Customer Reviews for Echo Echo Classic Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Echo Echo Classic Fly Rods

Don't be fooled by the price, these rods are made to outperform any other rod in their price range. Competitive fly caster and former fishing guide Tim Rajeff had the idea to build a series of premium rods and make them available at an affordable price. The Echo Classic was born from his idea. The power and action of each rod is specifically designed for optimal performance in specific line-weight applications. The light-line rods excel for delicate presentations in small creeks. Heavier-line-weight rods have extra power suited to large rivers and wind-resistant flies. Two 9 ft. 5-weight models available, the 590-4 which has a medium-fast action for general fishing situations and the 590D-4 which is designed for distance casting. Blanks have a deep emerald gloss finish and are outfitted with ceramic stripper guides, single foot snake guides and either impregnated hardwood or anodized-aluminum reel seats. Rods come with a protective rod sock and Cordura?-nylon-covered PVC rod tube.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Review 1 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bremerton, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:October 22, 2008
This was my first fly rod. In all my research, in all my talks with experienced fly fisher's, everything pointed to this rod. It's a very forgiving rod and has been a pleasure fishing with it. My brother in law, who is a very experienced and accomplished fly fisherman has called me several times asking if he can borrow it. His more expensive rods have been collecting dust since I bought it. Thinking of buying him one so I can have mine back. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Rafael, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Rod

Date:September 1, 2008
This is an amazing rod for the price. Dont look any further in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pacific Northwest
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rod...and oh, it's a good value too

Date:July 28, 2008
I have a 9ft / 4wt and I love it. I find myself choosing it over my Sage all the time. I find the feel of the rod very satisfying, build quality awesome, casts great. For the money not sure you can beat it... sock, case, great action, great experience.
I chose the 9/4 specifically because I was looking for a longer 3 or 4 wt. I had a cabelas branded 7ft 4 wt that would basically become useless at any breeze. I love having the extra length to mend and even on the smaller creeks getting some line out with some distance can be handy. Works great in a tube on a lake where you face wind but not monster trout that require your 6 or 8wt rods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SF Bay Area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9wt from the shore

Date:July 3, 2008
I like my 9wt from the shore for small stripers. Its deceptively strong. I found that if I overline it with 10 wt line, my casts are better. I have either 10 wt shooting/sinking head for surf fishing for perch or 10 wt floating line.
You can also mend with it, nymph, and roll/spey cast okay with this rod.
Since I am a relatively newbie, I have a hard time throwing heavy flies with this unless I do a proper cast. Even a grub or a clouser is somewhat clumsy. But on the beach you don't often have that luxury so it gets tiring.
On a really calm day on the lake, 9wt floating line it cast well.
The dark green color and lifetime warranty is nice too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Midland, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ECHO Classic

Date:April 30, 2008
I had an ECHO Classic in a 9' 5 wt. model. I replaced it with a St. Croix Legend Ultra thinking "upgrade". Perhaps it was an upgrade due to some components and being "Made in the USA" which is important to some folks. It was a mistake...the ECHO casted great, and was really fun to fish with. It had a smooth casting action, loaded nicely, was accurate, and easy to cast longer distances. For it's price point, I don't think you could find a better rod...comparable perhaps, but not better. Also, the green finish is really pretty in the sun. To summarize...pick one up, you won't be sorry. I had no reel seat problems whatsoever as one of the other reviewers eluded to. As a matter of fact...I plan to purchase another one, I figured out spending more money doesn't necessarily mean better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rod with bad reel seat

Date:March 18, 2008
Good rod, good value. I have had a 9ft 6wt for about a year.
Only bad comment is that the reel seat is not properly sized. I have tried a number of different reels, but all are too small relative to the seat. You tighten the nut all the way down, and the reel still feels loose. I went back to the store and all the rods seemed to be the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Humboldt County, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Echo 10' #8

Date:February 7, 2008
The echo rod far exceeded my expectations. The rod has an exceptional feel while casting, is light in the hand, loads well and delivers a long cast. The rod feels like a moderate action but delivers like a fast action rod. I pulled this rod out of the case and put it to the test, landing several fresh winter steelies. Great rod and exceptional deal for the cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Livingston, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Value!!!

Date:November 2, 2007
For the money, or even regardless of price, this is a fine fly rod.
I am a licensed fishing guide in Montana and the Montana Outfitter who I work for the most knew I was in the market for another 5 weight rod and recommended this brand. When I took it out of the box, I was a bit disappointed with the rather cheezy reel seat but the blank itself is hansome and has quality wraps on the guides. The old "lawn test" of casting wasn't that impressive BUT, once I took it onto a river it really shined! Capable of loading with various lengths of line and very accurate.
A guy or gal can't go wrong with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Review of Echo Classic Fly Rods

Date:September 17, 2007
The 10' 4piece 6 weight Echo Classic Fly Rod was my third Echo Fly Rod. I plan on using it for surf fishing, lake fishing with a float tube, and czech nymphing for trout The other Classic Fly Rod I own is a 9' 4piece 9 weight that I took to Australia and used to land 50 burramudi most of which were 10-22lbs. It did its work Flawlessly. You can't beat the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

get one

Date:August 2, 2007
performs like rods twice the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Clarkston, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10' 8wt Echo

Date:March 6, 2007
This rod is amazing. I have caught a couple 37'' by 17 steelhead . Perfect nymphing rod for steelhead. And it has a nice green color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Echo Classic Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lafayette, Calf.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

echo 12 1/2 ft. spey rod 6 wt.

Date:December 31, 2006
I wanted a light rod for fishing steelhead on the Trinity River, where there is little back cast room. And on the Klamath River, where I needed to be able to make longer cast. In a few words, this rod is outstanding. I have fished similar rods, but find this one the best of the lot, and it did not cost as much, as some of the others. Its so pleasant to cast, sweet, is how I would describe this rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.