Customer Reviews for Sage Sage VT2 Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Sage Sage VT2 Fly Rods

Each VT2 Fly Rod is meticulously made to deliver a light, sensitive feel and an ultrasmooth power curve that enhances line speed and casting ability. Throughout the selection are rods specifically tailored with a taper and action that fit a particular line weight. There are smooth, progressive tapers for more delicate presentations and bigger, faster, more powerful actions for heavy-duty fly-fishing. You'll find rods of unique length in the VT2 line that suit particular applications. From the 7'9" version of 3- and 4-weight rods for small-stream fishing, to the 9'6" 5- and 8-weight rods for tubers and big-water fishermen, there's a VT2 to suit you. For those who prefer to use a single rod for a variety of fishing situations, there are VT2s designed with mulitpurpose fly-fishing in mind. All of these rods share a beautiful blue finish, anodized-aluminum reel seats and hard chrome-plated guides. Freshwater rods sport an ebony wood reel seat insert while the saltwater models are entirely corrosion-resistant aluminum.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Review 1 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Everthing I wanted

Date:January 12, 2012
This is only my second rod. Increased my casting distance. Great feel in your hand.
Now I know why peolpe but Sage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: vermont
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fantastic fly rod

Date:April 7, 2011
one of the best fly rods I have used (and there have been a few! )- purchased the 4 weight - plenty of punch and lays out the line nicely
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice rod for the price

Date:April 2, 2011
Bought the 5 wt. on sale. Nice medium action rod that casts line smoothly. Construction and finish is very good and for the under $300 price it was an excellent deal. Very happy with the purchase at this price point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase and Best Price

Date:April 1, 2011
Great Rod! Sage makes some of the best and would highly recommend this rod for anyone wanting to fish big heavy flies. Best streamer rod I have used to date.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeast Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased

Date:March 16, 2011
I have enjoyed the Sage VT2. It's a light and powerful 4Wt in a 9' rod. Easily mends line upstream or crosstream and has plenty of power for long casting if you need it. Good Product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality flyrod as one would expect form SAGE

Date:February 23, 2011
Rod is responsive to cast and a little forgiving for mediocre technique
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent rod

Date:February 23, 2011
The VT-2 5 weight is a pretty good rod. It's definitely no z-axis by any means, but is a fair caster. I personally don't like the grip shape, but at almost half off a Sage rod, who can argue. I feel this rod is too fast for me and my casting style. I prefer the 4 weight in this series.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Scotland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VT2

Date:February 11, 2011
Everything you would expect from a Sage rod.Fab feel to it and throws a great line.What else can you ask for in a rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Canada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

pretty but not a lot of power

Date:January 31, 2011
beautifully finished...very attractive rod. Paired it with a decent RIO line. Not a lot of punch to it when laying out lots of line. fine for 60 feet and closer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bang for the buck

Date:January 24, 2011
I recently caught the VT2 on sale at a great price, I previously have had one for 4 years in 5 wt. and purchaced a 4wt for my son for Christmas. I use it mostly in SW Colorado and have caught small trout in medium to large size water up to 3 lb rainbows and it has the backbone to handle a wide range of situations. Action is not too fast or stiff so can feel what is going on at the end of your rod and still get nymphs, droppers or drys where you need them in a precise maner, good rod for the dollar.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Rod

Date:January 24, 2011
Bought the 9' 6wt. Casts smooth even with a weighted 3 nypmh rig. Had a great day, pulling in 3 rainbows that were 22 inches and larger. Solid backbone in the rod with enough flex to make for a good fight. Highly recommend the rod, particularly at the price point.
Bought a 4wt. blank of the same model, looking forward to building that before ice-off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sage vt2 8wt

Date:September 27, 2010
Agreed with DJMFishing on this rod. Looks great, but there is no power behind this rod. I could cast better with my Sage FLi 6 wt. I had to push the casts to make any distance. Maybe the lower weight rods are good, but this just didn't make the grade for me. Returning the rod to Cabela's and will try something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Bay City, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VT2 3, 4, 5, 6, 8wt

Date:July 9, 2010
Very good looking rods, that are pretty average overall. To me, they are very lacking in feel, and they are just missing, something. I can't find a great deal good to say about them, but I really can't say much bad about them either. They do cast well enough, and load about average at close range. I think at this price point, Sage could have done much better. Given the level of rods at this price, and well below (both Ross FW and Redington CT) that perform far better, I think that the VT2 is a rod that is best left alone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sage VT2

Date:August 15, 2007
On a recent float trip down the Madison River I threw streamers on a sink tip line with my new 7wt VT2. WOW! What a rod! I was able to throw in the windy conditions with great accuracy and strip streamers all day long. The rod allows for a great sense of feel and is stiff enough in the butt section to make netting those 20"+ brownies and bows in fast water easy. In my honest opinion you can't go wrong with a VT2.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago area, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rod - Good Price

Date:August 7, 2007
I bought my 5 wt 4 pc VT2 in December 2006 specifically as a "one size fits all" trout rod for Midwestern streams to Western rivers. As a novice, I wanted something I could afford, yet grow into as my skills improve.
After fishing in streams in Wisconsin and New Mexico's San Juan River, I've found this to be precisely the rod for me. Using 6X tippet and size 26 midges for supersized rainbows on the San Jaun was a blast! Once hooked, I lost only 1 fish due to a broken tippet (caught 7 good size rainbows in under 4 hours). The evening before, new to the San Juan, I was out fishing a dry fly, accurately casting beyond my skill level up to 50 feet, and landed 1 brown and 1 rainbow within 30 minutes.
This rod is teamed with a Lamson Litespeed reel. I can't say enough about the combination...particularly the excellent drag on the Lamson. In my limited experience, I'm in agreement with all the reviews that praise Lamson for their quality construction and drag design. The combination probably helped me land more fish.
My other rod is a value-oriented 9 wt 4 pc Sage Launch. In terms of components, it appears that the VT2 uses slightly better hardware than the Launch. Craftmanship appears to be equal. In both instances, there's Sage's lifetime warranty and a quality rod case. I've considered less expensive brands such as St. Croix and Temple Fork Outfitters, but for the slight difference in cost I can sleep better at night knowing that Sage is backing my equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sage VT2 Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Smooth casting

Date:March 21, 2007
I purchased the 9 foot 4 wt. Love it. It is a very smooth, moderately fast, casting rod. I use the rod mainly for fishing trout with Woolies. It seems to have plenty of power to cast the Woolies, no problem. I have other rods such as Winstons, Redingtons, Scott, and other Sage rods. I enjoy casting this rod as much as any of the other rods in my collection, except the 9 foot 5 wt. Sage SP that I own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.