag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2016

Good value with flaws

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I own 4 of these reels(5/6 and 7/8 models) with spare spools; have used in fresh- and saltwater.
They represent very good value for money but have some flaws.
I had to grease the carbon drag disks as they were dry on some of the reels I pulled apart. The carbon drag washers are solid and good quality. Also some machining issues on a few of the metal drag stack washers; easily solved with some 400 grit water paper.
The little nut that holds the drag adjustment knob in place stripped it's thread on two of my reels. As I am not in the USA I could not return the reels. Also the plastic washer that sits below the drag adjustment knob wears out if the drag is overtightened (my bad!)
Rinse gently after use and dry; treat with reel protectant afterwards to limit corrosion.
Bottom line is do not overtighten the drag and take care of the reels and they will last!
Still a good deal; especially at the sale price!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2016

Prestige III Great reel for the price!

By
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is the second reel I've bought. (I'm building a new rod)
It's one of the best reels I've used. Remember a reel just holds the line, the drag isn't really important unless your going for Bonefish,Permit or Tarpon, even then "palming" the reels is much better for putting the "Screws Of Death" before they reach #1 deep water or #2 they spool you.
The drag system for smaller fish to #10 is great by it's self, easy one or two click adjustment is easily done with the click of the 1 inch knob on the reel.
I have mine spooled with 100 yds(300 feet) of #20 backing and 100 feet of bonefish taper in 8wt, I still have plenty of room.
If you don't want to spend a great deal of money or your a "Brand name" guy, this reel is for you.
I do saltwater only with this reel.
Clean up is really simple, pull off 50-60 feet of line, turn on the sprayer to cone and rinse the rod from tiptop to fighting butt, hold the reel in the shower reel in the line... shake it and hang it to drip dry. In 6 months or so I'll break it down and grease the inside.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Smooth action

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
For the price this is a nice reel with smooth action and a solid steady drag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

great inexpensive reel

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Purchased this reel for my grandchilden to use, teamed with Cabela,s 7feet 9 inch, 4 weight, traditional fly rod, It's inexpensive but like other Cabelas products I trusted that it would be good for them and I was right.
It is light and the drag is very smooth. I hope it is used so much that they wear it out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2015

Great "Go-To" reel for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I'm sure there are purists out there who do not believe a good fly reel should cost anything less than $200. If that is the case, they can buy my next reel, as I'll probably have a Cabela's Prestige Premier on until then. I've used this reel for everything: small sunfish in a local pond, cutthroats in alpine streams of Colorado, largemouth bass in the marsh to my most recent venture: Peacock Bass in Miami. This little unit (5 wt) holds up it's end of the bargain and the drag works great, especially when tangoing with a ticked off peacock! Would not hesitate to purchase again, especially if it's on sale!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2015

Best Value Trout Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have several Prestige Premier fly reels and they are excellent trout reels. I see no reason to pay more for trout reels especially when they are on sale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2015

My favorite reel

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This reel is almost 2 oz lighter than what came with my 5 wt St Croix combo. What a difference! I had to shed almost half of the backing going to this large arbor. No problem for trout as I never get into backing for trout. I'd have to wonder about Salmon though. I'll stay with a conventional there.
I couldn't figure out how to remove spool as many have said. A friend who has a Lamson showed me how. Wrap fingers on the frame and push the spool with thumbs. Very simple. Should be in instructions.
On sale this reel is a Cabelas best buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2015

Awesome deal

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I got this reel at half off to replace a cheaper one. By far the best performing reel for the money. I would pay full price for another one for sure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2015

Premier Plus Fly Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This reel performs like a real expensive one. The drag is smooth and efficient. The arbor is large enough for fast retrieval. I would recommend this to any first time fly fisherman or to more experienced anglers who want to keep their costs reasonable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2015

GREAT VALUE FOR THE PRICE

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I HAVEN'T USED IT YET, BUT IT SEEMS VERY NICE. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE GREAT DIFFICULTY I HAD POPPING THE SPOOL OUT TO REVERSE THE DRAG.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2015

prestige fly reel

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
really like this reel it has a great adjustable drag that's easy to set and smooth even reteval
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2015

Good reel for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Holds plenty of line has a good drag system and has available extra spools
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

Good reel

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great price good quality you realy can't beat it..the drag is good and smooth well worth every penny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Great For The Price

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I got this on a sale price. Used it for the first time. Worked very well. Very smooth and responsive. Drag system was great. Great buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2014

Real good reel

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought one earlier because of the price and the advise of a friend. Liked it so much, bought a second one. For the money, you can't beat them. I have a couple of fairly expensive reels, and these are as good or better. Definitely would recommend them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 52