Customer Reviews for Sage Sage XP Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Sage Sage XP Fly Rods

In an exclusive partnership with Sage, Cabela's is bringing back one of the most popular rod series ever made, the Sage XP, for a limited production run. The XP's dynamic fast action made it an instant classic with anglers. Now we are offering you one last shot to own these powerful rods. These models are not previously used or factory overstocks. Each Cabela's-exclusive rod is brand new, straight from Sage's rod factory in Bainbridge, Wash. Five of the most popular sizes are available, but supplies are limited, so order quickly to guarantee availability of any specific model. XP fly rods are light, powerful and responsive ? everything a seasoned angler looks for in a premium fast-action rod. Designed to work best with a quick, compact casting stroke, the?rods load quickly, generate tremendous line speeds for longer casts and make it easy to lift line off the water. These rods don't rely on brute strength alone. Versatile Graphite IIIe construction produces the exceptional responsiveness you'll need to make delicate presentations, regardless of the model you choose. XP rods are the right choice whenever precision line control is a must. 8-weight comes with the original anodized-aluminum reel seat and fighting butt.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sage XP Fly Rods
Review 1 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Leesburg, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage XP - Fantastic

Date:May 5, 2009
Thank you Cabelas and SAGE for making the XP available again. A guide I fished with let me try his XP and I was sold. After receiving the XP 590 from Cabelas, I immediately went out and fished it. The XP did not disappoint. It was better than I had remembered. Thank you again Cabelas! It is really refreshing to see an outfitter like Cabelas doing something this great for fishermen. A great fly rod. Cabelas and SAGE - There are no equals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Princeton, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage XP

Date:May 5, 2009
Another great rod from Sage.
Easy casting...... at distance too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saunderstown, RI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage XP: The Champion is Back!

Date:May 30, 2009
Rod makers keep changing their products to keep us buying the latest and greatest. Thanks Cabelas for bringing back this winner. Smart anglers can just purchase the Sage XP and break the cycle of escalating costs and "improved" technologies----this high performance rod will be all you need for a lifetime of fly fishing. Just buy one and go fishing. I have four of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Danville,Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage 905-4 XP

Date:June 19, 2009
This is a super rod that carries a #5 WFFF just
perfectly. ..Very dexterous and responsive!
It's great that Cabella's is the only place to purchase
these XP rods...since Sage has discontinued their
manufacturing in place of the V-Axis series.
R.S.S.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Avondale, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage XP, the return of a beautiful rod

Date:June 30, 2009
The Sage XP is in my opinion, one of the finest fly rods ever produced. These rods just feel perfect to me in every way. That Cabela's was able to bring them back for a "second run" really is commendable on their part as well as Sage's. I purchased the XP 490-4, and am amazed at just how good it is...like someone already mentioned, it's really all you could ever need in the way of a fly rod. It casts beautifully with the Rio Grand, Rio Gold or Scientific Anglers GPX lines. I'm sure it will also cast great with any number of other lines. The rod is simply beautiful to look at and a real pleasure to fish. It has power, grace and beauty, a real combination. Hard to believe Sage ever discontinued these wonderful rods in the first place! Thanks Sage and Cabela's, for bringing back the XP, if only for a limited time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Watauga, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thank you Cabelas

Date:July 3, 2009
Thank you Cabelas and Sage for bringing back the XP series. These rods love line, shoot like a dream, and still fish close. Thanks Again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ONE GREAT PURCHASE

Date:July 23, 2009
Doubled my casting length and presentation is perfect. Firm, quick rod that is a pleasure to go fishing with.
Worth every penny :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great fly rod

Date:August 3, 2009
Sage XP is everything you could ask for in a fly rod. Lightweight, but super powerful. I do most of my fishing on the Lower Sacramento and it requires a rod that can toss two bugs, two AB weights and a ton of line. The XP can do it with ease.
Also, we have big nasty Rainbows on the Lower Sac and the XP has the backbone to stand up to a big fish in big water.
You can't buy a better fly rod...I have a Z Axis 7 wt 9.5 foot..it too is an awesome rod. But for the money, the XP at the price Cabelas is selling it for is a steal. Buy one, you will love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage XP 4 piece

Date:August 3, 2009
I bought the XP to replace a broken custom Loomis rod I had. The Sage is a 4 piece, 5wt. 9 foot rod.
It's first trip was to Shuree ponds on the Valle Vidal in New Mexico, a famed area with lunker trout to 24".
My first impressions of the rod were; light, nimble but with the backbone to really shoot a fly. When I hooked into the first 18" cutthroat, the rod showed it's might. I was fishing nymph's down deep with a sinking line, so I was seeing the power but not the delicacy this rod has.
When the caddis hatch came on, I was able to see the touch you can put on a dry fly with this rod. I landed a nice 22" female rainbow, who was sipping from the top, within 1 minute of the hatch.
The sale price makes this rod a steal, don't pass it up. Comes with a beautiful aluminum Sage tube.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XP Sage

Date:August 3, 2009
Cast a XP this summer and loved it. Just could not pass up this great deal. Maybe your last chances to get a XP Sage fly rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana Trout Master
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SAGE 490-4 XP

Date:August 4, 2009
This is my second XP and I would recommend this rod to almost anyone serious about flyfishing. I also own Winstons and several other Sage rods (TCR, etc.) The XP sieries rods are far and away my favorites. Fast and powerful but with a forgiving tip and smooth action. Get one now and you won't look back!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great XP Rods

Date:August 10, 2009
When Cabelas brought back the Sage XP rods for a limited time, I knew I had to have the 9', 4 wt, 4 pc. I already had the 5 weight XP and knew they were wonderful rods. The XP rods are a joy to fish with. You can't go wrong with a Sage XP and the lifetime warranty is one of the best in the industry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, BC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best of the Best

Date:August 17, 2009
More sensitive, better casting, unbelievable rod, worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage XP 4 piece 4 weight

Date:August 24, 2009
Just used this rod for a week dry fly fishing in the Kootenays (eastern British Columbia) and it was so light and responsive I was just amazed. What can you say about Sage's best ever rod line? Bring it back please. It was awsome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grayling. MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage XP 590-4

Date:September 10, 2009
I already own an XP 9'6" 7 wt that I use for streamer fishing in Michigan and love it. I never got around to ordering a 5 wt XP and thought I was out of luck whe the rod was discontinued . Thus, I was ecstatic when Cabela's was able to partner with Sage and bring back this classic rod style.
My XP590-4 arrived in the mail a few days before I left for Montana to fish the rivers of Yellowstone with a good buddy. The rod was "cristened" by landing three 14-16" cutthroats on the first meadow of Slough Creek in Yellowstone Park. The 5 wt was a perfect all around rod for the trip.
Thanks Sage and Cabela's for another chance to purchase a truly great rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As Anticipated

Date:September 12, 2009
Bought the 5 wt - had never casted one before but had heard about the great reputation ove ther years. It is a really smooth casting road.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sage XP Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Clarksburg, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage XP Fly Rod

Date:September 16, 2009
An amazingly well balanced and lightweight rod. Your arm doesn't get as tired with this rod and it's really easy to spend all day relaxing out on the water. Breaks down and sets up with ease.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.