Customer Reviews for ST. CROIX St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods

ST. CROIX St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods

The Imperial series is for those who want elite St. Croix performance at prices even a frugal trout bum can afford. Rod builders at St. Croix designed each of these fly rods for a feather-light feel. They blend high-modulus, high-strain SCIV graphite with premium-quality SCII graphite to create line-zipping fast actions. Other notable features include aluminum oxide stripper guides with black frames, hard chrome snake guides, handsome rosewood insert on reel seat (4-6 wt. models) and premium-grade cork handle. Includes rod case with handle and divider. Manufacturer's limited lifetime warranty. Images depict the "style" of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
21 out of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Review 1 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Fly Rod

Date:April 16, 2014
I did a great amount of research prior to purchasing the Imperial. Already having a few St. Croixs for my spinning and bait casting setups, I figured why not try sticking with the rod company i have already grown to love. The combination on Rio Gold shoots very well (even for someone who has just got into Fly Fishing.)
Like I said, I am very new to this amazing sport and able to cast fly line very very easily. Look forward to my many adventures to come with this rod at local Lakes for still water fly fishing along with trout at Roaring River, Cassville, MO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good fly rod

Date:March 5, 2014
Great price for a decent fly rod. The sky is the limit when it comes to price but this rod is an excellent buy without spending a ton of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

this is a great rod

Date:April 15, 2013
I have a St Croix spinning rod and decided to try their fly rods. I have fished Winston, Sage, Orvis, and bamboo rods. I purchased an 8'6" 4 piece 4 weight St Croix Imperial rod and found it the equal of rods costing three times as much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rods

Date:February 12, 2013
These are just plain awesome rods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rod!

Date:July 31, 2011
I have the 9'4wt Imperial. This is a top notch rod and you don't have to take out a loan to own one! I have fished this rod several times and have yet to be disappointed. Excellent casting and especially fine feel and handling ability when landing a fish. Definitely another quality product from St Croix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laurel MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Rod

Date:April 10, 2010
I have the Imperial in the 8' 6" 3wt , I used this baby on the Middle Patuxent in Howard County,Md. I fished for about five hours after work, this lil' rod is sweet.I caught two rainbows up to 12'' and four suckers one about 18" on 5x tippet and didn't break of once, didn't get tired of casting even after doing 16 hours,and could have kept going but I had another appointment. I used the blue sky ultra-light furled leader with a 3wt triangle taper floating line by Lee Wulff. This set up was perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy It!

Date:March 27, 2010
The 6' 2wt rod is perfect for 6"-12" trout and grayling. Anything over 14" feels like a steelhead on this little thing! This rod is made for small streams, and 40' is about the casting limit. It has a moderate action, not fast, and is very much like the Cabelas PT+ 2wt. The fly size has an upper limit of about 14, and is perfect for casting a size 18 midge on a 7x tippet. When getting a reel for this rod, remember that anything over 3.5oz with line is too heavy for this rod. A Dennison or White River Classic UL reel balance perfectly. The reels that come with the Cabelas combo's are much too heavy for this rod. Cortland's Clear Creek line in WF2F is a great match. If only they made this rod in a 1wt!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice upgrade!

Date:August 12, 2009
I bought the 4 piece 9' 5 weight, and I must say, its a huge upgrade from my first rod (Cabela's). The action is much faster and it has good bend. I am able to cast much further now and the fit and finish is very nice! I personally really like the burgandy finish, and I think it looks really nice out in the sun. The rod is very light too and I added a ross flystart reel and it seems to be a well balanced combo. Oh and the rod case that comes with it is very nice to have too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redding, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top shelf!

Date:August 3, 2009
St Croix..always fine materials and workmanship. Delicate feel..and perfect for the areas I flyfish. I even sat one morning and looked at it before I waded out. Top shelf rod at a very! reasonable price. It's the first one I grab now, and the one I won't let but a select few use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always Top Quality

Date:July 7, 2009
I now have three St. Croix fly rods. Dollar for dollar, they're worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Winona MN in the Driftless Area.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT !!

Date:May 16, 2009
I "needed" a new 4p 4wt and I was looking for a "fast" rod. I decided on the St. Croix Imperial after reading numerous reviews and I couldn't be more pleased.
Normally a Sage or Winston guy, I was VERY impressed with the looks of this rod. Very nice dark burgundy, nicely wrapped and nice reel seat. Some St. Croix's seemed a bit "big in the butt" to me...but this one is very nice.
I fished the rod for about 6 hours today, using a DT 4 and the SA GPX a "4.5" according to SA. It cast both lines equally well. It was very windy most of the day and the WF GPX did the best in the wind.
The rod is considered a "fast" rod and I would agree. But what I was very pleased about was how good the rod felt with a fish on. The rod has good "bend"...and is definitely not a pool cue! It felt like a 4wt should with a 12" brown on!
The Imperial 4p 4wt is a no compromises rod in my opinion. It casts fantastic, looks fantastic and feels fantastic. I see no reason to pay nearly twice as much for other "value" rods...and for that matter for any "fast" rod.
The rod is currently made in Wisconsin, but will eventually be made in Mexico so if your set on US made (as I was) you should pick one up soon.
Bottom line: As good as any other rod I own. And good looking too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: lyme ,Conn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rod

Date:May 11, 2009
this is one of the best rods i have ever fished , i have a ultra elite . and this rod can hang ,best rod for the price .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NEW JESEY -------CENTRAL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW - WHAT A ROD !!!

