Customer Reviews for ROSS Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

ROSS Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods

The FW rods are the premium, top-of-the-line offering of the Essence line. These rods are composed of Ross' exclusive proprietary R-3 graphite – the highest grade graphite available in this series – for exceptionally fluid casting smoothness and surgical fly-placing precision. A medium-fast action rod taper complements any casting style. Powerful and responsive, these rods deliver the close-in accuracy and river-crossing long-range potential normally reserved for much-higher-priced rods. The four-piece design is, at once, sturdy and lightweight to provide the fish-turning authority you need to avoid interference from rocks, hanging shrubbery and flooded timber, while maintaining a lightweight feel that minimizes casting fatigue. Ultrastrong titanium-oxide guides provide durable, friction-reducing performance. The rich, stream-inspired deep green finish on the rod is refined with silver accents. A durable "Grade A" cork handle provides a dexterous grip and traditional elegance. All rods are shipped with a custom-fitted aluminum carry case. Named after acclaimed fly-fishing master Mel Krieger's instructional tome, "The Essence of Flycasting," each rod in the Essence Series was designed using Krieger's expertise to satisfy the demands of seasoned fly fishermen and beginners alike, setting a new standard for affordably priced fly rods. Images depict the "style" of the reel and rod handle and may not fully represent the actual product.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Review 1 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brighton, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rod, Great Price!

Date:January 15, 2009
I own two of these rods, a 5wt.and an 8wt., and I love them both! For the money, you really can't find a better rod. They cast awesome, have a lot of fighting power and they are really durable. Nice job Ross!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ross Rods

Date:January 31, 2009
For the money you cant beat these rods! Ross has out done them selves. I have many of the new Ross FW series and love the actions on these rods. The performance is better then the big expensive rods. I hope ROSS comes out with more rods! That would be great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great look for performance

Date:February 4, 2009
Last year I used FW fly rods in the hands of most of my clients for over 200 days. The response on how great the rod looked, and handled was positive. Many anglers were shocked at the price point because the rod has a finsih that matches other high end rods on the market. Most importantly was the way it performed on the water. For many after using the FW for a day or more it became a must have rod in their arsenal of set ups for future fly fishing adventures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ross FW Fly Rods

Date:February 10, 2009
I used the Ross Essence FW rods extensively last season in a variety of different sizes and situations and was very pleased with the rods performance! I used the 6wt FW for my carp fishing and these rods not only handled tossing weighted flies with ease but their toughness and fish fighting ability also impressed me as well. Forget the price, these rods are a great toll no matter what the price is!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Victor, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ross Essence FW Fly Rod

Date:February 19, 2009
I have been fishing the high dollar fly rods (Sage, Loomis, T & T and etc) for over 25 years. I've been stubborn, thinking that if a rod did not cost $500 or more it wasn't worth fishing. Not anymore! I picked up a friends 9' for a 5 line Ross Essence FW fly rod on a trip this summer and could not believe how well it handled. This is a great rod!
A month later I went as far as to purchase an 8-weight FW as a backup for a trip to Mongolia. Sure enough, I broke my high-end rod the first day and my new FW ended up being my rod for the trip. It cast beautifuly and was a fantastic tool for landing large taimen. It performed incredible!
These rods are perfect for any casting style and seem effortless to aquire needed distances with pin-point accuracy.
Very, very impressed!
The Permit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bay City, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ross Fly Rods

Date:April 16, 2009
I like the new rod offerings from Ross. I am happy to see that they have taken the goal of building the best fly reels, and more it over to the rod area!
The FlyStiks are a fun rod, if you like the Sage Bass rods, look into these. I own both, and I like the Sage a little more, but the FlyStik is a fraction of the money!
The Journey is a great little rod! I can not say enough about this little guy. As sad as this is to say, I like to fish this as my small water rod. They are perfect to get the kids into fishing, and my other-half loves that she has a pink rod.
Of the Essence line, I think that I like the FW's the best. The finish is a little better, as is the cork, and rod tube. I have seen clients punish these rods to the point that they look like the old "Ugly Stik" ads! I am not saying that I think it's a good idea, but I have not seen any break to this point.
Overall, for the money, I think that the Ross rods are a great fit for today. Not everyone can rationalize a $700 fly rod, and it's hard for someone to get into the sport if all of the good equipment costs as much as your house payment! I am a die-hard Sage guy, but I like these far more at this price point than anything Sage has to offer under $400 (Bass Rods not included).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT RODS!

Date:April 19, 2009
Have fished both the 4-weight and 10-weight. They are extremely lightweight but strong and durable. Nice cosmetics as well. An exceptional value in a very competitive market. Highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: denver
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ross FW

Date:April 29, 2009
I have clients hammer on these rods and they bounce back everytime. I'm paticulaly fond of the 3wt. It has a controlable feel for longer casts and great for dapping pocket water. The price is a steal for the craftmanship that is put into these rods. I can't really call these back-ups anymore, they have become the go to's now for the past 2 seasons. If you are the type that still thinks you have to spend big money for an exceptional rod and therefore make you a better caster, than this rod is for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint John New Brunswick Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Rod

Date:May 26, 2010
I just fished 1st weekend with 7.6 ft - 4 weight rod for brook/seatrout on small river. Simply amazing. Didn't matter if needed to cast 40 ft of line or lay out 15 ft it was awesome. Well worth the money & good feeling knowing has limetime warranty. Matched rod with Ross Evolution reel - no other way to describe but awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: RENO NV
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE FW "CHANGING THE GAME"

Date:June 30, 2010
As a professional flyfisher I have access to several products. Of all the available fly rods out there nothing comes close to the value of the ROSS ESSENCE FW. The FW is incredibly powerful and smooth to cast. The ESSENCE rod series was developed by the ROSS engineers with the special assistance from the late "HALL OF FAME" flyfisher Mel Krieger ("THE ESSENCE OF FLYCASTING"). Together they developed a fly rod that has yet to be matched for price and quality. I recommend that you cast the FW along side of any other rod , you will be pleasantly surprised! Many of my fellow flyfishers are now fishing with the FW. Good luck in your angling. Doug O.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ross Worldwide Essence FW Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rolla Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Value

Date:January 11, 2011
I recently acquired the Ross Essence FW 9ft 6wt rod. This rod is my first higher quality rod and my first Ross product. The fit and finish of the rod is very nice yet quite understated. The hardware on the rod is high quality and it is blemish free. It is very well put together.
On my first outing with the rod, I was very impressed with its performance. It loads very nicely allowing for long casts to be made with little effort. I found it to be very accurate and I had little fatigue after a day of fishing. Setting the hook was as easy as lifting the rod and lightly pulling on the line. I was using 7x tippets and very small soft hackle flies and was able to effectively fish this equipment without breaking line and losing flies or fish. I look forward to nymphing with this rod as I believe it will perform equally as well with the heavier flies.
I recommend this rod highly. It's price makes it very accessible and it performance makes it an unbelievable bargain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.