Customer Reviews for REDINGTON Redington CPX Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

REDINGTON Redington CPX Fly Rods

It's what is at the core that counts. That's why Redington utilizes a proprietary new technology called Red.Core in their CPX series of fly rods. The unique spiral core wrap guarantees each rod achieves a superior combination of lightness and durability. Fast-action, 57 million-modulus Toray graphite powers line to your target. Components include Pac-Bay TiCH stripping guides and hard chrome snake guides, premium Portuguese cork handles and ultralight woven graphite reel seats. Machined hidden hook keepers on reel seat of all saltwater models. Length/weight designation on every ferrule. Alignment dots for easy assembly. Includes Cordura® nylon-covered rod tube with rod sock. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Review 1 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redington Hits the Nail on the Head!

Date:July 16, 2013
I purchased this rod (8'6 #4) as an upgrade to my previous starter combo and I must say, the difference is exponential! The construction is beautiful. After looking the rod over several times, I failed to find one flaw. This is a result of quality materials and unparalleled craftsmanship for its price range. The first thing I noticed is how light and balanced this rod is. This quality makes it cast like a dream. Upon holding the rod, I found that the grip is built very comfortably and the cork used has a noticeably soft feel. The uplocking seat really holds the reel in place well without damaging the finish of the reel. The metal on the but end is high quality, well finished, and quite shiny. It contrasts the woven graphite reel seat perfectly and will match any color reel, whether silver, black, copper, etc. The action on the rod is rather fast and whippy. It works well for gently presenting dry flies to finicky trout. The guides smoothly direct the line and will not be damaged by large (messy if I tie them) surgeon's loops, let alone nail knots. I am in love with this rod. Absolutely worth the purchase. One thing a potential buyer should be aware of is the rod tube. It is nice and well-made, but not as useful, as there is no accommodation for a reel. This is implicit, given it is a rod tube, not a rod and reel case, but one would be better suited with the purchase of a case. Nevertheless, if you are on the fence about buying this, go ahead and make the purchase. You will not regret it.
Just for reference, I am using a Sage 1830 reel. It balances well with the rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CPX9054

Date:February 5, 2013
First rod i ever bought and i still find myself going back to it. The feel is great and the durability is outstanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A solid addition to my arsenal!

Date:January 12, 2013
Very pleased with the rod and the sale price makes it even better. Should excel at slinging heavy stuff but successfully made it's debut with midges.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rod for the Bucks

Date:January 3, 2013
I purchased the 8'6" 4 weight on sale for half price. I fished it on a tailwater fishing midges on 6x tippet. The rod casts great and is very accurate and sensitive. The hardware is also comparable to much more expensive rods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

8wt cpx

Date:December 27, 2012
Nice rod for a great price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bay City, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redington CPX

Date:July 24, 2010
The first time that I cast a CPX, I was a little shocked. I had a chance to play with the 6, 8, 10 and 12 weight. I'm not really a 6 weight guy, so, I wasn't really sold on them. I moved to the 8, and had a bit of a crush on it. At this price, you are really getting a boatload of rod for the money. They don't have as much feel as the Z-Axis, but, they cost less than half. I really think that Redington is becoming a force in the rod world! I have to say, that I like the Redington rods under $400, FAR more then any Sage under $400. I think that these are rods you will be sorry if you overlook them based upon their price tag!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fly fishing Guide and Instructor, Rocky Mtns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CPX 10"6" 5 weight Switch Rod

Date:March 29, 2010
I purchased the CPX Switch rod early this year and fished with it several times just recently. Like the Beulah or Mieser Switches it is a half foot shorter than most Switch rods on the market. This is not an impedement; The 10'6" length makes it easy to handle even for a novice. The power and performance the rod produces on the cast is equivalent to a 12' to 12'6" Spey rod. On the conventional side it performs like any 9' rod except it will blow the doors off any 9 footer in casting distance, Line mending and other issues where line control is paramount. This rod is fun with Trout small and large and even at distance it is easy to control and land a good fish. The Lines I used that make this rod sing were a 5/6 and 6/7 Beulah Elixer Switch line, a 5/6 RIO AFS (Advance Flight Spey), a RIO 275 grain Skagit Short Head and a 7 weight RIO Grand conventional line. It is an attractive rod with some custom looks and if you are just getting into Switch rods, the price is right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redington CPX

Date:August 24, 2009
Bought the rod for my wife for a trip to Colorado. She has been flyfishing for a number of years. She was very happy with the ease and accuracy of casting compared to her previous rod. It is a great value for the money. Unless you are a person that lives next to a trout stream or has money to burn it is all the rod you need. We had heavy winds and she was still able to get hoppers where she wanted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: near you
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CPX10654

Date:July 29, 2009
The CPX10654, 10'6" 5wt "switch" rod is quite nice. Not as fast a rod as I expected from reviews of the CPX rods on other sites. A very good rod, nice pick up of a heavy streamer on a sink tip. No hook keeper kept it from getting 5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Redington CPX Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cpx-10'6" 5wt. 4pc.

Date:May 13, 2009
Great rod 1/3 backbone the rest full flex. Single hand cast 90-100' easy need a haul for anything longer. Great little spey caster,120-140' not a problem. I used the afs 5wt. with rio shooting line,can csat the whole thing,also used a 5wt. windcutter spey line very easy to cast the whole belly and shoot line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.