Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels

CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels

The all-around match of other midrange fly reels on the market with one big difference – the affordable price. The Prestige Premier models are our lowest-priced fly reels featuring the reliability of a heat-dispersing carbon disc drag. The large-arbor design ensures faster line retrieve. Cast-aluminum construction delivers excellent strength-to-weight ratio. Pressure-fit spool pops out from rear for easy spool exchange, eliminating the chance of lost or broken parts. Easily converts from right- to left-hand retrieve. Line not included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
28 out of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Review 1 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reel!

Date:July 11, 2011
I picked one of these reels up shortly after their release and have been really pleased with it. I've been told it uses the drag system from a well known reel company and it shows. I routinely catch carp on a 5wt with 4x tippets and the drag adjusts easily during the fight to keep just the right amount of pressure on the fish but still letting them run without breaking the leader. There is no buildup of pressure before the drag kicks in so your drag doesnt get tighter when the line stops. This is an excellent deal, especially when they put them on sale for less than sixty bucks! I'm buying another one for my 2wt, and wouldn't hesitate to buy more. You'd have to jump up considerably in price to get any more features or performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:October 21, 2014
Real started out great but after several salmon hookups the drag completely blew out. I do not say this with any negative feeling toward Cableas or even the reel except it did fail and it failed quickly. I did return the reel on Oct 13th and have not heard anything since.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional fly reel for the price

Date:September 7, 2014
I've been at this sport for 30 years and have gone through some reels and still own some high end reels. I bought this 4wt reel because it was a backup to my Ross, only exception is this is a large arbor and much lighter. My assessment after three very productive outings I have come to the conclusion that this is an exceptionally nice reel for the money. The drag system is good, but I was landing fish in the 10"-16" range, no big bad boys but then I would have used my 5 or 6 wt rod vs my 4wt. It reels nicely, smooth, not jerky. I would recommend this reel to the beginner who wants to get into the entry level fly-fishing and not spend a ton of money. I have my Cabelas Prestige Fly Line on this reel which I also recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:July 22, 2014
Smooth reel good workmanship works as expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A nice smooth reel

Date:July 16, 2014
I found the Prestige Premier reel to be just what I wanted. It is a nice smooth reel. I was previously using a smaller diameter old style small arbor reel. THe larger diameter of this reel gave me much better line pickup capability with no additional weight at all.
Those two features added performance to an already fine rod combination. The drag was smooth, and effective as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome beginner-to-intermediate trout fly reel

Date:April 2, 2014
This is the first fly reel I've purchased in a long time, and nabbed it for 50% off at Cabela's (couldn't pass it up). This reel has a disc drag system that works perfectly; the spool comes off with a slight tug so you can swap out spares very, very quickly and easily without breaking anything (it's not a fragile reel); it has an exposed rim for easy "hand-drag" operation while fighting fish (especially with larger fish, you want this so you don't have to worry about the disc drag "jerk" breaking your tippet and losing a trophy). I haven't had any issues with it and believe the Prestige reel in #2 size (for 5-6 wt. lines) will give me years and years of fishing.
The only negative I have - which doesn't effect the overall quality of the reel or the review score - is that there isn't much in the way of documentation. There's an exploded parts view, but it doesn't include instructions on how to switch between left and right-hand retrieve or even how to pop the spool off (I had to figure that out through trial-and-error). But great reel for trout fishing!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Obvious Choice for the Practical Angler!

Date:March 4, 2014
Let's be realistic, most of us hit the water for many, many reasons other than showing off expensive gear to others or ourselves. At the end of the day a fly reel is for holding line and providing a smooth drag for the bigger fish. The Cabelas prestige premier is right on the mark for accomplishing this at an affordable price. It is not so cheap that it will fall apart after a few outings, nor is it so expensive that it moves into overkill. This is truly the middle path of fly reels. Buy it! You won't be disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: British Columbia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

light, quiet, and strong

Date:January 20, 2014
I own a lot of fly reels. This was on sale, so I bought a model 2 for my new LSi 8' 6" 5 wt. The two make a nice team and the reel works very well. I think I can justify buying another Prestige Premier reel for my new 9' 6 wt LSi.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent reel!

Date:January 4, 2014
I fly fish often and am not easy on my gear. I've owned this reel for about a year now and this reel is a great quality product. I use the #3 for stillwater rainbows to 10lbs and pink salmon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent reel for a great price

Date:December 31, 2013
have not used it yet. i had no problem changing the retreive from left to right handed. the drag seems to work better than most of my other fly reels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reel

Date:December 31, 2013
I recently ordered the #4 Prestige Premier Fly Reel. I use it on a spey rod and it works great. Nice balance, smooth action and a very good brake system. Comparable to reels that are much more expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough reel

Date:December 7, 2013
Got this reel before i took a trip to alaska for use on an 8 wt rod. Held up to a 35lb king and tons of silvers and sockeyes. Also used it this past salmon season on the grand and muskegon rivers. Used for indicator and streamer fishing. Would get taken into the backing multiple times on a big fish and never had a problem. Also never saw degrading in the drag quality. Great reel and have no reason not to love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Small Reel

Date:July 16, 2013
Got this for my 2 weight TQR 5' rod. I replaced my Okuma reel and love this one. Not to big or heavy and worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great reel

Date:July 16, 2013
What can one say about a reel...they just hold line, but this reel is a real nice line holder and I like it a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: New Zealand
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little Reel

Date:June 23, 2013
I brought this reel not expecting too much, however having just taken it for a weekends fish I am pleasently suprised - Great value for money - may become my go to reel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:June 17, 2013
Just got back from a trip to northern Ontario. Caught some nice Northern Pike on the 7-8# reel. Performed flawlessly. Don't think you will find a better reel for the $.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice reel

Date:April 30, 2013
good reel for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Choice

Date:April 9, 2013
Very well made Fly Reel and I am very satisfied with it. Plan on taking it to N.C. on vacation and see if it will handle the Trout in the Cullasaga River.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Reel!

Date:April 2, 2013
I like this real. I purchased the 5/6wt model last month while it was on sale and spent two full days breaking it in on the White River in Arkansas. So far I've had no problems with it. The reel is well made and functions far better than I expected. If you are looking for a low cost, well made large arbor reel, this is a good choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Prestige® Premier Fly Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Reel

Date:April 2, 2013
This reel is awesome. For the design and features you would expect to pay more. I purchased one of these reels in the past and it was top notch. It is one of my favorite reels to use and I am currently switching over my low end reels to a much higher quality reel. I highly recommend this reel to anyone that wants to get a great reel with a great drag that won't break the bank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 31