Customer Reviews for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line

This money-saving combo pairs a Three Forks rod with a Cahill reel. For years, Cabela's Three Forks rods have been the choice for anglers seeking a quality fly rod at an affordable price. The components create a look and feel you'd expect from a rod costing three times as much. The 7'6" 3-weight and 8' 5-weight models feature a moderate action. All other rod models have a moderate/fast action that is great for beginners and experienced anglers alike. Cosmetics include appealing burnt-olive-colored blanks, dark cocobolo reel seats and double-foot snake guides. The 8- and 10-weight models feature aluminum reel seats and fighting butts. Hard to pass up for its features and low price, the Cahill fly reel features an offset gear to gear disc drag tightens down to get control of hooked fish. An exposed rim allows you to palm the spool. Constructed of a durable injection-molded graphite for dependability. It also easily converts from right- to left-hand retrieve. Together, the Three Forks rod and Cahill reel make an outstanding introductory fly-fishing combination. Combo includes weight-forward fly line and backing. Images depict the "style" of the reel and rod handle and may not fully represent the actual product.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Review 1 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You get what you pay for

Date:October 13, 2012
I bought the 7'6" 3 weight combo. There are a few things to be sure you realize. The reel is the 456 model - meaning it was built for the 4/5/6 weight combos. It is pretty heavy for the 3 weight rod, and it isn't a well balanced combo. They also give you 150 yards of backing. Don't use it all! If the backing and line isn't wound perfectly level, it ends up causing a jam because you've wound to high. As far as the line itself: they don't send it on any type of reel or disc or anything. It's just freely looped, so be careful when you're spooling up your reel so it doesn't get tangled. It also doesn't have a loop connector for your leader - if that matters to you. The reel has adjustable drag, which actually surprised me at the price point of this combo. It tends to loosen your drag setting on its own pretty easily though.
All that being said, you get what you pay for. It's a very low cost combo, an an OK rod. It's great if you need to get into the sport for as little as possible, if you just need an extra "specialty" rod, or a backup rod. Don't expect it to rival an entry level rod from one of the big name companies. On the same note, you'd also be able to buy about 4 of these for the same price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good rod, Wrong reel

Date:September 17, 2012
Who sells a 3-weight combo with anything other than a 3-wt reel?
Ordered the combo: 3-wt rod with "Model 456" Cahill reel. Turns out "Model 456" actually means "4/5/6," i.e., a reel suitable for 4, 5, or 6-weight line. This reel is a monster compared to the relatively delicate 3-wt Three Forks rod, and it does not balance the rod well. I've replaced it with an extra 3-wt that I had happened to already have. If I didn't happen to have an extra reel, I'd have sent the combo back to Nebraska.
Odd thing is that this is the second 3-wt Three Forks combo I've ordered from Cabelas'. Got the first one two or three years ago, and it came with a perfectly good 3-wt reel.
Upshot:
-- 3-wt Three Forks rod: good rod, great value. 4 or 5 stars.
-- 4/5/6 Cahill reel that came with it: has no place on a 3-wt rod, should not have been part of a 3-wt combo. Can't imagine what Cabela's was thinking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best buy !

Date:July 21, 2012
i liked!! :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rod

Date:May 16, 2012
I like my rod and reel. Not in love with the line. I have had great success casting with it. I love the action. For the price, it was a great deal. It is a wonderful value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: S.E. MIchigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5wt 8-6 set

Date:April 25, 2012
The setup is well balanced and is working well. I like it alot. One heck of a good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Estacada OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Begginer Rod!!!

Date:July 23, 2009
I just got into fly fishing after having taken casting lessons 2 yrs back. This is my first rod and reel and I love them!!! I don't think I will ever go back to spin reel fishing. The rod has great ergonomics, and the reel is great. I recommend it to beginners and veterans alike, especially if your budget doesn't allow for a 500 dollar pole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fountain, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3 forks/cahill combo

Date:July 15, 2009
Great set up for the beginner fly fisher! these products will last and will be passed on to new generations to come and at a very reasonable price too. Another great product from Cabelas !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kamloops, British Columbia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Three Forks/cahill Fly combo

Date:June 30, 2009
Great Rod, showed it to my buddies, avid fly fishers and asked them to review it and they thought it costs hundreds of dollars. Only drawback was the reel, way too large for a 3 weight line. The reel was for a 5-6 weight. Great action and feel. Different reel would have made it 4 stars. Fantastic value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great fly rod for the price

Date:June 30, 2009
This is a great fly rod and reel. I bought it to go fishing in the Smokies. It has a great feel to it and it worked great in the mountain streams fishing for trout.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pendlton sc
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:January 22, 2009
freakin awesome ain't caught nothin yet but im gonna git me one dem trout
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good

Date:November 2, 2008
I'm 13 and I read a book about fly fishing and I got hooked. I talked about it all the time. I've had it for a year now and love it we went on a trip and sadly didnt catch any but it performed awsome. The thing is its a great family sport (i got my dad into it!) and is highly recommended by me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3 forks fly combo

Date:October 28, 2008
Good product. Received it quickly. I'm satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Raised in NH, and currently live in CT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo

Date:August 25, 2008
An easy four stars when you consider tht it is a beginer's outfit. It would be nice to see some basic directions on how to tie the backing to the reel, the line to the backing and the leader to the line....also some basic instructions on casting. the drag is not great, but it works. The rod is better than I expected. I caught fish on my very forst outing, and every time since. This is a wonderful, inexpensive way to introduce some one to fly fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Macomb, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Surprised

Date:August 12, 2008
I purchased a Three Forks/Cahill combo, 9ft 5wt 4 piece. Because I am left handed, I reversed the reel for a right hand retrieve. This was easy enough, but the spool had a binding problem (I did not notice any binding in left hand retrieve). The next day I tested the rod at a local pond with 5wt and 6wt lines. With the 5wt line, the rod seemed stiffer than I expected, so I put on the 6wt line. With the 6wt line, the rod actually performed better than I expected. After several long casts, I decided to head home. I was satisfied with the idea of using the 5wt rod as a 6wt. While reeling in the line a beautiful 9-inch blue gill hit the small bead head wooly bugger used as a test fly. I was excited for about two seconds. The rod tip broke before I could even get the excess line reeled in. I drove home dejected. Later I contacted Cabelas customer service. They gladly agreed to replace the rod and reel or provide me with credit toward another rod. I have owned several Cabelas PT, Traditional, and Three Fork rods over the past ten years. This is the first to disappoint me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy fishing

Date:July 30, 2008
The fly rod comb is easy to use & fun catching Bass & red ears
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Combos

Date:July 24, 2008
This is the second fly fishing combo rod and reel I got from them and you can't beat the quality and price anywhere. . The rod is great and so is the reel. It cast with little effort and the drag system on the reel works great. If you are looking for a great fly rod and reel get one of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combos

Date:July 22, 2008
The Three Forks fly rod is great. It has nice action. However, the 4-5-6 Cahill reel is too large for for the 3 wt rod and the reel doesn't work well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Three Forks/Cahill Fly Combo with Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super for price

Date:July 7, 2008
Such an easy pole to use after not fly fishing for 20 years a great action and easy to use reel fly fishing came back to me within an hour making 25 yard casts with ease recommended
for even a seasoned angler
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.