Customer Reviews for SAGE Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

SAGE Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods

Having the Z-Axis in your casting hand is truly empowering. They exude fish-catching prowess akin to something out of a dream. The tip strength gives you the forgiveness to bail you out of a missed stroke, and the extra punch in their taper propels flies into the wind with rocket-like efficiency. Sage spent years researching every inch of the rod blank using exclusive analysis software. The goal was to eliminate all unnecessary material and weight. Take one and start firing and you’ll agree these rods are light, strong and easier to cast for anglers of all skill levels. Each blank incorporates the next level of Sage’s Generation 5 Technology. Aligned Fiber Technology replaces traditional glass hoop fibers with lighter, more responsive graphite. This improvement is combined with new construction techniques to align and compress the rods for maximum strength. Z-Axis rods produce previously unattainable levels of line feel, response and performance. Made in USA. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Review 1 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sunny California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage Z-Axis Fly Rod

Date:March 9, 2011
Very nice fit, finish, and light for a 9'6" rod. Plenty of backbone and is a joy to cast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Yakima, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Cool

Date:February 15, 2010
Overall I am very satisfied with this rod but this a review and I'm going to be honest as well. I have used my 4 wt. 8'6" for 2 seasons and over this time period have been able to test the rod in many situations. It throws dries really well and I am impressed by the low weight and delicate presentation. Nymphing and using streamers is a harder task though. I have a lot of trouble casting a heavy double nymph set up or streamers. I still use it for nymphing but streamers are pretty much out of the question. To be honest, this may be more of an issue because it's a 4 weight and should be heavier for those tasks. I have found also that there is not much "umph" behind it when you make longer casts and it is sort of a broomstick. I still really like this rod though, I just think that you need time to learn it and understand its pros and cons.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Adelaide Australia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I cannot give this a bad review

Date:November 21, 2011
I have recently purchased a 9"6' version in 6 weight. the extra length makes the action heavy but still controlable, this rod is simply excelent. I have fought large fish on 5X and 6X tippets and not broken off. I have fired double fly rigs into a wind with little difficulty. I have mended line like mad on fast flowing rivers . The thing actually makes my inexpert thrashing look good. I have compare this rod to several others I have owned ( around the same price). ,Yes I am going to have to say what everyone else has said : this is a fast but not too fast near pefect rod. I dont like to sound too gushing but,I too love the Z Axis series.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pac NW
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another Great Rod from Sage

Date:October 24, 2011
I think the Z-axis has been out long enough that most fly fishers are well aware of it. Check the reviews and rod shoot outs, the Z-axis is one of the best casting fly rods made.
I opted for a 9 foot 6 for mainly nymph and streamer use on western freestone rivers... so far this rod has lived up to everything I was expecting from it... you won't regret owning one of these rods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage Z Axis

Date:September 27, 2011
Best all around fly rod. It casts amazing loads with any line you want to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new york
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best

Date:September 19, 2011
This is the mercedes benz of fly rods. Its a shame that sage has chosen to discontinue this rod. I own three of these rods and they simply out perform the rest of the field. Hopefully sage will bring back this great rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet rod

Date:September 13, 2011
5wt. Very fast rod with smooth action. Used in wind and calm. Very consistent casting. Lots of fun. Perfect rod for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Louis, MO.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage Z-Axis is the BOMB !

Date:August 25, 2011
I bought the 9'6" 6Wt a few years ago, stepping up from a Sage Flight. This rod is a dream to cast ! From multiple nymphs under an indicator, to an attractor and a nymph, to weighty streamers for big browns, it handles everything you need to chuck. It can zip your rig through steady Montana winds in a drift boat, or can get you the distance on a farm pond to scut a big popper over a lot of water, chasing bass. Lots of backbone for anything that bites. I also have the 8' - 4Wt for throwing dries. Delicate presentations, good tracking in a breeze, and enough backbone for when you latch onto something bigger than you were expecting. I can't say enough about this entire series of rods. My favorite Montana guide is a "Sage-Man' also, letting the Winston's populate the other boats. Snap one up for yourself !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My new favorite rod!

Date:May 30, 2011
I love fishing with this rod. It makes casting so much easier. I have fished dries, nymphs, and streamers and I'm really happy with it. No complaints at all, just a super flyrod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elko, NV
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet

Date:January 6, 2011
For readers to evaluate the review I'm a novice fly fisherman, who started the sport a year ago. I started with a lower quality unit, and read material that suggested I buy the best gear I could afford and that was a Sage z-axis fly rid.
I knew it was different from the moment I took it out of the box. The finish was flawless and of high quality; the rod felt more like it wanted to throw a fly in my hands than the other one.
As advertised I make better casts (not that high of a bar) and I'm able to fish longer without my arm wearing out. By making fishing a little easier and a little less effort it increases my enjoyment of a sport I enjoy very much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage Z Axis

