Customer Reviews for ECHO Echo Ion Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

ECHO Echo Ion Fly Rods

Echo Ion rod designer and competitive fly-caster Tim Rajeff's main goal was ideally blending action and power to meet specific fly-fishing applications. The Echo Ion's stiff backbone generates high line speeds and tight loops without causing hand and arm fatigue. The rods feature half-wells cork handles with composite pressure zones. Alignment dots allow for easy assembly. Ion rods have matte stealth grey blanks and fighting butts. Each rod comes with a Cordura® nylon-covered rod tube. Images depict the "style" of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Review 1 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lawrence, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast & light rod

Date:May 28, 2009
I found this rod to be a little of a surprise when I first saw it and then cast it. The blanks are an odd plastic looking gray, but high quality material, and the seat has a industrial gun metal gray to give it some balance visually. I really liked the handle design and found it to be very comfortable and sized right for a larger hand. The mixed cork was a nice touch too.
The rod is much lighter than I expected for a 7wt and felt like I was casting a 4wt, so could see tossing this a lot longer than my other 7wts for bass or bonefish. The rod is much stiffer than what I am used to and a real tip-flex design. You have to slow down your cast speed and really pay attention to the load when first casting it. I could hardly feel it and kept adding line and really trying to bend the rod to see how much it could take. You really don't have to put much effort to toss out 60' - 70' of line with this rod and it allows you to pick up a lot of line off the water. This is great if you want to shoot the line with a haul or two when working an area.
I think I may try to over weight it with 8wt RIO for lighter flies and see how it performs. 7wt seems almost a little light for these, but with bigger bass bugs and clousers it performs great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eco Ion 10 wt.

Date:September 18, 2009
So far this has been a great rod. I believe it is listed as "med-fast", but definitely leans toward the fast. First cast, with no effort, was easily a 100 ft. I have it set up with a shooting head system. First 20 lb chinook was not a problem even with a last gasp rod breaker run. Perhaps I lucked out with this rod, but if they are all like it then they are a steal. It performs better than rods three times the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ultimate Rod ! ! !

Date:June 14, 2010
This rod is THE BEST !! Bought a 10wt. Was able to cast 90 ft. of fly line plus 10 ft of backing with minimal effort and false casts. Over lined with an 11wt. fly line. Used every fly from small 1/0 Clouser's , sliders to 4/0 Bangers and 10 inch Mega Mushies & Deceivers. NO Problem! Tons of backbone and makes casting into the wind an effort and not a battle. Defenately best bang for the buck. Casts like $700 rod and light as a 7wt. Great rod for not so great casters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maple Lake MN.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

moderately satisfied

Date:April 25, 2011
Just recieved an ECHO ION 9' 9wt. None of the ''alignment dots'' we're even close, the reel seat shaft doe's not line up with the handle, with that said, It's by far the best rod i've ever used. 90ft. of pike line was absolutely no problem at all! A pleasure to cast, not so much to look at.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pretty good rod

Date:January 10, 2012
bought a 10ft 8 wt 2 years ago and have had some problems casting in the wind (it maybe just me) and getting the desired distance in my casts -- seems to have a lot of tip action. However that being said, when I do get my casts out there I have hooked 10+ lb salmon in northern BC and the rod performed very well, no worries about breaking the rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Stick for big flies

Date:February 23, 2012
I purchased the Echo Ion, 10 foot 6wt this past December. It has become my go-to stick for winter nymphing. It makes throwing large sinking flies and double nymph rigs a breeze. The extra stiffness allowed me to use a heavier line (recommend going up a weight or two), which aids in using single-handed spey techniques when casting is tight. The extra length has helped in line control and making long mends – by the way, long mends are required because this rod pushes out a lot of line with little effort.
Overall, I have loved it thus far and am looking forward to trying it out this summer throwing big streamers and poppers. I am happy to have it in my arsenal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bass/steelhead rod

Date:May 14, 2012
I purchased this rod for bass and winter steelhead and so far it has worked very well. The ion casts big flies with ease and has a ton of backbone. Have not had the chance to fight a trully "big" fish but am sure it will do fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent rod but stiff

Date:October 3, 2012
I bought a 10' 8 wt of this rod and put 8 wt Rio Grand line on it. The rod is stiff and would probably be better suited for a 9 wt line.
I have caught 20 Lake Ontario-run salmon, both kings and cohos, with this rod. It has plenty of backbone and handled 30 lb+ kings with no problem. It will probably be overkill for late fall steelhead and browns. The only complaint is the stiffness takes some muscle to cast, though it will allow me to chuck bunny leeches 60' with no problem. I'm looking forward to taking it to Cape Cod for stripers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Echo Ion Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Echo ion is a great rod

Date:November 26, 2012
Bought a 10 ft #6 it is a very good rod. Quite stiff can easily handle a line weight one number greater than specified.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.