Date:May 9, 2009
I WAS LOOKING AT THE AVID - BUT DECIDED AGAINST IT - WHY? BEING SOMEWHAT A TRADITIONALIST I LIKED THE FACR THAT THIS ROD HAS SNAKE GUIDES WHERE AS THE AVID USES SINGLE FOOT...THIS IMPERIAL AN 8' FOR A 4 WT LINE HAS BEEN GREAT A LITTLE FASTER IN ACTION THAN USED TO BUT IT HANDLES EVERYTHING - DRIES, NYMPHS, HEAVY STREAMERS AND BUGGERS... IT ROLL CAST GREAT..,.AND IS CRISP ENOUGH TO PICK UP THE WHOLE LINE FOR ANOTHER P RESENTATION WITH OUT FOLDING....AND ITS A PRICE POINT PRODUCT...U WON'T FIND A BETTER ANY WHERE. HAVE TAKEN SEVERAL NICE TROUT ON IT ALREADY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greene co. PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

st croix imperial fly rod

Date:April 21, 2009
for the price this rod is an outstanding value st croix builds a great fly rod my first time out with this rod i caught several trout including a 4lb. brookie thanks st croix!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Avondale, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redesigned St Croix Imperial, NICELY DONE!

Date:February 17, 2009
I recently purchased one of these newly redesigned Imperial fly rods, model I865.4, which is of course an 8'6" five weight, 4 piece rod. I was unable to find one to cast before purchasing, but luckily, was able to get enough info to make the decision to go for it. I have to say, it's a very nice rod, both in looks and castability. In my opinion, it casts as good or better than any fly rod St Croix has built over the years and is clearly at least as good as Sage's "value" rods, which all cost more than this sweet new Imperial. This rod has a great medium fast to fast action, and is super light, not just on the scale but more importantly, in the hand, so it is a real pleasure to spend a day fishing with. The materials are excellent. One tiny complaint - the reel seat hardware, though sturdy and quite nice looking, is a tough fit for the reel feet on some manufacturers' reels. For instance, should you decide to go for the Okuma Magnitude MD, which I did; it's scary trying to get the fat reel seat of that reel to fit, and you really have to crank it down to hold the reel securely. In fairness, most reels will be no problem, but I feel like St Croix could have used hardware with a larger opening for the reel foot. Minor issue, though! The quality of the package is outstanding. You get the same style of rod case, with internal dividers, as with St Croix's more expensive rods, along with the customary rod wax, and you get a limited lifetime warranty. Overall, this is a extremely nice rod, especially for the money. You aren't going to find too many rods out there that provide better value! I highly recommend it and wouldn't hesitate to purchase another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

st. croix imperial fly rods

Date:November 7, 2008
I own 5 fly rods but the imperial 7 wt. is my favorite for all around fishing. I use 9wt floating wt. forward line.
Use this rod for pike bass steelhead salmon and even bluegills on the beds.
I would highly recomend this rod to any avid fisherman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good deal but perhaps only some models

Date:April 28, 2013
I wanted to review these now because of recent changes in the Imperial line since other earlier reviews were posted. I have the 6'0" 2-wt. and the 6'6" 3-wt., and they are really fun to fish with - excellent quality for the price. I have not had problems with the reel seats - they were changed a few years ago and work just fine on several reels. However, you can tell by the action that the butt section is made of a different material(SCIV graphite instead of SCII), the transition in flex is fairly abrupt so the result is action like a spinning rod. This is OK for the short models I have, but I also have the 7'6" 4-wt. model, and because of this, it feels "front-heavy", while casting. The main reason I can't rate it 5 stars is the handle - I do not prefer a handle tapered so narrow towards the front. It would be better if this company used the traditional half-wells cigar-shaped handle that is more comfortable. Again, this is not a big problem with the light weight short models, and I can highly recommend them for ultralight fly rod fishing in small streams - if it weren't for these, I would have to pay way more money to buy a different brand. I am also glad this company decided to keep making these models in the US.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

St. Croix Imperial fly rods

Date:March 9, 2010
I have owned my St. Croix Imperial since I was sixteen years old, I'm now 31. I can't say enough for the durabilty of this rod. Ive dropped it, fell on it, slammed the tip against rocks more times than I can count and it keeps on going. I have a 7 foot 3/4 wieght with cork and rings reel seat. The only problem I have with the rod is the action is a little stiff for the line wieght.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Comment on St. Croix Imperial Fly Rod

Date:August 7, 2009
In July 09 I purchased a 9-ft 5-wt St. Croix Imperial Fly Rod. I've used this rod during an extended fishing trip to the eastern Sierra Nevada Range, and subsequently on a nearly weekly basis while pursuing trout in a southern California high-elevation lake close to my home.
I found the rod to be verstile, as evident by its ability to protect light tippets (5x and 6x) while fighting relatively large trout (3-pound class) and punch large, weighted nymphs into the wind. In my view, the rod possesses power to pressure large trout from the depths and heavy current, which is no doubt due to the rod's fast action. The rod is responsive to the hand and arm movements that are needed to produce certain technical cast types (e.g., S-cast, left-reach cast, etc.) and pin-point casting.
I realize the foregoing review may sound a bit over the top, but I assure you I have no affiliation with St. Croix. I'm just a humble family guy who loves to fish for trout, particularly trophy trout. This is a great rod and I've tried many rods in my 30-plus years of flyfishing for resident trout and steelhead. The only downside to the rod is the color. Indoors, the color is quite attractive, but outdoors in bright light the rod color is excessively bright (red) and quite unappealing, at least to me.
Happy fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for St. Croix Imperial® Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: north Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rod, good price

Date:August 3, 2009
I would have given this rod 4.5 stars if possible. Good rod, especially for the price. Fit, finish well done. Fairly fast action with soft tip that loads easily; may be a bit too soft tip for some tastes but fishes well at most fishing distances. Bought for backup rod but will likely see alot of time as number one rod. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23