Date:August 9, 2010
This rod makes an amateur like me look good. Using Cablelas points from my credit card, I reduced the purchase price by more than 50% and received the rod 3 days before departing to Montana to fish the Madison, Henry's Fork, Yellowstone and Gallatin rivers. I tied on a dry with a nymph dropper along with a strike indicator for most of the 7 day trip and found that this rod "loaded up" very well and often gave me greater accuracy and distance than the guides Orvis Helios rod that used for comparison. Sage rules!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bay City, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Z-Axis 3, 4, 5, 6 & 8wt

Date:July 9, 2010
Great rods! I really didn't care for the Xp's overall. While they were fun to cast, they were lacking in several areas to fish. The Z-Axis has cured those issues. Flat out, these rods are canons, that being said, they will also load with very little line. Something that the XP could only dream of. I like the special small grip 6 and 8 weights, and I am happy to see someone make a rod that allows more people to fish all day without looking to the joy of cramped hands! The 890-4 can double as a great bone fish rod, and is very comfortable in the salt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:April 28, 2010
If I had to take one rod to Northern Patagonia, I would take the Sage Z-Axis 5wt.
It has the backbone to throw large terrestrial patterns in the spring, and is light so your arm does not tire with the repetitive short range casting.
It is delicate enough to enjoy fishing tiny dries to rising rising fish in the summer.
Match it with a 200 grain SA Streamer Express and you have the ideal rig to throw chunky streamers to deep sitting browns in the autumn.
It is a joy to catch 12 inch rainbows in shallow riffles and has all the muscle to pull massive migratory browns out of undercuts in deep fast moving water.
In fact - I scratched a ferule on mine on my last trip; I am going to buy another as a back up in the same weight.
I cannot recommend it more highly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage Z Axis 790-4

Date:March 23, 2010
This is absolutely the finest rod I have ever used for tossing large/bulky flies for resident Trout and Smallmouth Bass. It has the power down low to toss the big stuff on sinking and floating lines. The rod flexes a bit deeper into the mid section allowing for a slightly stiffer tip than the XP series, in return allowing better tracking and just a better feel with larger flies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stephenville, Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sage z axis fly rod -- worth the money!

Date:August 11, 2009
I fished the Madison river in Montana a few days after getting this rod. I am not an expert fly fisherman, but this rod made me look much, much better than I really am. This is a great rod that I highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage Z-Axis 590--4

Date:March 23, 2009
I have always loved Sage fly rods, and this new Z-Axis is definitely a step up in fly rod design and performance. The light weight, fast action, coupled with great line tracking and feel make for a pleasant-casting rod. Indeed, it's an amazing fishing tool, and one which will provide years of enjoyment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage 590 Z-Axis Fly Rod

Date:October 29, 2008
I recently purchased my third Sage rod which was a two piece 590 Z-Axis. This is an outstanding rod for river fishing that has performed well casting into the wind, using large weighted nymphs such as stoneflies, and double haul casting streamer fishing on the Henry's Fork and the South Fork of the Snake River. It's also versatile enough to use for dry fly fishing on small creeks that require a delicate presentation. To load the fast action Sage rods I prefer the RIO Grand fly line that's a little heavier then other lines of the same weight. Great rod!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Avondale, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage Z-Axis, The BEST fly rods made!

Date:August 26, 2008
I own two Z-Axis fly rods, a 590-4 and a 696-4. Both are awesome rods. I was the previous owner of an XP 586-4, and although I think the XP was a beautiful rod to fish, the Z-Axis is even better. It has all the advantages of a fast action rod, with none of the drawbacks. To be specific, the Z-Axis 5 weight handles like an 8'6" 4 weight on the stream, but has a lot more power and to top it off, like a good 4 wt, it has the delicacy to drop a small fly with nary a ripple. Many fast action 5 wts can't do that. You might get the power, but a broomstick-like feel up close. Or you might have great delicacy, but no power. With the Z-Axis you get both! I use the 6 wt for float tubing and nymphing and it has never failed to make me smile. It has tremendous power to chuck buggers, big dries or double-nymph rigs all day long without fatigue, but feels no heavier than the average 5 wt and has the "feel" of an SLT with the power of an XP - the best of both worlds! I love these rods - they aren't cheap of course, but in my opinion are worth every penny of their price. Check one out, my belief is you will love them too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bozeman, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Road

Date:July 27, 2008
I fish the rivers of SW Montana both wading and from a boat. I was in the market for a new rod to throw streamers, big nymphs, and big dries. I waited until the Z-Axis came out to and bought the 9' 6" 6 wt. This rod throws the big stuff with both power, accuracy, and grace. It is a pleasure to cast. Best of all, no tennis elbow after a long day on the river.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sage Z-Axis Switch and Spey Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chesapeake Bay, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rod

Date:November 20, 2007
I use my new 9 weight Z Axis for Strippers in the Chesapeake Bay and fall trips for Albies, winter trips to tropical destinations. I compared it with the Sage Xi2 and it seemed to fit my casting style better and gave me better accuracy. It doesn't have quite the backbone as the Xi2 in the same line weight but that hasn't been an issue - Yet. Both are fabulous rods are a dream to cast and fish. I'd recommend if you are fishing in the salt that you cast both rods with the line you'll likely use and seeing which one seems to "fit" you the best. I used Cabelas Bucks for mine so it was free! How great is that. Thank you Cabela's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24